German coach Jurgen Kholer applies for Black Stars coaching job

Read Comments Comments (67)

• obiba 1 year ago

I saw this guy play...legend.

• FRANKIE 1 year ago

Yeah, tough customer on his days. Solid defender.

• BANKRUPT PRIMITIVE GHANAIANS 1 year ago

GHANA DOES NOT NEED ANOTHER WESTERN TOURIST COACH, BLACK OR WHITE MAN OR WOMAN.

GHANA DOES NOT NEED ANOTHER TOURIST COACH WHO WANTS TO VISIT AND DO GOLD EXPORT BUSINESS IN GHANA AT THE GFA EXPENSE.

THIS RACIST GERMAN IS ...

• obiba 1 year ago

yeah just like the white coach that led the black queens undefeated for their campaigns...we don't want to win if it is a white coach. I agree!

• H. O. 1 year ago

Well said.

• Listen to Me 1 year ago

Please don't hire any coach who has been away from the game from coaching for over a year,...thats where we got it wrong with Chris Houghton,..he had been away, and he had also grown older. He was not in sync with the current ...

• KB 1 year ago

Please, from a critical observation it has nothing to do with the coach being Ghanaian or a foreign national …Ghana needs a strong coach that will not put up with micromanaging from the government or the FA or any superstar ...

• Emefadonatusmaryarefools 1 year ago

We did not respect our own. Kwesi Appiah was the best for Ghana. We need Kwesi Appiah and Essien and allow them to build bla k stars who are fit, skillful, and patriotic.

• Nkatiah Afriyie 1 year ago

Akwasi Appiah is not a coach but watchman in football. We don't want any internet coaches.

Come chop some free money in Ghana

• When & What was his last job 1 year ago

Ghanaian journalists and their foolishness .They are always blaming the GFA for mismanagement but when given the chance they themselves always prove that they are not abreast with time.

• Almighty St. Ghfuo: Gh leaders are stupid 1 year ago

GIVE THE JOB TO ESSIEN

• flaccky 1 year ago

To whom?????? Essein, really? This individual struggles to communicate due to shyness, and you're considering him as a coach?

• William HK Sorkpor ---USA 1 year ago

Essien is not patriotic and experienced enough to lead the Black Stars at this juncture. May Lord Almighty continue to bless our beloved Great Ghana: Amen!!!

• Almighty St. Ghfuo: Gana leaders are too foolish cuuh 1 year ago

William, look at senegal coach today. Some said the same things about him but today look. Like I always tell my brothers....me, if I see you doing what's wrong I will tell you. If you choose not to listen that your fault.

Idiot. Go and watch videos of gim and tell us if he is shy to communicate we need someone who thebplayers can relate to, who understands what it takes to win and you are speaking of shyness. Kwasia, is he the one fucking your ...

• Kwaku 1 year ago

E what?. He's not patriotic and has no coaching experience.

@kwaku are you patriotic? What have you done for your country? Essien has sacrificed for Gana right from thebyouth teams. He got injured at afcon and that was it no gfa person even bothered to call or visit him. Idiot. Do you ...

Kwasia he has no coaching experience what donyou think he is doing over there in Denmark? What coaching experience did Zidane have before he took real madrid to win champions lg treble?

• Danso 1 year ago

I think a German would be best for the black stars due to their organizational and technical acumen.

• Sam 1 year ago

Germany, Italian,Spanish and Portuguese coaches are the rulers of world football coaching.they are very good .Never in the history of Ghana should you consider appointing an English man for national team because they themselv ...

• Kubut3 1 year ago

WE MIGHT AS WELL HANDOVER THE ADMINISTRATION OF GHANA TO THE WHITE PEOPLE. WHITE FOOTBALL COACH WHITE PRESIDENT. GHANA WILL GO FAR.

• Mohammed Commey 1 year ago

U are right bro!
    Bcs since German women coach take over Ghana women's national team their really doing well with all categories....So we should try this coach for black star's tnk u

• SACK OKRAKU&GFA 1 year ago

With okraku and his GFA gangsters he will fail. If he doesn't select players of which okaraku and his GFA gangsters mange they will sabotage his job, if he selects those players Ghana will always loss. Sack okraku and the GFA ...

• Kwame Ayisi Addo 1 year ago

Yeah, good idea! When we went down after the '82, it took a German-Burkhard Ziese to revive our soccer again. That's a good idea.

• Joe T 1 year ago

The regular Vultures are circling. They can smell the kill. They know the Administrators of Ghana football do not trust their own Coaches and are prepared to waste scares dollars to employ
    Johnny Foreigner. When will we lea ...

• Oprege 1 year ago

Just do go bring another clueless white man to come waste our time and resources ! The Germans are strict and good tacticians though

• Kweku Tsin. 1 year ago

All in all,not a bad coach,but being a defender in his playing days, I am a bit apprehensive that he might have a defensive mindset. I think our next coach should have the philosophy that the best form of defense is attack.

• Koo 1 year ago

Otto Addo did well. I believe a real German coach will be a good fit for the Black Stars. Jurgen Kohler is also not too old and a disciplinarian!

• Tadii 1 year ago

We should be mindful of which coaches are applying.
    1. Magath -71 years
    2. kholer - 69 yrs

They were good footballers and we watched them. But their times pass. Current football has evolved. They look just like Roy Hudgs ...

• Anokwale 1 year ago

The reality is that Otto Addo should be brought back on a short term contract and we can take our time to bring in the so called top notch coach.

• Emperor Rasheed 1 year ago

Why don’t we try Anokwale and see how he can transform Black Stars.

• Emperor Rasheed 1 year ago

@koo. You don’t much about soccer so try hockey or ampe.

