UK economy falls into recession

Read Comments Comments (94)

• Kofi Adu 3 months ago

I hope the Economists in the NDC will read and understand this and realize that Akuffo Addo government has done a good job

• Hyiaman 3 months ago

My friend give us a break the contraction in the UK was 0.3% and not the 30% we probably have in Ghana which the ministry of finance is always trying to hide from the people of Ghana

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 3 months ago

UK has a developed economy and can withstand some financial shocks. Ghana’ economy has been in crisis since the time of Nkrumah. Ghanaians should know that the recession is now a global issue. Even Uncle Sam is suffering. ...

• Sakawa government 3 months ago

Look at those npp fools. Togo and Ivory Coast are doing inflation less than 6%, We are in Ghana doing more than 30% from 54% last year. Even Burkina Faso a landlock country Who clears their goods from Ghana ports are Far bett ...

• Pelicles 3 months ago

Move to any of the countries you mentioned and leave Ghana alone.

• they say they say 3 months ago

No, we need a few good men in Ghana to drum sense into your coconut heads

• YSL 3 months ago

Uk Covid Cases 24,892,903,Ghana Covid Cases 62,710.UK Covid deaths 232,112 ,Ghana's Covid deaths 1,462.UK spending on vaccine alone was three hundred and seventy billion pounds,Ghana's total spending on Covid was one point se ...

• James Ameyaw Kumi 3 months ago

Learn to respect. NPP is better than NDC, but I will never call supporters of the latter fools.

• Yaw 3 months ago

Jàmes Ameyaw, what at all is your basis of comparison between the criminal party NPP and NDC for drawing a conclusion that, NPP is better than the NDC? Give us the areas in which you did better than the NDC?
    Inflation in 20 ...

• Kukuaa Hayford 3 months ago

Sakawa, the fool, you've a bloated ego. Why always insulting others?

• Lazy man 3 months ago

I will vote for NPP bcos l am an Ashanti..They can drag the country in mud, l don't care..

• Ghanaians must open their eyes 3 months ago

Don't mind these Npp goons. Always claiming their better in everything yet the data or ststistics point the opposite. They claim they're better managers of the economy, yet they have the worse economic indices. They claim the ...

• Bimpong 3 months ago

Bro, don't worry, insults are their hallmark

• Steve Kay London 3 months ago

@ Sakawa, why don't you go back to your homeland and leave our country in peace? Members of the NDC are about 85% aliens.

• Lazy man 3 months ago

Exactly

• Look at this dotard Ashanti rat 3 months ago

@Steve kay... Your ignorance stems from the fact that you don't know ur history else, you wont be here profiling people. Go back and listen to ur Asantehene and pick lessons from ur originality. Moron

• Ex-Pope 3 months ago

Mada faka, why didn't you ask Akufo-Addo and his corrupt NPP thieving liars to leave Ghana when they were in opposition and making loud noise against the NDC government? NPP is a party of galamsey thieving nation-wreckers.

• M.T 3 months ago

You are rather ignorant. You don't compare our economy with Togo and ivory coast. Eg wages and standards of living is way poorer in Togo. Low inflation doesn't necessarily mean better living standards. Inflation is largely dr ...

• Ekow Jones 3 months ago

Togo and Ivory Coast are remotely controlled. Man shine your brains

• OSABARIMA MENSA 3 months ago

We should thank Allah for small mercies for keeping the corrupt and incompetent one and his minions out of office. I shudder to think what we would have been reduced to if those useless scoundrels of the buga buga party were ...

• Justice 3 months ago

Robotic and dogmatic nemesis

• Ex-Pope 3 months ago

NPP A GALAMSEY PARTY OF THIEVING NATION-WRECKERS

Your corrupt and incompetent NPP thieving liars have stolen Ghana dry and caused the country's economy to collapse, yet you foolishly try scapegoat the pandemic and the Ukra ...

• Yaw 3 months ago

Jack Toronto and his gang will by all means hide behind this to fool Ghanaians as they did with Covid 19 and Russian-Ukrain war

• Togbe Agorkorli 3 months ago

What about useless john....AkA DUMB DRAMANI!

