News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Stop impounding cars that cross red lights, those without valid insurance – AG tells IGP

Read Comments Comments (222)

• Capricorn 2 months ago

Doesn't surprise me much. We're in election period and government is seeking for the people mandate. It's time to give leeway to citizens to voilate the laws in order to secure the peoples mandate. This's just the beginning o ...

• ST Ghfuo: Gh leaders are not enlightened 2 months ago

When you have confused fools in positions of atuhtoeiry they always fighting each other because of stupidity. If you tell them to look at what g7 nations do I n the west they will boldly twll you that gh is not the west. Okay ...

• schywee 2 months ago

You are a big liar....South Africa does not impound car for crossing red light not is there even such a thing called driving without insurance....When you cross a red light , you get a ticket...you have 30 days to pay the tic ...

• Who Killed Mills 2 months ago

Never been to South Africa but I still expect drivers on the moon to have insurance. Insurance does not just cover the driver but mainly the people the driver can damage so since it takes 1 second to damage somebody you shoul ...

• schywee 2 months ago

Insurance in South Africa is not required by law. Since banks finance most car purchases, Banks will require you to have this insurance when they finance the car to protect their investment in case of accidents and write-offs ...

• schywee 2 months ago

When an accident occurs and someone gets injured to a certain point, the state covers this through the road accident fund. Both indigenous and foreigners living in RSA are covered by this state insurance called RAF

• Ayigbevi... breaking the 8 2 months ago

Wisest Attorney General in Ghana ever!!!! I will always love him.

• jesus 2 months ago

Yes, for once somebody in this govt of dunces is making sense!

• Kwabena 2 months ago

Intelligent AG

• ST GHFUO: GH LEADERS ARE NOT ENLIGHTENED 2 months ago

@schywee. idiot you dont take time to read. show me where i mentioned that your car gets impounded if you cross red lite in s africa? ashole. i havent even been to that part of africa yet

• schywee 2 months ago

You say you haven't even been to that party of Africa but then jump to using their system as an example?... That's shallow...you actually don't have to be here to have known their traffic laws...just google....that's not that ...

• schywee 2 months ago

You say you haven't even been to that party of Africa but then jump to using their system as an example?... That's shallow...you actually don't have to be here to have known their traffic laws...just google....that's not that ...

@schyweee asshole fool. read well

• schywee 2 months ago

I don't care much about your insults....somehow it shows your low self-esteem that you can't have an adult conversation without insults, but back to reading. " Go to South Africa and cross a red light or drive without insura ...

• Kojo 2 months ago

Eii massa, so this morning too you schyy before making this comment. you really need to stop schying ooh bross, it is bad for you eyes and health in general

• Kwasi 2 months ago

Did you say G7 countries impound cars for crossing red lights? Which country is that? In the UK if you cross a red light a camera you get a letter in the post telling you what you did and the consequences. No one impounds you ...

• IT'S SO DIFFICULT EDUCATING GHANAIAN FOOLS BECAUSE OF LOW IQ 2 months ago

Don't impound doesn't mean don't arrest or don't prosecute. Don't impound doesn't say don't charge or don't issue fines.

If you impound a Trotro for crossing red light, the Driver can't make his sales. He'll suffer with hi ...

if a police catces trotro driver crosing red light illegal;y. stop the car. check for insurance and registration. if no insurance impound the car and issue a ticket. if everything is in order. issue them a red light ticket wi ...

• Koko 2 months ago

Do we have this process in Ghana ? No tickets or spot fine in Ghana. But the very law he quoted , has these spot fine in it. The AG should tackle the issue head-on . Otherwise the police will continue to use their discretio ...

• Champion 2 months ago

That's all.

• Ticket in the post, really? 2 months ago

Unless I miss something, but please bear in mind that the majority of Ghanaians do not have post office box let alone an addressable home address.

• Gringo 2 months ago

They can send it through text message

• Bedu 2 months ago

They have phone numbers.

the leaders have no plans to improve service delivery just there to steal n marry underage girls and say oh this is tradition

Ypu call this koobi momoni attorney general smart whay a foolish asshole how can you say igo shouldn't arrest drivers who cross red lights and those who drive without insurance jesus christ smh you should resign asap for your ...

• Gov 1 2 months ago

its obvious that you lack the understanding of the English language.Do not impound does not mean do not arrest.The police do not need the impounded vehicle at the law court as evidence during procecution.Wise up brother.

• Kwasi Barimpa 2 months ago

HHMMMM

@gov1..if a person drives without insurance thats highly criminal. immediately impound the car because in case they continue to drive n cause an accident both parties are screwed. you impound the car. give the motorist a tick ...

God Allah, kill all these stupid boneheaded dick brain leaders in Gh they are useless and don't deserve to waste Air asshole liability insurance

• Kabokabo 2 months ago

It's APRIL FOOL

• TRUTH 2 months ago

Good morning Uncle Dampare.

