Stopping sale of SSNIT hotels is not a win – IMANI Africa president

Read Comments Comments (84)

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

Frank,please try to be a bit objective.
    Are you telling us that these hotels are now housing monkeys from Rwanda or what?
    I was expecting you to say people are not patronizing the hotels or their bills are very expensive or ...

• QWERTY 1 year ago

SSNIT law must change. The hand of government should be taken out of the appointment of executives and board members. Contributors including pensioners should do the appointment of executives and board members. Otherwise, the ...

• BugaBuga 1 year ago

THERE ARE TOO MANY IGNORANT OPPORTUNISTS IN GHANA. IN WHAT COUNTRY WILL THE GOVERNMENT SIT DOWN QUIETLY AND ALLOW MEDDLERS TO CONTROL THE UNIONS? GHANA IS A BEACON OF DEMOCRACY. FRANKLIN CUDJOE AND ABLAKWA SHOULD ASK SSNIT TO ...

• Ojah 1 year ago

I don't know about Frank Cudjoe, but even Motel Six that has a slogan of 'We live the lights on', the proceeds from the occupants pay that Light Bill. Well, unless the Board of SSNIT is just in the habit of writing a check fo ...

• Nii Akwei 1 year ago

You make me laugh your Motel Six. Good one!

• NPP = NEW POISON PARTY 1 year ago

FRANKLIN CUDJOE SHOULD STOP HIS ECONOMIC CLUELESSNESS.
    Can someone talk some sense into Franklin Cudjoe because the way he understands capitalism is bewildering. I believe he wants to satisfy his paymasters. Not everything ...

I thought you were intelligent.

• @Bot Kofi 1 year ago

Just do simple cost benefit analysis. The hotels are not generating enough revenue to offset SSNIT investment into them. to make this hotels more viable in terms of revenue generation, SSNIT in addition to their 60%share, wo ...

• Mismanagement is the Problem 1 year ago

The Government Appointments in there are a waste. Workers should be fully responsible for optimizing the efficiency of it's own assets and businesses.
    There should be independent business audit and employment of effective b ...

• Frimpong 1 year ago

Right on point. The rest are only being emotional cos they've been misled.

• Chris Stephano 1 year ago

You argue with a partisan brain, it will be seen clearly. Ahi is responsible for making SSNIT function properly? How can an organization receiving continuous inflow of funds from this large population of workers have problems ...

• Bright Fransham 1 year ago

Frank you are 100% on target. Go and see how properties of SNNIT are getting rotten and decay. If these undecerning workers want them to be destroyed like they did to 400 state companies including Ghana Airways, Blackstar, G ...

• Chris Stephano 1 year ago

There is no sense in what you’ve said here. Whose responsibility is it to make those investments work? Npp foot soldiers?

• Bright Fransham 1 year ago

Ghana workers have not learnt any lessons how their attitude collapsed GhanaAirways , Black star line and others. Byran Acheampong find a land close by and build new hotels tommorow these same workers will come to seek employ ...

• Woyoowoyo 1 year ago

He is just spewing his ignorance. If people don't patronize,where comes the bills? He is of late not making any sense at all.

• F wills 1 year ago

Why would ssnit have to pay the light bills when the hotels are in great condition during time of bidding.
    Are the hotels rooms not available for booking under ssnit? and or its management?
    Some of you guys are playing da ...

• Kwaky 1 year ago

That is the foolishness of blinding following empty heads like Ablakwa.Your pensions will continue to be pittance.Ablakwa goes home every 4 years with huge end of service benefits.UTAG,CLOSAG members think twice.

• QWERTY 1 year ago

@Kwaky. I laugh when I hear someone like talk about people following politicians blindly. I won't be surprised to hear the devil himself complaining about lies and deception.

• Musa 1 year ago

Kwaky you are on spot on. Which part of the world do you see pension managers running a hotel business? The hotel investment is a mistake made by SSNIT and is just wise to do away with this useless venture bringing SSNIT less ...

• Adondon 1 year ago

Garbage and foolish talk. You have no idea what you are talking about!

• Ojah 1 year ago

@Kwaky, What do you usually have for lunch? Sewerage?

• NPP = NEW POISON PARTY 1 year ago

Some of you are talking garbage. Are you telling me there are no competent public servants who can run the hotels? If no, the government should go to the UK or South Africa to hire agencies that specialize in hospitality ind ...

• Ga Nyobi 1 year ago

Empty head like Ablakwa? are you OK, because you are blindly following a politician who will give you some pocket change you come here and spill garbage.What have you done for Ghana tell us here

• MP 1 year ago

Inflation going to erode proceeds from sale intended for fixed income investments. We have also read that amount being offered is about half of evaluated price. Thus by this path value is going to be significantly eroded. I w ...

• Wisdom 1 year ago

Frankly,seriously I dont know whether is aginst the sell or against the sales, or is just that he is confused.

• Eap 1 year ago

We have the men indeed. I thought the NPP has the best managers of the economy? So why can't they find someone with the competency to turn the fortunes of the asset around.?
    Imani Ghana/NPP economic think tank' is this the r ...

