No Bodyguard, No Car, Thorough Screening: Parliament tightens security ahead of Tuesday's 'showdown' sitting

Read Comments Comments (59)

• CRAP-DETECTOR 1 year ago

THEY DON'T CALL THEM LAWMAKERS FOR NOTHING!

• FRANKIE 1 year ago

Arise Ghana youth for your country, the nation demands your devotion, let us all unite to uphold her and make her great and strong. We are all involved, we are all involved, we are all involved in building our motherland!

• Asterisk 1 year ago

Good comments Frankie. I remember in the 80s we used to sing this song in schools. We all need to build our country and make her great and strong.

We also need to uphold the integrity of the institutions of governance.

• Yaw 1 year ago

Good, there must be security within the country. Soldiers are for war, protecting the boarders and polishing of boots. They are not needed in parliament else chaos. If they try this time around, what will be will be.

• Kwaku Tee 1 year ago

I heard Mustapha Gbande organising some NDC Macho men to go and help their MPs protect their manufactured seat.So where will take them to?They can come to my father's farm near Suhum to help him weed.He will pay them with som ...

• BLESS GH 1 year ago

CANADA TEACHING

An International NGOs based CANADA need both qualified and unqualified teachers who can teach orphans and disabled children basic ( English, Maths, Science & IT)
    The NGOs are paying for the expenses includ ...

• FORCE OKRAKU TO RWSIGN&BS WILL BE GOOD. 1 year ago

YES WE WILL ARISE AND VOTE AGAINST JOHN MAHAMA AND HIS DEMONIC NDC, WHO WERE PLANNING TO DESTROY THE PARLIAMENT OF GHANA TODAY.

• Atsu, Ho 1 year ago

Bag bin is just throwing the nation into constitutional crises for obviously motivated by parochial interest and naivety

• A party of vindictives 1 year ago

U r an illiterate soul. So pathetic aww

• Stefano 1 year ago

Say your corrupt Supreme Court led by that dirty prostitute is throwing the country in crisis.

• Yaw Wontumi 1 year ago

What Ghanaians need now is a violent civil disobedience now now now now to get this family of monkeys baboons and apes out of the Flagstaff House. These descendants of criminals and traitors and thieves at the julorbi house w ...

• Aesop 1 year ago

Arise and DO WHAT? Drink pito or eat fufu? Stop making these vacuous statements and do something positive and tangible or keep quiet!

• Stitches 1 year ago

This is only happening in a so called human rights lawyer's regime. Even military regimes did not experience this. Addo D is a nation wrecker

• Asterisk 1 year ago

Look at this idiot.

• Stefano 1 year ago

Like your stupid self and your dirty father.

• Ama 1 year ago

NDC MPs are not seeing top with their 24hrs Economy policy in their campaign in their constituencies.They want to manufacture their own seat.

• Lol! 1 year ago

Lol! Nothing wrong with short cut!

• Nzema K 1 year ago

NDC please be careful. The police are just looking for a scapegoat..

You don't necessarily need to sit on the left of the speaker to perform your function as Majority. Good luck Guys

• NDC SCORES OWN GOAL! 1 year ago

This is a Spectacular disgrace for Gbagbin and his NDC MPs. What an own goal 5 weeks to an election. The whole world sees NDC as lawless!

• Asterisk 1 year ago

Another idiot. What is the lawlessness in what both parties are seeking?

• Yaw 1 year ago

Are you talking about law? Quote the law the the NDC is supposed to obey. Is there any law which says whatever chief justice says you must obey? Judges always quote written laws in their rulings. No judge gives orders from th ...

• Atsu, Ho 1 year ago

Very ignorant contribution. Who should interpret the constitution? Should it be Bag bin or you?

• InStarGram 1 year ago

What interpretation are you talking about..???? Is that simple and easy language in the constitution that Bagbin applied too difficult for mumu Akuffo Addo and his UNANIMOUS FC to understand?

• AK 1 year ago

If they misbehave, the President, in consultation with all stakeholders, will dissolve the Parliament. The Speaker and Parliamentarians cannot hold this country to ransom. Thanks for the level headedness of Hon Marking.

• Ama Ghana 1 year ago

Another fool what can your stupid president do, why you think we are kids huh

• Asterisk 1 year ago

Another idiot. Is the President a President of NPP or president of Ghana?

Do you expect a candidate who wins on the ticket of NDC to be called President of NDC and not president of Ghana?

Reason with your head and not ...

• Nana Wireko 1 year ago

U fool pass

• Kwakuo President 1 year ago

Kwakuo Kwaku Addo Ofui with the watery drooling mouth.

• Joke with Bagbin at your Risk; NPP will die today 1 year ago

Hahahahaha, who says man no dey?

• Kay 1 year ago

If Alban Bagbin fools he will be imprison for 1 week and that will affect all his entitlement when he goes on retirement. Naniaama who told him he powerful.

