Decongesting Accra: John Mahama proposes new city as solution

Read Comments Comments (123)

• THE VISIONARY AT WORK 1 year ago

The visionary is at work

• BRILLIANT IDEA. COTE D'IVIORE DID IT. NIGERIA DID IT WIH ABUJA. JM CAN DO IT 1 year ago

You are indeed a visionary. This is going to create MASSIVE jobs and huge flow of investment into the country.

Hail the savior. Hail the visionary

• OSABARIMA MENSA 1 year ago

Another HOPE CITY scam. The corrupt and incompetent one knows that there is one sucker like you born everyday.

• Togbe Agorkorli 1 year ago

Volta region? ....why?

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 1 year ago

Visionary Leader John Dramani Mahama is really an organic big thinker unlike??? Thank God I didn't mention Bawumia or Akufo Addo's name.

• FRANKIE 1 year ago

Osagyefo reincarnated. All Hail the Nkrumah of our time, Osagyefo John Dramani Mahama, the nation builder.

• Mary- Ho public toilet 1 year ago

Oh Ayigbes!!!

• Divine Ninja of America 1 year ago

Building another city as Ghana's capital is not the solution but the suspected biggest plots of thefts by John Mahama with a heavy construction that will not bring any progress but waste of money and shifts of Ghana's wealth ...

The idiot wicked Mahama wants to steal more from poor Ghanaians and become a billionaire. That is his motive and I suspect the CIA is behind his return because he promoted the Directed Energy Weapons of CIA in Ghana by taking ...

Create manufacturing plants in the neighboring towns close to the capital and people will move to get jobs. Just creating another city is useless but a plot to steal through heavy constructions and awarding of contracts to ge ...

Criminally-minded John Mahama who keeps fooling ignorant people, especially, some foolish illiterates and educated ignorant ones in the NDC who cannot reasons or remain honesty but to do anything student for political gains. ...

John Mahama just want to cause commotion and destroy people's businesses in Ghana. The congestions in Accra is great for high daily business turnover. All you need is sky train for efficiency movement. Relocating that capital ...

• Suma 8 months ago

Stop these bad words which do not help anything. He is somebody's dad. Do unto others............

• Chizzy 1 year ago

Oh please....don't denigrate Nkrumah after you overthrew him

• Shame Anti Ashanti NDC - Why not in Ashanti region 1 year ago

Shame Anti Ashanti NDC - Why not in Ashanti region

• Mr Bob 1 year ago

All your land is used for galamsey

• Think about the dualization construction of Accra - Kumasi- Tamale road and the dualization Accra - Cape coast- Takoridi to stop the carnage on the road 1 year ago

Think about the dualization construction of Accra - Kumasi- Tamale road and the dualization Accra - Cape coast- Takoridi to stop the carnage on the road

• Evil men NPP 1 year ago

Kwasiakwa, tell your lame Nana addo and the limping mate to dualize them. What have they been doing these 7.5 years? Danduuruwa

• Obroniguy 1 year ago

THIS MAHAMA GUY IS SMART AND CLEVER PERSON, I PRAY YOUR MODERNIZATION VISION FOR GHANA COME FRUITFUL SIR ..

• Ghanaba 1 year ago

Any time JDM talks of a BIG PROJECT he's looking to get 10-20% cut of the project cost...he claimed to have used $20M? for Komenda sugar factory rehab..& we never saw it operate, inflated Kumasi Airport, Terminal 3 project ...

• Stephen Donkor: New York. 1 year ago

THE INCOMPETENT MAN WHO FAILED COMMON AFFORESTATION PROJECT IS PROMISING TO BUILD A NATIONAL CAPITAL!

IT’S STILL A SLAP IN THE FACE OF BONO THE PEOPLE!

Was he able to raise the Nkomfem and the plant the SADA trees a ...

• NENE 1 year ago

He raised only two and your party greedy people poisoned themselves with it, Mahama meant the akomfem for good but NPP used it to kill a whole minister and poised party chairman

• Star from the North 1 year ago

John Mahama is under a visionary leader. This is good news and I’m very proud that I share some traits with the one and visionary leader of our time. It will be one of the most important project’s to be executed by the no ...

• Police guy 1 year ago

@STEPHEN DONKEY THE FOOL. YOU ARE FOOLISH IDIOT ON THIS COMMENT PLATFORM..YOU MULE SILLY ASS..

