Supreme Court ruling: We aren’t aware of a law that suspends Speaker’s decision – Ayariga

Read Comments Comments (145)

• Adanko Deka 1 year ago

Even the president is not above the law. The president can not make any directive that goes against the law. The speaker is also not above the law!

• Sarfo Bediako 1 year ago

@Adanko, Mr. Rabbit, can the Supreme Court tell the president not to collect a loan from the IMF? Or can it tell the president not to propose a budget? You are ignorant of the separation of powers.

• LutherGhandi 1 year ago

The ignorance of your conscience is in full display, the decision the speaker took borders around constitutional matter. The supreme just intimated stay your judgement while we deliberate on the interpretation of the law. Bag ...

• Joe Pike 1 year ago

Well, kt was not an urgent matter such that someone would die. So why not even a substituted service was done?
    Nlp refused to go to parliament. An indication there is nothing urgent to be done there. So why did rhe SC go th ...

• DotCom 1 year ago

@LutherGhandi, read this:

Article 97 states the grounds on which an MP may vacate the seat: "1) A member of Parliament shall vacate his seat in Parliament—

"(g) if he leaves the party of which he was a member at the t ...

• Dagadu 1 year ago

Did they leave the current caucus in parliament? They filed to contest as in dependent candidates in the NEXT PARLIAMENT... not the current parliament! Why then must the people they represent be denied representation in parli ...

• Ed 1 year ago

Have you thought of the people of SALL not being represented for almost 4 years?

• Noel 1 year ago

Aboa ba. SALL as at today has no representative in parliament. Kwasia kwa

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

@DAGADU. The Constitution is clear. You cannot eat your cake and have it. You lose your status immediately you "file to contest as an independent candidate in the NEXT PARLIAMENT....". In fact to make such a declaration is to ...

• Nana Yaw 1 year ago

One of the grounds for arresting the decision of the Speaker is Parliament not granting the accused hearing. Basic rule in law. This ground can lead to a court annuling the Speaker's ruling.

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

Rubbish @ Nana Yaw. Back to basics.

• Kojo 1 year ago

So if it isn't an urgent matter, why is the NDC caucuses rushing to be majority in parliament 7 weeks before an election? What can they do with that majority when whatever law you propose has to be accented by the president a ...

• gLOW 1 year ago

WHY DID;NT THE COURT STOP EC OVER SALL ?? WHAT HAS THE SUPREME COURT DONE SINCE ABOUT SALL CASE?

• Nii 1 year ago

Can the supreme court tell parliament what to do?

• Oman ba 1 year ago

You’re partisan, my friend!

• Manu 1 year ago

They just want to buy time, remember SALL. Do the right thing! We are all under the rule of law and the Speaker has applied the law. Where is the law that stops the Speaker's ruling? Support the court and we also have the rig ...

• ray 1 year ago

None

• ray 1 year ago

Was Mike Ocquaye not a speaker when he declared his seat vacant? Even the Prez said he wont work with him. It was a Parliament issue just like this one. It determined who the majority leader will be. Be wise next time.

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

In reality the supreme Court cannot tell the speaker to "stay his judgement" on matters of parliamentary procedure and house rules. The rules will go ahead and apply while the SC do what is required of them constitutionally, ...

• Pelicles 1 year ago

The president does not take loans directly from the IMF rather it goes through parliament. Some of you should think before talking or comment on issues.

• ray 1 year ago

Yeah, don't argue with ignorance 'n illiteracy. He is not aware of separation of powers in a democracy.

• Kramai 1 year ago

True I think the Supreme Court can suspended bills and laws for the public but can’t suspend decisions by the speaker for parliament even in America when the court stops a bill the president can veto it

• Asiedu Keta 1 year ago

What Bagbin did was like a judge sees someone stealing his television and decides to sentence him. You don't do that. You bring a charge against the person and allow him to defend himself. He just sees MPs who have filed to ...

• Political Thinker 1 year ago

The Speaker of Parliament brought this issue together with his evidence, thus the notice of poll received from the EC..this was debated in the chamber of parliament as a whole, if the four affected MPs had anything to say or ...

