'A blanket Free SHS is just unintelligent' – Prof Akilagpa Sawyerr slams government

Read Comments Comments (104)

• The Mask 1 year ago

Prof. got it wrong. Free SHS has helped many, who would have been out of school, to continue schooling. You need a good educational system to achieve economic growth. The government must therefore improve supervision in scho ...

• The Mask 1 year ago

Countrymen, after gaining a lot of money and building a mansion in Accra or Kumasi, if you don't think of building a good mansion in your hometown for yourself and your relatives, somewhere in the districts, then I don't know ...

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 1 year ago

This man was quiet when the free northern education was running. Fellow Ghanaians, do you know this Prof Sawyer is a Nigerian from Ogbosho? Yes, Awolowo equally introduced free SHS in Western Nigeria and the dividend is great ...

• J0eY l0nD0N 1 year ago

You are a dunce!

Even here Free schools admission deepens on your annual earnings, you will need to pay for your kids education if your earnings are over between 65k plus.

So what are you talking about?

Stupid tri ...

• Darren Jason. 1 year ago

Mumu person joeY. Why is that some of you the pndc/ndc members like to promote tribalism nonsense. What's has the article got to do with the Ashantis. Kwasia gyimi ofui

• DID YOU READ THE ARTICLE AT ALL? SO TYPICAL OF UNINTELLIGENT NPP FANATICS. 1 year ago

DID YOU READ THE ARTICLE AT ALL? SO TYPICAL OF UNINTELLIGENT NPP FANATICS.

The reverend Prof is saying that, under our current circumstance, those who can pay should not be made to have it free.

Simple!!!

• Zee Poropo 1 year ago

Exactly

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 1 year ago

WHY IS EVIL NDC STILL ATTACKING THE FREE SHS????
    WHO CAN PAY AND WHO CANT'T PAY? WHO WERE THE PEOPLE ENJOYING THE COCOA SCHOLARSHIP?? CHILDREN OF THE RICH PEOPLE IN INFLUENTIAL POSITIONS IN SOCIETY ENJOYED IT AND NOT THE BRI ...

• Honabe 1 year ago

Ka biom. They have ready the article but they commenting. Huh! Very unintelligent

• Peeved 1 year ago

You are a bloody liar. If you attend a state school or voluntary assisted secondary school in UK you don’t any fees and is not based on your income. Tony Blair children attended State Schools and he did not pay any fees. ND ...

• OPANIN 1 year ago

This professor attended free secondary school, free university up to PhD level, got a university lecturing job up to the professor and Vice Chancellor level when he was 14th on the leadership ladder at UG, and he says free SH ...

• Ras 1 year ago

Stupid analysis. He is not against free SHS. Gyimie

• UNCLE PEE 1 year ago

Kwame Nkrumah's free education was nationwide. It was started in 1961 when I also started class one in the western region. Ask your elders and stop the nonsense.

• POWER TO THE PEOPLE 1 year ago

MAYBE NKRUMAH SECRETLY MADE SHS FREE IN WESTERN REGION BECAUSE HE WAS FROM THERE. NKRUMAH'S FREE SHS WAS NOT FOR ANY ONE GO AND READ WELL.

• Augustina Quayson 1 year ago

Uncle Pee, please what Dr Nkrumah introduced in 1961 under the Education Act, 1961, Act 87 was fee-free compulsory elementary school education. However it was in the North that Dr Nkrumah introduced free secondary ...

• Matha 1 year ago

Ashantes and their stupidity! You need to go back to that useless shs that dwarf put there just for equalisation. Remember that several ashantes came to the north and benefited from the free education too! Ask bnawumia, he wa ...

• Peeved 1 year ago

So did John Mahama even though his father was a Minister.

• Tosa 1 year ago

You guys always set everything tribes
    Why hate other tribes when they speak?