• Steve Kaye London 1 year ago

Where is the 10 billion cedis HOPE CITY he proposed in 2012? Is he talking about the digitalisation programme already started by Dr.Bawumia, and also did he know of Mpakadan before the NPP constructed the railway line over ...

• Jay 1 year ago

Sorry Bawumia started a digitalisation programme? I think you need to get your facts straight for I know for a fact that Mahama started digitalisation way before it became topical from the then economic wizkid to digikid. Vi ...

• Wisefolk 1 year ago

Gyimii, hope city was not Mahama's idea. It was Roland Agambire's private project that never came to light. Why mention Mahama? Then you foolishly say Bawumiah started digitalization agenda, I guess you were born in 2017. Ofu ...

• Ghanaba 1 year ago

@Wisefolk, JDM was the man behind your Roland guy
    .he's the same person who was awarded the BoG Interoperability project which was going to cost Ghana over $1B and Bawumia blew their top...eventually, NPP did the project wi ...

• BUMBEBO 1 year ago

On the table, when capitals of countries were no more necessarily to be at the coast but be sited in-land, Nigeria had Abuja, La corte de voire moved from Abidjan to establish her new capitals. Ghana is yet to move her capita ...

• Nee 1 year ago

Yes massive job during construction but the same public and civil servants will be employed at the new locations, so where will the new jobs come from?

• Nii Amu's ARM idea 1 year ago

Nii Amu wrote about this with his PEST analysis. Just like the first 100 days work program. Please acknowledge sources of original thinking.

• RE: JM CANNOT DO THIS 1 year ago

It seems to me that the level to which the economy of this country has been sunk to, talking about the possibility of such mega projects is nothing but a fools dream. To persist, despite the obvious odds, clearly signifies u ...

• THIS IS THE MAN WITH BRAINS. MAN OF VISION. THE KWAME NKRUMAH OF OUR TIMES 1 year ago

JM is the Kwame Nkrumah of our times. The man of vision. The man who always thinks Ghana First.

New Capital means:
    More Jobs
    More Investments
    More New Infrastructure

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 1 year ago

After stealing Ga lands, he wants to send the capital to Gonja land to enable him steaml more.

• Pelicles 1 year ago

Former president Kufuor made this suggestion some -times ago so, do not attribute this to John Mahama.

By the way, where was Mahama's hope city, he cut sod for its construction at a cost of $10billion?
    The painful thing i ...

• Sethoo 1 year ago

Once a corrupt person always a corrupt Mahama.Can a blind man lead the blind?

• Wisefolk 1 year ago

Wo de3 wo gyimie de3. Hope city was never a Mahama project. Can't your monkey brain learn small? Everything former president Kufuor. Where is Kufour's plan, or block he laid? What Mahama is talking about is bigger than your b ...

• SMARTPHONE £XPERT - START MAKING REAL MONEY IN 3WKS 1 year ago

I think I agree with him, expanding urban access is key. The best kept secret knowledge, skills, and truths are still found in well-researched books. Organized thought in texts provides multi-dimensional considerations, makin ...

• John D 1 year ago

New city in 4 years? This nan thinks we have short memories. Hope City was a scam and wanted our money and time. JM cannot do foko. Just coming for 4 years to chop for himself and family. JM cannot be an option.

• Tagri Francis 1 year ago

It seems you only read the heading and started commenting. He never said he will use 4years to do so. He stated that the project will not take less than 20years to be completed. Always get your facts right before commenting

• Yaw Wontumi 1 year ago

Whilst JDM is talking brilliantly the walewale donkey and Fulani whore ass fucking idiot and gbemela bawumia is joking and shaking his head like an agama lizard. I am sure JDM is the only solution to the mess created by the u ...

• Anti Ashanti NDC 1 year ago

A new city in Ghana should be in the Ashanti region which have all the land and the market to accommodate a new city in Ghana. NDC built Ho airport to their surprise Ho airport has not been patronise since the day it was ina ...

• M.T 1 year ago

This man is hungry for policies that will woo voters even if it doesn't make sense. He talks about relocating ministries and government agencies to create thousands of Jobs without thinking where to get the money from an econ ...

• Donatus 1 year ago

You see new ideas from the Legend.