• Joe 1 year ago

You are lying. In America the decision of the SC is binding on both the Presidency and the Congress. Do not spew lies. SC is a powerful institution in any democracy

• Kramai 1 year ago

Ok you’re right it’s not possible but there was a time in the past that a president didn’t follow a Supreme Court decision and I think this is the right time to do that to this kangaroo Akufo Addo’s court

• fg 1 year ago

So, the Supreme Court should sit down for the confused Speaker to make rulings which contradict the constitution? There is no law in Ghana the Speaker's ruling is not subject to the constitution. And the SC is the constitutio ...

• Wontumi (London) 1 year ago

@Adanko or whatever, that's all what you can compare your sorry self to. Don't forget, this your Akuffo Addo and the current Npp group, I have said it time without number, are taking Ghana to a civil war. This is so glaring t ...

• Observer 1 year ago

If the salt has lost its taste what it left but to trample it under our feet. If the supreme court has lost respect and integrity, no one will take it serious any more. That is what is happening.

• NPP = NEW POISON PARTY 1 year ago

The Supreme Court is also not above Ghana's constitution. The constitution doesn't give that power to the Supreme court. If they don't know that, they are not supposed to be in that office. Article 99 states that it is the H ...

• Kofi USA 1 year ago

The constitution of Ghana is the supreme law of the land and all legalities are governed by it.The simple question we should ask ourselves is ... who's responsible is it to determine a parliamentary seat vacant? Well, accordi ...

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

@Mr Kofi USA. The Constitution is clear on the basis for forfeiting an MP's seat in parliament. That the 4MPs have violated both the relevant constitutional provision regarding their office and its consequent social contract ...

• gLOW 1 year ago

MASSA- WHY DID;NT THE SUPREME COURT STOP AKUFO ADDO FROM SELLING SAGLEMI TO FOREIGNERS?

• Devil Ayariga 1 year ago

This devil Ayariga from Bawku wants to extend what he initiated Bawku that has claimed more lives to the whole country. Insha Allah, he'll not succeed. Have people realized that Mama Ayariga has never featured in news for any ...

• Doe 1 year ago

Why should Ghanaians vote npp? All your policies have failed! Gerrout!

• NPP= NANA'S POVERTY PROMOTERS 1 year ago

Mr. Adanko or whatever you call yourself. As you said nobody is above the law. The Supreme Court too is not above the law. I hope you listened carefully to Mr. Mahama Ayariga. He said there is NO law in the constitution which ...

• Asemwomano 1 year ago

https://youtu.be/Nw29mT8cFhQ?si=e8wQo78nhJOhp_FP

• ray 1 year ago

Is the chief justice above the law? Who are the law makers? Chief justice or Parliament? Please bring the CJ to come and sit in parliament every day and tell the Speaker how to run the house. That will show her power paa.

• ray 1 year ago

Hello, who appeared before Appointments committee to be vetted by whom? Speaker or Chief Justice

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

@Adanko Deka. The Constitution allows the SC to "make declarations" on matters of parliament. That is guaranteed by the constitution. The Constitution also allows the speaker to make decisions in parliament regarding house ru ...

• Observer 1 year ago

If the salt has lost its taste what it left but to trample it under our feet. If the supreme court has lost respect and integrity, no one will take it serious any more. That is what is happening.

Akyffool Addo Kwasia has destroyed Ghana beyond repair.

• Story-Story 1 year ago

Yes, that Kyebi baboon has totally destroyed our nation with all its institutions

• Kwaku Tee 1 year ago

I knew straight away that Alban Bagbin would fail as a SP bcoz he suffers from inferiority complex.Secondly he wasted all he had on those useless prostitute nurses and midwifes in Korle Bu who come from the North.

• Pompeii 1 year ago

Chaaiiii, so you mean your hopeless thief and clueless Mike Ocquaye didn't fail you people..????? I know you people will be cursing him wildly by now

• Manu 1 year ago

He is a.k.a. Aparachiki Abele Mamu Okoi.

• Doe 1 year ago

@kwaku tee
    Your comment tells one thing! A tribal bigot! Nobody will take you serious because even fools and nonentities can comment on thos platform for free! I believe from a to z of your family are all failures! Even if h ...