• Koo 3 months ago

When you go to Canada you will see real recession. Food prices have doubled.there. Rent is crazy and you can pay as much as $2,800 a month for a two-bedroom apartment. Tuition has increased. Refugees and newcomers are sleepin ...

• Yaw 3 months ago

Be deceiving your soul. You are already gone to opposition.
    Criminal gangs

• Sukuuuura flamingo road sukuuukuura 3 months ago

Then where are all monies you guys borrowed in the name of production? Where are the jobs? How can you withstand hash economic with corrupt mindset?

• Stephen Donkor: New York. 3 months ago

KWASI KWATENG AND THERESA MAY HAVE BEEN EXONERATED:

Good luck to the British. When Kwasi Kwateng, the former Ghanaian born Exchequer told them that he would increase taxes on the wealthy to avoid imminent recession, they t ...

• Yes 3 months ago

My friend be a little bit analytical and truthful the Ghanaian economy has shrink and the size of the UK economy is about $4 trillion,so in real and nominal terms it's huge.

It doesn’t matter even if the UK economic size is 10 Gazillion! Recession is recession! And Sunak’s bluffing has been dealt a serious blow! Theresa May and Kwateng are having some of the best times! JUSTIFIED!

• Nolan. 3 months ago

The UK was already in recession and having huge financial troubles before Kwarteng came in and those were the same reasons for which he was fired

• Stone Age Africans 3 months ago

Housman, where did you get your 30% from? From data supplied by the useless NDC, I suppose

• Blue Pen 3 months ago

Some people are desperately trying to get classmates in failure, economic mismanagement and unprecedented corruption, both domestically and on the international scene. The new creed of some of disappointed people is that all ...

• FRANKIE 3 months ago

Now let's get ready for the new mantra of "EVEN THE UK ECONOMY IS IN RECESS" from the NPP communicators and propagandists. From covid-19 to RUSSO-UKRAINIAN war to Israeli-Palestinian conflict and now to UK recession. DAMN!

• Kc 3 months ago

Still better than ghana is like saying some one with 1000 lost 1 vs someone with 100 gaining 10 the first one is better

• Uncle Pee 3 months ago

The fact of the matter is, all NDc is interested in is POWER and not the development of Ghana, period.

• Emmanuel 3 months ago

Are we in UK forget

• Kelly 3 months ago

Kwasia barima. The UK economy is still able to attract professional nurses,medical doctors,teachers etc from Ghana and Nigeria. Stop praising your useless Akuffo Addo and Bawumia, Phd

• Kofi 3 months ago

Tell him. Came over to the UK from Ghana last August to work as Lecturer.

• Okrebekuku 3 months ago

Ask them how they're doing there.

• Zico 3 months ago

My kids are still getting paid every month until they turn 18 here in the UK. The unemployed are still getting paid each month until they get a job. Their rent is being paid by government until they get job. So the recession ...

• Blue Pen 3 months ago

@Zico. Say that again. In Ghana people have worked, provided services, supplied food and uniforms to schools and done contracts but are getting paid. Examples include former NABCO trainees, road and other civic contractors, ...

• FISHERMAN Kolonkala 3 months ago

I said it, that these shameless driver and his clueless mates will latch on to this so called economy recession as the reason why Ghana has been driven to an economic ditch by Akuffo Addo and Bawumia such that it cannot serv ...

• £EARN, TRAIN, MAKE MONEY 3 months ago

African politicians will now use this as excuse. You will hear, "even the UK is experiencing recession. It's global", yadayada...stupid people...Unless you want to remain a spectator this year; if not, this remains my best re ...

• Did Ghana have Brexit? 3 months ago

I have lived in the UK for more than 10yrs. This is a result of stupid brexit.

• CO 3 months ago

I thought as much that Bawumia and his NPP will get an excuse. But UK economy in recession is like 1957 when Nkrumah took power from the whites.

• Ex-Pope 3 months ago

What good? You call the Julor House looting and mismanagement a good act by incompetent beggar President Akufo-Addo? Rishit is an idiot that King Charles should immediately boot to Rwanda.

• Joy 3 months ago

Unless USA turn out to help UK economy.

• Gaani 3 months ago

The US is grappling with a debt of about 36 trillion. They should help themselves by paying for their debt.