I salute you this morning.

Why did you or your men put this info out here.

This was a trap.

They will sack you oooo.

And give themselves a chance to rob the elections oooo in Decemb ...

• Lol 2 months ago

You are big fool IGP you plus all your officers are corrupt you don’t know nothing kwasiaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa gyiimiifuorrrr

• FRANKIE 2 months ago

Election year nonsense. Impunity, lawlessness, disorderliness, arbitrariness....... We all dey inside. Kwashiai buuluui m

• YOUR BIG ENGLISH IS A TOTAL WASTE 2 months ago

Now I see why people insult you all the time. Your ability to regurgitate the queen's language does not automatically make you a sensible person kraa. Anyone who finds anything wrong with this directive from the AG needs thei ...

• FRANKIE 2 months ago

Gbek3 kwashia buuluu!

• Papasi 2 months ago

Exactly bro. And most of these faceless individuals are of either ayigbe ewe descent or pepefo), backward and inward looking eunuchs

• Jesse 2 months ago

• Gov 1 2 months ago

Tell them for me sir.where in this world do police officers take impounded vehicle to court when procecuting traffic offense? The funny thing is that sometimes they even cease the driver's license.What a shame

aboa nipa you this guy driver without insurance shouldnt be stopped and have their car taken away. what if you give them a ticket and they continue driving and crash into a trotro with your wife and moda inside and they die. ...

• Koliko 2 months ago

What!!! I can’t believe reading this. You call driving without license and insurance and jumping red lights as minor crimes? God have mercy

• Daakyi asem 2 months ago

We pray that nobody intentionally jumps the red light and run into the AGs car. Hmmm.

• M.T 2 months ago

The AG is on point. Why would the vehicle be impounded if a person crosses red light or other traffic Violation? Sometimes the Ghana police goes overboard. Elsewhere the police will give you a fine which you pay to the state ...

• Koko 2 months ago

Tell the AG to champion what other Jurisdictions are doing in relation to spot fine and tickets.

If he fails to make this systems work then the police will continue to use their discretion on impounding vehicles.
    With n ...

• John 2 months ago

Better this advice than the okada legalization

• KK Boston 2 months ago

Driving without insurance is a crime in America and crossing red light is also an offense and attempt to cause unnecessary accidents to harm others with serious consequences that can lead to death. Police can give you a ticke ...

• Kofi Akwetey 2 months ago

Driving without a valid license or crossing a red light is still an offense subject to a fine. In the US which you cite these offenses are subject to a fine. Nobody impounds your vehicle for these offenses. The AG's directive ...

• Mese Hmm 2 months ago

You guys are just so unbelievable. The AG just gave a directive to "stop impounding cars that cause minor traffic offences" but never said anything about what to do instead in such situations.
    I think his directive came too ...

• Gov 1 2 months ago

It is rightly so.I have ever had a ticket for unintentionally driven through the red light BUT my vehicle was not impounded.That is what the intelligent AG implies.You can arrest and charge them but dont impound the vehicle. ...

• Nel 2 months ago

True. In 2016, the then IGP instructed the police to stop asking drivers for their license. Politics as usual

i get it so the reason police impounds cars thats cross red lights is this. when u issue them on the spot fines they say they have no money. so in order for them to pay the police decide to impound their vehicles. this is wro ...

• Sapiens 2 months ago

WHAT A LAWLESS AG!

• AMEGA 2 months ago

Attoney General is right. They should introduce electronic spot fine system.Then after payment you drive your car away.Instead the vehicle is impounded and sent to court causing delay for productivity. Tickets could be issu ...

• James Bassop 2 months ago

Capricorn you are right. What the AG has done is by way of selectively promoting impunity on our roads. Has he forgotten that using uninsured vehicles on the roads endangers the lives of all including innocent people who patr ...

Gh leaders why are you so motherfucking stupid like this? Is it in your DNA or in the air your. Reayhe i dont get it

• Joe Pike 2 months ago

You are not wise. The cost of impounding is more than the cost of enforcing the law which does not make sense. Ag has said that if police impounds, maintenance must be done by govt. The police already have no money so how wil ...

• www.waterboons.com 2 months ago

Need a quality borehole water on your facility? Let's get it done for you. We do geophysical survey, drilling, construction and pump installation nationwide...www.waterboons.com

• Solomon London 2 months ago

Oh Ghana so now we can cross red traffic, we can drive without valid insurance, AG mr Dame are you serious ?wich part of the world can you do that, Ghana democracy is not good for us we need JJ type of government

• ROGUE LAWYER 2 months ago

Dont get The AG wrong and put your words in The AG caution letter to the unprofessional police idiots.
    in simple put, The AG has not said drivers could jump the redlight. Jumping a red light, or driving the car without vali ...