• DotCom 1 year ago

@The Mask:

Have you thought of the quality of students when they come out from the free education process? Ghana’s educational standards have fallen so bad that we are one of the worst in the whole world. The quality of ...

• Nee 1 year ago

Was the quality good when some were enjoying free education at the expense of the rest?

• DotCom 1 year ago

I understand your argument about fairness and I think that needs to be addressed. It still doesn’t change the fact that free education has contributed to the low standard of education in Ghana. The government has no money t ...

• Matha 1 year ago

Most of the ashantes are jealous because kwame nkrumah gave opportunity to northerners who are now better and richer than them! We are even taking their beautiful women as wives because they are misers, lousy lovers, inconsid ...

• Asantenii 1 year ago

Ignorance is your problem. The people up north are the least educated in Ghana. Go and read Ghana Living Standard Survey (all rounds from 1987).

• Kwame Nyame 1 year ago

Up till today northerners still come to Ashanti and do the menial jobs. What are you saying? Idiot.

• Asantenii 1 year ago

Why do you people hate progress? Who told you Ghana's educational system is in tatters? Where do you get those facts from? DO YOU GO TO CHURCH AT ALL? UNFORTUNATELY FOR YOU, GHANA'S EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM IS ONE OF THE BEST IN AF ...

• JJ 1 year ago

WHY CARRY MY LOAD AND LEAVE YOURS: YES THIS MAN MAKE SENSE: WHY PAY MY CHILDREN SCHOOL FEES FOR ME WHILE YOUR OBLIGATION TO BUILT SCHOOLS IS LEFT UN ATTEND: PAYING SCHOOLS FEES IS THE DUTY OF PARENTS BULDING OF SCHOOLS IS THE ...

Don't mind this old professor. During their time they were attending free Secondary School and university. They werre even beimg fed at the university for free. There was a time they even went on demostratiom because they sai ...

• AK 1 year ago

If have money to pay there are many fee paying private SHS so take your child there period and stop the politics

I THOUGHT PEOPLE NAMED WITH THE TITLE PROFESSOR WERE SO INTELLIGENT. HMM! SO IF I MAY ASK THIS PROFESSOR,BLANKET FREE SHS VERSUS NO FREE SHS WHICH IS BETTER.NO WONDER PNDC NDC MADE HIM WHO IS.

• Yaw 1 year ago

Power to the people, l believe you have basic certificate. Unmasked the political mask and you will see reason and wisdom in the submission of the Prof. Very intelligent argument there. Unfortunate.

• ken ofori attah also said it was not wise 1 year ago

ken ofori attah said ii was not wise to allow his kids attend uni free

• Sycamore 1 year ago

Common sense is indeed not common to everyone, from your warped response I now understand what READING and COMPREHENSION really is,you just read but you couldn't comprehend what the learned academic said about the sham called ...

• DID YOU READ THE ARTICLE AT ALL? SO TYPICAL OF UNINTELLIGENT NPP FANATICS. 1 year ago

The reverend Prof is saying that, under our current circumstance, those who can pay should not be made to have it free.

Simple!!!

• Jonas Abglie 1 year ago

Prof with due respect you got this wrong. Prof did i hear you are maxist? With you owing all these expansive houses in Airport residential area? You and your fellow academicians from our Universities in the late 70s to 90s mo ...

• Sam Pulley 1 year ago

Prof Akilipa Sawyeer did I hear you saying you are Marxist? Wow! and how did you acquire all these real estates in Ridge as an academician? Was it when you became a politicians? Prof those of us from the rural areas of Ghana ...

• Bobby Stones 1 year ago

@The Mask, you either deliberately failed to appreciate what the good old professor said or the excess propaganda baggage of the FSHS has gotten the better of your mental faculty. The FSHS whilst a good policy has been system ...

• KOFI 1 year ago

Did you comprehend what the Prof said? Get a marker and use it to underline the key issues.