• Donatus 1 year ago

I pray this new city will be Bolgatanga.

• Nokwarehene 1 year ago

Easily said than done.Papano is going 'crazy' on be coming President again, which unfortunately won't happen.Sorry, sir.

John DARIGA Mahama, the desperate scammer.

• GOOD THINKING, not CATHEDRAL HOLE 1 year ago

A lot better idea than Cathedral Hole.

Nigeria Did it with Abuja
    Cote D'ivoire did it with Yamosukro

Why not Ghana? Good thinking JM.

• NENE 1 year ago

I pledge to support this 24-hour city initiative, there's no night there in the 24hr city (The Mahama city) no uncompleted national cathedral there

• YOU COULDN'T EVEN FINISH SAGLEMI PROJECT 1 year ago

You took loans to build a number of housing units but only built a fraction of them, where is the rest of the money? Hope city is very clear in our minds, where is that one too? Now a new capital in Volta region, are you mad ...

• Kwasi Barimpa 1 year ago

This is no news it was president Kuffuor under NPP who first envisaged this idea and suggested it between Prampram and Dodowa with visibility studies even condocted so you haven't said any new thing Mr Mahamah.

• WHAT DID YOUR CLUELESS SHORTMAN DO OBER THE LAST 8 YEARS 1 year ago

Akufo-Addo's NPP is bereft of idea. All they do is steal

• Wisefolk 1 year ago

What Mahama is talking about is not Dodowa. It is bigger and modern - go check what Egypt is doing? Read small. Please next time note that it is feasibility studies not visibility studies. The fact that you cannot spell it, i ...

Another HOPE CITY scam. The desperate man is throwing so much mud to his illiterate supporters hoping that some might stick on them. Gyimii saa!

• Kelly 1 year ago

Brilliant idea. But the new capital should be at Kintampo. It should planned strategically that key design, plan, development etc should be put in place so that it'll take FIVE years of investment before the government start ...

• CAMERS AND FENCING. 1 year ago

We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call us today. 0501796870 for more info. ferte ...

MAHAMA WANTS TO APPEASE HIS VOLTA BASE AT THE EXPENSE OF BONO PEOPLE?

Mahama is a scammer he should be brought to his senses. The old feasibility study that Nkrumah made suggested that the new Ghana’s capital territo ...

• The reason why Thief John Kumah died like a pig at Suhum Junction instead of Germany 1 year ago

Gyimie Stephen Donkey. Always behaving like a moron. Kwasea

• Donatus 1 year ago

If Mahama is scammer what would Bawumia be? Kwakwakwakwakwa. Sweating all the time to make a simple promise or pledge.

• Wisefolk 1 year ago

Wo Stephen Donkor, w'agyimi saa? Capital cities are built on mountain ranges - where from this idiot?

Kwaseato! Federal Capital territory of Nigeria ( Abuja) was built in Jos Plateau. Gyimifuo, do you understand what a plateau means? Koo GYIMII go and look for the meaning of a plateau in the dictionary. I don’t have to argu ...

• scorpion 1 year ago

The drunkard is at work, I am very he was damn drunk when making this typical 419 statement. Always looking for loophole to steal money. Conman

• ADT 1 year ago

nation builder

• Steve 1 year ago

When JM is thinking BIG, others are thinking toilet toilet toilet

• Pelicles 1 year ago

@Steve, Your Mahama thinks big right? Now, my question to you is, why is Accra congested, and as president, what did Mahama do to decongest Accra?

• WH 1 year ago

Akufu addos head will blast if this type of vision goes through his head, the only thing he knows is how buy the ec and the security services to rig election for NPP, nothing else

• Onipa nua 1 year ago

Good idea

• Grow in Wisdom 1 year ago

Just a pipe dream. The focus should rather be on full and proper decentralisation, devolving power, authority and for that matter development to the regions. districts and towns across the country. These will help stem the r ...

• JNA 1 year ago

We don’t need the relocation of government ministries and departments in Accra again but the capital should be relocated to Kintampo in Bono region

• Odoku 1 year ago

Kintampo is too far from Accra, and not as central as around Akosombo. Also, it is not as beautiful a location as the lakeside choice.

• You have done it before and can do it 1 year ago

This is a visionary leaders.Mahama is the best President for this country but because of tribe and ignorant some foolish people can see it.Now all the ministers and the prominent people goes to UGM hospital but still foolishl ...

