'We still need you' - How Busia begged British government not to give Ghana independence in 1957

Read Comments Comments (130)

• Good Boy 1 year ago

These guys never meant any good for Ghana. No wonder they tried to kill Nkrumah and his dreams. In fact, they have even created more awareness about the legacies of Nkrumah. NPP will go down by 4 million votes and never again ...

• DotCom 1 year ago

They have taken our independence away from us. Ghana is fully reliant on the West for its foreign and national policies. We want our independence back now.

• Johnny 1 year ago

The British did not help us.They shd have killed all the members of UGCC including Kwame Nkrumah when they started fighting among themselves.The British shd have known that those guys were not prepared for Ghana's independenc ...

• Proud of our only founder Dr. Kwame Nkrumah 1 year ago

Per your write ups you yourself will never be prepared and ready to govern yourself.
    With this mentality you can never contribute anything precious to Ghana.
    Since you're refusing to realize contribution of the great Nkruma ...

• NKRUMAHIST IDIOTS 1 year ago

The context of having the British stay on to transition is what Busia or JB Danquah implied. Even today, we understand the dangers of unplanned pull out, example Afghanistan.

• Oklemekuku 1 year ago

Give us a break.

• ghanaba 1 year ago

what an idiotic response, first of, the British had no business being in Afghanistan or ruling over Ghanaians. u a typical slave worshipping the European

• Onipa nua 1 year ago

That's right, he is really a slave to the white man!

• Buwumia Miaing Ghanaians 1 year ago

This whole shit-show from Nana Addo is part of the State capture to also take credit from Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah who founded Ghana!
    These Akufo-Addos and Ofori Attas and their families are on a mission to make their fam ...

• Joe Pike 1 year ago

And what is that danger? Afghans simply went back to their ways before America's invasion. There was never any true plan for Afghan. Dont judge them by American standards because America never and will never intend Afghanista ...

• Onipa nua 1 year ago

Very intelligent comments coming from Ghanaians against our traitors and their European and American oppressors. I love you, you wise Ghanaians. The foolish ones who are still expecting the West to feed them must bow their he ...

• Abena DAPAAH is a THIEF 1 year ago

@NKRUMAHIST IDIOTS, THIS HOUSE SLAVE MENTALITY OF YOURS IS THE BURDEN WE ARE CARRYING NOW. LET YOUR CHILDREN LIVE WITH YOU TILL THEY ARE 100 YEARS, BECAUSE THEY WILL NEVER BE READY UNTIL THEY CARRY AND EXPERIENCE WHAT IT IS T ...

• Sister Soulja 1 year ago

Sophomoric at best, pedestrian at worst. Clueless and ignorant.

• Ojah 1 year ago

@NKRUMAHIST IDIOTS. YU GO EXPLAIN TAYA! SO CALLED 'PLANNED PULL OUTS' ONLY INVOLVE INSTALLING YOUR PUPPETS AND ASS KISSERS.

• they say they say 1 year ago

The article says majority of Ghanaians themselves wanted freedom. Jb danquah and busia opinion didn't matter to the Brits( they're civilized). Please read the article again with open mind so you can process

• Debee 1 year ago

You see the slave mindset. For soo many years that the Portuguese, British etc etc ruled us what did we get? Such mindset is taking us back.

• The Lado 1 year ago

So Nana Addo too never plan before implementing the free SHS Abi?

• Bobby Stones 1 year ago

The NPP and its forebearer the UP see themselves are British. These people admire the British so much so that, they introduced the UK style of democracy in the second republic. These are the people Akufo Addo wants us to beli ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 1 year ago

You are obviously misinformed.
    Ghana adopted similar constitutional arrangement at independence. However, Nkrumah, true to the fears of the opposition, dismantled that arrangement by chasing away opponents when he introduced ...