• Akilakpa Sawyer got it WRONG 1 year ago

1. What criteria will determine who should pay for SHS, and who should not pay?
    2. If the government says that those who want to pay should write their names, how many Ghanaians will write their names?
    3. People will pay br ...

• Yaw 1 year ago

It is clear, you didn't read the story or you lack appreciation. The Prof was clear in his submission that, free education is good but in it's current form as practice in Ghana isn't the best. He cited himself as an example b ...

• Yaro 1 year ago

Oh, ho! indeed l prefer a Dutch passport to a Ghana Phd.

THANK YOU! I WILL BE YOUR SERVANT WITH GHANAIAN PHD.

• Nii 1 year ago

What does this senile Prof mean by "a blanket free SHS"?

• DotCom 1 year ago

@“Prophet Mohammed was a sick dog”

This comment is not relevant here but will someone report the comments of one ‘Prophet Mohammed was a sick dog’ to the authorities. He is inciting violence against a religious gro ...

• Yaovi 1 year ago

DotCom, do the reporting yourself

• Roce Koran 1 year ago

@Nii, are daft or need a free education yourself(equalization for insulting the good old Prof.) Prof said and explained that the blanket free education as it is now with free boarding, free everything etc is his problem. You ...

Do you know that during the time of this professor they were even attending universityy for free and even enjoying free meals. In the midst of that, they even had the nerve to go on donstration because they said the governmen ...

• Kwame, Pretoria 1 year ago

@ Roce Koran. Good point! Don't mind Nii and others who find it difficult to comprehend Prof Sawyerr's point of view.
    Simple English is not simple to simple guys. No need wasting time on Nii and co.

• Pelicles 1 year ago

@Roce Koran. Tell that Akilagpa Sawyer to get the hell out because nobody will listen to him. Now, if he had his children in the private schools and paying fees, who forced him to enroll his children into the government schoo ...

• LASISI TARANTULA 1 year ago

YES, THE LIKES OF YOU HAVE ENJOYED STATE LARGESSE ALL YOUR LIFE SO YOU CAN WAKE UP IN YOUR LAST DAYS TO SPEW SUCH SELFISH STATEMENTS.

• Seth Quansah 1 year ago

Aki you are one of the VCs who caused pain to Many Ghanaians students. What is wrong for that decision you claimed to be unintelligent. Are you not ashamed yourself. I am sad for your comments. You did that to many students ...

• Mary 1 year ago

Then blanket create, loot and share is just intelligent. In ndc professors speak, think and act less intelligently than fool soldiers, this professors not an exception.

• Nee 1 year ago

He did not see anything wrong when only then others were enjoying the free education. Whilst our parents were suffering and struggling to pay our fees, the they were not paying any fees and also getting bursary on top of that ...

• Rivers 1 year ago

Intelligent man is talking sense and not that ugly president who knows no shit. I don't even want to watch TV as if free education is diamond He has discovered

• Sul 1 year ago

YOU TALK ABOUT THIS POLICY AND THE IDIOTS WILL ATTACK YOU. THOSE WHO CAN'T EVEN WRITE THIER NAMES WELL

• Kweku 1 year ago

The current free SHS program is financially unsustainable. This NPP government is not impressing anyone with this free SHS program which has created more problems in our schools than anticipated

• Silas 1 year ago

Those kids benefiting together with their families are grateful to the president! They’re mightily impressed

• WEB/APP DEVELOPMENT. 1 year ago

- eCommerce/Online shore Websites

• Eiiii!!! 1 year ago

He should go back to his native Sierra Leone and help them to set up a credible educational system and leave us to manage our country.. nansins

• Kwaky 1 year ago

If the policy is laudable, why was it not implemented by your intelligent NDC ? NDC people cannot make contributions without insult.Just listen to this Oldman.

• Asiamah samuell 1 year ago

Oh pro.sawyer...think intelligently..remotely..think positiively..think as a human..aba..Go to my village and you will weep before free sss ...we suffered before getting admissions into kumasi schools..mampong schools or even ...

