The Mystery of I.K. Acheampong: Why ex-Ghana leader is the only soldier whose name is absent from class list

Read Comments Comments (51)

• FRANKIE 1 year ago

Gen. Acheampong, ghanas most undercelebrated leader.

• Qur'an is toilet paper 1 year ago

I spit on sick dog prophet mohammed

• ODonsuei 1 year ago

Stop that nonsense let's move on from religious politics

• L 1 year ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed. 0557430128__##**

• OGM 1 year ago

He/she might be one of those religious extremists from a foreign country trying so hard to sow seeds of religion discord in Ghana. Such charlatans of religious doom should be taken off all social media platforms.

• zinc 1 year ago

I strongly believe , the person who is always insulting the holy prophet Mohammed is a worker at ghanawed. Because she/he is the first to give that insultiv words.

• SAEED OSMAN 1 year ago

100% true. He is in line with the likes of Nkrumah, Mahama, Mills, Rawlings and to a lesser extend Kuffour. These guys fought and came to power because of their love for the nation. Eager to leave a lasting legacy for the nex ...

• St. GHFUO: Ghana leaders are FOOLS 1 year ago

Nkrumah shouldn't have advocated for him. Indiscipline. What bogus reason did he give for skipping out on roll call? After the coup. Acheampong should have done the right thing by bringing Nkrumah back from exile to continue ...

• Im 1 year ago

You think you know the times better than those who were around then,and could assess and evaluate the dynamics better and deeper? Get serious.

• AGYEMAN BADU STOP OPPRESSING MANSEN! MANSEN LAND FOR MANSEN PPL NOT DORMAA 1 year ago

St. Ghfuo , to answer your question number 1. He tried to bring Nkrumah back but his health was bad to rule a country. Check when Acheampong came to power and when Nkrumah died all in 1972.. no. 2 He made sure Nkrumah's body ...

• ST GHFUO: GH LEADERS ARE NOT ENLIGHTENED 1 year ago

Thanks for the explanation. so in essence, acheampong was neither npp/up or ndc/pndc. so jj killed him because......?

• The Spear 1 year ago

50 cent Kufuor came for money and ladies.

• Koliko 1 year ago

Everything about ashiantis is criminal. Rawlings never promoted himself throughout his dictatorship. Kutuacheampong and afrfa criminally promoted themselves within a very short period to generals

• Ernestine Sackey 1 year ago

Koliko, your Haitian cousins in Ohio are stealing and eating neighbours pets.

• Rawlings chain 1 year ago

We are talking about development programs that improved the life of Ghanaians not ranks. Acheampong's six years in power was far better than your rawlings 20 years. Do you know the term rawlings chain? Go and find out the mea ...

• The Spear 1 year ago

What is Rawling's Chain? You tell us if you really know what brought about the term, and when exactly it was used! I am waiting.

• The Spear 1 year ago

Not only that, the Armed Forces promoted him twice and he declined both saying, "...if you began to think about promotions, you lost your objectivity, and that wasn't part of his aim."

• Joel 1 year ago

Acheampong did a million times better than rawlings He never got or went for foreign Aid did not collapse local industries ,collapse education system and took his children abroad to expensive school never took bribe like Raw ...

• The Spear 1 year ago

Says who, illiterate? How did "yentua?" came into being, that we wouldn't pay the previous foreign debts we owed? Why do you think he was so much abhorred by junior ranks?

Acheampong allowed the Lebanese and Indians (Dakma ...

• The Spear 1 year ago

How did yentua come into...

• Nana B 1 year ago

But still went ahead and did a lot for Ghana during his few years in office . From Dansoman estates to Buokrom estates, Weija Dam , operation feed yourself and other operations that benefited local people. Tell the whole stor ...

• The Spear 1 year ago

Absolute nonsense! Was Acheampong feeding Ghanaians? Operation Feed Yourself was a motivational program launched to encourage citizens to engage seriously in Agriculture, but Ghana as a farming entity has individuals engaging ...

• The Spear 1 year ago

You DO NOT praise someone for doing what he is supposed to have done, especially when he dipped into public funds for it!

