News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Meet the 27-year-old female Ghanaian who abandoned engineering to braid hair in The Bronx, USA

Read Comments Comments (50)

• Who Killed Mills 2 months ago

I respect her boldness. I wish you all the success in the world

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 2 months ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine. For instance 10 paracetamol at once......or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Nana Addo 2 months ago

She is making a living out of it and what the hell is this news?

• Darren Jason. 2 months ago

There you go trying to exhibit your tribal hatred nonsense, you only hate the name just because you assume she is an Akan person. Mumu person. What's news do you want to hear.

• RETURN THE COCOA FARMERS CHANGE TO HIM!! 2 months ago

With the investments made by the hardworking cocoa farmer in your engineering education please lets see you grow your business totake on the lines of Johnson &Johnson in black hair products in the US opening chains and franch ...

• AKUFO KUFOUR GBEMI 2 months ago

So we should do what

• This is no news! 2 months ago

There are thousands of braiders in New York some who did not even attend class 1. Some with 2 or 3 shops.

It would have been news if we hear that you dropped out and now you have 20 Hairdressing Saloon to your name employ ...

• Ree 2 months ago

Are u jealous? People share their experiences to inspire others only Ghanaians have a problem

• Citizen8 2 months ago

Hair braiding is also engineering.

• You must be an Illiterate !! 2 months ago

Hair braiding can be learnt at Kokompe in just 3 months. You need minimum 6yrs to be a good Engineer. You only need basic arthmetic thought in Class 6 to be a hairbraider. To be an engineer you need Additional Maths (Add Math ...

• OKRAKU IS USELESS 2 months ago

APOSTLE SARFO DIDNT LEARN ENGINEERING FOR THE SIX FOOLISH YEARS BUT HE IS MAKING ASSORTED VEHICLES. GHANAIAN MECHANICAL ENGINEERS FIX THEIR CARS AT KOKOMPE AND MAGAZINE APUU! OFF WITH YOUR FOOLISH SIX YEARS.

• Maybe the girl is right. She is disgusted with GH top engineer! 2 months ago

Apostle Sarfo does not even drive any of his cars. And you think shouting at a fridge like a mad man to open will win Ghana a Nobel Prize in Physics. If Apostle Sarfo is the best engineer you have in Ghana no wonder the young ...

• GOLD 2 months ago

SO WHAT,MAYBE SHE CHANGED HER MIND DUE TO SOME
    NEGATIVE EXPERIENCES SHE ENCOUNTERD.BESIDES,SHE HAS OTHER INTERESTES,EVERYBODY HAS A CHOICE TO MAKE IN LIFE,AFTER ALL SHE IS STILL WORKING WITH SOMETING SHE REALLY LIKE!!!!!!!! ...

• Just be quiet and work towards your success. Not there yet !! 2 months ago

If yu have an experience and want it to be a motivation for others let it be an experience that has value for others to draw inspiration from.

Having a hairdressing saloon many girls who have never stepped foot in a class ...

• Tylenol, USA 2 months ago

At what university was she pursuing the engineering degree ?

• Akua Adobea 2 months ago

Would she have done same here? She would be complaining about no job

• HAVE YOU THOUGHT OF DIVERSIFYING? 2 months ago

What about hair products for people of African descent? Is there an opening there for you young lady? Think much much bigger than where you are at present. Do you know anything about marketing and branding? I am throwing idea ...

• GHANAMAN 2 months ago

GREAT NEWS. Bring all the money home sister

• Adwoa Serwaa 2 months ago

Mary is such an inspiration to many young girls in New York. I’ve heard good things about her work. Speaking from experience, America is not the easiest place to start a business. Props to her for being able to start and ru ...

• Akua Afriyie 2 months ago

She took a gap from college. It doesn’t mean she won’t be returning back, she is! I know Mary personally and she is such a sweet and intelligent person. There’s never a dull moment with her. She loves what she does and ...