• General Afrifa 1 year ago

Records show the girl child is now going to school and they are now out numbering the boys which has not been the case since independence
    This understanding of yours is why Dutch pass port is wealth than your so call P.H. ...

• Matha 1 year ago

It's not because of free shs! It's because people are now seeing the benefits of education and the importance of women to be part of it. Get out!

• Nuumo 1 year ago

The negative response posited against the learned Prof, tells me how low our intelligent is and the level of our knowledge on education.
    We seriously lack critical thinking capacity in Ghana. No wonder wonder global resear ...

• Pelicles 1 year ago

@Nuumo. Students from the free SHS took part in a world-wide robotic competition and won, and remember that nations like South Korea, Japan, the US etc or participated so, how did our bogus educational system help our student ...

• Lightbulb 1 year ago

How many students took part and what's the percentage of the total? Your thinking is flawed. You don't seem to understand that it is unintelligent to spend money on those who can afford whilst there are many studying under tr ...

• Kwamena 1 year ago

Mr Sawyer please we don’t need your advice, give thanks to those who gave you opportunity in Ghana and not in
    Sierra Leone

• Pelicles 1 year ago

Professor Akilagpa Sawyer, listen. Before the free SHS policy was rolled out, some parents have their children in private schools across the country and paying their fees, so who asked these parents to get their children out ...

• COD 1 year ago

So-called Prof. Akilagpa Sawyerr, like the majority of our so-branded scholars, are good at destructive criticisms.
    It is the systemic corruption in our poor leadership and governmental styles which are hampering our dear Gh ...

• Hmmm 1 year ago

Old man wo ye sure

• FTT 1 year ago

Prof. don’t meddle yourself in this dirty politics praise nana addo rather than criticise him badly

• KAKABO 1 year ago

Prof, I respect you so much. However, on this score, I completely disagree with you. The only way to make the free SHS scheme successful and simultaneously achieve the cardinal objective of democratizing secondary school educ ...

• Truth 1 year ago

Agreed

• Jim 1 year ago

It is unintelligible because it was initiated by an unintelligible president with a group of political nincompoops who were clueless as to what they were doing other than to win political votes. These bunch of crooks are well ...

• Charles Acheampong 1 year ago

Free Senior secondary school not ( SHS) is a good policy but its implementation is shambolic. Like the venerable sage , Prof Sawyer said , there are people who can afford their children/ wards fees but the government is abso ...

• Gyima 1 year ago

Why are Ghanaians so stupid? Have you seen akuffo coming out with any policy to help people? All is policies are chopchop ones! Do you know how much he and his family have chopped out of the free shs? This man is a scam like ...

• Sage 1 year ago

Stupid unintelligent old fool.
    Look at his unintelligent mangled face like a near-death Nigerian ram.
    FSHS, the best policy since Ghana was created.
    Stupid unintelligent old Prof idiot.

• Kwame Nyame 1 year ago

Professors of such caliber should spare us such idiotic effusions. You can pay your children’s school fees alright but how many poor but clever people from your hometown benefited from a scholarship from you you? You live i ...

• Kee 1 year ago

As usual NDC thinking Prof, if your children are enjoying FSHS education but you have the means to pay, why don’t you use the money to buy desks for schools that need them. There are some NGOs who are helping communities to ...

• AK 1 year ago

It is equally unintelligent to call any other concept of Funding SHS as Free SHS. Any other way such as picking and choosing who should pay and who should not pay cannot be described as Free SHS. You can call that a scholarsh ...

• Coco 1 year ago

Very intelligent submission. People hate free SHS because of the political capital the government gets out of it but we must protect it at all costs.
    Our possibilities as a country are limitless when everyone is educated

• Yvonne nelson 1 year ago

... sorry prof you got it wrong kwame Nkrumah started free schooling in northern Ghana that was over 6 decades ago , and even until now most students still study under trees when is Ghana gone provide all schooling facility ...

