UEW UTAG polls: Avoke supporters Jinapor, Kaakyire Duku defeated

UEW Entrance Sharp The keenly contested election saw all old executives losing their positions

Sat, 28 Sep 2019 Source: starrfm.com.gh

The University of Education-Winneba (UEW) chapter of the University Teachers Association of Ghana (UTAG) has elected new executives to lead the group.

The keenly contested election saw all old executives losing their positions to new members.

Notable names among the old executives are Dr. Frimpong Duku and Dr Ahmed Jinapor who have been at the forefront in their quest to restore the sacked Vice Chancellor Prof. Mawutor Avoke to his position.

The Former President Dr. Kaakyire Duku lost his position to Mr. Eric Sakyi of the History Department who polled 174 votes against 124 by Dr. Frimpong Duku.

Dr. Ahmed Jinapor also lost in the vice presidential bid to Dr. Mavis Amo-Mensah who polled 175 votes against 128 obtained by Dr. Jinapor.

The secretaryship race also saw Pascal Kpodo defeating Ali Muhammad as he polled 180 votes against 123 by Ali Muhammad while Dr. Ebenezer Amanor-Lartey won the treasurer slot by 157 votes as against 147 obtained by her contender Mrs. Elizabeth Lani Ashong.

The results is expected to bring an end to the division at the front of the lecturers following the legal tussles between the Mawutor Avoke administration and that of Prof. Afful-Broni with lecturers taking sides.

The new President of the UEW branch of UTAG , Eric Nketia has pledged his commitment in fostering proper reconciliation on the teaching front to support sound teaching and learning while again pushing for better conditions for the lecturers.

Source: starrfm.com.gh
Related Articles: