2024 Polls: US issues visa restrictions on persons who undermine Ghana’s democracy

Read Comments Comments (132)

• Tenanye 1 year ago

Jean mensa, boss man Asare, Samuel tettey, Gertrude Tookono, Akuffo Addo should all be banned. They are the biggest thread to our democracy.

• Kay 1 year ago

Asiedu Nketia,Ablakwa Okudjeto, Inusah Fuseini,Alban Bagbin etc shd be their major targets.They have planned for violence after the election knowing NDC will lose.JDM's family cannot go to the West bcoz of his Airbus history.

• FIELD MARSHALL 1 year ago

NICE ONE..... NPPIGS AND EC WHO WANT TO STEAL THE ELECTION AND CAUSE MAYHEM LIKE 2020 ELECTIONS CANNOT RUN AWAY..... WE ARE SETTLING EVERYTHING ON THE STREETS.... INSHALLA!! NANDURUWA!!!!

• OSABARIMA MENSA 1 year ago

The Government of Dubai should issue similar warnings to the leader of the buga buga party. Nkwaseafour, gyimii saa!

• Ghana Observer 1 year ago

Why do you think Akufo Addo has been visiting France more than any other country? He had foresight. He has a place to escape to.

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 1 year ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine......for instance 10 paracetamol at once......or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Atsu, Ho 1 year ago

The only person that readily comes to mind is bag bin

• L 1 year ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed available.0557430128 .'..,-

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 year ago

At least he went to school and stayed there. Naturally, he would have a bunch of friends and acquaintances there. Rawlings also went to Libya like he is peeing. Mahama hasn’t got much to do in Russia so he has got to live w ...

• OSABARIMA MENSA 1 year ago

Akufo Addo should not be spared in case something happens.
    He and the EC chairperson should be banned from running away to other Francophone countries.

• tweeeeeeaaaaaaa 1 year ago

ofui

• Sam 1 year ago

@Kay. I can assure you the statement had the names you mentioned in mind.

• TWEAA DC 1 year ago

YES, THE WAR MONGERS SPEARHEADED BY THE ASIEDU NKETIAHS, ETC, WILL HAVE THEIR CANADIAN VISAS TOO SUSPENDED/CANCELLED...TWEAA.

• Kofi 1 year ago

You are just an idiot.

• Abatrus 1 year ago

@kay. Yourself, father mother all go receive the first bullets

• Yusif 1 year ago

Asiedu Nketia and those you mentioned are not planning to rigg the election. Those doing that are clearly known. The Jezebel Jean Mensa and the NPP card bearing members in the EC- BOSSMAN ASARE, Atuahene, are the problem and ...

• ray 1 year ago

no they are not

• KBM t 1 year ago

No news. I am always expecting NDC fools to react senseselly the way you speak. No matter you belong to the NDC

• Otumfuor 1 year ago

They should start by revoking the current visas held by Akufo Addo and his family, his corrupt ministers and their families; Ken Ofori-Atta; fools like Wontumi, Bryan Acheampong and that animal called Abronye; Jean Mensa, her ...

• We have one million ways of winning the election 1 year ago

Don’t for get Bryan Acheampong ,Wontumi, Abronye , Sammi Awuku and other thieves who have said they have one million ways of winning the election. The world is watching these criminals.

• tweeeeeeaaaaaaa 1 year ago

Biggest Thread------poor

• yaw cool 1 year ago

you did understand what it meant

• Akufool Aduro 1 year ago

Well done, USA!!! The God in whom you trust will forever bless your land. Other western countries must follow suit. Akufool-Aduro and his useless mafia, corrupt Gee Torkornoo (whose headmaster father was sacked for stealing) ...

• Nii Odoi 1 year ago

Yessss, it's the stupid party in power ONLY that can rig the election. Well done Mahama, for meeting the foreign dignitaries and informing them about Akufo-Addo, Jean MePnsa and the NPPIGS determination to rig the upcoming ge ...

• Abena 1 year ago

Stop any NDC getting visa they don't want peace

• Joe 1 year ago

Oh, Bryan Acheampong’’s plans ator nsuom!!!