• Johnny 1 year ago

Kwabena, just leave these fools who still hold on to the view that Nkrumah did NOTHING WRONG. Nkrumah’s VAULTING AMBITION made him so so wicked and dangerous

• Geoffrey 1 year ago

Our Brothers in Wenchim should come and see what the NDC dimwits are saying about the Legend that was Kwasi Abrefa Busia.
    Now they're encouraging your chief to leave Asante.
    Se mo nim owuo a monhw3 nna

• KKX 1 year ago

Busia was a traitor and a coward, leave wenchi people out of this. They're no traitors nor cowards!

• Agyenkwa Hustler: STUPID GHANAWEB 1 year ago

These Danquah-Busia people have been useless to the cause of Ghana from day one. Good-for-nothing nation robbers. They are going to suffer from here out. Now that they have been exposed

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

@Johnny........ Every group that was formed prior to independence was primarily concerned with promoting the primacy of their petty politico-ethnic interests. A unitary state was furtherest from their convictions. Nkrumah wa ...

• GH8 1 year ago

That is all the hatred for Nkrumah is all about 'snatching the grand prize' from the Akyem Darling boy J.B DANQUAH.

• P Djamgbe 1 year ago

Now the secrets of all the treacherous bomb throwers and nation wreckers are being unearthed. After all this treachery, your equally treacherous descendants are desperately trying very hard to share Dr Nkrumah's achievement a ...

• KNIGHT THIEF 1 year ago

ive always been super suspct of anyone who wears reading glasses and loves to smoke like jb danquah.....

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

What they don't tell you is that he was also a ritual murderer who JUSTIFIED it as part THEIR culture. Research it.

• NDC die hard man. 1 year ago

DONT WE STILL NEED THE BRITISH TILL NOW? HOW MANY OF YOU WONT RUN TO THE UK IF THET GRANT GHANA VISA FREE TO UK? THE BLACK MAN WAS NEVER CAPABLE OF MANAGING HIS OWN COUNTRY,NKRUMAH LIED! WHY ARE WE SUFFERING NOW IF NKRUMAH HA ...

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

First of all the British deserve all the folks who go there to seek greener pastures. The quest for empire raped a third of the world of their destinies and it is only fair that the world returns to the storehouse of their bo ...

• Obuor 1 year ago

Wat happened after independence?
    R we really independent?
    Tweaaa

• EFO KOKU 1 year ago

MORE VISAS
    We didn’t want the British to rule us but we are paying more money to go to them to be ruled. That’s the black man for you.

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

Of the morons who rule us were doing a good job, Ghana would be a paradise and very few people would choose the path of economic migration. Your leaders who are the White man's squires and stooges have made it so. Leave "the ...

THE SET BACK IN OUR EDUCATION IS THE CAUSE FOR PEOPLE TROOPING TO SEEK VISAS AT THE BRITISH EMBASSY. ASK ANYONE WHO HAS TRAVELED ABROAD, AND THAT PERSON WILL TELL YOU TRAVELING ABROAD IS ALL A MIRAGE.

• AAA+ 1 year ago

At Good boy, look this foolish boy, what kind of change has your independence brought, NDC has used half of this period to backward development and now what can black man do here without white so what is your point of chantin ...

THESE FOOLS AND THEIR DECENDANTS ARE NOW CLAMORING AND FORCEFULLY CLAIIMING THEIR ROLES IN THE INDEPENDENCE AFENDA. THESE ROGUES WHOSE IT IS TO STEAL, LIE AND CAUSE CONFUSION AMONG DECENT GHANAIANS WORMED THEIR WAY INTO THE H ...

• Jonas 1 year ago

What have we achieved as an independent country so far? We started that journey with the likes of Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea. We are only blaming this and that instead of finding basic solutions to our problems.

• Yaw 1 year ago

Per what Akufo Addo said yesterday, he agreed with that arrogant Opoku Prempe (NAPO), that, Akufo Addo did better than Dr. Nkrumah.
    They are nation wreckers and we will never allow them to rewrite the history of Ghana.
    They ...

• Twum 1 year ago

The hasty and populist decision by Nkrumah for Independence has been the Achilles of the progress of this country .what was the end result after 6 years when Nkrumah was in charge of this country ? From a positive net reserv ...

• Sak 1 year ago

Trash talk.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 1 year ago

@TWUM... ARE YOU AN IDIOT???