• Mary we wish you all the best sister 2 months ago

GOD BLESS YOU YOU WILL MAKE IT BIG BECAUSE YOU SMART GIRL

• Odasani 2 months ago

Asemoo. 27 years, young and full of energy. Now wait until you are 50, and let me know if you can stand on your feet for long hours braiding hair.

• j 2 months ago

Phd! Jealousy Black mentality

• Mind your business 2 months ago

Who said she’s going to braid hair till 50?

• Foaud 2 months ago

Why should this be news. Are u people okay

• Bubra 2 months ago

Very good. By the time she is done with engineering in 6years time, AI would have taken away her job anyway. But AI cannot braid hair, she is very smart.

• You sound very foolish! 2 months ago

Tell that to all countries from USA, Russia, Chins to Zimbabwe to turn their Engineering Depts at their Nationsl Univs into hairdressing saloons because that is the future!

• AI is designed by engineers!! 2 months ago

But the microchips that goes into AI are not designed by braiders in hairdressing saloons. They are designed by highly qualified technologists and engineers in technology laboratories.

• Sha 2 months ago

Where is her salon and where can I found her on IG? I want her to do my hair

• Vee 2 months ago

She’s @sparrowbeauty.m on instagram

• Sha 2 months ago

Thank you

• Follow her business 2 months ago

Her account is Sparrow Beauty or enter sparrowbeauty.m

• 123 2 months ago

Hmm.. Engineering is very juicy in USA. My friends who did Engineering are making it big there. I think this lady made a mistake. She could have pursued Engineering then open a hair braiding shop for people to manage for her.

• The Spear 2 months ago

Rote learning and practical engineering are different things.

• Engineers Sell Like hotcake in the US! 2 months ago

I have never come across any Ghanaian Engineer Degree holder from Ghana that is unemployed over 40yrs in the US. Even those on pension can still easily earn $80,000- $120 000 per annum if they choose to go back into work.

• Selfishness! 2 months ago

Somebody was denied a place at the University, and this what you ended up doing with that opportunity given. Only 20% of Applicants who apply for Engineering get in.

Why didnt you refuse the University offer and go straig ...

• YOLO 2 months ago

It’s not that serious, everyone has a choice

• YKB 2 months ago

Great

• Charisma 2 months ago

Some of y’all are in the comments like you know her personally. She has a lot going on for her. It’s not about how much money you can make from engineering, it’s about your passion and what you love. Most of you lost th ...

• Gbewa 2 months ago

We don't have to be glorifying some of these nonsenses. Is she doing it for money or passion?

The world is seriously changing due to science and technology and Africa is in serious decline in fields, such as engineering. S ...

• Charisma 2 months ago

If you don’t have anything nice to say, just don’t say it.

• ... 2 months ago

What are you doing in the Science and Technology field? Let's hear it.

• He is telling the truth!! 2 months ago

The Indian scientists and technologies are using their science degrees and technology to give us CoVid and other vaccines, and sending Space Craft to the moon. We both had our Independence at the same time.

And what are ou ...

• Afua 2 months ago

You are such an illiterate…..I know a lot of people that have degrees and still do braids….you can go to school and still have lack of knowledge.

• Est Atta Ayi 2 months ago

Spot on, why waist years if studies just to braid hair.

• Saint Akufo Addo 2 months ago

Good, there is no reason at all for a woman to get professional careers.

• Wo koo sukuul ko ye den?!! 2 months ago

Wo maame diwo koo sukuul se ko na ko boti. Adern Kumasi-Legon no etibo na yetser3 mo wo ho!

• Est Atta Ayi 2 months ago

She will get repetitive strain injury (RSI) at some stage with the speed she braids people’s hair. Ghanaians love to chase money at the expense of using their brains to create something novel or invent something new, what a ...

• Step It Up!! 2 months ago

It takes an average of 3hrs to braid my 9yr old daughters hair. So how many heads can you braid a day standing on your feet and twisting your hands to make ends meet. This is gruelling like a factory work.

Sister take the ...

• Good thinker 2 months ago

Life entails taking a bold step towards becoming what you want to be…I like her boldness and determination. Such an elegant lady..all the best girl