• mponkye ne ndcfo3 1 year ago

Ndc is a lawless political party and if it doesn't go their way it's not good

• Amos the Punisher 1 year ago

Why should we insult the president, who has nothing to with with what is happening. I believe opinions can be shared, but why the insults.. we should be a little bit civilised..

Is your dotard deranged old fool Akuffool Kwasia Addo civilised?

• Ohene Nketia 1 year ago

John Mahama killed President Atta Mills when he was the Vice President, killed Paa Kwesi Amissah Arthur and JJ Rawlings when he became a formal President. John Mahama has killed all the big men and its left with the woman. Pl ...

• Nonsense with highest stupidity. 1 year ago

I can really see, the ndc have realised they are going to loose the election come Dec 7, hence wants to make the country governable. If the speaker makes a constitutional blander, are yiu oer your submission is saying nothing ...

Look at an NPPig talking like a pig!

• Opoku Amsterdam 1 year ago

Sarfo,you are really a stupid pig. Ghana,s parliament unlike that of the UK is not above the law.Illetrate Ndc moron

• Matey 1 year ago

You are either a bandit or an idiot

• Kwaku 1 year ago

I feel sad for NDC the party that late DF Annan,Mary Grant,Harry Sawyer etc tried to take out of the military gangster style of leadership are going back to their dark days.If they continue to fool they will face the full for ...

• DotCom 1 year ago

This time, the force is with the people of Ghana which the NDC party represents. We will resist any attempt to subvert our democracy for the love of our country. I am an independent but I will vote for the NDC for a change.

• OBAATAMPA 1 year ago

IT IS ’LOSE’ NOT ‘LOOSE’ ELECTIONS!
    Please enroll in the nearest Progressively FSHS for better education in order to know the correct word to use.
    You see! The gods of the land have made you to use the wrong word an ...

• Doe 1 year ago

@reply to nonsense nonsense
    Ndcare not going to.lose the election! You are singing tribalism to keep you in power when you've been useless! Nobody will vote for npp, go round and ask. Kerp sharing money and divide g the coun ...

• Kilogram 1 year ago

No wonder somebody said that the NDC parliamentarians are like sheep to their Speaker. Your diabolical intentions won't work. And also, stop pretending that you are working in the interest of Ghanaians. It's fir your selfish ...

• Kilogram 1 year ago

NDC scared to the marrow by the tumultuous crowds that welcome DMB wherever he goes.

• Doe 1 year ago

@kilogram
    Bawumia shares money and the people are hungry so off course they will go to his gathering. You be stupid to think npp will win because they've done nothing in 8 years! Only idiots like you don't see it because of ...

• Story-Story 1 year ago

It's just the same way Mike Ocquaye worked for your NPP's selfish interests when he unilaterally declared the Fomena seat vacant in 2020 for you idiots to feel happy about

• Kwaku Tee 1 year ago

The Supreme Court will never use the Mike Ocquaye decision as a reference point.They will look at the entire case study it and give their judgement.

• Dodo 1 year ago

Kromfuor ba! Why are you strangely running away from that Mike Ocquaye case?

• Dagadu 1 year ago

So because someone erred 'the other time's and you people were so dumb to even notice it, the NPP should do same by sleeping on their rights for same error to be committed?
    Mo de333...smh.

• James 1 year ago

Go to court to question them. The media won't give you the answer. Why are you using the media instead of the court .

• John,Tema 1 year ago

The voices of the wise within NDC are never recognised only the violent ones are accepted. NDC shd have allowed the wise members to challenge Mike Ocquaye decision. It is exactly what NPP is using their intelligent members to ...

We don't have court under Akuffool Kwasia Addo.

• Pelicles 1 year ago

The same Nana Addo's court freed Ato Forson which no one in NDC protested.

• X Filz 1 year ago

We have to start assassinating the Judiciary so they know that, - truth, justice and balance are the only true protection for mankind. This is a mission well scripted. These NPP Judiciary you see today, you will not see them ...

• Matey 1 year ago

Ghanaians supports your cause.

• Alex Adu 1 year ago

If the SC was interested in holding the country together,they would have interpreted Article 97 and its associated clauses. It's only that which can halt the Speaker's ruling.