• Abeiku 2 months ago

Which part of the world do you live?they think the IGP is making the party on popular,

Abeiku - i lived in a very civilized country, if i cross a red light, my car wont be impounded.
    i will be fined as a first offender,
    if it continues eg about 5times within 1year , i would be surcharged to answer some quer ...

• Papasi 2 months ago

Clearly a fool and untraveled stooge. You call such a brilliant intelligent AG rogue? You must be an idiot, you’re NDC right?

• OGyam 2 months ago

@Solomon, another brain dead fart who lives in London and watches Idiotic Wontumi TV all fucking day! What sort of English don't you understand? Try a get free English Lessons whilst in London. Failing that, do not come here ...

• ID 2 months ago

Do some of you guys read before coming on here to insult?

• GH8 2 months ago

Oh massa say that again o. Because if youve read the whole piece and still come out with insults and looking at it with the usual political lense then i m sorry you need to come again. And for anybody's info in Ghana its AG a ...

• Citizen8 2 months ago

@ID, it appears you don't know the average Ghanaian well enough. The average Ghanaian only sees everything and every subject with political lenses. For them everything is about politics. In fact they even think there's an NDC ...

HAHAHAAAHA. You hit the nail in the head. Ghana for you.

• Jee 2 months ago

Ask them

• Kay 2 months ago

In Ghana all you need is negative headline and the masses will follow the headline without reading the story in details. If you want to hide something from the blackman hide it in a book. He can never find out

The AG is Right, these are some of the unnecessary things that is always making Ghana police unattractive.
    why do you impound somebody cars , just because of minor offence ?
    we must begin to look at the bestway of ticketi ...

@rogue look at your name you are a fool. I hope you get hit by a driver who has no insuramce and you will understand why..asshole

FOOLs and criminal police son like you will never appreciate the legal implications The AG is advising your father to stop.
    i know for some of you if your father do not used this colonial delay tactics you wont eat at home ...

@Rogue Lawyer, why waste your energy educating these idiots, they will never understand.

• Kobina Sey 2 months ago

My brother, are you daft? Did the AG sat , DONT ARREST? He only cautioned the police NOT to IMPOUND. Or you dont understand the meaning of impound. God save Ghana from dead vrains

• Jesse 2 months ago

Am even shocked some of the reply look like illiterates are also commenting here . Where in the world do police impound a whole vehicle for just crossing a traffic light?

• Kwequo 2 months ago

I don’t understand this. If a vehicle is impounded then it’s security lies with the police and they should be charged for any loss. That way you don’t need to remind them of their foolishness

until we change the ACTS OR the Instrument, it does not work like that,
    if any public officer misconduct him or herself since that person is working for the government in practice you must sue the government, and if you sue ...

• Jesse 2 months ago

Who funds the police ? Is it not the state? The Police do not have any funds for anything

• Mr Bones 2 months ago

Master to me paàaa this our IGP is a useless as the one appointed him , what has he solved?. The tamale road are still full of arm robbers ,the police are busy taking bribes on the road ,the JB murder case is still having q ...

• K. Kusi 2 months ago

Whilst the AG's advice is somewhat problematic, it does bring up the issue of spot fines. Let us have that and reconfigure the momo and other electronic payment system to allow for the payment of spot fines. That will be prog ...

• Humphrey Gyawu-Mensah 2 months ago

Nonsense, since when did the police started impounding cars for crossing the red light? The IGP should be fired and Alex Mensah be made the IGP. They are trying to crate disaffection for the government during the election yea ...

• Jesse 2 months ago

Some overzealous police men do that ...that's why they have lawsuits ..that's why he wants some police to stop that act ...and people here are tripping

• Kwaku Ananse 2 months ago

THEY ABANDON THEIR DUTY & GO WITH THE OFFENDING CAR TO THE POLICE STATION
    What is more stupid what the police are doing? How can you leave traffic mayhem behind and jump into the offending car and order the driver to drive ...

• GH8 2 months ago

Massa the police officers jump in the car not with the sole intention of taking you to the charge office but along the road if you do the NEEDFUL then you are free to go. Its only when you insist on your right thats when you ...

• Nana Yaw 2 months ago

When the Police leaves the traffic mayhem to attend to an accident victim who crossed the red light and caused and accident, that one is not stupid right? The state is suppose to put measures for the issuance of tickets for r ...

• Kwabena 2 months ago

The Attorney General should be arrested l am shocked. Does he know the number of people who have died because a certain careless driver crossed the red light. You don’t deserve this position as Attorney General. May the Lor ...

• ID 2 months ago

He didn't say the alleged offenders should not be prosecuted, he only said that their expensive vehicles should not be impounded because in the event that say a battery gets stolen from the vehicle in the night st the station ...

