Wives adopting their husbands’ surname after marriage is outdated - High Court judge

Read Comments Comments (88)

• NAUGHTY BY NATURE 1 year ago

What is your point and what do you aim at, Mr. High Court Judge?

• Blue 1 year ago

Among other things, it signifies oneness of the family. This independence ideology when taken to such absurdity extent become satanic and anti-family. Will the children also adopt their own 'independent' names? Or will the ma ...

• Puffer Fish Napo 1 year ago

Don’t mind the judge. He should throw away his wig and gown together with the English language first.

• Blue 1 year ago

Thank you puffer fish Napo.

• P Djamgbe 1 year ago

You thank him for what exactly? You guys don't know the historical facts behind this primitive ideology and the judge is explaining things to you and you are still displaying your ignorance. In the past in some cultures, espe ...

• Kwaku 1 year ago

Historical facts written by who? You people lied to us that you are educated and enlightened yet you don't have anything authentic but what is handed down to you by the same Caucasian. Answer the questions. The wig, the set u ...

• Ayamsey 1 year ago

That is of the English the English signifies servitude but in the case of Africa is signifies oneness a woman adapting the surname of her husband makes her a full member of the family and inseparatable.

• Eddy the King 1 year ago

Dont be surprised that this judge is a freemason under the hood of a judge to speak as being the law but really is an agent

• Quinn 1 year ago

My brother, a woman changing her name after marriage is an adopted custom, I hope you know that. Our culture was functioning before this adoption. It was neither a satanic or an anti-family culture. So what is that trend is c ...

• Blue 1 year ago

@Quinn. Do away with all borrowed culture and practices, including engineering and technology that did not originate from your ancestors. That will mean going back to living in mud houses with thatch roofs with no electricity ...

• Quinn 1 year ago

You embrace what is helpful, bro. I have friends who have changed their names and I know the stress they go through. So, are you saying for the sake of your ego, your wife should by all means change her name, whether omitting ...

It is rather your brain that is outdated

• SMARTPHONE £XPERT - START MAKING REAL MONEY IN 3WKS 1 year ago

Only in Africa do they dump their age old traditions for what they think is western liberalism, meanwhile the whites maintain theirs. ..HARD TRUTH: no one is coming to rescue you from unemployment/lack! - it is every man fo ...

• Quinn 1 year ago

Ha

• Quinn 1 year ago

I think the point is simple. A woman is not obligated to change her name after marriage.

I think this judge is smoking wee

• Hmmmmm lack of focus 1 year ago

Wife changing their surname or keeping their maiden name In which way does it affect women right?
    There are more important issues to be addressed in our culture such as our attitude towards work, our poor maintenance culture ...

• Joe 1 year ago

Another idiot. You sat there to support political judges to rule that a birth certificate must not be recognized as being a Ghanaian and now here you are.

I vet he he had some shit soup (akrantie soup) with fufu.

• Kola 1 year ago

There is nothing like outdated for women to use their husbands names as last name. Even world leaders wives uses their husband's named as last names. This is the right thing because it's a linage name. This is the name their ...

• Quinn 1 year ago

I like the 'we are Africans' part. I will like to point it out to you Africans initially did not have that custom. We were still very functional. People knew whose father was who.

• Simon 1 year ago

Who told you that Africans did not have that custom? Say that your village doesn't have that custom but don't generalize it because many parts of Africa have it. Do you know the Dagaaba's or Frafra's or Dagomba or Ewe's or et ...

• SK 1 year ago

Please keep those advice or opinions to yourself and family please. I don’t know what is wrong with you people. I will not be surprised your wife is not using your surname so you want other people to follow you. Idiot.

• Powerful 1 year ago

A whole high court judge putting forth such lame argument? Joseph is the first name of Mary's husband so she could not have used same as a surname

• Hospital Blanket 1 year ago

Totally nonsense of a so-called judge who aims at a mere recognition and fame. Talking about Eve and Mary, did he ever hear of Joseph's surname or that Adams'?
    Then again, doesn't the bible talk about a man and woman coming ...

• Northern Boy 1 year ago

This thing of man and woman becoming a single body after marriage should not be taken to mean everything. Which man and his wife have you ever seen as one body? Let's get knowledge

• Akua 1 year ago

QUEEN ELIZABETH NEVER CHANGED HER NAME

• Jah Lives 1 year ago

Akua,you have made the most fantastically stupid statement.Queen Elizabeth did not change her name.Yes,that is true. It would be absurd to have had Mrs Mountbatten as the name of the Queen of England,wouldn’t it?
    The Quee ...

• YAHAYA 1 year ago

GOOD POINT YOUR LORDSHIP.THE PRACTICE OF WOMEN ADOPTING THEIR HUSBAND SHARE NAME IS NOT ONLY OUTDATED BUT UN AFRICAN AND WE MUST MOVE AWAY FROM IT .