• JJ 1 year ago

Is Ndc in government the party in power is most likely the one to rig elections

• Apedwa Sendo 1 year ago

The stupid party NDC will quickly change their idiotic position after knowing this message from the US don.Anyway Dr Bawumia will win by 50.7%

WU MAAME TWE..... WHO KILLED 8 NDC MEMBERS IN LAST ELECTIONS???? BODAMFUO

• Yaovi 1 year ago

Go to court

• Agya Atta 1 year ago

It’s a small world! Tomorrow you my be a victim of electoral violence. Let’s all condemn the killings!

• ORIGINAL PEACEMAKER 1 year ago

NO VISAS FOR NDC LEADERSHIP AND FAMILY MEMBERS TO TRAVEL ABROAD UNTIL WE SEE PEACEFUL ELECTIONS IN DECEMBER AND BEYOND

• Travis ................Okaiko North 1 year ago

Well done US
    We must not allow Ndc to lie to Ghanians to power..
    l remember same false rhetoric in 2008 elections.

1.Npp was curupt
    When we Ndc come we will jail them all

2.Kofour have American girl friend with twins ...

• Kojois 1 year ago

I totally agree with you. Useless politician who don't see that they have expired and continued fool their followers who are illiterate to create violence don't need to issue visa to come to the United State. NDC with their g ...

WU MAAME TWE..... WHO KILLED 8 NDC MEMBERS IN LAST ELECTIONS???? BODAMFUO.... NPPIG ABOA

• Star from the North 1 year ago

I expect the US embassy to add the NPP money launderers to the list to make it complete. They should ban politicians buying properties in the US also. We will not allow the EC and other government machinery to manipulate the ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 year ago

If people want to flee the country for a better place, they can go to Canada, Western Europe, Australia, Japan, and even New Zealand.

• KBM t 1 year ago

The international community knows that NDC is a bunch of fools. They can't be voiceferous because diplomatic norms. Before you become an NDC member you have to lose your senses.

• Tactics 1 year ago

I thought visa applications are booked many months in advance. People who are in positions that can undermine democracy will likely have their visas already. Or am I missing something here?

• Ghanaman 1 year ago

For any trouble maker who already has a visa, rest assured that the US consular officer or secretary of state, can at any time, revoke or cancel your visa at any US port of entry at his discretion, even if your visa is valid.

• Tukonor 1 year ago

They can easily prevent you entry even if you reach America and send you back on the next plane. Acquiring a visa does not guarantee entry.

I think other western countries must emulate the USA on the matter.

• Kwaku Boateng 1 year ago

Yes, you missed the point, Even if you have the Visa,it will be revoke if you interfere with the election

• Gate of No Return Cape Coast Castle 1 year ago

As if her country is cool. Slave mistress. Wo maame twe together with your imperialist visa. Uganda says your mother wai. Woman pig. Chop your visa and swallow it. Ghana is our motherland. LGBTQ ni aboa. Goway you there with ...

• Ghana Republic 1 year ago

The NPP rougues must stay here after the elections and be killed for all the mess they have caused us. Akuffo Addo and his family we hate you so much. Go to hell.

• Capt. Adabuga 1 year ago

I urge Canada to do same in order for for Asiedu Nketiah not to run to Canada after fomenting troubles in Ghana

• Siro 1 year ago

Who are you to dictate to us what to do? Is Ghana America? Destroyers. ...

• King bee 1 year ago

Hypocrite like u.You think signing peace pack guarantee u peace.woman learn to mine your own business or leave the country. Did you comment on 2020 elections when 8 citizens died.

• JB 1 year ago

The parties cannot sign a peace pact when past wrongs have not been corrected. The EC must ensure transparency which it is not doing up to this point. The judiciary and the packed supreme court interference in the running o ...

• Donny........Cape Coast 1 year ago

Past wrongs like Ndc snatching ballot paper and boxes they should be left because they are ndc.

Ndc attacking police because they are Ndc sympathisers.

Ndc not allowing smooth flow of voting because they are Ndc members ...

