News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Chiefs not obliged to stand to greet president - Prof Atuguba chides chieftaincy ministry

Read Comments Comments (51)

• Oyibo 4 weeks ago

Nana Addo would not be the president of Ghana forever. Even in classrooms we stand up for our teachers. We respect people not for who they are but for the positions they occupy. Interestingly, karma is listening.

• st 4 weeks ago

respect is earned. why are the chiefs not getting up? ask them that

• DotCom 4 weeks ago

I don’t know which part of Ghana you come from but in most traditions in Ghana, it is always the guest who rises to greet the host. One reason we are struggling is the fact that we have no accepted ways of doing things, so ...

• Mkd 4 weeks ago

I agree with you.
    It has nothing to do with where you come from alone. Its everywhere. The guest always greet the host.

• Yoo 4 weeks ago

I respect your submission. But the point we are missing has to do with public/national events where the President has to be in attendance. Who takes precedence? If it is about a traditional function, then we all know it will ...

• DotCom 4 weeks ago

The president is the guest of the chief so it is the president who has to rise to greet the chief. It has always been the norm in Ghana. I am old enough to have witnessed all the heads of state of Ghana rising or walking to t ...

• MARY ESSUMAN YORK 4 weeks ago

You're a very smart person Mr or Mrs Yoo.. These guys are comparing apples and oranges. How do you compare a small chief whose title is not even obtrempong to Otumfuo, who has 66 paramount chiefs under him.

• Mike 4 weeks ago

Finally! Someone with some sense. Thank you.

• IT IS ABOUT THE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENCY NOT ABOUT INDIVIDUALS 4 weeks ago

The Office of the President transcends that of any local traditional leader.The elected President represents the Republic of Ghana in its entirety and not a partical sub region of the nation. A chief in one particular region ...

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 4 weeks ago

Respect is earned not demanded. Ghanaians will start respecting hi as soon as he respects himself and respects us and our traditional authorities. He gathered the same energy to command his equally idiot daughter to also stan ...

• Kwakuo President 4 weeks ago

Akaatia Addo was the world to know that he is a human being. No way. His tail is still hanging there and the face can't be erased.

• Kwakuo President 4 weeks ago

Wants **

• TWEAA DC 4 weeks ago

EI!..PRO. ATUGUBA...IS IT COMPULSORY TO COMMENT ON ALL ISSUES?...WHAT ARE YOU TEACHING OUR STUDENTS?...TWEAA.

• Dade 4 weeks ago

O Ayigbes!! What drives the hatred and bitterness in you? Are all Togolese like you? Trokosis give the sister country of Togo a bad name.

• Game Changer 4 weeks ago

@Dade... Gyimini.. what has ayigbes got to do with a roque of a president fooling in public? Let me caurse u more bleeding.. The National Anthem and Pledge you ugly ashanti bush rats recite with joy was composed by ayigbe tro ...

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 4 weeks ago

What that certificateless Akufo Addo does to Asantehene, Ofori Panyin (Kyebi) or Ofori Kuma fie (Akropong) chiefs is different from what he does to others countrywide. The main problem is that he feels disappointed because Gh ...

• John k 4 weeks ago

Chiefs have their levels and among all chiefs in Ghana the president tops So it is never wrong for chiefs to stand up to greet the president it's a respect Those chiefs too when they also get to places people stand up to gree ...

• UNCLE PEE 4 weeks ago

No, you're absolutely wrong. The President is an elected public officer and therefore servant to the people which include the chiefs. The chiefs are an embodiment of the spirit and traditions of the same people who are the el ...

• Yoo 4 weeks ago

Go and read the provision of the constitution which was quoted by the Chieftancy Minister and educate yourself accordingly.

• UNCLE PEE 4 weeks ago

Maybe you didn't understand Article 270 (1) so you can be forgiven for the ignorance.

• Sarfo Bedoako 4 weeks ago

@John K kwasia it is immodest and shameful for Akuffool Addo to demand obeisance from a chief. Obeisance come naturally without demand. Besides he ( Akatia Addo) doesn't deserve it.

• Stella 4 weeks ago

I will vote for Mahama

• Ghanaians are cowards 4 weeks ago

I totally disagree with this, the president is the number one gentleman of the state, the commander in chief of the Armed forces, can any of our chiefs sit down to greet America president?

• Jaaafro 4 weeks ago

Asantehe sits down whilst Akufo Monkey Addo stands up as they greet. Look at the picture again. You fool

• Yoo 4 weeks ago

This happens at him Palace. And not only the Asantihene, all chief Palaces. Mention one incident when the President visited a Chief and asked him to stand up to welcome or greet him.

• MyBigMouth 4 weeks ago

I don't condone Addo's obsession with chiefs having to stand to attention to receive him.
    I am also peeved that you stand in Accra to reel off names of chiefs and exclude the Ga Mantse.
    A bigger disrespect than what the P ...