• Jee 2 months ago

Good one ,that what he said don't impound the vehicle but rather find some method of dealing with the issues.how can someone cross a red light which can lead to death or casualties the person must not arrested.

• Jesse 2 months ago

Massa don't even bother bother explaining , some people have English as their 3rd language ,or do.not have a common understanding of basic English..all they know is insults ...

• GOT IT WRONG 2 months ago

The AG is not saying the if you jump a red light you should go scot free. The kawasaki prescribes punishment which he thinks should apply.
    However, the Police extend this to impounding vehicles and it is this that the AG is ...

• GH8 2 months ago

Kwabena wotiri awo papa. Wabon papa. Where in the release did AG say when motorist crosses right light he or she shouldnt be arrested?

• Bobo 2 months ago

I can say for a fact that AG sipped wine and got a bit boozed. When you cross red light you can probably run into an on-coming vehicle or pedestrian crossing the road. Impounding the vehicle is to warn the driver not to repea ...

• Stone 2 months ago

Why now? Is it because of elections?

• So cos of elections we shouldn’t do the right thing? 2 months ago

So because election is coming we shouldn’t do the right thing ? You NDCdumbos don’t cease to amaze me with ur stupidity. All you people think abt is election to come and steal.

• George 2 months ago

It is a good call. There must be an alternative regulation(s) to punish offenders such as spot fines, ticketing and/or others which will directly go into the law coffers and not the pockets of corrupt policeman or policewoman ...

• Abuse of Power by this Attorney General 2 months ago

What a STUPID decision. Because he has the power he is using it unreasonable.
    1. Crossing a Red Light is an offence (whether minor or major) in any civilised and well managed country. The Police has been given the Mandate to ...

I don't think you understood what the AG was advising about so just stay in your STUPIDITY. Period.

• Khb 2 months ago

I think such cautions are in the right direction. I think the ministry of road and transport should have a common digital platform that will entails every driver's licenses and the car documents and also equip the police wit ...

• Rita 2 months ago

And if the driver refuse to pay the spot fine what next? Godfred Dame's short penis will be used to drag the driver from the road isn't it? To where? Nkwaseasem. Why didn't this fool join the Police Service

• CL 2 months ago

In fact, you are very intelligent, government wants to use lazy man's approach instead instituting the right measures to deal with the situation .

• Joy 2 months ago

Good. The police has taken the road as thier daily chop money zone. Sad they take big money on this minor problem to drink alcohol and eat big. The AG must not give the police the chance

• Akajatayogogo 2 months ago

I pity Ghana, drivers,AG Dame says you must cross red lights and drive without insurance. So drivers this is good news for you, you can cross red traffic lights and drive without insurance now in Good news for drivers.

• Obuor 2 months ago

@Akaja
    Reread and comprehend the statement put out there pls

• Jesse 2 months ago

Idoit , you can't comprehend English or you just don't understand what the AG said ?

• Elephant Farmer 2 months ago

Pressure on the GIP cause by elections are soon.

Because of wlections lets misbehave and put everyone lives at risk right?

• Akajatayogogo 2 months ago

Ghana is sick.

• Sumanguru Kantè 2 months ago

Such directives are welcome but must be issued without ambiguity. First and foremost, our system must be improved in order for such minor offerders to be penalise with a spot fine. That way, the state will generate more reven ...

• Yaw 2 months ago

@ Sumanguru Kante. You are a mad fool. Go back to your ward at Pantang Psychiatric Hospital.

AG try to sack IGP cause of all 200 Cedis Banknotes ready for By-or Buye-Elections for Oyokos.

• Jah bless 2 months ago

The police will still disobey this directive and use the corrupt and evil judges and prosecutors to intimite drivers.

• What happened in front of Jubilee House? 2 months ago

Are there even any traffic lights on our roads to be jumped? When did a mad man holding the leaves of a tree branch at road crossings become a traffic light? Zip up you this incompetent stupid government. Okay?

• Donatus 2 months ago

Good, law without common sense is not law.

• BBB BBB 2 months ago

So the attorney general just realized this ? Ghana is wonderful place to live. Election year brings a lot things into hear.

• Election campaign gimmick 2 months ago

So crossing red light is minor offence? You are too political to be AG.

Expose AG again.

• Kwame nkrumah 2 months ago

Police is impounding vehicles of "ghanaians" previously they were not ghanaians

• Opoku 2 months ago

I don't think the A-G is saying is good so u want people to break the law ? . What country are we in koraaaaaa

• Jee 2 months ago

Ghanaweb have a way of catching people attention.he did not say stop arresting people who commit such offences,but rather find way of dealing with such issues than impounding the vehicle.sometimes the car will be at stations ...

• Mental charter 2 months ago

Good....the police can delay you the whole day. Cause traffic bcos of minor offenses.