• NPP= NANA'S POVERTY PROMOTERS 1 year ago

The restrictions should affect firstly the Sakawa boys, Kennedy Akompreko Agyapong, Kofi Tonto , Mahmoud Bawumia and his family, Gertrude Torkorno and the unanimous FC.

• We have one million ways of winning the election 1 year ago

Henry Quartey who is the interior minister and buying property in America through money laundering, and planning to cause violence Theo the police and other security agencies should be put on the watch list . America should b ...

• Donny........Cape Coast 1 year ago

US,Canada,UK & EU

should block visas issued to Presidents & past president and their families
    Ministers and past ministers
    Mps and past Mps
    Polical parties executives.

Aseidu Nkatias children are home blick them ...

• Madam slave trader. You are an idiot 1 year ago

I thought she will deny visa to those against LGBTQ. Or the obsessed toke is feeling shy to attach her conditions to LGBTQ acceptance and chooses to hide behind peace pact on paper

• Russian best hacker good Link him up best hacker 1 year ago

: Bank wire transfer to all countries

Bank f ...

• Miagy Soft 1 year ago

Thank.you America, i thinl ots a good model that must be adopted by the european and other developme tal partners as well.. They must stay here to face and experience any mess they cause too

• Hannan 1 year ago

~ Welcome to the best sex dating site --- www.Nu21.eu

• Efo Kwame 1 year ago

Are Ghanaians killing themselves like you do in America? Please chop your house matter first since Ghana is not Israel. I'm better off here because I don't sleep on the streets. What is all this US visa about? I haven't trave ...

• Sak 1 year ago

The wisest I read so far. Excellent point

• JJ 1 year ago

You may not need it but these evil creatures do that’s where they go to blow their loot

• Aba 1 year ago

NPP Guarded, full stop.
    The political fooling must stop. we waiting for UK and the EU to declare their position. No one party is bigger than Ghana. Democracy is for the people, not the parties.

• FTT 1 year ago

Think about your own elections and live Ghana alone after all America is not heaven

• Carlos 1 year ago

Bryan Acheampong should be among

• Nii Joromi 1 year ago

The US embassy should take the same measures against people in leadership positions, especially politicians who are engaged in galamsey.

• Solo 1 year ago

It is sad how NPP people always pretend to be pro- democratic people in public but go about undermining democracy.

• Solo 1 year ago

Please, they should extend same to Trump

• Boagyaa Appiah- Kubi 1 year ago

Donald J Trump is running again after all what he did to overturn the outcome of the 2020 elections in the US. Sometimes the United States invite many people to hate them. Anyway I love the new policy because it cut across th ...

• .com 1 year ago

It is good but US can not decide for Ghana what we want. And bias and selective attitude of US for not advising on other issues of cheating and unprofessional behaviour of leadership of this nature can never be accepted .

• Asem 1 year ago

This is a direct message to the power drunk Akuffo Addo who is on record to have said he is not prepared to hand over power to anyone aside Bawumia

• Lick Toto 1 year ago

The very first time of this press release from USA Embassy in Ghana. Big sorry for Akufo-Addo Bawumia and their followers

• Lies if they’re serious they should deport Kevin Taylor and Jonas 1 year ago

Stupid embassy. Start with that idiot called Kevin Taylor so people would take you idiots serious

• Pantampram 1 year ago

Great move!!! The rest should follow same!!!

• Kwami 1 year ago

This is to Bagbin

• Bastie Tutu Asantefournhyinaahene 1 year ago

Global police has spoken. I wish they could enforce the same in Saudi Arabia , Afghanistan, Iran , Russia and North Korea.

Such hypocrisy is sickening. Who’re you to tell us what to do ?

The World has moved on from y ...

• Asantehene 1 year ago

US is issuing this warning to Ghana for the first time because a two lunatics are ruling this country. It is a move in the right direction.

• Mick Coffie 1 year ago

This is nonsense. Instead of the US bringing Israel to book for killing and ethnically cleansing the people of Palestine, they are telling us what we should not do. The US should leave us to govern our country the way we want ...