• Sage 1 year ago

Rubbish from and old stupid Prof.
    Your bastard Mentor and son of a whore, Rawlings, shipped his useless children to foreign high schools and universities to attain better academic laurels.
    Even stupid Thief Mahama and usele ...

• Asonaba asiedu 1 year ago

Sometimes I wonder if certain people read the contents of a piece before commenting or just as soon as they realise it's for or against their party they comment accordingly.

• AA 1 year ago

WE STILL HAVE SO MANY OLD FOOLS IN GHANA

• FirstThingsFirst 1 year ago

Acting before thinking.

• Critical 1 year ago

He just wants to be heard for the last time my heart bleeds for him and his children and grandchildren should advise him to keep quiet while putting a dog at his gate to prevent any journalist access to him to make him object ...

• Boss man 1 year ago

It’s wisdom prof has shared , now our west African neighbors bring their kids to attend free snr high school because there is no way of checking. Also how can some parents pay dollars for their to attend private JHS and sti ...

• Solomon Nana Agyemang 1 year ago

THE REAL "NYANSAFO" ARE TALKING

• Kow 1 year ago

The marxist Prof is wrong. Why do the northners enjoy free education although we have rich northern parents who could afford to pay for their kids

• Oke 1 year ago

Professor of Nonsense, period.

• Nana Akua Adobea 1 year ago

Tweaaa what Marxist? People like you fooled JJ to kill.

• Akilagpa 05 Augusco fool pass 1 year ago

Your son who I met in St Augustine’s College as my senior in 2005 was a fool. No wonder I am also reading this from you. A big fool

• chief vandal 1 year ago

But why are folks insulting this man? Me thinks there is some logic in what he is saying. The co-existence of schools under trees and Free SHS is so incongrous

• Lightbulb 1 year ago

You can't reason with these party foot soldiers. Common sense has eluded them.

• Peeved 1 year ago

Book long is not equal to common sense. We have blanket free SHS and even up to Tertiary education for the people from North so tell us why those from the south cannot have similar access? Blanket free access got us John Maha ...

• Ewvevi 1 year ago

Prof, the un-intelligence is just a typical reflection of the originators of that policy in the persons of Akufo-Addo tiwui and F in chains specialist ofori-atta. Be bold and say it, prof. Don't beat about the bush.

• Voice Vital247 1 year ago

This govt has a different reason altogether. Their main objective is purely political. It provides them as a watershed to conscientize and sway the students to vote for the Party during elections. The same was seen in NABCO.

• .com 1 year ago

We are well conditioned to accept refusal of Dr Adutwums rejection bid as a running mate for Dr Bawumia and even as an MP of Bosomtwe constituency. His office has been so criminalised by staffing irregularities as education m ...

• Menipa 1 year ago

Before it was cost and quality, once they lost quantity argument, it's about cost.

Government policy is government policy, NPP to maintain FSHS, you can advice other parties to come out with alternative as suggested and le ...

• Appiah-Nyamekye 1 year ago

Akilapa's comment is equally unintelligent than the policy he's slamming. Is he trying to be holier than others or trying to pontificate as the only stranger in Jerusalem. At least the counyry experienced free SHS in certain ...

• Oko 1 year ago

Nkwaseasem

• Baffuor 1 year ago

I beg to differ from Prof's assertions not on political grounds but equity.It is worth noting that every Ghanaian is poor and needy until proven otherwise. Is Ghana Government SCHOLARSHIP under GETFund not meant to support ...

• Kwame Peter 1 year ago

Talk is cheap and comment on social media is free.Intelligent Professor Akilakpa,tell the government one intelligent criteria it can use to determine affordability of parents.

• Kwaku 1 year ago

Of course it is not intelligent because it is to the benefit of the ordinary Ghanaians. A house build for every single member of Parliament ( some of them are super rich) at the end of four years term is so very intelligent a ...