'Amorphous and meaningless' – Former Director of Ghana School of Law berates Supreme Court over vacant seats ruling

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 1 year ago

The judges who constituted the panel, including the chief justice, are all appointees of Nana Addo between 2019 and 2024. The chief justice intentionally picked them so that they can show their allegiance to Nana Addo. Liars, ...

• FRANKIE 1 year ago

AKUFFO ADDO is a complete mockery of our democracy. I still cannot fathom how, against all odds, and subtle advise by well-meaning Ghanaians, this poor excuse of a human being managed to hoodwink unsuspecting Ghanaians to eve ...

• O'Shea 1 year ago

NDC stupidity will not allow them to identify with the fact that those constituents need to be represented in parliament as a basic democratic right. All they know is to glorify illegalities and precedents about which they we ...

• Johnny 1 year ago

When a party applauds and glorifies members who are pataapaaa the wise would never be heard.Stupidity abounds in NDC that is why no member could get the courage to challenge Mike Ocquaye's decision.

• MARY, JNR. - (OFANKOR J.S.S) 1 year ago

VERILY, VERILY, I SAY UNTO YOU... "THE RAW SHIT OF A MAD DOG ON THE STREETS OF KYEBI, AND FAR, FAR BETTER THAN THAT STUPID ANIMAL CALLED AKUFFO ADDO...!!!!!" " "

• MARY, JNR. - (OFANKOR J.S.S) 1 year ago

Please, repeat after me: VERILY, VERILY, I SAY UNTO YOU... "THE RAW SHIT OF A MAD DOG ON THE STREETS OF KYEBI, IS FAR, FAR BETTER THAN THAT STUPID ANIMAL CALLED AKUFFO ADDO...!!!!!" " "

• Blue Pen 1 year ago

It's a gangsta court consisting of shameless NPP activists and footsoldiers and wicked nation wreckers.

• KGG 1 year ago

O'shea have you thought about the people SALL. For about 8 years now they were denied representation. Are they not human being. So when talk, think well before you open your mouth.

• Slow 1 year ago

Oh someone of you and your arguments di3333. At least try to be consistent. It makes u appear more reasonable. SALL which is made of of 4 electoral areas have no representation in parliament for almost 4 years now but u don't ...

• Athena- US 1 year ago

Go away with your stupidity. In 2020, was Fomena not denied representation? Is SALL not still denied representation in the 8th Parliament?
    Some sniff cocaine to come and write crazy things for our consumption.

• Shai 1 year ago

Remember SAL? No basic right of representation under this government for 4 years. You must be ashamed of yourself.

• Papa 1 1 year ago

AND THE PEOPLE OF SALL HAVE NO REPRESENTATION FOR THE PAST FOUR YEARS? MASSA REMOVE YOUR PARTY LENS AND SPEAK AS A GHANAIAN. THIS IS THE HEIGHT OF HYPOCRISY.

• Fred 1 year ago

And the people of SALL are inferior to your foolish bush types.

• Aboabo 1 year ago

O'Shea, don't shut your mind to wisdom. U may be free SHS product. Ur comprehension about this case is compromised. What is fact and democratic about the actions of Supreme Court's decision. The THIEF JUSTICE is only exhibiti ...

• Manni 1 year ago

The Supreme Court is the only branch of government that claims the power to rule unchecked by the other branches of government. If Congress passes a law, the court claims authority to overrule it. If the president issues an o ...

• Nana Abrokwah SA 1 year ago

Hey my friend don't talk trash, they're not there to over rule anything, if it's legitimate under the constitution, their main function of the 3- arms of the government is to interpretation of the constitution, and in this ca ...

• Dade 1 year ago

FRANKIE da Togolese the "mockery of democracy" is in Togo, your country where one family the Eyadema dynasty has dominated politics for generations.Do you think that Ghanaians do not know what is happening in your country? An ...

• EFUOM AKANS HAVE TAKEN OVER ALL TOP POSITIONS IN GHANA, AND RAPING OUR BANKRUPT NATION FRONT AND BACK! 1 year ago

THAT'S WHY HIGHLY-TAXED BANKRUPT GHANA WILL REMAIN A HOPELESS BANKRUPT NATION OF SYCOPHANTS TILL THY KINGDOM COME.