• Sk 2 months ago

The partisan nature of policies in Ghana is very alarming. Indeed the released statement from the AG was grossly unnecessary. It also send the wrong message to motorists. Firstly, driving without a valid insurance or driving ...

• BOY KOFI 2 months ago

The Battle of Trafalgar is about to end.What a tragedy?Tnx.

• Kofi 2 months ago

What type of attorney General is this? Infact these people have to go back to school, he is calling somebody who is driving without driving license, or crossing red traffic light, minor offense? Ghana we are in trouble, Ghana ...

• Jesse 2 months ago

Yes ,murder ,stabbings and ritual killings are major offenses for the police .. why tou want to make th3m minor offenses ?

• Joe 2 months ago

Please Mr Attorney General in fact I have always admired you but I think this time around you're completely getting it wrong by making such a comment.I mean how on earth,how ? Should a driver be allowed to continue when caugh ...

• Nye bro 2 months ago

The AG is right. In most cases, our policemen would impound those cars, take bribes, and let the offenders go. At the end of the day, what does the country get? Isn't it possible to let drivers who commit such minor offences ...

• Lizzy 2 months ago

@ Nye bro. Kwasea. So they should pay spot fine for not having insurance and continue to drive. If they knock your stupid leg they will tell the Judge that they have paid spot fine already and allowed to drive without the ins ...

why cant you keep mute and learn ?you seems very ignorant.
    you cannot impound my car because i do not have a valid insurance- what does valid means to you ?
    1. it could be expired

2. it could be fake

let me help you t ...

• Daakyi asem 2 months ago

Very soon, people will not insure their vehicles and many Insurance Companies will close down.

• Bam 2 months ago

Hey this is April fool wai

• ELECTRIC FENCE & CCTV CAMERAS 23, 2 months ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting (website). Visit: www.JustracAf ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

Mr Dame, crossing a Red light is not a minor traffic offense. Cross a Red Light in Uncle Sam’ can cause a driver around $1000 Dollars. If an accident occurs as a result of that, get ready to go to jail.

• Jesse 2 months ago

It's not 1000 dollars , stop lying ..in Louisiana it's way less ..where in the US do u get a 1000 dollar ticket ?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

You are talking about Louisiana and I am talking about Atlanta. My friend’s got a thousand Dollars fine when he jumped a Red Light when speeding to work.
    I had a six hundred Dollar fine when I made a no turn on a Traffic L ...

• NPP NEVER AGAIN IN HOHOE 2 months ago

WHY DO POLICE OFFICERS HATE PROFESSIONAL TEACHERS? STUPID POLICE OFFICER FOR 6MONTHS TRAINING CANT COMPARE HIMSELF TO A TRAINED TEACHER IN ANYTHING.COME TO HOHOE POLICE STATION AND SEE HOW THIS POLICE OFFICERS BEHAVE.NOTHING ...

• Yiadom 2 months ago

ALLOWING DRIVERS JUMP RED LIGHTS GO FREE, THIS MAN IS OUT OF TOUCH, HAVE HE ASK HIMSELF HOW MANY PEOPLE WILL BE KILL IF 2 CARS COLLIDE BECAUSE THERE IS NO RED LIGHTS RULES,

• Kapongerman 2 months ago

The AG mean crossing red light is a minor crime and should not attract impounding rather caution. Even the insurance should be optional, but why police are forcing people to get insurance, what do they have in common with ins ...

• Obuor 2 months ago

Reread the statement put out there pls

• Boagyaa Appiah- Kubi 2 months ago

The Police will not be comfortable if the ticket system is introduced in this Country. It will stop them from getting bribes in to their pockets and they don't like that, PERIOD.

• Sarah Anang 2 months ago

This is in the right order, if you've been a victim of these so called discretion by the officers you'll appreciate the position of the attorney General.
    He must be commended on the move rather than we been naive.

• Obuor 2 months ago

They can Just replace these bribe lovers policemen with Cameras.
    Link all the registration nrs to the Ghana card.digital adr.etc.
    Good idea.but today is 1st April ooo

• Kwadwo 2 months ago

Long overdue.

Overzealous policemen behaving lawlessly supported by Dampare and inspired by Kofi Boakye (who never became IGP, though). Arrant nonsense!

• Eps 2 months ago

These small minor offenses should attack Spot fees paid through Momo direct to Ghana Revenue Authority or the Ministry of Finance. Thanks to Nana Addo and Dr Bawumia

• Eps 2 months ago

These small minor offenses should attract Spot fees paid through Momo direct to Ghana Revenue Authority or the Ministry of Finance. Thanks to Nana Addo and Dr Bawumia

• Rocky Lee. 2 months ago

Ghana is finally finished. This AG is more than a monkeys brain. How can cars be crossing RED LIGHT?. Has he known the meaning of red light?. Do you that car crossing red light can cause fatal accidents?. People are losing th ...