• Goba 1 year ago

Sia now, you want npp to manage. Go manage it yourself. Are u not the people saying npp hasnt done anything

• DMB(Don't Mind Bawumia ) 1 year ago

Did you understand what you read?

• Me 1 year ago

No one is against private investment. The issue is selling it cheap to an NPP person. I think you guys are all missing the point

• Aaaaaba 1 year ago

They have not sell the hotels they 60% shares

• Kofi 1 year ago

Organised labour may not have won but they have prevented us from losing. If a business entity is being run badly change the management and employ the best there is to turn around profitability

• KB 1 year ago

Very stupid comment. If it not a win then what is it? Too many foolish voices in this country. Aren't there people who can manga this profitably. Where are those who have managed it profitably all this while before this maraf ...

• Musa 1 year ago

Why are insulting franklin Cudjoe for speaking the truth.

Which part of the world have you seen pension managers running a full time hotel business? If you had listened very well to SSNIT you will have known that they hav ...

• Okoromansa 1 year ago

NOW YOU SEE AYIGBE WISDOM, YOU SEE VOLTA WISDOM. FRANKLIN CUDJOE AND OKUDJETO ABLAKWA ARE TWO PROMINENT AYIGBES OR VOLTARIANS. NOW AFTER ALL THE JEALOUSY THEY SEE THE SNNIT ASSETS GOING TO WASTE. COMMON SENSE, MAN! YOU TWO SK ...

• Goba 1 year ago

Their problem was it going to an Akan,Akyem. Golden Tulip was sold to foreign entity,u saw any ayigbeman complained? But this one, all of them has come to their numbers to oppose it cuz of their jealousy.

• Mr Raymond Kofi Boah 1 year ago

If search people are governing the country how could you expect the country to develop

• Justrac Africa Ltd 1 year ago

TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route by your phone etc. PRICE: GHS750. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info ...

• ZoRRo 1 year ago

don't scare us with the costs ! What about the profits from these hotels ? Who is receiving them ?

• Tsotsoo 1 year ago

These SSNIT hotels put together need to involve private participation.. SSNIT is using workers money and government interventions to run their hotels because what comes in from the hotels are not enough. They are not making ...

• Patrick 1 year ago

Thank you Franklin Cudjoe, I hope the leaders of the labour unions will come to their senses very soon and not allow Okudjeto Ablakwa to fool them.

• The Spear 1 year ago

The problem is Ablakwa, right? Charlie, why don't you focus on why government stewardship of national assets is deplorable and sluggish?

I remember City Line was run down with the management showcasing chronic lack of busi ...

• Lion 1 year ago

Franklin is on CIA payroll

• NANA 1 year ago

The precedent set by allowing a minister of state or any politically affiliated person to purchase these hotels will cost us more in the long run than the losses incurred by these investments. Is Brain Achaempong a fool to bu ...

• Achakanapaya 1 year ago

How much is this guy paid?

• Ga Nyobi 1 year ago

hes chatting rubbish, if the necessary steps are taken to bring them back into profit then it will serve in the best interest of the tax paying Ghanian who pays into the fund.dont continue running it down because you want to ...

• Can't think far.. 1 year ago

We have a very wicked government that does not think about Ghana and it appears people cannot think properly as a result. If the hotels are unprofitable, sack the management and get new competent people to manage the hotels. ...

• KOFI 1 year ago

What Franklin Cudjoe is saying is right if thee conditions are not changed

• Nyinahin Bauxite 1 year ago

Even if we want to sell it, we will sell it to the Chinese and not a stupid Ghanaian villager like Bryan Acheampong

• Joe 1 year ago

I bet SSNIT investments not making profits will be visited in future.The same reason so many state enterprises collapsed for various reasons.Some years ago asked a friend at SSNIT if they can run hotels and shopping malls.Oth ...

• kb 1 year ago

woow I am surprise such a person like your caliber will say these words why?

can we subcontract hotel resorts international management to operate these state hotels?

why don't you hire me for example the Ghanaian in dia ...

• King Foster 1 year ago

This man Franklin Cudjour and his so-called Imani are 100% part of where Ghana is now. They're always being paid to say something good of this government. You guys, just wait.

• Observer 1 year ago

Have you heard of changing and putting a well qualified and professional management to run it properly. What magic was Brian Achaempong going to do that SSNIT with its huge cash flow could not do

• Uncle Pee 1 year ago

Franklin Cudjoe is right, stopping Sale of SSNIT hotels is not a win. Ablakwa is doing more harm than good to our country's progress. Why should SNNIT continue run a losing business? Selling the hotels to a private entity was ...

• Nii Joromi 1 year ago

The clearing agent/midget has to sack all his corrupt SSNIT appointees. A new board has to be put in place asap. If only he has the balls.

• hess 1 year ago

Workers at ssnit are paid tooo much....

Just look around you and see a worker of ssnit, they waste the money on cars ...my comment only fools should type insult under it.