• Nana 1 year ago

Over to you Jane Naana Opoku Ageymang

• Nana 1 year ago

Isaiah 4:1

In that day seven women will take hold of one man and say, “We will eat our own food and provide our own clothes; only let us be called by your name. Take away our disgrace.

Bearing a man’s name is dignif ...

• THINK TWICE. 1 year ago

Thank you.

• Kudos 1 year ago

God bless you

• THINK TWICE. 1 year ago

Whether or not wives adopt their husband's names, it doesn't put food on the table. Our problems in Ghana is all about bread and butter issues not what is outdated or current.
    Concentrate on justice delivery. Serve the inter ...

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

Nobody has put a knife to a woman's throat to go by their husband's surname. My wife is not my offspring. She can call herself anything she wants but when the paperwork calls for something other than her maiden name that's wh ...

• Theo 1 year ago

Hahahaha I like the way you put it! This judge has been compromised by an ambitious woman

• Taylor 1 year ago

That's his opinion out of the millions on the earth. It's a choice that he can make with his wife. Even those that brought us education haven't dropped it. Not Mrs. Obama

• The Bible says you’re wrong... 1 year ago

Hahaha Mrs Obama ? You mean the first black transgender to become th first Lady?

• ASHUA BODEY 1 year ago

CRAZY BALDHEAD !! HAHAHA !!

• Andrew 1 year ago

He’s right !
    This was never part of our culture !

• Blue 1 year ago

Massa, formal education was never part of your so-called culture so 'exterminate' it from your culture. In addition, eliminate everything practice you borrowed from other cultures and go back to living in mud houses with that ...

• Choboman 1 year ago

And is smart phone part of our culture? Wise up

• Sure let us changed all 1 year ago

Cell phone was never part of our culture and so was wearing coats, shoes, cars and others. What is left of out so-called culture that we can be proud of???

• Nana 1 year ago

Jobless lawyer

• Ewvevi 1 year ago

Another gyimi gyimi from the forest. No wonder. Where else? These are the people who have created a world of social imbalance whereby women are now in wrong positions. Men have become toothless because too many women have bec ...

• TheWorld GoneWoke siding unbiblical values hence sufferation 1 year ago

InFact bro i’m an Ashanti and you hit the hard truth. You said the whole truth. I never knew there were some intelligent people like you in Ghana @Ewvevi. Thank you and I bet truly judge washes her wife panties for real..

• Henry Hevi 1 year ago

Bam!!!,Bam!!!,Bam!!!

• Theo 1 year ago

If this judge's opinion is anything to go by, then, by the same logic, payment of dowry or bride price is also outdated!

I hope he is not subtly pushing an agenda. This call is already flawed.

• Quinn 1 year ago

Oh, but it is. Aren't people marrying in court without any tradition wedding or engagement? The law recognizes those marriages even though bride price hasn't been paid. In the nutshell, the important thing is, the law does no ...

• Male feminist 1 year ago

So I wonder what international group paid this coon to say that. He is the same type that would support LGBT in Ghana and if given the opportunity would reverse our laws. These mentally castrated men that would do anything f ...

• the Villager 1 year ago

WHAT IS MORE OUTDATED THAN THE UGLY HOOD THESE PEOPLE WEAR IN COURT?
    And if you care to know, it was perhaps this Justice who bonked Afia Schwarzenegger@17.

• KOFI 1 year ago

This is a stupid and childish statement as a judge. Instead of just explaining how it works and options for all look at him.

• IRS 1 year ago

look at what he is saying you guys sef with our warm weather wear black gown and wig. which is more outmoded. Some people just seemed to like domestic fights.

• Badi 1 year ago

He has said nothing insightful

• Geo 1 year ago

This how gayism and gay rights started,Mr high court judge come again.

• The Don 1 year ago

And this thing is a high court judge? Did he pass any exams or he was an apprentice just like akufo addo

• Graduates are no longer the most educated.They're just the most indoctrinated 1 year ago

Don't be too impressed by PHD and degree holders anymore.
    Graduates are no longer the most educated.They're just the most indoctrinated. If this man is a judge know the reason the world is on chaos.

• The Bible says you’re wrong...Antichrist lawyer 1 year ago

Just as the Church is united with Christ and bears His name, so too does a woman, upon marriage, enter into a new spiritual union and take her husband's name. By adopting her husband's name, a woman aligns herself with the bi ...

• Jingo 1 year ago

Mr judge, you just open your mouth and spit out so much garbage

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 year ago

ahhhh nkr3fo3 woyi koraaaa 3den ne gyimii saaa no ?

look,
    married is between 2 persons man and a woman,
    if after married the woman want to take her Husband surname leave the loved couple to do what pleases them.

if t ...

• ANY FOOOL CAN BECOME A HOGH COURT JUDGE NOW UNDER CRIMINAL AKUFFO ADDO 1 year ago

THIS USELESS JUDGE IS SATANIC AND A DISGRACE TO THE LEGAL PROFESSION.

• Quinn 1 year ago

Oh why this insult?
    What he is saying is actually legally right here in Ghana. Also, there is no actual law in the Bible that obligates a woman to take a man's name. During the times the Bible was being written, there was n ...