SADLY, MAHAMA SEES NOTHING WRONG WITH THE DECADES-OLD BAD CORRUPT AKAN LEADERSHIP IN HOPELESS BANKRUPT GHAN ...

• Mary- Ho public toilet 1 year ago

Why do Togolese trokosi Ayigbes remain in Ghana to endure so much frustration? Why don't you return to your Togolese utopia and save yourselves frustration and insecurity in Ghana? Togo is your ancestral home isn't it? Go bac ...

• Soon 1 year ago

It is coming!

• Kwaku 1 year ago

Has the case been heard by the Supreme Court?This guy has a problem.

• EBBY 1 year ago

This guy is very ignorant of the laws in Ghana. I hope he understands the word ‘exparte’. The speaker was not joined in the application to the court, and as such didn’t have to be called by the court. The issue is purel ...

• Kruschev 1 year ago

@Ebby bodamfuor, a wild and senseless beast like you, who is willing to drink cyanide water just to get some gold to go and sell, cannot be the animal who will teach a whole law school Director. Go and help Akuffo Addo to loo ...

• Slow 1 year ago

Did the court declare the ruling of the speaker as unconstitutional or did they nullify it? No they did not but instead directing parliament in this case to stay any decision until the matter is properly heard and determinati ...

• Shai 1 year ago

Why more than the constitutional allowance of ten days as requested.

• Missionary Thomas 1 year ago

it's unfortunate we have people of this caliber taken positions in our Nation. Let him go to Parliament and incite ndc minority MPS to refuse and disrespect the Supreme Court directives. These are the types of people destro ...

• Nana Abrokwah SA 1 year ago

Missionary Thomas, did you heard what the majority leader Afenyo Markin said after the ruling of the SC? He said he played with the Honorable Speaker and the minority MP's in the parliament to abide by the SC ruling, so it's ...

• Laboro 1 year ago

The supreme court these days doesn't work with the law but who is behind the case. If is Akuffo Addo and the NPP, they don't even go with the constitution. They will repeat this in the upcoming election. Watch this space

• Akufool idiot and mumu bawuliar are failures. 1 year ago

What do you expect from the unanimous fc? I now understand why those three judges were killed.

• Supreme Court of Ghana - You Are Bloody Criminals 1 year ago

Yes....!!!!!! For many years I also couldn't understand that brutal act, but these BUNCH OF SHAMELESS & INCOMPETENT THIEVES at the so-called Supreme Court has clarified everything

• Gomido 1 year ago

The Supreme Court's action succinctly confirms myriads' suspicion that Akuffo-Addo packed the SC and other State institutions to do the bidding for himself and his party. How can the SC ignore the people of SALL for almost fo ...

• Manni 1 year ago

The supreme Court globally have the mandate to interpret any laws passed by the land and if found contradictions which at times comes from the human right law, they can re-write the law either shredding it by taking certain t ...

• Slow 1 year ago

Did the supreme Court tells us what the speaker did wrong or which law in our constitution his actions violated? No they are now going to think of what to write. the court have not told us any law that the speaker had violate ...

• Manni 1 year ago

@Slow! This is a speaker making decision and not parliament and remember these seats he's declaring vacant voted to elect someone to represent them and was a legitimate appointment. The speaker then have no right to declare t ...

• Manni 1 year ago

Assuming Ghana has elected a legitimate president and then speaker of Parliament says he cannot be our president for a reason that the whole country who voted that president hasn't made, do you think that will be allowed? The ...

• Pelicles 1 year ago

You are full of commonsense, thank you. This is what I have been saying since this case came up for discussion. Bagbin was absolutely wrong to declare the seats of the MPs vacant since their mandate as representatives to thei ...

• Nkwa Kwame 1 year ago

@Gomido you are very right, the CJ and his lieutenants have no sense of shame and propriety; It appears all they know to do is sacrifice justice and fairness to assist the NPP to perpetuate its evil Political agenda, how is i ...