• Jesse 2 months ago

Idiot..he said police should not impound cars not people should cross red lights.the police can fine you or take ur licence as other measures..is English ur third language ???

• Kofi 2 months ago

Sir
    Driving without insurance is extremely serious and it isn't minor offence. Car should be impounded when driving without licence.

Crossing through red light is also fatal but car should not be impounded but fined heav ...

• I am a Ghanaian 2 months ago

Wow, AG you've shocked me. I believe you have travelled outside Ghana before. Where in the work can you cross a red light, drive without insurance, etc and the police will turn a blind eye. Infact Ghana is leaders are sic. S ...

• Jesse 2 months ago

Mugu ...it's still a crime ...just don't impound the cars ..jeeezz people are slow today

Did you understand the AG's article?

• Derrick 2 months ago

Mr Odame pls allow Mr Dampare to bring some sanity to our roads. If you drive frequently on our motorable roads or are privy to the senseless deaths due to preventable accidents you would lend the IGP your support.
    If fairn ...

• Justice 2 months ago

Good advice but why now? This should've known to the public in decades now that these police officers enrich themselves for long. How will they stop intimidating the innocent drivers. And to the AG, I suggest a fine should b ...

• Nana 2 months ago

Cross a red light is one of the biggest drivers problems and it kills a lot of people.we the drivers have to pay for our wrong decisions. If the driver doesn’t have valid insurance who will pay after accident

how many road user who has got knocked down , injuries or death with those insured vehicles got paid after the Accident from the insurance companies in this country ?
    do the Ghana police service also make sure that ever ...

• Jesse 2 months ago

Are People slow or just daft ? THE AG Didn't say people can cross red light . The AG said the police should stop impounding cars . The may fine you or take other action

• Lizzy 2 months ago

Kwasea. So the driver should be allowed to still continue driving , causing more havoc and continue paying spot fines. You are very stupid. Then allow slap and pay spot fine. So that Kennedy Agyepong can give you several slap ...

• Jesse 2 months ago

Ya an idiot. 99 percent of people cross red lights because it changes suddenly .unless the person wants to commit suicide .... Show me anywhere in the world a police force imponds vehicles for a minor traffic violation and I ...

• Ye de owuo ka 2 months ago

I suppose such matters should be discussed between the two organs of governance behind closed doors. Giving such instructions publicly may give the impression that the IGP is not quite conversant with the applicable law or th ...

• WGoku 2 months ago

The current Attorney General AG of Ghana, with this declaration is the most STUPID, FOOLISH and less knowledgeable about the public protection law in Ghana. The police should not IMPOUND cars crossing red lights and those wit ...

• Jesse 2 months ago

You are the idiot, is English your 4th language

• Let’s stop this unnecessary drama 2 months ago

Crossing red lights is not a minor offense but a very serious violation that is not tolerated at all in any country civilized country. What’s the AG talking about ? This time I support the police to do their job and arrest ...

• Kwame Twumasi-Fofie 2 months ago

I beg to differ, Mr. AG. I'm nit sure there's any civilised country where driving through red light is seen as a minor traffic offence. Or does it become 'major' only after it has resulted in a serious accident?

Impoundin ...

• Kalusha 2 months ago

If cars cross the red lights then it does become illegal and so impounding sounds good for that. Do the right thing for cars not to be impounded then. They impound cars crossing the red lights all the time in the west.

We have lots of traffic lights that doesn't work, be there power off, or Mum Police chopp. Pedestrians get killed. Go Lapaz and cross Abeka. And see yourself. They speed up. But critics aimed to sack the IGP collecting GHS 20 ...

• Kwame 2 months ago

Learn from the Western countries. They have made life better for us through their proactive policies and advanced technologies. Give drivers instant citations and send them to courts to make money for the State. With no insur ...

• Martin Kreisler 2 months ago

Seems like another political popularity stunt; and a dangerous one, likely to impede the police in the discharge of their duties. Law enforcement is certainly an expensive endeavour (if effective), but lawlessness is catastro ...

• Bee 2 months ago

Nonsense,this will not happen in western world and even Asia.
    Let him do his work,do you want them to kill pedestrians ?

• Mras3m Du 2 months ago

I am happy the law is working now. Also all the okada and pragia riders must be forced to wear helmet otherwise they should face a fine.I am so happy for the law. I drove red lights in Britain when l visited my uncle there an ...

• Mras3m Du 2 months ago

I am happy the law is working now. Also all the okada and pragia riders must be forced to wear helmet otherwise they should face a fine.I am so happy for the law. I drove through a red lights in Britain when l visited my uncl ...

• Happy Sunday Ogama 2 months ago

I am a happy citizen now.

