Major-General Barwah, the loyal Nkrumah army chief shot on the spot for refusing to acknowledge 1966 coup

Read Comments Comments (59)

• A REAL PROFESSIONAL SOLDIER 1 year ago

HE SWORE AN OATH TO DEFEND THE COUNTRY AND ITS CONSTITUTION. America deceived and encouraged Nkrumah to be part of the UN peace mission in far away Asia, while they plotted and gave ammunition to coup plotters to overthrow hi ...

• Prophet Mohammed was a sick dog 1 year ago

Quran is toilet paper.

• P Djamgbe 1 year ago

They killed a national hero (Dr Nkrumah) and named an important institution after a national traitor (Kotoka) just because he did their dirty work for them. And the descendants of these terrorists, Ghana's first ever terroris ...

• Ricardo 1 year ago

You've said it all, bruh........ those matemeho "glorious bastards" are certainly some real agents from the bosom of LUCIFER. See what they have done to our nation now, and they are foolishly forcing to be allowed to continue ...

• Ghana Kania 1 year ago

Ghanaians, after gaining a lot of money and building a mansion in Accra or Kumasi, if you don't think of building a good mansion in your hometown for yourself and your relatives, somewhere in the districts, then I don't know ...

• Mensah 1 year ago

Islam has finished your Trumu trumu agenda in Ghana and because of that you hate Islam. You Abondafour the lunatic!

• ST Ghfuo: Gh leaders are not enlightened 1 year ago

A high school in his hometown, a major road or hospital should be named after this guy. Instead, a traitor in n kotoka has his name on an airport n these twat leaders sit there n dont see anything wrong with that. The mind of ...

• Wontumi (London) 1 year ago

This is very unfair to be honest. So why should Ghanaians allow the name Kotoka a traitor, and a nation destroyer to be named after our airport? I strongly believe that, if there should be any person who is loyal, and have t ...

• P Djamgbe 1 year ago

@Wontumi, what do you think? Because the terrorists whose bomb failed to kill Nkrumah named the airport after Kotoka because they saw him as their hero, since he did their dirty work for them - he succeeded where they failed. ...

• Selfmade MIND over mater 1 year ago

If it was AFRIFA name on the Accra airport, GA wldve demonstrated long time again for the name to be chaage!!

The hatred and the vitriol that wldve come from certain quarters but because KOTOKA is of a certain tribe, they ...

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 year ago

May his loving soul rest in peace with Dr. Kwame Nkrumah. Those who killed him and overthrown Nkrumah government they were was cowards Ghanaian soldiers and get the help from Ashantis/Akims but they were not men and Scottish ...

Kwasia, keep Ashanti’s out of your stinking mouth, u FUCKING punk!!

U deranged COWARD!

Wo ho fii s3 GALAMSEY rat wotei lmaooo

Kwasiapanyin with your dirty feet like OTWEN n’asaase

Aden na wogyimi saaa no

• Joe 1 year ago

Galamsey has dirtied Ashantis as well since they the chief galamsayers in this country.

• Joe 1 year ago

Galamsey has dirtied Ashantis as well since they are the chief galamsayers in this country.

Thrash from a TRASH CAN tweaa

U think your village is better?

Wo yare

The people who started the coup were not ASHANTIS, u ugly GHANAIAN chimp

U reasoned according to short self!

Aboafunu, NNIPA tantan lmaooo

Kwasia, u dirty, filthy DRUG abuser!
    Ashanti’s lived rent free in your BEACH SHITTING ass, u P3T3 bi ba lmaooo

Wo gyimi s3 ARABIAN donkey noo lmaoo

Of all the people that contributed to the coup, u can only single ...

• Donatus 1 year ago

May his gentle soul rest well.

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 year ago

Those cowards soldiers who killed him and overthrown Nkrumah government with the help from Ashantis/Akims they were not men enough and they let Scottish little stinking pig came and killed them like a foolish rats. May his so ...

• Reverend 1 year ago

Eiii NPP. Coup people. God punish them one by one

• EKA 1 year ago

This are the kind stories we need to be told. Wow such a great loyalty to his Boss and country. RIP soldier

More important than his loyalty to his boss is the fact he spent his time ensuring that Ghana's soldiers and their children received a decent education, and he even used his spare time to teach classes to soldiers and their c ...

• Eric Fynn 1 year ago

And after all that wickedness we have as a nation named our national airport after that wicked evil man Kotoka.
    Who gave birth and named him or her after character he don't like?
    Ghana for goodness sake we need to change ...

Can u ask the GADANGME why they can demonstrated against OHENE DJAN but can’t do the same against KOTOKA?

They said ohene isn’t from Accra but is KOTOKA from ACCRA LAND?

• Joe Mens 1 year ago

Gold stard for Loyalty.

• Nii Hammond 1 year ago

Please,as young as you all may be,the truth they say is only one,to stand out.Kwame Nkrumah did some positive things for Ghana,but,was no saint.He exterminated a lot of his detractors,let me tell all who care to know the hist ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

So do you support the coup?

• Fidel Gaddafi 1 year ago

Pepe people always used as cannon fodder. Look at Bawumia he lied for Nana

He die a useless death for real tweaa!!

They have pointed GUN at u and these coup plotters are probably high from some WEE and u want to be a hero for Ghana? Lmaooo

Tweaaaaa!

How many Ghanaians even know this man? ...

• Now Now 1 year ago

Fourth Estate and others. Kindly check the following
    On the day of the coup, 24th February,1966
    1. Kotoka was a Lt Col
    2. Aferi Chief of Defence Staff, a Major General
    3. Aferi the CDS was placed under arrest IN HIS OFFI ...