• FTT 1 year ago

Only Supreme Court has the power to interpret the Constitution and not the speaker of parliament, respect the law

• SKIZZO 1 year ago

Oh, gyimifuor ba @FTT! Just go away with all your Supreme Court criminals! You knew what you'll be using them for, that's why you packed them up with your foolsoldiers like sardines

• Joe 1 year ago

Ignorance of the law is no excuse! Ha!Ha!Ha!Ha! Ignorant intellectual!

• Kofi 1 year ago

You don't need to be aware. Ignorance of the law is no excuse. Laws are decided to keep peace for the people not a political party

• XYZ 1 year ago

The Executive should not also take any checks from parliament and therefore do what the constitution assigned them to do. Parliament has only four weeks to function. There checks and balance.

• Joe 1 year ago

Stupid. The ruling of the SC binds everybody both executive and judiciary

• Ohene Nketia 1 year ago

John Mahama killed President Atta Mills when he was the Vice President, killed Paa Kwesi Amissah Arthur when he became a formal President. Please Prof. Naana Opoku Agyemang this is an advice to you

• Plimsoll 1 year ago

Akuffo Addo brutally killed his first wife in a fit of anger, that is why nobody ever heard anything about his first wife. He then plotted with his NPP gangsters to murder Hon. JB Danquah-Adu. Then during the 2020 elections, ...

• Konkonsani 1 year ago

Do the Supreme Court justices go to church?Just asking!

• No. The church goes to them 1 year ago

Learn to separate facts from faith!!!

• Political Thinker 1 year ago

Yes…the Chief Justice is a member of ICGC…

• Emelia 1 year ago

Mr. Speaker! What the toilet papers in the supreme court did amounts to obstruction of parliamentary business. Please apply article 122 to stop them from taking parliament hostage.

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

NDC is not responsible for the actions of the 3 NPP MPs who have changed their status in parliament.
    The Speaker applied the law as stipulated in the Constitution.The Supreme Court has not said that the Speaker acted contrar ...

• Abena 1 year ago

Mad people you wait Ghanaians will teach you fools a lesson on7 December

• THE SECOND HAND PRESIDENT WILL LOOSE AGAIN 1 year ago

24 HOUR MAJORITY

• Locomotive 1 year ago

Hahahaha, we have the 24-hour MOURNERS still mourning their loss oo.......

• Ye de owuo ka East Ham London 1 year ago

Of course, everybody knows that the NDC is mostly composed of "buga-buga" aggressive people, who take a great delight in violent and other evil-filled thuggery activities. In this connection, it's not surprising that they a ...

• December 7th, 2024 - GHANA'S DAY OF ATONEMENT 1 year ago

Your brain is truly small. We have long known that you always rely on the security forces, but this will not work for you this time koraaaa

• Kk 1 year ago

And what law also permit a speaker to declare a seat vacant?

• Hahahaaaa 1 year ago

Minta Akando should just sit on Ursula Owusu's seat again to tap current

• Avenger 1 year ago

This is a legislative COUP…pure and simple. Bag in needs to be impeached and stand trial for attempting COUP. Ghana WAKE UP…

• KK 1 year ago

Bullshit. Parliament is not and cannot be a law unto themselves. Is Ghana not a common law jurisdiction? If there was no such law previously, now there is. Judges can and do make law in common law jurisdictions.

Is Ayariga ...

• Avenger 1 year ago

This is a legislative COUP…pure and simple. Bagbin needs to be impeached and stand trial for attempting COUP. Ghana WAKE UP…

• December 7th, 2024 - GHANA'S DAY OF ATONEMENT 1 year ago

We are very okay with any coup that instantly immobilizes the JUDICIAL IMPUNITY that our FILTHY SUPREME COURT has been practising

• The Only Law is Common Sense 1 year ago

If the NDC will not respect the pronouncement and directive of the Supreme Court even in opposition, then you can imagine when they win power.

• Yaw nketia 1 year ago

This is how you people always talk and yet becomes a loser.
    Common sense will tell you that if you declare a seat vacant
    and you cannot conduct by-election then that decision is null and void.

