GH¢500 fine, year in jail or both: What the law says about child marriage

Read Comments Comments (29)

• NII-BI 2 months ago

I am typical Ga from a strong traditional home. However I am 100 percent against what the Gbɔbu wulɔmɔ has done. Whatever that informed that should be rescinded now! We cant be kept in the dark forever.

• THE CHILDREN FIRST 2 months ago

The punishment needs to be increased and education of the public made wider.

Gay advocates, you are not invited, you have hidden agendas.

• PLANNED EPIDERMIC 2 months ago

child marriage is bad but teen premarital sex is good....eiii child right people.....

• Oh Africa is no more. 2 months ago

Everyone is a colonised westerner in Ghana. In our old traditions not everything is sexualised. This marriage is not sexual and cannot be. It is a customary practice that existed but because our cultures have been destroyed w ...

• Kwame K 2 months ago

This has nothing to do with Whites or Africans, it is about right and wrong and this has no colour. What the wulomo and his supporters are doing is criminal and must be stopped.

• Kwame 2 months ago

Kwame K , what do you say to Roman Catholic nuns being called Brides of Christ, whether they are juveniles or not ?

• Noble 2 months ago

Where are the overzealous MPs keen to regulate what two consenting adults do in private? The penalty for child marriage has to be increased. In the case of this lecherous old fool, if he do much as cast a glance in the direc ...

• Sam Fante warrior. 2 months ago

Your mother from galamsey hole son of bitch want to claim Ga, animals toilet eaters.

• FRESH AGEDE. 2 months ago

CAUTION, AS THIS CASE IS SETTLED OUT OF COURT. THINGS MAY APPEAR SIMPLE BUT LET US BE CAREFUL.
    A WHOLE INFLUENTIAL OVERLORD IS THE OFFENDER.
    HE HAS AN ARMY BEHIND HIM.
    LET US AVOID INTIMADATION AND BLOODSHED. WE CAN OVER ...

• Bright 2 months ago

What do you mean by army, are they stronger than the State, they should try it and see, they will be crushed.

It gonna be civil war mark it. Ga people are not alone. Remember our history and our land.

• Fathia Fata Nkrumah 2 months ago

Passport is today 700 and 800gh but the charge for child marriage is just 500gh or what and what kai Ghana Daabida

• You Better Be 2 months ago

What about so called PROPHET MUHAMMAD who married a 9 year old girl?
    Stop attacking the Ga chief and condemn FAKE PROPHET MUHAMMED. Many Muslims are hypocrites.

• Issah 2 months ago

Ignorance is a disease. I'm sorry for you. All the corruption and stealing in this world are done by christians. Christianity is a business not religion. Islam is spreading like wildfire. We will soon start buying your churc ...

• TRACKING SERVICES. 43U 2 months ago

TRACK your vehicle with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route (all by your phone) etc. PRICE: GHS750. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com H67

• Coliqs 2 months ago

Child marriage is a crime in Ghana but not a crime in the united state of america who is forcing Ghana government to accept gay marriage or same sex marriage which is the worst crime in the bible and quran as well as our trad ...

• Angel 2 months ago

Please learn English before writing your rubbish.

• SA 2 months ago

Unnecessary stuff from this wulormor and the useless elders who a promoting this nonsense. The land and language are dying and this is what Ga chiefs and elders are interested in?Totally nonsensical.

The innocent 12 year ...

• Ye de owuo ka 2 months ago

Hopefully, this matter will not turn to be another political impasse between the NPP and NDC. Once a law has already been put in place about such a humiliating matter, let the law take its due course; without wasting any mor ...

• Daakyi asem 2 months ago

This has already turned into politics. Everything in Ghana is politics. The Laws don't work. This case will not go anywhere. The Police is also being cautious to avoid any disturbances in Accra. I thank God the IGP acted swif ...

• HENRY, SPAIN 2 months ago

SHOULD BE ARRESTED IMMEDIATELY AND FACE THE LAW. NO TIME SHOULD BE DELAYED. AND THAT SHRINE ABOLISH.

• Kwesi Nyantekyi's Last Born 2 months ago

Lol.
    @henry, Spain, since you know so much, please go and arrest him.
    Ghana in general is a lawless country.
    Few months ago, some headless police officers ganged up against the IGP and we all saw what happened in parliamen ...

• Okpoti Musa 2 months ago

The prophet Mohammed (Peace be upon him) in his right senses, married a 9 year-old and f***** her at age 12.

• zzz 2 months ago

It is the same as being fined for applying for a passport.
    This fine cannot deter people from continuing with such practices.

• Ghanabi Kofi 2 months ago

Gbobu wulomo is the chief priest of Nungua Traditional Area and NOT overlord of Ga-Dangbe please.
    Bad press on an ancient tradition which no longer makes sense to the modern mind.

• Kwame 2 months ago

Africans were doing quite well before the Caucasian came along with his version of what was right and what was wrong. They came with the cross, the Bible and a bunch of lies. But yet, they came and colonized Africans with ass ...

• Nsia 2 months ago

@Kwame, No we had barbaric Kings who married girls at young age, sacrificed humans to useless River gods. Sold their own as slaves. It was a white man who came to the Gold Coast, learnt Akwapim and Fante Twi and taught us how ...

Foolish illiterates monkeys before arrest the Ga chief go and arrest your criminal dirty Moosi chief first. You bastards are jokers and playing with fire, idiots.

• KRAMO 2 months ago

But allows teenage pregnancies ? Plenty vagabond children in the country , children born without marriage fathers growing and abortions !