MENTAL SLAVERY!!!!!!!!

• P Djamgbe 1 year ago

@Twum, Dr Nkrumah left "0 reserves" with developmental projects that have never been matched by all the leaders that came after him put together. Your bomb-throwing forefathers and everyone else that came after Nkrumah left t ...

• J0eY l0nD0N 1 year ago

The stupid people are the very ones ruining Nkrumah legacies for example STC .

• JB DANQUA AND BUSIA WERE RIGHT 1 year ago

Nkrumah rushed too much! Look at the countries who didn't rush for independence- South Africa, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Namibia- they are all laughing at us. Go and look at the infrastructure they have, Ghana is way behind them all t ...

• Afrakoma 1 year ago

The descendants of UP tradition are on it till today! Nation looters! Nation Wreckers! Unpatriotic and cursed group of people!

• Nana Kwaku 1 year ago

The British were never prepared to give us our independence but the moment they saw Nkrumah breaking away from UGCC,the said let give these IDIOTS their "independence".The British knew we are FOOLS and cannot manage our activ ...

• Asídu Keta 1 year ago

It's not true. British had by 1949 agreed to give Ghana independence and Nkrumah heard about this from the Governor General office. In effect Ghana did not fight for independence. There was only a fight about who will rule th ...

• Kel 1 year ago

Twum Kwasiakwasia. !

• Kwaku 1 year ago

My or independence of any human being hasty? Come again.

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

@Twum...You tribal clannish bigots always delight in revising history to suit your diabolical agenda. You even go as far as to relinquish the very fundamental cells of your cognition qualify this agenda. But Ghana and Nkrumah ...

• Oklemekuku 1 year ago

Lay off the wrong wee

• AAA 1 year ago

Well said, Twum! All our woes are the results of Nkrumah's misrule! He was a dictator!

THE IDIOTS...BUSIA, DANQUAH, OFORI ATTA, AKUFO ADDO, and COMPANY, THOUGHT THEY WERE DEVINELY APPOINTED TO RULE GHANA!!!!!

CIA AGENTS AND TRIBAL BIGOTS!!!!!!!!

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

@Zoobie-Zoobie........To be charitable, they did not have the capacity to envision a GHANA. They never wanted a part of it! They were more consumed with the Anglicization of their little Clans and villages and Lording it over ...

• Sak 1 year ago

Thank God for Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah, the bold, decisive, astute and visionary leader. The Legendary and iconic founding President of Ghana. The Founder of our beloved Nation.

NKRUMAH NEVER DIES!!!!!!!!

• But he’s fucking dead 1 year ago

Only Ayigbe and foreign born, those from no name tribes think like Zoobie Shit

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

Look at this dunderhead. You idiots never wanted to be associated with a unitary state at all. Ironically you're the biggest beneficiaries today of same. You wanted an isolated land-locked "peninsula". Kwasia kwa! You have n ...

• Nzema K 1 year ago

May be we have to understand K A Busia no wonder he failed as president of Ghana. He lived up to his words that he was not ready to Govern Ghana.

• Kofi Adu 1 year ago

Some weeks ago these same people brought up the issue that Nkrumah was the sole founder of Ghana. President Akuffo Addo refuted this claims. Now have you people prove that President Akuffo Addo is right?Senseless people

• DotCom 1 year ago

Busia and most of the Dankwa group prevented Ghana’s independence. Yes the country has been mismanaged since independence but what is better than having the opportunity to govern yourself? Currently, Ghana is still controll ...

AFTER 60 years, WE STILL HAVE IDIOTS AND TRIBAL BIGOTS RUNNING THE COUNTRY!!!!!!!!!

YET, WE HAVE HUNDREDS OF FAKE AND CHEAP PhDs!!!!!!!

A BUTCH OF SELFISH, SELF-SEEKING FOOLS!!!!!!!

NKRUMAH HAD VISION AND FORESIGHT ...

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

@DotCom........The country has been deliberately mismanaged by UNCLE TOMS who serve external interests inimical to our progress. The last 8 years do not bear telling. As long as they exist and are willing to be the whips of t ...