• Aroro 1 year ago

Go and tell your chief justice that.

• Kuduse 1 year ago

Marriage is a friendly relationship. Adopting a husband’s surname is an insult to the family name of the woman.

• Onnipa nnye 1 year ago

Jack you can't impose your warped on any body, you are ugly and no sensible woman will adopt your mutumbanza surname ofui

• Kwaku Binfo 1 year ago

Another PhD empty Headed pig

• ITS BECAUSE WEDDIJGS ARE DEEPLY ROOTED IN ENGLISH CULTURE TOO 1 year ago

If you don't like what goes with white-weddings then stop having them and let us keep to our culture so we can marry many women and the. Everyone keeps her name too.

• Alex B 1 year ago

stupid comment Mr. judge. Does your literature review gave any time frame as to when adopting legal marriage surname gets outdated? Did you craft institutional laws. The judiciary system in Ghana has not been able to authenti ...

• Kwame Peter 1 year ago

Adoption of husband’s name after marriage is a personal decision,some adopt some don’t,whether traditional or court marriage.My Lordship don’t bring trouble where there’s non.

• Fetch 1 year ago

Women for very long time were treated as commodities owned by men. So after marriage you adopt the name of your owner. After divorce you drop the name because you are set free, then she takes her maiden name back until a new ...

• Pelicles 1 year ago

Another educated fool

This guy lacks wisdom

• OGyam 1 year ago

Can someone tell that ignorant judge that "It is not obligatory" for a married woman to take her husbands name in England. Cherie Booth, still uses her own name as a lawyer not as Mrs Blair. Our problem in Ghana, is "Sua Tra" ...

• OGyam 1 year ago

Also, in England, it is not obligatory to take your father's surname unlike other European countries. A couple in England can name their child as they please. We in Ghana, out of "Sua Tra" decided to name our kids after their ...

• Konkonsani 1 year ago

Herh this Judge paa.Even in the developed world they still maintain this tradition.The fact that he is a judge doesn’t mean he has more wisdom than the rest of us.He should keep his opinion to himself.It is a form of submis ...

• Kwabena 1 year ago

I now understand why Ghana is not going forward. God help me never to have any court case oooo. SO THESE ARE THE PEOPLE SHAPING OUR WAY OF LIFE

• Kwajo Amoah 1 year ago

Na papa no wagyimi anaa? Then weddings too are outdated. All marriage should be customary. Where the man can marry more

• Sure let us changed all 1 year ago

Courts will soon be outdated too as the white man brought those laws. We have to go back to the rule of Chiefs and family heads. I magine how messed up the courts are. Let us go back to the days before the whiteman came.

• Mane 1 year ago

In Islam, children are supposed to apply their fathers' names as surnames. Married Muslim women observe this. So what the judge is asking for is already being practised by a section of Ghana's populace.

• Kofi 1 year ago

Use you brain a bit. Your ancestors had a way of life long before the sword brandishing Arab wankers came on the camels and imposed that nonsensical Islam upon you. They never built roads, hospitals etc for you. They just ga ...

• Ella Kumi 1 year ago

Remove those nasty wigs you were as judges and lawyers and after come back let's discuss this. Rubbish!!

• Stop Lawyers And Judges Wearing Wigs First!! 1 year ago

Komot for there. Are you wiser than the originators? Stop lawyers and judges from wearing Synthetic Horse tail wigs! But you forgot that wigs you the judges and lawyers wear is outdated? Remove the Log in your eye before you ...

• Duka daya 1 year ago

Married women should now be known as Kwame’s wife instead of Mr’s Kwame. Full stop

• Kojo 1 year ago

Even this write up is a waste of time and resources is this of importance

• ISLAM 1 year ago

is not permissible for a woman to take her husband's name or his family name because that is attributing oneself to someone other than one's father, and the husband has no right to force his wife to change her surname to his.

• OSAFO KANTANKA 1 year ago

Yes!! We have to RESPECT our Women and Not to Change their names to husbands names. A wife is not a dog or a pet to be renamed. I am rather surprised Women have tolerated this nonsense for such long time. Sensible women ...

• Peeved 1 year ago

Stupid high court judge. Everywhere in the world women so when this imp get this idea from.

• Francis Asante-Boadu 1 year ago

VFCP divinely declares that in this Polygamous Era if a woman cannot share the husband, in the same context the husband cannot share his his name with the ex-wife. The Christian bible is not an authentic book to serve as a me ...

• Abusua 1 year ago

Well said Mr Lawyer. Is Alexander a Ghanaian local name or a borrowed name? Don't tell me it is your Christian name. Why was your Rev. Pastor/ Father not allowed to baptize you on your local name Osei or whatever? Does the na ...

• Citizen 1 year ago

Sad most comments here are lambasting the judge for speaking the obvious, the truth. If you are not sick in your head you will aplaud the judge. Ask the women who have lost their husbands and have taken new husbands for what ...