Here is how many nurses have left Ghana since August 2023

Read Comments Comments (83)

• STREETS OF FOREIGN LANDS NOT PAVED WITH GOLD 2 months ago

This headline in the UK Guardian newspaper caught my eye a week ago "Thousands of foreign nurses a year leave UK to work abroad"
    The number of UK-registered nurses looking to [work in] other countries doubled in just one ye ...

• Man Nie 2 months ago

Well done, Akufo Addo.

• OSABARIMA MENSA 2 months ago

Let's train more for export. Think about the inward remittance. A well trained human resource is more valuable than all the gold in the ground.

• Kwaku 2 months ago

Makes sense.

• TWEAA DC 2 months ago

OH!..PERPETUAL, THEY ARE CALLED 'JUST DRONES'?...HALF A LOAF THEY SAY IS BETTER THAN NONE...NO REFRIGERATORS, NO DRONES, THEN WHAT?...UNGRATEFUL BEINGS...TWEAA.

• BUT CAN THEY SURVIVE THE HIGH COST OF LIVING WHILE ABROAD? 2 months ago

THE PROBLEM IS NOT HOW TO GET THERE BUT RATHER HOW TO BE ABLE TO AFFORD TO LIVE WHEN YOU GET THERE. That has become the number one concern. This explains why over the last 3-4 years thousands of foreign UK based nurses have b ...

• Ama 2 months ago

Baaam, you’ve said it all.

• Kwabena Ohemeng, London 2 months ago

Better to die early leading a happier,prosperous life than to live long in poverty.
    Anyway, a lot of Ghanaians are dying early in life in Ghana than Ghanaians living in the UK and doing long hours of work.Life in the UK is ...

• HAPPIER PROSPEROUS LIFE WHEN YOU ARE EXAUSTED & EMOTIONALLY DRAINED? 2 months ago

Massa how can anybody enjoy what you describe as "a happier, prosperous life" when every day they return from work almost collapsed ,red eyed and utterly exhausted and barely able to think? Do you know what happens when a per ...

• Niko 2 months ago

You’ve really educated the wise ones . Thanks a lot for this intelligent comment

• Pelicles 2 months ago

Thank you. To some every
    thing is money. Tweakai

• Sam 2 months ago

hahahaha

• Pelicles 2 months ago

Are poor people in the UK, and why? What were you doing in Ghana before you went to the UK, and do people die in that country?

• Don’t rush to go to the uk …. It’s not worth it 2 months ago

We all know this and we keep telling our loved ones but they don’t listen. Nurses in UK are not paid well coupled with this severely cold weather and gmo foods.. I’ll rather be a nurse in Ghana and get a side job to add t ...

• AKP 2 months ago

My friend, those who get offer as nurses and not as desperate nurses using the carer route are not worse off at all.....the weather is not always bad and more so you can still get your African foods to buy here. I am not sayi ...

• Yabi Yabi 2 months ago

The NPP and majority of irresponsible and selfish parents who are ardent and fanatical supporters of the Ghana free SHS are mostly people who lack foresight. Throughout organized education of man, the expectation at the end o ...

• Mr. Good 2 months ago

Yabi Yabi, you are a big fool.

• NPP: AKROMFUOR HOMOSEXUALS 2 months ago

NPP dirty faggots and homosexuals! Your akpeteshie "King Kong" - John Boadu, said they will expand the economy with many manufacturing industries that will require Ghana to import thousands of foreign labour. Today, your own ...

• Osbon 2 months ago

Madam stopped this political campaign. I lived in London UK 47 years. Ghana nurses living Ghana to work in UK were before my time there and,and beyond. Even Okonfo Anokye hospital Kumasi cannot afford to keep all medicatio ...

• 3Y3 AZAA NKOAAAA 2 months ago

Hey @Osbon the homeless rat! You mean you lived in London for 47 years with all this horrible grammar??? Ofui... I know your village at Fa Nkyene Nko. Stupid Liar, do you even have a passport?

• E. K. Arthur 2 months ago

I am just surprised about the politics she was tricked to speak that way.

• BOO BOO 2 months ago

SOME NURSES WERE JOBLESS AND IF THEIR OWN EFFORT HAVE AQUIRED SOME JOBS OUTSIDE GHANA, WHY CRY? PLEASE HANDS OFF THE JOBLESS GHANAIAN YOUTH AND LET THEM EXPLORE AVENUES WHERE ENDS CAN MEET.

• Oklemekuku 2 months ago

Who said the streets of foreign lands are paved with gold? How many nurses face hardships in the UK?

• SO WHY ARE NURSES FLEEING UK IN RECORD NUMBERS FOR OTHER COUNTRIES 2 months ago

Massa so why have nurses (especially foreign ones) been leaving the UK in record numbers over the last 3 years for other countries?

• Kobina otumanyi 2 months ago

Ms Perpertual is damn right. Why do we need drones if everything was working well?
    Nurses will continue to leave until the NPP leaves the scene for a more competent man to take over including the ministry of health.
    The s ...