• Selfmade KING 2 months ago

Ghana is ready for LGBTQ RIGHTS

• Ama Koranteng 2 months ago

Police should impound more. Too much indiscipline

• Eworge 2 months ago

You Yeboah, your thoughts, advise, and comments to government are always political but not of wisdom. I was expecting you to add that, those serving jail terms and those fines should be released and compensated. Those Acts yo ...

• Abbey 2 months ago

If the Police do not impound the vehicles how are they going to track the offenders , just don't know how .

• Mekameka Daa, USA 2 months ago

I reasonably believe AG does know much about what he is saying about vehicles operating without insurance, for AG to states that they are unnecessary to be impounded.
    Has the AG been able to access the high risk in operating ...

• OBSERVERS WITHOUT BOADERS 2 months ago

ACTUALLY, A MOTOR VEHICLE WITHOUT A VALID INSURANCE SHOULD BE INPOUNDED MR. AG

• )p3 2 months ago

Soon they will instruct the police service not to arrest anybody, not even criminals because we’re in an election year.

• Karikari 2 months ago

Advise the police to issue instant tickets instead

• Sammie Sackey 2 months ago

With all due respect I do not agree with the AG because driving without a valid driver licence shouldn't be considered a minor infraction, except perhaps in cases of failure to renew such licence. Otherwise, we could have a c ...

• Obuor 2 months ago

Odame is a fool. Driving without valid insurance and driving through red traffic signals are major offences. Uninsured drivers pose risks to the public and other motorists. Equally, driving through red lights can lead to acci ...

• Ghana's problem are stupid illiterates who don't understand anything 2 months ago

The AG's stated a simple fact 'DON'T IMPOUND THE VEHICLE BUT ARREST FOR PROSECUTION' and we have whole stupid brainless people here condemning the AG. Ghana when shall we ever get rid of all these ignoramus citizens who don' ...

• Tintempa 2 months ago

We live in a country where birth certificate can't prove your nationality where national identification is an issue and people have multiple identities more over there are no and the few there are don't function thus cameras ...

• James 2 months ago

Illiteracy is another problem that has caused Ghana not to develop. What AG is saying does not mean that the perpetrator should chase such offence and go scort free, the perpetrator will be punished in a different way he he/ ...

• Kwam 2 months ago

I totally disagree with the AG driving without valid insurance certificate should not not be treated as a minor traffic offence. Should that vehicle get involved in motor accident with injuries or damage to property does he a ...

• BOY KOFI 2 months ago

What about Road worthy validation ?
    Has the AG forgotten about it's importance ?
    The Battle of Trafalgar is ongoing.Tnx.

• K. Yeboah 2 months ago

Who a hell is this AG ? He should be fired for promoting lawlessness. Cars running red lights cause accidents and the drivers should be punished by paying fines , and those without valid insurance impounded. It's done all ove ...

• apuuuu 2 months ago

They should start giving tickets with funds

• Kobii 2 months ago

Ghana's Attorney General encouraging lawlessness. How can someone driving without insurance be treated as a minor offence. In the UK where road safety is taking seriously driving without insurance is a criminal offence.

• Yaw Baafi 2 months ago

What does this cure? Stupified legal advice. His party is planning to use unregistered vehicles for the election stealing agenda. So now no one should search unregistered vehicles? From now onwards I Yaw Baafi and my family ...

• Frank, NY 2 months ago

For once, I see SENSE taking the lead on this advice. Such act has emboldened SOME Officers to rather extort money from drivers. Some arrogant ones too would take the driver to the police station and process the individual fo ...

• Seniorman 2 months ago

Driving without a valid insurance is an offence. what happens if the car is involved in an accident who pays for it?

• Kwasi 2 months ago

In UK driving without insurance is no no, they will impound your vehicle without any questions, you will get fined for driving without insurance, get points in your license and it will will affect your future insurance quotat ...

• A LOT OF STUPID POLICE ACTIONS 2 months ago

Hope this is just the 1st. Lots of stupid & illegal acts by Ghana police: Beating suspects, detaining beyond constitutionally allowed; abusing powers/taking sides in purely civil disputes; use for private security; blackmail ...

• Michael 2 months ago

You can compare other countries ghana their system is working. So that is the only way the igp can use to tame the system and those who have been crossing the red light.is the AG correct he should leave igp to do is work

• Co2 2 months ago

Why do we argue over a subjects, decisions and contributions that someone shares along the line that will benefit all of us. Ghana traffic policing is very very bad because all the police officers in Ghana are working for the ...

• MANB USA 2 months ago

This is an exposure of appointing unqualified people to a higher position. This AG thinks he owns the law, and he can modify it for his political ambition. That is abuse of power and must reexamine his swearing in an oat for ...

• Fab 2 months ago

Good afternoon. I'm at a loss about the AG's directive. A driver, driving a vehicle without a Road Worthy Certificate. It simply means the vehicle is not supposed to be on the road. What should the Police do? Allow the said v ...