• Odoku 1 year ago

Let's put partisan politics aside and consider this visionary idea. Accra has really become difficult to manage and clean. A new capital elsewhere is not such a bad long-term plan. The selection of a central location near the ...

• Citizen8 1 year ago

Even before they win elections (God forbid) they've already started oiling the wheels for their create, loot and share schemes. God save this country from the hands of these leeches.

• Adanko 1 year ago

Suddenly Mahama knows the solutions to all our problems. The wants to come and chop money ... that’s all

• AKURASENI in 1 year ago

Mahama should go and stay in china or Japan and learn how a city is decongest A city is decongest with development, good roads and highways, skyscrapers and city planning.Accra is not yet develop.. Circle Nkrumah's Memorial s ...

• Atsu London 1 year ago

All these in 4yrs, 24hr economy, more jobs,more roads, more schools, a new capital for Ghana ah Mr scammer. The Apio is working .

• JulorDombassManiac 1 year ago

Oldman wrinkled Julor Thief Fiafitor Deadgoat Promiscuos Drunkard Low IQ Barawo mam Hammer ,Ghanaians want to see your recent days picture not this olden days picture aimed at hiding your puffy bags under your eyes,drunka ...

• Pelicles 1 year ago

To those who support what John Mahama is saying or proposing, my simple question to you is, "why is Accra congested"? As president, what did Mahama do to decongest Accra? If he did not mention one solution to how Accra was c ...

• Akan 1 year ago

Apuu. What happened to the HOPE CITY? MAHAMA WOBOOOWA

• Nana Yao 1 year ago

You are now talking. As for the 24hour thing di333...I never understood. But this is one I can support. Brilliant idea.

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 year ago

The real leader who has a vision and ideas to develop our motherland, not that mountain goat who only want to build toilet and houses for Keyekeye. Foolish dirty Fulanis cows fucker.

• NKTT 1 year ago

I agree with him, it is because that Nigeria built Abuja

• Think about the dualization construction of Accra - Kumasi- Tamale road and the dualization Accra - Cape coast- Takoridi to stop the carnage on the road 1 year ago

Think about the dualization of Accra - Kumasi- Tamale road and the dualization Accra - Cape coast- Takoridi to stop the carnage on the road

• Why volta , Not Ashanti region - The anti Ashanti - John Mahamma 1 year ago

Why Volta , Not Ashanti region. The anti Ashanti - John Mahamma

• Jm 1 year ago

The only solution is, you and your family should move back to your north and free the suffocating Ga’s

• Kwame Twumasi-Fofie 1 year ago

A laudable idea, no doubt, that the capital should eventually be moved away from Accra. But then, why can't be bold enough to propose that when we move from Accra it wouldn't make any sense locating to only the 'outskirts' o ...

• Kisamobo 1 year ago

Money chopping senseless projects! Where is the Millennium city? NPP and NDC are the same! Same Bird only the wings are different colors!

• Joy 1 year ago

It's only today that mahama has spoken well. Look since I was born I have been against Ghana capital being Accra. Good a bad corrupt guy like mahama has seen this at his old age. Ghana must have a new capital. This is simpl ...

• New capital city will bankrupt Ghana just like Nigeria's Abuja 1 year ago

Where can Ghana get that money. Mahama as usual talks without concrete plans. How much will it cost, what will be built in the new city? how will the land be acquired, etc. Dreams & wishes are just that: solid ideas are what ...

• Kwam 1 year ago

Very ambitious proposal for a financially unstable economy like Ghana.

• KK 1 year ago

I'm beginning to admire JM. Opposition has really made visionary. My vote is for you, sir.

• Chizzy 1 year ago

You will be crying 4 years from now

JM has matured in politics. He's beginning to think like Kwame Nkrumah. A brilliant idea.

• King 1 year ago

OMG. So this is your presidential adenda. A dead goat is really a dead goat.

• Mukasa 1 year ago

Long overdue because of the ban on drumming and noise making. The capital is for Ghana.
    No primitivity ignorance arrogance imbecility

• Kofi Ghanaba 1 year ago

Have always told my friends that John Mahama is a fraudster.He wants to do Zu Za and Emefa Miao miao on Ghana.lnflating 10 billion dollars to 50 billion dollars.