• Village Boy 1 year ago

After events have shown that indeed we were not ready for independence and a little more grooming was needed!

@Village BOY...WHEN WERE WE GOING TO BE READY FOR THE WHITE MAN TO TELL US WE WERE READY!!!!!!!!

TOO MANY IDIOTS IN GHANA!!!!!!!!!!!!

• KKX 1 year ago

Grooming by whom? slave mentality, typical of UP gang. No country under the sun has develop by the grooming of other nations. You take your destiny into your hands and with honesty, good planning, hard work, you make it.
    Si ...

• Okatakyie 1 year ago

Democracy is about upholding different opinions on the same issue.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with calling for an "agreed constitution" before independence.

Events from 1958 onwards with preventative detention ac ...

TOO MANY IDIOTS IN GHANA!!!!!!!!

ARE YOU SUFFERING FROM MENTAL SLAVERY??????

• Okatakyie 1 year ago

This is your most intelligent response! Cannot compete with you. Good luck!

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

You missed the bus @preventive detention act. Go back to the back of the line @Okatakyie. You betrayed your tribal bigotry.

• Kwabena Ohemeng, London 1 year ago

Expose them as they are !!!. Imperialist lapdogs ,terrorists and nation wreckers.They also campaigned for the seccession of the Ashanti Region from Ghana. Busia was a staunch supporter of the apartheid regime in South Africa.

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

Thank yoooooooou!!! @Kwabena Ohemeng!!!

• Apedwa Sendo 1 year ago

My simple questions are
    1.Those of you who go mad when anything is said about Dr Kwame Nkrumah why don't you vote for CPP?
    2.Is create,loot and share NDC party an Nkrumah's party?
    Anyway Dr Bawumia will win by 50.7%

• The truth will always defeat lies 1 year ago

God bless the late Busia for his point,,,, look at Ghana today,,,it is all Nkrumahs fault

• Medeama 1 year ago

Gyimi Gyimi Kwasia !

• Kofi Adu 1 year ago

Stupid response. How many Ghanaians always lines up in front of the British embassy for a visa to go to Britain?

• AAA 1 year ago

You're 100% correct! Our woes today are the results of Nkrumah's misrule! A dangerous dictator he was!

• Kwaku Afriyie 1 year ago

They did same when they were invited to join in the crafting/drafting of the 1992 constitution.

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

@Kwaku Afriyie........They are a SATANIC force dedicated to superintending over destruction and confusion. They vehemently protest anything that creates structure and requires accountability and discipline and COLLECTIVE PROG ...

• Abusebacktoyou 1 year ago

The guy who won the independence for is the Founder- simple. Once this useless president is out the new ndc will reset the nonsense.

• AAA 1 year ago

Hahaha! You must be dreaming! Your NDC won't be in government anymore! Find something else to do with your life!

• Sheriff 1 year ago

And they are saying they are part of the
    Independence struggle. So many heads
    on our cedis make it weak

• Dallas1 1 year ago

Yet the deranged Akufo-Addo wants Ghanaians to celebrate these traitors as founders of Ghana! What a wasted spermatozoon!

• Kofi 1 year ago

We don't have a country called gold Coast nor Ghana.
    It was through the European that we came together as one people with different identity and culture.
    It will be extremely difficult for us to buried our differences an ...

• Kotibrim 1 year ago

No doubt the whites regard the black man lower than an animal they are spot on. But Ghanaians in particular have difficulty use the brains!!! Wei???

• John 1 year ago

This was not true because where was Busia time for the independent?????Busia was not among the Big six so how can??No one can change Ghana history into Lies and Propaganda ok

• Augustina Quayson 1 year ago

Please at the time of lndependence, Dr Busia was the leader of the Opposition..The UGCC people were defeated and rejected at rhe polls so they were not in a position to do anything for us Of the UGCC members ...

• John 1 year ago

Every election time we wish to hear all this Fake stories, and you will have those intellectual Desability which full of Lies will come out and support it.I tell you, Fake can't change the truth, Propaganda Cannot win a ele ...