• Kweku Tsin 2 months ago

Stop DISCORAGING PEOPLE by comparing apples to oranges. IT'S ROUGH IN GHANA. Most people leaving Ghana are not registered nurses by Western standards. They are Home Health Care nurses (taking care of old folks). With some peo ...

• Ama 2 months ago

You have said it all. The streets are not paved with gold. Nurses in London are struggling to pay the rent for a single room in a shared accommodation.

• Nii Adjei 2 months ago

Thank you for your advice and contribution. We are producing medicare staffs for export. We are producing electricity (energy) for export. We are growing cocoa ... for export. All without added value.

• Man 2 months ago

See this lie master, truth is a stranger to you, how can there be space to explain a lie... continue spinning lies wai..

• Kwame 2 months ago

Please, let's stop this noice. We have more brains to be drained. No need to cry over spillage of excesses.p, There are a number of them at home waiting to be employed. Please be happy that some have left. Employ those who at ...

• Napo 2 months ago

Thank you for leaving us here in this shit hole country to die if we or our family becomes sick. I don't blame you and you have your rights to move to better your life elsewhere, the blame should be on the head of our politic ...

• Slim 2 months ago

If you're a nurse and there's an opportunity to leave Ghana, run fast out the country. Your political leaders are morons. They incapable of transforming Ghana

• Slim 2 months ago

If you're a nurse and there's an opportunity to leave Ghana, run fast out the country. Your political leaders are morons. They're incapable of transforming Ghana.

• Kofi 2 months ago

Brain drain is not exclusive to the nursing profession . Madam, don't try to be political in your statements. Are they not enough waiting to be posted? What innovative ideas have you offered to ensure that the little we have ...

• Joe Pike 2 months ago

She's an employee And not a govt appointee. She speaks for nurses not other professionals. What's your beef? She's the leader of nurses in ghana

• Babangida Casagrande 2 months ago

You right madam, but the medications are being stolen from the storage by the same staff members. I know one pharmacist who owns multiple clinics and mansions

• Justice 2 months ago

Why don’t you report him

• BOY KOFI 2 months ago

Poor reportage without specific and category.
    We have trained nurses who have nothing job or any expérience.
    How do we know if these nurses leaving our shores are the experienced ones or the unemployed?
    Will you blame peo ...

• NO FUTORE IN 3RD WORLD GHANA 2 months ago

EVERYTHING IN GHANA IS BROKEN

• COD 2 months ago

The trained will surely continue to leave Ghana to foreign lands to better their lots because in Ghana one must be a politician and or politically connected to enjoy some Sun bathing.

• Asídu Keta 2 months ago

The woman is not a leader. It is because the taxes people pay cannot build all the roads now, that's why the drones. We are a developing country. The politicians are not bad but there is so much you can do and the country is ...

• BOY KOFI 2 months ago

It's not easy to get a nursing job abroad.The last time I tried to get a job for my niece in Europe.
    To my surprise,I was asked to pay more than €8000 to €10000 through middle men.No free lunch.Tnx.

• Elephant Farmer 2 months ago

Good business for Travel Agents. How many of those got arrested since then? UK nurses leave their country and others filled the gap. Bad road conditions filled the hospitals after years of Road constructions.

• AUTOMATED GATE SYSTEM. G6GK 2 months ago

Save the stress now. Remotely open your home gate or industrial gate with your phone anywhere. Make your life easier with Justrac SMART GATE MOTORS to open and close your gates the smart way. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com K7H ...

• Gerthy 2 months ago

Oh yes and thief lives are perfect especially in uk

• Kee 2 months ago

Why are all union leaders corrupt NDC members. This woman comment is petty and silly. Drones delivery is different from infrastructures so why not appealing to the government for more since such infrastructures are ongoing. P ...

• Jon J 2 months ago

make em go i mean those capable of leavin after al da GHS cant engage em al

• Koob 2 months ago

Those who have completed nursing colleges are still home without posting. Those leaving for uk should be a blessing for Ghana and families if Ghana position herself to benefit. GRNMA should fight for those in the house withou ...

• Jkmee 2 months ago

Hmmmmmm

• Amazing Grace 2 months ago

I and my team of about 30 are working on our documents to leave. We can't continue to suffer in Ghana

• Yaaaa 2 months ago

Whi is keeping u here?

• Krobea consult 2 months ago

Grace call or WhatsApp as we can secure you and team offers and COS in Uk to leave, also Australia,Ireland,Hong Kong,Swiss ,Germany opportunities for healthcare works 0541075212

• Krobea consult 2 months ago

Grace call or WhatsApp as we can secure you and your team offers and COS in Uk to leave, also Australia,Ireland,Hong Kong,Swiss ,Germany opportunities

• Aplanke Nana 2 months ago

This particular woman is hypocrite.She is part of nation wreckers Bawuliar Jack Toronto Azar govt.Who are you complaining too.witch.