• Adjoa Berko Esq. 1 year ago

Come on Franklin!
    What are you talking about.
    You are completely off beat. And out of tune. And grossly irrelevant in this matter.
    If you have nothing sensible to say, please shut it up!

• Agberanu 1 year ago

Franklin you're stupid. There's nothing in that you ape head. Kwasea buluuuuu.

• Sam young 1 year ago

Where from this idiot too. If those hotels are failing the manayneeds to be overhauled and not sell them to someone short-changing Ghanian workers

• James 1 year ago

It's just hatred for Brayan Acheampong!!

• Cc 1 year ago

I now believe the theory of evolution.

• Kweku Tsin. 1 year ago

I totally agree with Franklyn on this one. Ssnit in the first place has short changed Ghanaian workers and done them a great disservice by investing in these white elephants. Tell me,how many people stay at these hotelsyearly ...

• Ross 1 year ago

Shut up ! What do you know?? I don't want to say sick twerp.

• KingsKing 1 year ago

You foolish man, won't you tell them to stop putting square pegs in a round holes. Why should we sell it when Akufo Addo and Bawumia kept sending party supporters who have no knowledge in hotel management?

• KofSam 1 year ago

Franklin Cudjoe is not right. Why will these SSNIT hotels lose money if they are still government owned properties? Anytime state properties are privatized, they make profit . Are they being operated by robots. No ! The manag ...

• Ghanaian are fools 1 year ago

Most Ghanaians are stupid fools. Everything in this country that is good good for the nation is always turned into politics, Why is the NDC trying so hard to stop the sale of this 60% of SSNIT shares in this holtels. Now they ...

• Anso 1 year ago

The voice of the people is the voice of God. Only fools like you think that the first option of a nonprofitable investment is to sell it to party cronies. You are too stupid to be alive

• Tracy Bianca 1 year ago

Buffoon

• Kofi Bediako 1 year ago

SSNIT stopped the sale of the hotels immediately when Rock City withdrew its bid. That action of SSNIT created the obvious impression that there was something very fishy at stake. It is a fact that wherever the State gets its ...

• Kow 1 year ago

Franklin Cudjoe is talking sense for once

• NART 1 year ago

FRANKLIN I DON'T THINK YOU ARE A HONEST ,
    SO ARE YOU IN SUPPORT OF THE SALE OF THE HOTELS?
    NONSENSE

• Abusua 1 year ago

Franklin Cudjoe will not fight for his Lolobi people who have been disenfranchised in the last election. Does Franklin Cudjoe know that his people are also taxpayers in Ghana and yet they are not represented in Ghana's parlia ...

• Nana Ankasa Nie 1 year ago

It is sad that although the State runs hotels, the Akufo Addo Government does not patronize them. Instead, it is foreign-owned hotels that get most of the government business.

• Oyibo 1 year ago

From your explanation, where do you stand? It seems you were against the sale on the point of view of partisan politics and envy. Would they have complained if the SSNIT hotels were sold to a foreigner? They would be happy th ...

• William Ejisu 1 year ago

Stopping of sale of the SSNIT share portfolio of four hotels ,was never meant to be a win.It was simply a matter of due diligence in getting the process done in a manner that is accepted to the actual shareholders,
    The pe ...

• Francis 1 year ago

Frank, Frankly I don't agree with you on this. The consultant explained that information on terms of payment for the shares were withheld from other bidders. Had this information been made available to them in the bidding d ...

• H Aborbi 1 year ago

This debate so far has not discussed the real reason only ssnit hotels are losing money. The real reason is poor management, which can be resolved by government operating at arms-length, and by appointing competent people, no ...

• Batuta 1 year ago

The Ghanaian Media is leading most Ghanaians to think negatively. If this doesn't stop the country will become a failed state and a military coup will be the result. Everything in the country is becoming impossible once NDC i ...

• Sir kk 1 year ago

So what would Bryan Acheampong use them for? They should put competent managers there, change their boards and ensure things go well.
    Are we always going to give up our facilities? Is ECG not doing its job. Let's change the ...

• Yaw 1 year ago

We work for our life time when we go on pension we are given peanuts but an MP receive exgratia every 4 years whereas UNIONS pays nothing to workers after deduct dues from them workers in the country will continue to suffer b ...

• AB 1 year ago

Very disappointing comment, Franklyn.

• Frimpong 1 year ago

All these noises ro stop the sale were born out of jealousy and nothing else. It doesn't make business sense. Let's see what happens with these hotels and workers contributions that are being used to finance them.

• Thomas 1 year ago

The Labour Unions had 4 representatives on the SSNIT board that took the decision to sell the 60% shares. The Pensioners association also had one rep on the board. Strangely the idiots who are leaders of the TUC and calling f ...

• Summer 1 year ago

This think thank or whatever they call themselves are full of shit so they are telling us that rock city are going to create magic that is a stupid statement to make there should be a holistic changes from the ssnit board a ...

• Woyoowoyo 1 year ago

Franklin Cudjoe,are you serious at all? Where do you stand now? Don't we workers pay our contributions? Are people not patronizing the hotels any longer? And if people are not patronizing,why do we pay electricity and water b ...