• Yaa puni 1 year ago

To hell with you and your screwed up Anokwale or what a u call him

• Osei-Bonsu 1 year ago

You lie bad, Ghana crashed out of the rexent AFCON due to poor defensive work. A draw with Cape Verde was on the cards until the late goal. The matches against Egypt and Mozambique were winning matches until the late collapse ...

• AAA+ 1 year ago

What better change is he bringing apart from to waste taxpayers money and go back scot free.

Until strong local team is form here with constant training and good materials, Forget of any coach, it won’t help, foreign pla ...

• TG 1 year ago

We need a German to revive our football

• Taadii 1 year ago

Good suggestion but that 15years criteria will mean only very old coaches can apply. Just imagine Roy Hugdson is our coach .He can't stand for even 5 five minutes. We will be a laughing stock. Coach Milo and his mates will ...

• Sampa 1 year ago

Are we sure the black star problem is the coach? Bring in a saint as coach without dedicated players the result will be the same. Coaches don't play. If the players failsc o adhere to instruction we will have the same result.

• Bob 1 year ago

It takes a good coach to make players show commitment, bring in Pep and his appointment alone will make the Black Stars attractive and players would love to be part of the team.

• obiba 1 year ago

it was clear that Chris did not get to the psyche of the players...some players did whatever they wanted....Pep and Mouringho will bench you and will resign before they let GFA manipulate things

• Philla 1 year ago

Please don't compare coaches who are couching local clubs to coaches who assemble their players only some few days before competition, even some players arrive in camp 24 hours before

• Burger, Germany 1 year ago

This man was coaching a low level team in Köln. He CV doesn't show any rich coaching experience. We should from our lesson and hire a world class coach.... No need to repeat same cycle again....

• huro 1 year ago

A world class coach will have options, why would he choose a situation that is compromised and unstable?

• Kwesi 1 year ago

Massa ,stop all this joke . Sack Kurt okraku and his administration first.

• Kohler is another defender!!!!! 1 year ago

Do Ghanaians learn at all???

• ks 1 year ago

If you will pick him do it fast you don't have time on your side.

• TG 1 year ago

Plus we have another AFCON tournament right after this because 2025 AFCON is next year and it is being hosted in Guinea I think and will be played in the summer so it is time we get another coach and see what we have

• Yaw Mends 1 year ago

No so bad but the problem is the selfishness in the association will never give him free hand to do his job. And I will suggest Kwesi Appiah can still do the job he’s given free hand to work . I believe in Kwesi Appiah plea ...

• Theophilus Botchwey 1 year ago

Please our local coach's are better than white .

• TG 1 year ago

And you really think our coaches Ghanaians are going to be able to bring our football back to its former glory? Really?

• Nick 1 year ago

Oh why Jurgen Kohler a trainer who has not managed any first ot second division Team before. Yes he has the licence but after leaving Victoria Köln in 2019 he is not active again. GFA must check up to see the current statu ...

• Mischief 1 year ago

Don’t waste our money and just go for a local coach because we are not going anywhere.

• Waakye no dey, today 1 year ago

Ghana needs a German or Brasilian coach, these two countries have the attack, attack,attack mentality in their style of play. No more defensive minded coaches, we are tired of watching black stars playing defensively.

• Soprano Yaa T 1 year ago

Ok bring in Saint Paul from heaven and let him strictly preach to our players about hard work which is next to godliness. Will it work? As long as GFA mafiosos are firmly in charge? NOPE!!!

• Soprano Yaa T 1 year ago

Ok, give Black stars to Agya Koo. He'll make the opponent laugh 'saaaaa' till we load them plenty of goals to NIL. Why don't we forget about football? It sounds defeatist but why bother if the present GFA mafiosos are in char ...

• Jato 1 year ago

GFA and NPP will never go for such a person as coach because they will not be able to manipulate him to fit their corrupt agenda! They want a Trainer scout like Otto Addo , and Chris Hutton who they can bully and manipulate ...

• Angel 1 year ago

Exactly!

• cKD 1 year ago

We need an attack minded coach. Period!

• Angel 1 year ago

Ghana simply needs a no nonsense coach who doesn't buy into the toxic traditional culture of seniority, status, fake religiosity, paddy paddy, and all that morally bankrupt crap. That's the rot at the core of the Ghanaian psy ...

• Boye/California 1 year ago

No German Coach German are Racist and they can apply a job in their own Country not Ghana racist people we are human being just like anyone so please find a Ghanaian Coach we are tired of Foreign Coach and the Countries who h ...

• Old Player 1 year ago

No good coach is without a job. But Ghana need a good local coach and a manager to select a 25 to 30 good local players and move them to Brazil for training camp session for 6-8 weeks.

• Nkatiah Afriyie 1 year ago

I will give him best defender Germany have ever had.pls Give it to him.

• Nana Oduro Abonee 1 year ago

Until Ghana goes back to develop the Colts and other Junior Teams to feed the National Senior Teams and also raise a strong home-based Team, even if an Angel descends from the skies to Coach Black Stars can nevet make any imp ...

• Elephant Farmer 1 year ago

Essien does not have 15 years experience in coaching. Kohler is 58 years old and has experience enough. But discipline on the other side can be an issue.

• True talk!! 1 year ago

Give the coaching job to the black queen’s female coach. She understands football and can do a better job than her male counterparts. Let Ghana make a history with the person who can make history!!

• Tylot 1 year ago

If the employers are aware a coach is a no nonsense coach, do you think they will employ him/ her?
    Just give the job to one of those mouth ballers in the TV. They seem to know everything from free kick to own goal