• Seku 1 year ago

Mahama says let's drink akpeteshi and talk rubbish. always. Any future city must be at the middle of the country.
    Idiot Mahama will sell Accra to his brothers. Mahama must listen to Amidu. Ofui Mahama, you think that all Gha ...

• Makaa-maka 1 year ago

Where is the funds going to come from, bailout from IMF, World Bank, EU or from where ? I was young when I heard of MARINE DRIVE PROJECT and I'm now a pensioner and it has not taken off. Again, with this our current mentality ...

• Kofi Ghanaba 1 year ago

Hahaha.Mahams said the capital will be in the Volta Region.lt speaks a lot.

• Oyibo 1 year ago

Talk us cheap. He's just building castles in the air.

• Oyibo 1 year ago

Talk is cheap. Building castles in the air. When I hear his promises, the one term payment of the NHIS premium comes to mind. If he took Ford expedition vehicle from a contractor working on the Eastern corridor road, this tim ...

• Nee 1 year ago

It is true Accra is choked but is new city the real solution?. Why not decentralise those ministries and agencies into the various regions and municipalities. Modern days does not need people to come to Accra for very simple ...

• Chizzy 1 year ago

Exactly. Sound and practical advise

• Kweku 1 year ago

Stop your foolish promises

• Wow....BIG and Brilliant idea; Bawumia is talking Kayaye 1 year ago

I salute. You have my Vote Sir.

• SO CLEAN 1 year ago

IDEALESS MAN. WABORN! MOVING FROM ACCRA TO THOSE AREAS ALMOST SAME GEOLOCATION - WITH SEA AND LAKE LIMITING FUTURE EXPANSION

• Seth Quansah 1 year ago

I have been following Pres Mahama and his policy proposals. I feel sad for this poor man.. somewhere he said there will be no Free Fuel. I don't think any public servant is given free fuel. If he says so , then it is l8es and ...

• Star from the North 1 year ago

Evil Seth Quansah must go away with his foolish talk. If civil servants are not going to vote for Mahama because of fuel subsidy corruption so be it. Good people of Ghana will vote to bring Mahama back to scrap those fuel non ...

• Rufus 1 year ago

You are visionary leader, God bless our home land Ghana

• Ben USA 1 year ago

This is awesome

• Ben USA 1 year ago

This is genius.
    Best idea ever.
    Thanks Sir !

• Boateng 1 year ago

Timing is not good. Which private sector group is doing well to invest.
    Your excellency you have said Ghana is bankrupt.....

• Blay 1 year ago

Laudable but a long term idea.Why not for now, empower the " Buz stop boys" who are doing a marvellous work to bring sanity into our cities. This voluntary organization, is a futile ground for our politicians, to inculcate th ...

• .com 1 year ago

This idea has been there for years but geographically and economically the sitations are entirely wrong . Do not leave him alone to think for Ghana. With all respect.

• John K. (He better do because they have stolen all the prime lands) ) 1 year ago

This vision must be supported to come into fruition. The old folks have stolen all the city lands and we have to crate another city for the next generation to occupy. May God help this dream to come to pass.

• Dallas 1 year ago

JDM and NDC, Ghana's saviour

• K Duah 1 year ago

Building manufacturing and cutting down importation will help Ghana.

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 year ago

myopic fools would never ever understand this vision of decongestion. of Accra.
    JDM vision and thinking is way 50years ahead of his opponent.
    I have said this before,
    1, Jim come from Bole-
    he could run the presidency fr ...

• SA 1 year ago

Some are saying he is a criminal n others are saying he is a visionary leader. U have to ask yourself a question before making a comment, what this man is saying is it feasible or not? U don’t just come out to insult. And a ...

• King 1 year ago

Put these ideas into the heads of Nana and Bawu and see if volcanic eruptions will not occur.

• ISMAILA YAKUBU 1 year ago

HE WANTS OPPORTUNITIES TO CHOP. YAFU YAFU YAFU. MR KANAZOES.

• Sheik 1 year ago

What happened to your Hope City nonsense?

• Suma 8 months ago

It is not a bad idea, but Ghana is in financial crises and there are many other things to take of. Would it not be better to develop rural areas which will minimize people moving to Accra. Ghana is small compared to most of ...