• TU-144 1 year ago

I'm sure this belief is coming from your ashawo mother

• Arafat Husain. 1 year ago

Am with you ndc go on more fire even if that is what would bring the war we are ready

• Batule 1 year ago

Maybe they have another Speaker in Jubilori House. In my second term I'll fight Galamsey, and I make Accra the cleanest City in Africa. So help me madam Cecilia. Hahaha. Clean water???

• Chai!!! 1 year ago

I think I agree with you.

• Adu 1 year ago

If you didn't know, now you know. You think the Speaker of parliament can act any how and get away with it? Any aggrieved person(s) can seek redress in the courts. We call it checks and balances as part of the rule of law.

• Rexford Adu 1 year ago

Under what Constitutional Arts etc and procedures, it should quote them, for the SC to give their directives?

• fg 1 year ago

We do not need you to know of any law.
    If you are man enough go against the Supreme Court's ruling let's, see.
    Foolish people. You think the country is jungle like Bawku.

• DAN K YEBOAH 1 year ago

INTERPRETATION OF THE LAW IS SOLE RESPONSIBILITY OF SUPREM COURT IN ANY COUNTRY OF THE WORLD ,BAGBIN WAS WRONG ,SHE SHOULD OF WAITED FOR SUPREM COURT TO FINISHED WITH THEIR INTERPRETATIONS OF THE LAW

• Otuvass 1 year ago

have they SC interpreted any law...the SC could've interpreted that article straight up and not to suspend the pronouncement of Speaker which is not their mandate....SC erred

• Cc 1 year ago

Even president's decision can be suspended

• Mimi 1 year ago

What is all this noise about? In two months time there is going to be a general elections, and after that everything would change, so why the fight over majority/minority in parliament? Even the speaker of parliament will go ...

• Apuuh 1 year ago

Supreme Court does not declare which party constitutes majority in Parliament. It is the speaker of Parliament who has the power to do so. The supreme court is needlessly interfering in the affairs of Parliament. Too dangero ...

• Jojo 1 year ago

Perfect response from NDC, when did the judiciary have power over the legislature.Absolute nonsense that chief justice is a disgrace to us fantis

• Seap 1 year ago

This is sickening! Is the Speaker a god in parliament? What rubbish is this?

• Victor A. Young 1 year ago

NDC always want to bring trouble..!! Ayariga is a damn fool for making such silly remarks. Crazy guy

• Batule 1 year ago

Arrest the whole Ghana. And feel freely. What the Hell. Coming from a great French Family. Who teached you French and Galamsey ?.?.? Kibi cousins?

• ananseba 1 year ago

Ghana has become a lawless and leaderless FAILED STATE

• Akba 1 year ago

Do you guys have what it takes to stop the verdict or the ruling of the supreme Court?.

• John K(Can I say Mahama Ayariga is the best constitutional lawyer in Ghana?)) 1 year ago

Folks,I am listening to the Probe on Joy News currently and Mahama Ayariga is using the constitution to educate the public on the flaws in what the supreme court has done. The guy is too much. The supreme court as it stands ...

• Pelicles 1 year ago

Members of Parliament are voted for, but Judges are not voted for rather they go there by "MERIT". If Ayariga loses his seat in any election, will you hear from again?

Also, there is a saying that "ignorance of the law is ...

• Doe 1 year ago

Stupid Pellicles
    Akuffo addo is a corrupt idiot! 90% of his appointees are failures because they were elected based on nepotism, tribalism and recklessness! You are so stupid!

• KN 1 year ago

Pls, we beg you don't bring confusion. If what the supreme Court has done has no legal basis, you can context it rather than threatening 'patapaa' in parliament, we shall cancel e-levy and all that. If you choose to ignore su ...

• Good Guys ! 1 year ago

The Supreme Court’s decision is incorrect
    Facts :
    i)The Applicant asked for an order of the court that will last for 10days. That is the nature of ex parte applications. The law is that after 10days, the applicant must re ...

• KN 1 year ago

If ex party is 10 days, fine case, simply contest it. Lawlessness will not solve anything

• KB 1 year ago

We are all confused. One, we did not understand the British way of governance. Two, we did not understand the American way of governance.