• Losto 2 months ago

I will understand crossing a red light but without insurance, police should impound the car. I've gone through that in London.

• Bedu 2 months ago

Its a nice advice from the AG, except to say there are not proper systems in place to make sure this offending drivers actually shows up in court. Especially the trotro drivers.
    If the AG can profer a better way of getting t ...

• Wasik 2 months ago

Running a red light is a major traffic offense. This AG should resign because he doesn't know what he is doing. Driving without insurance will cost you $5000.00 in most Provinces in Canada. I don't know where this AG is comi ...

• Who poisone John Kumah with Akonfem 2 months ago

They have started fighting their own institutions because of votes. First was GRA and now this

• Jack Toronto 2 months ago

Playing politics with people's death is wickedness.

• Nii Joromi 2 months ago

Stupid Ghana police. Instead of making millions of cedis from traffic violations the state ends up losing money rather. Time for the police to start giving on the spot fines payable to specific banks. We're in the 21st centur ...

• Sofoline 2 months ago

Eiiii, jumping red lights can lead to people loosing their lives and without insurance how can the insurance company pay for the insurance, man stop the nonsense and call spade a spade.

• May 2 months ago

O how nice. When he isn’t in a police escort weaving through the streets any more, then he will understand why it’s important to impound very carefree, careless, ruthless Trotro, taxi drivers

• Kobby 2 months ago

First, the AG isn’t enshrined by the laws of Ghana to determine what crime the police should be focused on. Sounds like in Ghana, Executive orders are carried out by the government in power and so we see many nuances like t ...

• TTV 2 months ago

Maybe this is April!

• ofi Adu 2 months ago

?AG, you are wrong. And what about if the drivers run the red light and hit innocent cars and kill them ? Remember what your are saying and get ready to defend yourself in court.

• Fiifi Duncan, Cape 2 months ago

Crossing the red light a minor offence? I now understand why you support LBQT.No wonder you consider the billions locked in a minister's room as minor.I bleed for you.

• Yaw 2 months ago

Excellent advise. The police resort to jungle tactics such as impounding vehicles to frustrate and extort monies. You have their driving license, book them for court!

• Champion 2 months ago

Is the IGP operating in isolation? Does he not take legal advice from AG in his dealings? This letter speaks volumes. Don't we have lawyers in the police service?

• Millz 2 months ago

So That they will get the opportunity to smuggle their illegal stuffs

• MANU 2 months ago

This Attorney General is arrogant and thinks his powers can not be challenged by anyone.
    The AG should rather go to Parliament to amend the laws rather than arrogating powers to himself.He is not serious.

• Ato Amaniampong 2 months ago

Harassing drivers in Ghana has always been a good opportunity for the Ghana police service to make good daily sales.

• Ewvevi 2 months ago

Oh Daame. Has this AG heard of how jumping red lights has caused the death of people?

• kofi edem 2 months ago

This Godfred Dame paaaa what is wrong with him.When drivers offend the law,the police should allow them to go away freely.This is bogus.10 years child will not say this rubbish.

• Ex-Pope 2 months ago

IMPOUND CHIEFS WHO MARRY TWELVE YEARS OLD GIRLS. SEND PERVERTED CHIEFS TO AUTO IMPOUND CENTRES.

Yes, stop wasting time on red light abusers and instead impound this sicko perverted chief who has just married a twelve year ...

• Fake prophets 2 months ago

Eiii! I didn't know this minister Dame is so stupid.

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 2 months ago

THE ATTORNEY GENERAL(AG) IS A VERY, VERY, VERY STUPID AND UNINTELLIGENT GOVERNMENT APPOINTEE. WHAT ???
    WHAT THEN IS THE NEED FOR THE RED LIGHTS IN THE TRAFFIC SYSTEM ? WHAT STANDARD OF FORMAL EDUCATION DOES THIS ATTOR ...

• Champion 2 months ago

Stupid fool. I doubt whether you read the advice and if you read it then I wonder whether you understood it. The advice to IGP is to stop impounding cars involved in those minor offences but can go ahead and prosecute them. ...

• Ghanaweb will soon block me. 2 months ago

Mr Dampare please man didn't put you into that office. God put you there to do God's will.
    Do God's will and not man's will.

I command the devil's authority over the government and his appointees to break in Jesus name.

• JAK 2 months ago

WHAT HAS POLITICS GOT TO DO WE WITH THIS?
    GO LEBANON, DRIVER CAN EVEN STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD MAIN ROAD TALK TO A FRIEND, EVEN THOUGH, THEY 7 AND 8 LANES

• Paul 2 months ago

Does an uninsured vehicle on the road not constitute a risk to other road users? As an ordinary non-learned citizen, I just can't see my way clear if the Police are now being directed to throw such vehicles back on the road a ...