• InStarGram 1 year ago

@Kay, I've been warning you against your constant tramol abuse

• NDC HAVE DONE IT AGAIN!! 1 year ago

The last time NDC had a tussle with the Supreme Court going into an election was in 2016 with the "Montie 3" saga and the electorate punished them severely for it with their worst result ever.

They have done it again!

• History repeating itself! 1 year ago

Yes, NDC people have very short memory. On that case they challenged the Supreme Court and the people of Ghana punished them for it.

Looks like history repeating itself.

• Ruthan 1 year ago

They will definitely remain in opposition for another 8yrs to teach them a lesson.

• Patrick 1 year ago

Bottled water should also not be allowed as some NPP MPs may carry acid to the chamber disguised as water.

• NDC SHOULD SHOW MATURITY, GHANA IS RIDUCLED 1 year ago

NDC SHOULD SHOW MATURITY AND ALLOW NPP TO.CONTINUE AS.MAJORITY PARTY. IN PARLIAMENT THOUGH THEIR MP. NUMBER IS LESS THAN NDC..THE NDC PARTY. ALREADY OUT NUMBER NPP THEREFORE IT WILL BE VERY DIFFICULT FOR NPP TO PASS OR GE ...

• NDC Full of children 1 year ago

It looks as if tgere are no elderky people in the NDC. Behaving line children. Ah my NDC!

• Kweku Yeboah 1 year ago

Stupid man. Day light robbery n they should allow rot to go on. Stupid fool. We live to see. Stupid nppigs

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

I don't think parliament can sit today because there is confusion and tension.
    The Speaker will refuse to do any meaningful business under this pressure from the Suprême Court.
    The Suprême Court can't say the Speaker doe ...

• Gbagbin is a disgrace 1 year ago

Gbagbin is facing humiliation. Took a day to ruin his 40yrs political career ! This is what arrogance and hubris does to one.

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

I will not be surprised if Bagbin resigns today or goes to court to challenge the Suprême Court's directive.
    In other words,I don't expect parliament to sit today.Tnx.

• Castro 1 year ago

NPP is a curse party. Akufo Addo using his yes men at the Supreme Court to disrespect parliament

• OZYMANDIAS 1 year ago

Bodyguards for this pack of shameless dishonourable people? I now understand why the country’s finances are sometimes in a mess.

• Oklemekuku 1 year ago

'And help us to resist oppressors rule with all our might '.............

• Thank you! 1 year ago

Ggbabin wants to be the Idi Amin of Ghana. Bit we wil resist his oppression with all our might abd strength. Thank you ny brother fir your solidarity!

• A party of vindictives 1 year ago

Hw3 ne gyimi. Even dat ugly caricature of a drooling Nana Addo koraa orders chiefs around n goes after those that criticize him. Get sense.

• Akua 1 year ago

WHAT ABOUT IF PARLIAMENT IS ADJOURNED SINE DIE ?

• Ye de owuo ka East Ham London 1 year ago

Ther will not be any "show-down" as some wicked and evil-filled NDC people would wish to happen. Indeed, the NPP is a highly dignified entity and would always strive to live above board in matters of such low-level and humili ...

• TAN 1 year ago

Good move. If some adults wants to behave like children throwing tantrums, then no options than some of your freedom taken off you. Now you go follow the stringent rules. Meet your meeter

• Ato Forson di ato bush! 1 year ago

Where is Ato Forson the 24hr Majority Leader. Wo di ato bush. No where to be found. I understand he is hiding under him nana bed under. Hahahaha

• What About Haruna Iddrisu! 1 year ago

The 24hr Deputy Majority Leader?

• He is hiding under a Hijab! 1 year ago

I understand he is walking around hiding his shame under a Hijab.

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

Why blame the NDC and Speaker ?
    Are they the ones who asked the affected MPs to change their status ?
    By the way have the affected MPs disagreed with the Speaker ?
    Has anybody bothered to know the reactions of the affected ...

• NDC and Gbagbin Dont Think! 1 year ago

They always act on the spur of the moment without thinking deep as to "what if".

This was totally uneccessary. Just a month into an election. Now they have backed themselves ibto a corner and become a laughing stock.

O ...

• James 1 year ago

All these are uncalled for. The speaker ought to have known better......

• Kapos 1 year ago

And we are still paying COVID 19 levy. Empty headed people!

• William 1 year ago

Body guards for politicians in Ghana?......Bit of an overkill isn't it...Really?......I think they would pretty safe driving around by themselves in an open convertible. Don't think the criminals in Ghana,wouldn't pay much a ...

• William 1 year ago

The NDC.....have missed a golden opportunity, to show the Country that they do know how to behave.....Jumping into the Majority side of the Isle.because of technicality in the Constitution is umhelpfull from an international ...

• Kk 1 year ago

The speaker should have been matured in his work to have avoided all these measures.