• K 2 months ago

Can we stock blood for instance in every hospital? Knowing blood has expiry? Some hospitals may not need some blood products during the shelf live of the blood product.

So it would be unwise to stock all hospitals with bl ...

• K 2 months ago

Can we stock blood for instance in every hospital? Knowing blood has expiry? Some hospitals may not need some blood products during the shelf live of the blood product.

So it would be unwise to stock all hospitals with bl ...

• The Piper 2 months ago

The madam is talking about scientific facts, but the Npp government led by Nana will not make resources available for the necessary provisions in the health sector. He has rather used our taxes unwisely to put in the building ...

• Kobie 2 months ago

Not only nurses are leaving and it's all over Africa. Africa has the youngest population globally so every continent will fall on us for the human resources need. We should take advantage of the situation and stop looking at ...

• Kwame nkrumah 2 months ago

How many nurses produce in Ghana. Over 20,000 nurses graduate in Ghana

• Agbeli Kumordzi 2 months ago

The very nurses that voted for Akuffo Addo are now runing away from Ghana
    I wish them good luck

• mom 2 months ago

Well said Agbeli

• Oklibone Accra 2 months ago

What greener pastures? at what country? No where cool.twaaa

• ILLITERATES IN POSITION OF POWER 2 months ago

From our MPS to president we have people who are not fit to rule or govern or be in a position, and they all fail to learn NKURAASEFOO
    . Govt spent millions on training these nurses and they decide to go abroad and the govt ...

• Clinton kofi afriyie agyemang 2 months ago

Is really true our leaders are cheating the people of ghana

• Ato Amaniampong 2 months ago

12,000 nurses left the UK for Greener pastures in America and other places. 6,000 nurses leaving Ghana is not news.

• Another+kululu 2 months ago

It's no news at all. Even if they pay 10000 they will leave. My visa is ready so next month I'm off. Nobody can stop that so they should stop talking about it. It is no news.

• Ato Amaniampong 2 months ago

This woman is actually not happy that rural communities are receiving medical supplies through the drone services. Wicked public servants, they are the reason this country is not moving forward as expected.

• Nii Adjei 2 months ago

As long as we have presidents, ministers, parliamentarians ... seeking healthcare in the private healthcare or seeking healthcare abroad there will be poor healthcare equipments ...

• Darku Kofi 2 months ago

Madam, you should have asked for the 81million dollars sputnik v deposit said to be with a supplier so that could be used to improve the health infrastructures in the country.

• Pelicles 2 months ago

To Perpetual Ofori, nurses in Ghana were to seek greener pastures before you were born so, stop that cheap political talk. Were nurses not leaving Ghana when JJ ruled with iron fist? If yes, what is the problem? Oh, I see Ma ...

• Native New Yorker 2 months ago

No, building the cathedral is much more expedient than providing for the nurses.

• Akwesi NyameAdom 2 months ago

I surely wish our nurses well as they seek experiences from these advanced countries. After all, majority of our greedy and corrupt politicians including the president of the country trained all their children in these advanc ...

• Fiifi, UK 2 months ago

Unfortunately, majority of these are not up to the job. Most of them end up being health care assistants. I’m a nurse manager in the UK and therefore speaking from experience

• mom 2 months ago

Although, they will have to pay bills, but working as health care assistant's salary is better than a nurse's pay in Ghana.

• Ginny 2 months ago

You can’t blame them for wanting to leave. Ridiculous low wages poor working condition. Once you have passed your exams and qualified corrupt officials make you pay for a placement the whole system is falling apart so sad I ...

• Raphael Abeam US 2 months ago

So the Nurses are saying using the drones are not important
    Is it only Ghana that are using the drones to deliver medicine. The facilities that she is talking about are not there so what should we do..That nurse should know ...

• Josh 2 months ago

Madam Perpetual,

Why don't you also state the number of trained nurses who are unemployed? Large numbers of trained nurse have not been posted because there's no money to pay them {The Min of Fin has not issued clearance). ...

• Abena 2 months ago

Most of them are not finding it cool over there.

• Manchester City 2 months ago

@ Abena. Even Ivory Coast is far better than Ghana. Didn't you hear the testimony of the Ghanaians living in Ivory Coast on Joy News? You are in a shit hole

• OZYMANDIAS 2 months ago

Madam Perpetual, if you were younger and you had the same opportunity to leave for greener pastures, what would you have done? A simple question needs a simple answer from you.

• BUSINESS / NON WEBSITES UUJ, 2 months ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting (website). Visit: www.JustracAf ...

• Ogam 2 months ago

Just wait for US to lift their retrogression. We will see if they become serious in this country or not. We patiently wait!

• Koo 2 months ago

This is no news,they should have left right after SHS to persue their nursing programme outside the country for them yo pay over $70.000 loan after completing their course,by that they will appreciate Ghana government,even th ...