• Alhaj Baakome 1 year ago

People are so naive. You are tak8ng one man's account as the gospel truth. Nkrumah, the disgruntled and frustrated despot was thrown out by the military. Someone should give us better evidence on who actually founded Ghana

• Kotibrim 1 year ago

Ashantes in general like to be subjects ruled over by ostentatious bigots!!! They have no purpose or value in life but to be subject and serve as slaves!!! They're still in a slumber today

• @harmony 1 year ago

Which group actually bleed fighting the British? Which one. The asantes were the ONLY tribe to actually challenge the predominant super power. All other groups sat on their asses or helped the British.

• Oklemekuku 1 year ago

Another traitor

This is just like NDC and John Mahama writing about NPP and Nana Addo. You should expect that the write-up will be skewed to make NPP and Nana Addo look bad.

In any case if Dr Busia would raise an issue about "no agreed c ...

• Ohene, Langley Virginia 1 year ago

Waaa look at such an ugly big mouth crook and a CIA agent who was against kwame Nkrumah.

• Donnie 1 year ago

@ ohene, they’ve always been ugly, from the past to the present.. just look at them and compare that to the handsome Nkrumah. Am tempted to believe it forms part of the basis of their jealousy.gabby,bediatuo,busia, Dan wish ...

• Justrac Africa Ltd 1 year ago

We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. Dhejeu ...

• Esi 1 year ago

Our leaders go begging them for pittance.
    ohh ghana, Africa

• CHIMPANZEE PRESIDENT 1 year ago

WE KNOW THEM TO BE AGENTS OF SLAVERY...THERE ARE NOT CAPABLE OF HANDLING THEIR OWN AFFAIRS...AND IT STILL SHOWS NOW, EVEN IN THIS CHIMPANZEE ERA

• Don 1 year ago

Nkrumah’s description of busia and his cronies was apt at the time and still perfectly apt today, i quote “ they’re actions are dishonest, undignified and unpatriotic” isn’t it what we see with the npp today.

• EVEN CPP MEMBERS DIDN'T BELIEVE IN NKRUMAH 1 year ago

Let's be real and stop being hypocrite. Nkrumah couldn't develop Ghana after Ghana gained independent. First country to gained independent in sub shara but our development was very bad compare to many countries like Kenya, So ...

• ADT 1 year ago

Because they did not want us to get independence, and God being so good we had it, still fighting for that, they have taken loans upon loans in other to go back to slavery. what wicked people

• Mic Stone 1 year ago

Stupid Africans. We always fight each other instead of unity. Yes others have different opinions from Nkrumah but it does not mean we are enemies. The real enemies are the people who enslaved us for over 500yrs and stole all ...

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

Mr Mic Stone, the bigger problem is that your leaders are the ones fronting for Europe to rape us. Let it sink.

• Rob 1 year ago

That’s true! Nkrumah’ destroyed the Destiny of Ghana. He undermined the very people who brought him to Ghana and broke away from the UGCC to form the CPP Party. You normally don’t have to Divide your front to seek for I ...

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

https://archive.org/download/san_0975/Dark.Days.in.Ghana-Kwame.Nkrumah.%281968%29.cs.pdf

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 year ago

I told you this ugly dirty monkeys in the forest prefer to stay with their slave masters homosexuals vampires British then independence of Ghana, the independence of Kwame Nkrumah is nothing for them. Monkeys with red eyes li ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 year ago

God will never give Akuffui Addoi peace not even in his grave.
    Holy Spirit will continue to hunt him down until he confesses all his sins in public.

• Kofi Adu 1 year ago

Whoever wrote this is an idiot. Kofi Abrefa should be revered to as Dr Kofi Abrefa Busia. He's to be respected. The rush Nkrumah did what has the country got from it?How many Ghanaians lined up in front of the British embassy ...

• Santorio 1 year ago

Aboa kwasia bi ba. What is the sense in what you have written?? If you madafaka UP drug addicts add up the achievements of all your leaders, it would not amount to even a QUARTER of the Great Osagyefo's achievements. Just lea ...