Hence and given the above, we are still lost in our so called-hybrid constitutional ...

• Enyo 1 year ago

Well, you are aware now!! Interpretation of the constitution is the preserve of the SC you idiotic partisan lawyer!! This is basic!!

• Kofi Ghanaba 1 year ago

Thé NDC is plotting a coup.The Ghana army should be deployed in parliament to bring law and order.The Alban Bag In The Bin must be stopped.He is a crazy speaker.

• Osri 1 year ago

NPP must be ashamed of themselves. After having a clear majority in their first term, in their second term only an independent candidate is saving them. Now they have been shamefully toppled as the majority. They have finally ...

• Ashley 1 year ago

I can't wait for what will happen at the Parliament next Tuesday. The soldiers will teach some politicians sense !!!

• The Truth 1 year ago

Nowadays, even circuit courts in Ghana delivers justices better than politically motivated so called supreme court. Tweaaa remote control supreme court.

• NDC MEMBERS MUST MASS UP AT PARLIAMENT ON TUESDAY TO PROTECT DEMOCRACY 1 year ago

Akuffo Addo is bent on stealing the elections and denying the NDC their newly acquired majority in Parliament is his first step. The NPP illegally wants to use the military to achieve that. It's therefore important for NDC to ...

• Errortorial Commission of Ghana -EC 1 year ago

Shame that the Supleme Court is doing politics

• Fiifi 1 year ago

Yooooooo

• kwaku-t 1 year ago

MY LAWYER THIS ORDER IS A DIRECTIVE FROM THE SUPREME COURT TO ALBAN BAGBIN. IT IS NOT A LAW. SO YOU DON'T NÈED ONE. PERIOD

• Togo Sam Fante warrior 1 year ago

All this inferior Mahama Ayariga knows is hypocrisy and lies. Your evil intentions will amount to naught. What a cursed man.

• HENRY, SPAIN 1 year ago

NONSENSE. WHEN JERRY THE DICTATOR DISSOLVED PARLIAMENT AND SUSPENDED THE CONSTITUTION, BUT THE COURTS WERE THERE. NONSENSE TALKING. THE SUPREME COURT THE HIGHEST STATE COURT. YOU SHOULD KNOW. NOT REALLY A GHANAIAN.

• Truth 1 year ago

We live to see, loud talkers.

• Kwame Peter 1 year ago

Hon Ayariga,most of you NDC lawyers do not do justice to the profession and don’t make it attractive at all,how many times have you gone to court to litigate on behalf of a client? All convenience lawyers and these are the ...

• Nana Yaw 1 year ago

In fact, Parliament need the court to function but the court does need Parliament to function for the remaining weeks that Parliament would rise for the election. This position of Parliament would rather give the Executive ov ...

• Nyamekeh 1 year ago

You wrong. Before you can be a supreme judge you have to pass through parliament. It parliament that approved supreme court judges.

• Nii 1 year ago

When we were in school, we were told that parliament is independent from the executive and the judiciary. We were told that parliament can do anything except to turn a man into a woman and vice versa and that if parliament ...

• Ghanaba 1 year ago

THE CONSTITUTION OF THE REPUBLIC OF GHANA 1992
    CHAPTER 008

THE CONSTITUTION OF THE REBUPLIC OF GHANA 1992

THE EXECUTIVE

The President

(1) There shall be a President of the Republic of Ghana who shall be the H ...

• Nyamekeh 1 year ago

In my opinion the Law itself is a common sense. And the Judges are to apply common sense with Law . Is it not assumptions apply to Law? For instance, if I told someone else I will kill you and I have not done it, the qu ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 year ago

could we for once as a learning democratic nation that want to be governed by rule of law get certain things properly done for more clarity
    when it comes to parliament and the Supreme court?
    per our constitution it is onl ...

• Eli Mawuli-Eli 1 year ago

Would the SC have taken such a decision should Npp needs this to be the majority?

• Deedee 1 year ago

All ndc MPs should go fill seats in parliament whilst all npp MPs should go to their constituencies to campaign. Leave ndc to fight for power in parliament whilst npp lobby for power on the grounds where the voters are & woul ...