• Nii Moi 1 year ago

LOL....Hahahaha..your ending phrase made my day.

• EARN MONEY WITH THIS IN-DEMAND SKILL: 100% GUARANTEED 1 year ago

As September ends today, you need to sow a seed for the new month as we approach the endmof the year. You ever wondered why faith & hard work are essential for achieving success? It's because praying to God & trusting in His ...

• ODonsuei 1 year ago

Yhat what friends are supposed to do

• yaw cool 1 year ago

Mireku Duker Deputy minister galamsey kingpin

• Kofi 1 year ago

Acheampong was useless,his coup was uncalled for but out of greed. His greediness led to the rise of ranks which led to total indiscipline in the Ghanaian society.

• Mr. Smith 1 year ago

Bra Kofi, please do your research well before you embarrass yourself. Please I dey beg.

• Kofi 1 year ago

How old are you?

• The Spear 1 year ago

Embarrass himself how? That was the truth!

• Meet the best hacker in uk.good 1 year ago

Bank wire transfer to all countries
    Chase bank
    UBA bank
    First bank
    Bank flash ...

• GYIMIBI 1 year ago

If you like it or not. The best leaders in ghana,are KWAME nkrumah and Gen I k Achampong

• Irene 1 year ago

A chief in Asafo Akyem is using the Ghana Arm forces name to collect poor farmers land and give it to land developers .It s sad the people have vow to poor blood if the unqualified chief tries anything negative.There is move ...

• Dauda 1 year ago

UNNECESSARY NEWS..

• Im 1 year ago

To who?

• SECURITY ALERT 1 year ago

A chief in Asafo Akyem is using the Ghana Arm forces name to try to collect poor farmers land and give it to a land developers.They are trying to scare them in the name of Ghana Army is going to build an armY Camp or Military ...

• Jack 1 year ago

A little bit of misinformation by civilians. Military is a discipline organisation. It is not run like politics or Markola Market. Once the discipline is gone there would be no more Military. Ananse stories have no place in M ...

• Bestman 1 year ago

Indiscipline started in the nkrumah's goverment, and now here we are. From class one to PHD

• Jamaica 1 year ago

I Ks coup was 4 Nkrumah 2 come back but he rbfused 2 give it.

• Acheampong was most disgraceful leader followed by Mahama 1 year ago

Acheampong was greedy, opportunistic and womaniser No1 followed by Mahama slayer of slay queens. It was during Acheampong's time that kalabule, drug smuggle, beating of innocent citizens including Opoku Ware students, total c ...

• Kankan Nyame 1 year ago

Toli

• DEAD GOAT 1 year ago

LIST OF 42 CORRUPTION SCANDALS UNDER EX PRESIDENT JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA

1. GH¢3.6 million Smarttys bus
    branding scandal
    2. Cuban Government Scholarship Scandal
    3. Double Sal ...

• Nana B 1 year ago

NPPs list is a full curriculum. We will still vote JDM

• Mahama is more toxic than Covid to Ghana 1 year ago

The alternative NDC and Mahama are dangerous

• David 1 year ago

This historian May be misleading

• Sokoto 1 year ago

The behaviour and utterances of some people indicate as if they are in the 5th century.
    People must promote peace and unity

• SANTROFIE 1 year ago

GEN ACHEAMPONG WAS THE ONLY MILITARY COUP LEADER WHO DID NOT SHED BLOOD DURING HIS TAKE OVER. AND WITHING A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME DID SO MUCH FOR THE COUNTRY. FIRST, HE INTRODUCED "OPERATION FEED YOYURSELF" HEADED BT BY COL BE ...

Ignatius Acheampong was grateful to Kwame Nkrumah by overthrowing the Progress Party led by Professor Kofi Abrefa Busia and implementing most of the policies of Kwame Nkrumah and the Convention Peoples' Party.
    Acheampong we ...

It was not Ignatius Acheampong that enabled Lebanese to take over the Ghanaian manufacturing industry, because it was his time that Tata Brewery, Kowus Motors, Apino Soap, not excluding some of the GIHOC industries which coll ...

• Kofi Owusu 1 year ago

Very interesting. Nkrumah never died