Labour Department staff 'clash' with employment minister over alleged takeover of new head office

Read Comments Comments (83)

• Kofi 1 year ago

Bisibisi basaaaa. Ooh Dwarf. Your regime is complete borla

• Kojo 1 year ago

The labour Department has suffered for far too long. This arrogant Minister must be called to order

• Awo 1 year ago

Say it again. This Department has really suffered. I visited there once and was wondering of they had been neglected by the government.

• Isaac Maalma-Kaminta 1 year ago

This is not right. The World Bank needs to act now and call the minister to order .
    The structure was not built for him

• Kofi Adu 1 year ago

I hope they intervene

• Augustine 1 year ago

The world bank might not sponsor Ghana projects again when they see how greedy the leaders are

• Kwaku Quans 1 year ago

This story is wild. It needs to be carefully looked at. The right thing needs to be done and the deserving party appropriated accordingly.

• Adam Ibrahim 1 year ago

The fight is for a wealthy course. The Labour Department is mandated by law to extend its advice to the Sector Ministry on matters of defect of the National Labour laws. Such an institution is a mighty One.

• Ewuràma 1 year ago

It is only in Ghana that people tasked to protect will always take advantage of the vulnerable. The building was built in the name of the Labour Department but the father who is supposed to take care of his children wants the ...

• MOHAMMED 1 year ago

This is unfair practice by the minister , the world Bank and all relevant stakeholders must come to the aid of the labour Department to up lift the The Department.

• Roland Okine 1 year ago

I hope the world bank intervenes and make sure the right thing is done.

• Kwaku 1 year ago

This is unfortunate. Can this be done to GNPC, NPA or any other Government institution.
    How can a loan meant for a purpose be used for a different purpose.
    This is unfair and unfortunate.
    Mr President, intervene.
    World Ba ...

• Akua 1 year ago

It can never happen. I hope the Department will not sit done for this to be done to them. They should be able to fight for their rights if they are to fight for the rights of the ordinary citizen

• Rockson 1 year ago

You see the life of NPP appointees. NDC will never do this.

• Akose 1 year ago

The minister is greedy.

• WEB SERVICES. 1 year ago

• Mensah Edward 1 year ago

God will punish this wicked and arrogant minister.

• Maame Adwoa Kwao 1 year ago

NPP government,why?
    This one too.

• Kwakye 1 year ago

I swear, Bawumia will lose if the Minister do this to the Labour Department.
    They just helped me to secure a job.
    The workers there are really good.

• Yaw. 1 year ago

What is CLOGSAG doing.
    Mr. Minister we will campaign against you and Bawumia.

• Kanta 1 year ago

Why are this NPP team looting state properties like that.

• Kelvin Dua 1 year ago

This nonsense by the minister must be stopped

• Charles Kugblenu 1 year ago

Mr Dickson, Mr J. V. L. Philips, Mr F. K. Quaynor, Mr S. E.A. Azu, Mr Gyimah- Boakye, Opanin those living and lasted. We lost the present office of the Ministey of Transport, our Youth Employment Unit near the FAO was pul ...

• Thomas Pra 1 year ago

Greedy bastards grabbing what is not meant for them.
    This is the beginning of their journey to opposition come December 7

• True Ghanaian 1 year ago

Sharing os caring. The building is large enough to contain part of the ministry and the whole of the labour department

• Boateng 1 year ago

It's a lie, the minister and the ministry can't force themselves in a building that have no plans for them.

• Charles Kugblenu 1 year ago

Mr Dickson.Mr J V. L. Philips, Mr F.K. Quaynor,Mr Gyimah -Boakye, Opanin Obeng-Fosu,just a few living and passed on.. We thought the past is no more. The present Ministry of Transport was snatched from us, our Youth Employme ...

• Peeved 1 year ago

What is then problem? Labour Dept if it indeed exist is under the.Ministry so who are these folks complaining
    . In any case I don’t even know they exist. Where is the Labour office

• Yaw 1 year ago

That is why the minister should not take the building so that people like you will get to know thier existence.

• Lucky 1 year ago

That is why you will continue to stay in your village
    The only institution in Ghana that enforce your right as employees or employer , you don't know them? Idiot man like you.

• Kuku 1 year ago

ooooooo Bafour Awuah. You should know better.
    Just go for a loan to build a new ministry than taking what does not belong to you.
    How many months are you left with to live office.
    This is bad accounting practice. The purpo ...

• Kwartey 1 year ago

NPP at it again.

• TETEKU 1 year ago

Yawa for NPP. Opposition Akwaaba.

• Boateng 1 year ago

The minister, Ignatius Bafor Awuah, is a greedy man.
    He is part of the problems why Labour issues is not taken serious.

• j9 1 year ago

As an old staff of the Department, i will rally support for the workers. Institutions must be strengthened not to be weakened.
    Don't expect something good from the workers if you do this do them.
    This intention of the minis ...

• Abigail Abbey 1 year ago

It is high time the Hon. Minister brings the Labour Department to the limelight. He should stop this mere envy. This facility is to enhance the Department to deliver its services efficiently and effectively. All is for the be ...

• Eunice Prah 1 year ago

Where was the Hon. Minister when the department was occupying the bad state of the old structure? Where did he surface from? Wake up Labour Department and fight for your right.