This is just like NDC and John Mahama writing about NPP and Nana Addo. It will always be skewed to make NPP and Nana Addo look bad.

In any case if Dr Busia would ask for a delay because of "no agreed constitution" what is ...

• Santorio 1 year ago

@Gyamfi kwasiampanin kromfuor... your stupid mother wae... !!!!!!!! You see how fate and history is thrashing you MATEMEHO ANIMALS..???? Foolish boy... if your diabolical matemeho forefathers were calling for a DELAY in grant ...

• IGS FINANCIAL SERVICES IS A SCAM 1 year ago

IGS FINANCIAL SERVICES IS A SCAM

IGS financial services is a scam hiding behind the financial sector clean up and refusing to pay its clients. Raymond Gogo is killing people. Wicked NPP government is helping him to defraud ...

• Adom 1 year ago

This is a gross distortion. The Independence of Ghana as planned should have happened earlier than 1957 as it was agreed by UGCC leaders and the British Government. There are Parliamentary evidence to this. Ghanaweb should st ...

• pin 1 year ago

There were 2 representatives from the Togoland in the chamber,infact the only people..So the Togoland was an important partner in the formation of ghana but people try to claim ghana for themselves nowadays.

• NDC mmoa propagandists never disappoint 1 year ago

Nkwaseafuo. Why is CPP dead if your dead cult leader behaved well?

• Kofi Frimpong 1 year ago

Nkrumah was a dictator and bastard who used all the resources of our country to indoctrinate and inculcate stupid ideals of Nkrumahism into stupid illiterates heads. We were there and saw it. What is happening is what he want ...

• mark 1 year ago

he was right

• The Voltarian 1 year ago

Then why did the Ashantis fight the British during the Anglo-Ashanti wars. The British were militarily and economically superior, so why fight for self governance? Some of you people don't think before you speak or write.

• The Voltarian 1 year ago

Some people have always hidden their hatred for Nkrumah and other tribes, but I'm glad they are finally exposing themselves.

• Asonaba asiedu 1 year ago

Founders' day is a scam!! There's only one Founder!!!

• The Cloud Network LIMITED Best Internet In Ghana 1 year ago

The Cloud Network Limited offers an all-in-one IT solution for SMBs and startups, providing predictable and affordable costs. The solution covers all IT needs with zero or low capital expenditure, freeing up resources for cor ...

• Onipa nua 1 year ago

All these people betrayed Kwame Nkrumah and the nation and today their children are forcing us to love and praise their diabolic parents. Away with them!

• Zakarakis 1 year ago

AGYAPADIE Akuffo Addo is PAINED by the HISTORICAL FACT that Kwame Nkrumah founded Ghana. Whether he likes it or not the whole world knows this fact.

• Nana Kyeamee 1 year ago

This is trash. Go and read the parliamentary hansard on the speech by Busia seconding Nkrunah's motion for independence for Ghana. Give us a break about Busia said this Danquah said that.

Please GHB, it was not even Dr Nkrumah who prevented Dr Danquah from being the leader of this country .Dr Danquah was rejected by his own. Akyem Abuakwa people. Dr Danquah won the first general election held o ...

Please Nana Kyeamee, the result of the Independence motion was CPP 72, Opposition, nil.Please the Opposition absented themselves When Dr Nkrumah moved" I vote for Independence and l humbly ask Honourable members to ...

• Jidoshaki 1 year ago

Dr kwame Nkrumah and UGCC who first betrayed the other, you Nkrumah who someone payed for your travel fare, rent a house for you give you monthly salary just for one goal.... To attain independence and you betrayed them.kwame ...

• Kwame Peter 1 year ago

Kwame Nkrumah’s nonsense after his overthrow being rehashed by failed politicians looking for political identity.

Of course, Busia just had to do that because he was a miseducated greedy vision-less politician who felt he and his UGCC need more time to compete against Nkrumah who by that had become extremely popular among the masses and ...

The big six were the six members of the Convention Peoples' Party (CPP), who stood on the podium at the Polo Grounds where the body of Kwame Nkrumah now rests, and together with him declared Ghana's independence.
    The name Go ...