• Ohene 3 months ago

Their recession is better than Gh recording 100000% growth. There are so many professionals in Gh paying millions to fraudulent agencies to bring them to the UK to come and do care.

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 3 months ago

What is better. Look, people there depend on food stamps and rations. You should be grateful to be in Ghana. This is the best opportunity for us to come together to plan so that external shocks do not affect us. Instead of co ...

• Kofi Mensah 3 months ago

Stop That Crap.

It is those receiving UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFIT that will get food stamps. Remember that even in recession, the UK provides housing and food for ALL unemployed persons, including tehns of thousands of single par ...

• Anku 3 months ago

Ekekevor…..

• AIR BUS ,FORD EXPEDITION 3 months ago

If Mahama had no hand in the shameful Airbus scandal, why can’t he have a ‘showdown’ with Amidu?Even so called advance countries are struggling let alone Ghana

• Ex-Pope 3 months ago

NPP THIEVING SERIAL LIARS AND FABRICATORS

The NPP has shown itself to be a party of liars and fabricators. The NPP fabricated a hot air tale about Mahama, hoping that it will stick. When that failed to fly, the devious NPP ...

• Subin 3 months ago

Bahumia' EMT are behind this useless publication for cheap politics. But the dial is cast, Jean Mensah should there not try any nonsense, the ancestors of the land are working tirelessly to put Ghana back on track after Dec7.

• K Marfo 3 months ago

Tell your NDC to learn how to correlate their pink sheet and stop your nonsense, leave the EC woman alone.

• Subin 3 months ago

There will be no unanimous FC, the blood and toil of our forefathers are speaking and working tirelessly to eliminate all the tyrants, liars, self-seeking nation wreckers, etc from the system.

• Zargon 3 months ago

UK GDP for last qtr of 2023 fell by 0.3% a mild depression... which is short and temporary... NOT like our useless economy where GDP and inflation is around 80% and so forth... is Ghana economy an economy??? Tweaaaaa pls stop ...

• Kofi 3 months ago

Dude stop talking out of your ass. What the hell does “GDP and inflation is around 80%” mean ?

• AAA+ 3 months ago

A vote to mahama, a vote to regret big time ever.

Only backward fools with short memories don’t see what’s going on in the world nowadays.

Mr AAA+, a vote for Bawumia (a would- be puppet) is a vote for Akuffo Addo's third term just as Ken Ofori Atta has been shifted to the presidency to micromanage Amin Anta at the finance ministry. Only brainwashed pin brains ...

• AAA+ 3 months ago

You have brain but you don’t think greedy bastard, politics and love for corruption blindfold you, Mr know little

• Kofi Mensah 3 months ago

A vote for Bawumiah means a vote for Akufo Addo's 3rd term. All family members in Akufo Addo's current govt will be part or 'council of elders' and operate from the background.

Already Akufo Addo has re-assigned his nephew ...

• Anonymous 3 months ago

Fact is, Akuffo Addo has done a Very Good Job. Ghana has survived the world economics crisis better than many other countries.

A country that has defaulted on its national debts, doing better than many countries? Twea kai. Not even SriLanka. Name those countries.

• Gaani 3 months ago

Ayekooo to our useless leaders who have emptied our foreign reserves.

• Pelicles 3 months ago

A recession is a recession no matter where it happens and it hurts, okay? That said, the entire world is "slowly" recovering from the tentacles of covid-19 except Ghana which did not experience the pandemic per NDC's gospel.

• Human One 3 months ago

Bastie is SATANIC Homosexual, Trumu Trumu Kojo Betsia

Bastie is aTERRORIST member of Alqueda, and ISIS TERRORIST Organizations, who should be captured by any means necessary, and face the same punishment like Osama Bin Lad ...

• Mohammed 3 months ago

The Ndc foolsolders are now compering Togo economy to that of Ghana, while Nigerians, Togolese and Ivorians are running out of their countries economy to Ghana.

• Elephant Farmer 3 months ago

Large text. UK can be happy since they have quit the European Union with their BREXIT. Scotland and Ireland prefer to import from the European union instead to trade with the UK. Who is buying from the UK?

• Abroampaiil 3 months ago

Are we still serious as a nation to be still rotating between the Ndc and Npp ? Where is the youth revolution and its revolutionary forces?