• Ataa Obeng site 19 Tema 4 weeks ago

Akuffo Addo is creating problems for his party, so don't you have any responsible person in the NPP to advise him, the arrogance in the NPP is too much, look at people like napo, simon osei mensah, gabby Okyere darko and the ...

• Yoo 4 weeks ago

I think this NDC professor has lost it all. Until now, I used to hold him with high esteem. My understanding of whatt the Chieftancy Ministry said, as a common Middle School Leaver (Form 4), was that at public events, all sea ...

• Blackman 4 weeks ago

@yoo another fool. Those places mentioned by you is it events organised by the chiefs? If your logic holds the useless president should go to Otumfoɔ event and command him as seen in the video. Be objective and think useless ...

• Yoo 4 weeks ago

Whether I am a fool or not is neither here nor there. What matters is for you to obey the highest authority of the land. Your hatred for the President is non of my worries. You and your likes can decide to turn the country up ...

• Blackman 4 weeks ago

Have you seen NPP fools condemning before. Nkwasiafoɔ nkoaaa....

• Nkwantabisa 4 weeks ago

Can that Dwarf of a president ask Asantehene or that his Akyemhene to stand up to greet him?

• Sasabonsam 4 weeks ago

What exactly does standing up or sitting down do for Ghanaians? Thief Akuffo Addo has no locus to demand anything from anyone, judging from his abysmal governance. I think after he’s booted from Jubilee House in January 202 ...

• Ohene 4 weeks ago

I dont stand for nobody

• Nii Adjei 4 weeks ago

This issue has only become topical under arrogant Akufo-Addo and his radarless puppet Bawuliar's NPP regime. Never in the history of our 4th Republic have we so much disrespected our traditional rulers so much so that, a pres ...

• Teddy 4 weeks ago

Dishonest Professor, the Ministry's statement said they should rise to greet the President at Public Events not at the Chief's Palace. I expect a Professor to tell the truth irrespective of the circumstances. It is because o ...

• Kelvin 4 weeks ago

Prof, you are very wrong.

Nana, is the President of the land, read it, President of the Land. When he visits any chief in his palace, the law instructs him to pay obeisance to him by bowing and greeting and not the other ...

• Sarfo Bedoako 4 weeks ago

It is immodest for that "Kwasia" and irresponsible Akuffool addo to tell a chief to stand up and greet him. His days are numbered!

• Abuba 4 weeks ago

NDC smells profusely on this professor. We know all of them. Tell Benjamin Akakpo to interview neutrals not NDC lawyers like Atuguba Srem-Sai etc. We know them very well.

• Jaws 4 weeks ago

Would this kapwepwe had asked this same chief to stand up to greet him when he was seeking the second term in 2020? Such an arrogant and hypocritical liar like no other

• www.spotlightafricamedia.net 4 weeks ago

##Lets Handle All Your Social Media Services...We Offer Google Adverts, YouTube Adverts, Facebook and Instagram Adverts, SEO, Website Design, Flyers, Logos...We also help you build your social media followers, views, subscrib ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 4 weeks ago

The Chieftaincy ministry should just shut it if they haven’t got the balls to condemn our president or any of his appointees ordering Chiefs to stand up for this president to greet them. This Shambolic act is to stop now. ...

• True talk respectfully 4 weeks ago

What everyone must know is is Ghana is not a kingdom, is a republic and there no chief or king is above the president at any given time, it is only respect that is given to the chiefs and Asantehene, the president is the firs ...

• WELL SAID MASSA 4 weeks ago

Well said Massa

• Mi 4 weeks ago

These NPP people and the president are hypocrites and a disgrace to the nation. The president has visited the Ashantehene several times and the Ashantehene was in his seat to receive him, why are you trying to create animosit ...

• Citizen8 4 weeks ago

One of the problems of this country is that people don't know what they don't know. It's particularly so with some members of the intellectual class. They think once they become professors in their chosen fields of sudy they ...

• yap 4 weeks ago

Prof you are way off it is not Nana addo rather the president of the republic,all stand to receive when a sitting president comes, that is tradition of our country to greet elders, except when the president comes to your hous ...

• Republic Gift 4 weeks ago

This is pure nonsense Atuguba? Are chiefs palaces not part of the State called Ghana? Is the President not the Head of State or he ceases to be the Head of State when he enters a chief’s palace?

• Jerry 4 weeks ago

I think the president may be having a medical condition that is making it difficult for him to bend and greet and so he finds it convenient when the other person stands up. Let’s not forget that he’s an old man. If we wan ...

• Kow 4 weeks ago

The professor is isinuating tribalism. Why mention King of Ashanti or the Okyehene's names in this. Is it because they are Akans like the President. Mention a chief in the north or Upper

• Bastie Asantefournyinaahene 4 weeks ago

There's no King in the republic of Ghana. There's no more Kingdoms in Ghana. We're now a UNITARY STATE.