• Jane 1 year ago

Which tribe is the minister if I may asked?
    His family will seriously suffer from his greediness and arrogance.

He pretend to work and Akufo addo pretend to pay him while stealing from the poor
    This one doesn't deserv ...

• Afua Iceland 1 year ago

This bull head minister what is he up to? Upon all the loans Ofori Atta borrowed you couldn't build a labour ministry. Ofui MP. Look at his head. ...

• j9 1 year ago

Say that again.

• Desmond 1 year ago

Labour Department deserves better

• Kwasie ofori 1 year ago

Very bad on the part of the labour minister

• John 1 year ago

Is the Labour department telling the Minister what to do?Labour department is an agency under the ministry and can’t dictate to the Minister where they are officed.The minister should sack the head of Labour department.In a ...

• Desmond 1 year ago

That's all you know. Autocratic individuals. Remember the minister came to meet the Head.Fool

• Desmond 1 year ago

Whose name was used to build the infrastructure. Whose land was it built on. Go to lands commission and verify

• Augustine 1 year ago

He should sack himself first for trying to take what doesn't belong to him. Do you know how old the Labour Department is. Don't open your mouth to spew things you know nothing about

• K 1 year ago

You see your foolishness.
    No wonder you don't know who your father is.
    Bastard.
    Ask your mother who impregnated her and come back well.
    Stupid fool.

• Esi Addae 1 year ago

The building was built in the name of the Department and no one can occupy except Labour Department.

• Thomas Thomas 1 year ago

This Labour Department has suffered for too too long. This annoying Minister must be sacked

• Comfort 1 year ago

This is broad day robbery.

• Dan 1 year ago

This government always has outlandish scandals for us every morning it seems

• Joe 1 year ago

We are dealing with all the Pharaohs in this world.

• Keys keys 1 year ago

Mr Minister watch out

• Sylvia Attoh 1 year ago

Greedy People. Always taking what doesn't belong to them. The Ministry is a selfish Ministry not having the interest of the Department at heart.

• Abel 1 year ago

When the wrong person is put in charge and only has selfish interests. The Minister doesn't care about the Department.

• Kwabena Afriyie 1 year ago

These leaders always have their own Agenda..The next argument will be the NDC did worse.

• Comfort Arthur 1 year ago

The Minister should not use his position to bully the Department. The building doesn't belong to them. They shouldn't go close to it. What a country Ghana has become!

• King George 1 year ago

If that's true, then the minister should be careful. How can labour department suffer from time immemorial and to seeing light at the end of the tunnel for the sector minister to do this. This very disrespect to department. ...

• Ofori Amposah Annan 1 year ago

This is a clear case of power struggle, hope it gets resolved amicably

• Kofi Yeboah 1 year ago

The minister should focus on creating jobs instead of taking over offices

• Enoch Tetteh 1 year ago

What's going on here? Can't they work together for the good of ghana?

• Evans Akrofi 1 year ago

This is a total waste of time and resources, settle your differences already!

• Yaw Osei 1 year ago

The Labour Department staff have the right to protest, their concerns should be heard

• Nicole Obeng 1 year ago

Politics everywhere, even in the Labour Department, sad!

• Kwame otoo 1 year ago

The Minister should listen to the staff's grievances and work together to find a solution.

• Kwame Oteng 1 year ago

This takeover will only lead to more unemployment, not solutions.

• Ama Dadzie 1 year ago

Ghana deserves better than these petty squabbles, focus on the bigger picture!

• Akosua Osei 1 year ago

Transparency and accountability are key, hope the truth comes out and justice is served.

• Kwame Tony 1 year ago

This is unacceptable. The ministry should keep off the building. Labour Dept deserves better

• Thomas Pra 1 year ago

Greedy politicians are destroying the future of Labour Department

• Kpankpari James 1 year ago

Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.
    Foolishness at its highest if all you desire in this life is to rub others for your comfort irrespective of the pain you cause them

• JK 1 year ago

I HAVE VISITED A LABOUR OFFICE BEFORE, IN FACT, IT WAS VERY HORRIBLE, DILAPIDATED, I THOUGHT OF IT THAT THIS OFFICE HAS BEEN NEGLECTED. YES! NOW I KNOW WHERE THE PROBLEM COMES FROM. THEY WISHED NOTHING GOOD FOR THEM. OKAY!

• Kwabena Bekyebo 1 year ago

The Labour Department has to stand up against all the past defamation and political interference.

• C. Connie 1 year ago

Wei nyinaa ekesen?

• Kukua 1 year ago

Where from all these wahala??? Why???

• Juu 1 year ago

What is yours is yours… Labour Department worry not

• Lizy 1 year ago

We have some notorious leaders in this country paaa oo!

• Bronie 1 year ago

The minister’s plan will never work… Not at all

• Comfort 1 year ago

The way Labour Department have suffered in that classrooms called offices, I swear it will never happen

• Obaa Connie 1 year ago

The employment minister want to take over the Labour Department newly head office for what reason? No way

• Jones 1 year ago

As a retired staff, we have gone through hell under this minister of employment and labour relations Hon. Ignatius Bafor Awuah

Over the past 7 and half years, he do nothing to improve Labour Department by way of revenue g ...

• Akua Oboh 1 year ago

The minister is dreaming I guess

• Giovanni 1 year ago

Let’s act right…