• NANA SERWAA BRONI ADDO 3 months ago

NONSENSE. DONT COMPARE YOUR AKUFFO ADDO COMPLETELY DESTROYED GHANA TO UK. YOU WANT TO USE IT FOR YOUR CAMPAIGN BUT IT WONT WORK. UK IS SAME AS 5 YEARS AGO. NOTHING HAS CHANGED

• taliban 3 months ago

all they know is ukraine

• coaches 3 months ago

asemooo

• STOP STUPID LIES AND MISLEADING AND FAKE NEWS. WHICH CREDIBLE NEWS WENSITE WILL SAY SUCH LIES. 3 months ago

BBC, SKY, CNN WILL NOT REPORT SUCH LIES. WHERE FROM ALL THIS LIES COMING FROM

KWASI KWATENG SHOULD GIVE A SPEECH ON THE DISGRACEFUL DEVELOPMENT!

They won’t report even if it’s true because of way they treated Kwasi Kwateng; the former Ghanaian born Chairman of the Exchequer! I’m laughing all t ...

• Doe 3 months ago

This news is dead news. When did the UK economy fall into recession? This was over four years ago. The UK is not in a recession. Whoever said that the UK economy has fallen into recession is telling lies.

• Yaw 3 months ago

Bright Simmons wil come to explain n make NDC fellows people believe Ghana wasn't affected by Ukraine war n covid.

• Mohammed 3 months ago

Don't mind the Ndc foolsolders their leaders know they are fool and they will accept any explanation they will give them. Mahama government official one.

• Dr. Mash 3 months ago

So in all this where are the Rating Organisation?.if it were Ghana or any African country (like )they will be all over the world issuing statements..

• Oklemekuku 3 months ago

Fake news

• Gyankromian 3 months ago

UK is in recession because of PUTIN. Those Anglo Saxons are in perpetual war to enslave the Slavs and it ain’t going well.
    Russia has all the resources it needs…. but the Anglo Saxons don’t, especially now that they ca ...

• Sogoro 3 months ago

The way this guy loves shitting in his pants when he was young. So I'm not surprised at all that the country he governed now economy falls into recession. That means He's still shitting in his pants with thunderous farts.

• Ghana 3 months ago

When they is problem in other countries, wicket, corrupt , scam, liars npp rush to justify their uselessness but they will not compare themselves to other countries achievements..UK currency is the best in d world, UK have go ...

• Raphael Abeam USDa 3 months ago

I hope most of the people in Ghana will read this issue especially the NDC party members who are always blaming the Akuffo Addo government for mismanagement. I tell you that the NPP government has done marvelous work. If NDC ...

• Starfish Prime 3 months ago

The war between NATO and USSR will never end. If one did not give up on the battery field or Christ Jesus send Angels to make peace, the world will turn to ash.

• Mr Truth 3 months ago

Kofi Adu UK economy went into recession simple because of brexit and before the brexit USA warned them and told them that UK will face recession for up to ten years before the economy will recover from recession
    Am living i ...

• Elephant Farmer 3 months ago

No Rating at all? Where are those Professors and Agencies? Nothing to show. No research. Nonsense.

• KOFI YESU 3 months ago

The UK is approaching elections, and I strongly encourage John Dramani Mahama to run for Prime Minister, aiming to rescue the UK economy from Mr. Sunak. Considering Ghana's improved economy, Mr. Mahama seems to wield a magic ...

• Abeiku Crentsil 3 months ago

NPP animals

• Fd Ghana 3 months ago

Some Npp people are just dumb! with animal thinking. U want to compare Ghana to uk in terms of economy? Mmoa! U can’t even provide good drinking water for your people and you say weti?

• Ex-Pope 3 months ago

There goes another NPP thieving liar, constipated with ignorance and loads of elephantshit. You need to take your dumb Yesu ass to the quack pastor who has dumped religious bullshit in your head and caused you not to see how ...

• Ekow Jones 3 months ago

Interest rates at some point 0.25% but now 5.25% in the UK. What a jump. No wonder theft and shoplifting is too high now. I guess Ghanaians should thank God we are gradually and slowly making progress. We need to pay or taxe ...