• Yaw Wontumi 1 year ago

Ghana must have a violent civil disobedience now now now. That's the only way this family of monkeys baboons and apes will be thrown out of the Flagstaff House. Until and unless akuffo addo the perennial weed smoking akyem bl ...

• Kay 1 year ago

@ Yaw Wontumi
    An Ayigbe man call Yaw Wontumi. Apart from Voltarians there is no tribe in Ghana that wish there will be a coup.Yes a coup will one day come for a revenge of AFRC & PNDC beneficiaries.

• Asantehene 1 year ago

If this ruling was given from NPP party headquarters nobody would have a problem with it because it will be natural. The problem is this is our supreme court ruling fellow Ghanaians and I can tell you that it is striking that ...

• Now Now 1 year ago

If constituents MUST always be represented, why did the Supreme Court
    1. deny the constituents of Assin North representation by barring Gyakye Quayson?
    2. assume original jurisdiction in the case of Gyakye Quayson
    3. den ...

• Political judges 1 year ago

These judges, take decisions to please their pay masters and for promotions.

• Helen 1 year ago

Bagbin is not a baby.

• Nana K 1 year ago

It’s about time , political appointments to the judiciary is stopped.
    From our side of the world, it’s dangerous
    Needles to say much

• Aku Sika II 1 year ago

The truth must be said, "cry the beloved country"

• Kumasi Guy 1 year ago

I am praying the speaker should resist against the supreme court political decision by the Npp Supreme Court judges

• Critical 1 year ago

Look at this dishonest old man please go and rest in ur balcony for u were given the opportunity to manage the law school and u failed badly now u are throwing stones from the fence

• Nana Akua Adobea 1 year ago

Ansah Asare, you too many things in the cupboard. Why have you all of a sudden become a polarizing political figure.

• Bangles 1 year ago

Because he has realized your series of unintelligent political manoueverings! There seems to be no SENSIBLE JUDGE among your bunch of shameless vagabonds at that FAKE Supreme Court

• Sul 1 year ago

THIS IS THE MOST USELESS JUDGES GHANA JAS EVER HAD IN THE SUPREME COURT.....I JUST PRAY FOR A REVOLUTION IN THIS COUNTRY

• Yaw 1 year ago

Did the SC not do exactly what Ansa-Asare is urging ? Stay of execution? Is this writ not ex-parte?

• They cam not vote for npp 1 year ago

Even though they should be allowed in parliament they can not vote on npp

• Garvey 1 year ago

Let the GLC wait on and see the destruction of the judicial service.

• OZYMANDIAS 1 year ago

Mr Ansah, the Speaker himself has acknowledged that there were attempts by the SC to serve him notice of their findings, but he kept on giving excuses on those days. What else did you expect the court to do? Tell us.

• Pressman 1 year ago

This guy must go away with his nonsense.
    He just has beef with the current government, so he thinks he has his chance to dirty the waters now.
    But what he should know is that his argument here doesn’t make sense at all.

• WHERE WERE YOU? When the ecominy has gone beyond redemption. 1 year ago

Double stance! You earlier commented that the speeker was wrong by invoking art 97, today you are...

• Kwame Peter 1 year ago

Emperor Bagbin,the omnipotent one did not even follow the wrong precedent by Prof Ocquaye he cited,it was then Majority Leader who reported a member of his caucus to the Speaker that he has filed for election as independent ...

• Some Lawyer 1 year ago

Is this man truly a Lawyer? I doubt!!!

• Slim 1 year ago

The Supreme Court is desecrating the busts of the 3 murdered judges in front of the court. Did those patriots die in vain?

• Gborlahn 1 year ago

Akuffo Addo's tenure has been the most lawless and reckless one. What saddens me most is that, he thinks he has hoodwinked all of us but the truth is that, when he was going about parroting his rule of law mantra, I never for ...

• Zugu from Tatale 1 year ago

Those who the gods want to kill/ disgrace they first make mad.
    The gods want to disgrace the SC hence such a fundamental error

• Seapeh 1 year ago

The more Ansa Asare talks about the Law the more learned Lawyers doubt his credibility as a Lawyer. Why has he sunk so low these days?