• Gana 1 year ago

Gen Barwah and salifu Dagaati were real northerners, their gave souls to nkrumah and nations, RIP for giving your best to mother Ghana. We are proud of you guys.

Thanks for setting the record straight. It's amazing how some reporters or contributing writers fail to check their information prior to submission for publication.

• Nameless 1 year ago

Stop peddling lies.

1. Kotoka was not a Lieutenant Colonel. He was a substantive Colonel (as indicated on the cap badge of his headgear), but became a Lieutenant General overnight, skipping the ranks of Brigadier and Maj ...

• Augustina Quayson 1 year ago

Nii Hammond, please President Nkrumah never killed anybody He rather faced so many assassination attempts by those that he defeated at the elections. Some Young PIONEERS are Professor Badu Akosa, l Dr Papa Kwes ...

• Nii Hammond 1 year ago

Check your facts how many went to détention,case study around Osu alone,and people he fed to his lions in flag staff house,these are facts !

• Keep quiet and learn 1 year ago

You listen to lies all your life. The same weird lies which were said about Nkrumah were also said about Rawlings. They said they drink blood. They do this and that which were all lies by the NPP thieves.

• Foolish Ga!!! 1 year ago

Only a good for nothing, lazy ass ga will spew this rubbish. Clean up your bykom and find work!!! Noko fio has corrupted your brain, if uou have one that is!!!

You're just a demented and misguided idiot. Even the USA that helped to stage the 1966 coup will not tolerate any one in the USA making threat on the life of the USA President let alone throw bombs at the President. The Busia ...

Please Now Now at page 22 of his Dark Days in Ghans, President Nkrumah refers to Bawah as Major General Barwah, Army Chief of Staff and Deputy Chief of Staff, who was in command of the Ghana Army in the absence from the ...

Please Now Now, the book is Dark Days in Ghana.At page 21, President Nkrumah refers to Kotoka as Colonel Emmanuel Kwesi Kotoka, the Commander of the second infantry brigade and Major Akwasi Amankwa Afrifa of the sec ...

• ROG 1 year ago

ALL THE NLC COUP PLOTTERS PROMOTED THEMSELVES AFTER COUP!

• Blocker 1 year ago

Folks...kotoka name is on the airport, even at the military defence center (Burma Camp) kotoka name is boldly written on educational institutions...he was part of our history....However, history can be told without antagonist ...

• Mensah 1 year ago

The NPP say they hate coups but their forebears aided in making the first coup in Ghana against Kwame Nkrumah. Major General Bawah bravo!

• Now Now 1 year ago

Augustina Quayson, Grateful.
    The book in reference by mine is -:
    A Myth is broken: An account of the Ghana coup d'etat of 24th February 1966 by A K Ocran.
    AK Ocran (born at Brakwa, Central Region)

1. A military member ...

• Now Now 1 year ago

Augustina let me know if you have difficulty in getting Ocran's book please
    The CDS, Aferi was placed under arrest by Ocran. Thanks again.

• Yaw 1 year ago

So who overthrew Nkrumah's regime? Is it the UP? Was Kotoka a member of UP/PP/PFP/NPP? You see how people tried to put everything at the doorstep of UP Tradition, The young ones nowadays don't go back to read. They sit for th ...

• Afrifa used Kotoka and later let them kill Kotoka 1 year ago

Kotoka was killed a few months after Afrifa and him made the voup. Afrifa became head of state. Kotoka never became head of state. Afrifa was the UP NPP guy. He helped Busia to become prime minister with Akufo-Addo senior as ...

• Yaa Dua 1 year ago

Only the Brave Stands. Salute , Sir!

• Shot and killed by Kotoka 1 year ago

Just waiting for a serious leader in Ghana to remove Kotoka's name from our airport. The original name is Accra Airport, just like Heathrow Airport. The chiefs of Accra must put their foot down and demand the right thing to b ...

• Patriot 1 year ago

No African Head of State has more name than Nkrumah and very proud that my father worked with him.
    Go to Tanzania, Burkina Faso and many African countries and you will see Boulevard, Avenue, Street and Road named after Kwam ...

• Tami 1 year ago

May Kotoka and his Ghanaian and foreign accomplices perish eternally in hellfire . I hope a true Ghanaian leader will one day remove his reprehensible , disgusting, abhorrent and filthy name from the Accra International Airpo ...

• Pelicles 1 year ago

So, was this Barwah a Muslim or a Christian? His name sound weird. Charles Mohammed Barwah.

THE BENEFICIARIES OF THE 1966 USA-BUSIA/DANQUAH COUP TODAY ARE THE ONES LOOTING AND RUINING GHANA FROM JULOR HOUSE.

What conspiracy theories? It's a fact that 1966 coup was orchestrated by the CIA with it Ghana co-conspira ...

• Nuumo 1 year ago

In fact, northerners are the most trusted and truthful people in Ghana.

• Rex 1 year ago

Respect! RIP brave Soilder! Ghana lack your likes nowadays. God bless your descendants.

• Kwame Osei-Mensah 1 year ago

What a BRAVE and HONEST soldier..... not enough of our history is known by Ghanaians. The Tamale International Airport or the Kotoka International Airport should be named after him.

• Momo ALHASSAN-CZ 1 year ago

How come they never taught us about all these great people in social studies? impressive, i would love to read more about him

• NDC PROFESSIONAL ARMED ROBBERS 1 year ago

Some idiotic fools imbeciles who are blaming THE ASANTES first of all who was AMETEWE who had wanted to kill Dr Nkrumah, what was his tribe? ?? Did they name the Accra Airport after any Asante . Who brought Dr Nkrumah from a ...

• Jiginigi 9 months ago

Who was the CDS?