• Mensah Paul 1 year ago

You Guys have always restricted Ghanaians Visas recently...Dont hide behind elections..We will build ours properly. you visa consulate in usa.. If you don't give us visa there's always another door opened.

• Citizen 1 year ago

Trust USA.

• Tukonor 1 year ago

Bryan Acheampong, Jean Mensah, Kennedy Agyapong, Chief Justice, IGP and co

• Wasteman 1 year ago

THE US ARE VERY GOOD OO..THEY KNOW OUR FOOLISH BRAINLESS POLITICIANS FEAR VISA REFUSAL MORE THAN ANYTHING ELSE

• DMX 1 year ago

The USA should go it self they have no moral right to talk of democracy anymore. Is a shame symbol State now and any person with moral integrity would care less about visa to USA.

• KD 1 year ago

This is where the United States is always getting it wrong. Imposition of sanctions, weaponization of the dollar etc. this is the reason why all these countries are running to the BRICS block.

• God Bless America 1 year ago

Thank you Almighty America. Thank you for supporting our democracy and reminding these electoral perpetrators that rigging, stealing of elections and violence are not part of 21st century civilization. They say they have one ...

• Badu-Yeboah Emmanuel 1 year ago

That is a step in the right direction

• Kubut3 1 year ago

Pur Masters have spoken, Kai, Peace will prevail, Come December the 7th. MAHAMA and Bawumia will agree, whoever is declared by the EC. She is already working with our masters behind closed doors. There will be NO patapa ...

• Kubut3 1 year ago

This warning goes to the NDC. THEY ALREADY KNOW WHAT THE NDC PEOPLE ARE UP TO IF THEY LOSE THE ELECTIONS.

• #Choose8 1 year ago

Abronye, Wontumi, Nana B, Cursed Aboagye, Sami Awuku, Bryan Acheampong, Chinia and co, must be the main targets!

• Nii Kpobi 1 year ago

My Country People, this warning on visa restrictions if true has nothing to do with "democracy" they are really saying is restriction on people who won't dance to American tunes.

Georgia has just democratically chosen a p ...

• Nokwarehene 1 year ago

Canada and the UK should do same.John Mahama and ASIEDU Nketiah should be closely monitored.They are beating war drums across the length and breath of Ghana ,accusing the EC without any tangible evidence just to cover up t ...

• Truth 1 year ago

Why is it that when ndc was in power USA didn't invoke such thing...during elections under npp 8 people were killed...so whom are they referring to? Bryan acheampong was full of shit...we all go dey..I pray the advance countr ...

• Thank you America 1 year ago

They did the same in 2916. Google the same caption and read kakra wai .

• OZYMANDIAS 1 year ago

If the US Embassy needs names, it should not look further than the core leadership of the Buga Buga party. That will make the work easier for their consular staff.

• Kwadwo 1 year ago

Very nice move by the States

• Forlifive 1 year ago

Other countries must follow same.

• SWINE. BAGBIN IS NOW IN COURT. HE HAS STOPPED HIS ASIEDU NKETIA INDUCED GANGARIA 1 year ago

How does the Speaker of Parliament, the place where laws are made show disrespect to the Supreme Court of Ghana? It is an insult to all Ghanaians to return documents served on you by the Supreme Court of Ghana. You Bagbin has ...

• AKUFFO ADDO IS SATAN. BAWUMIA SHAITAANIR RAJEEM 1 year ago

GOOD NEWS GHANA AGAINST SATANIC NPP CRIMINALS

• Babbs 1 year ago

Good to hear this.

• Sister Soulja 1 year ago

Nana Addo and his henchmen be warned. Uncle Sam has spoken and that's final

• Job 1 year ago

Undermining election in Ghana? The US should give us a break. Haven’t they heard the kind of things MrTrump is saying on his campaign platforms? After 2020 election in US what didn’t he do? Trump has been declared a crimi ...

• AMARIYA 1 year ago

GOOD JOB THE US
    Was the brother of Collins Dauda, had admitted killing people not run away to the US after 2016 election?
    State monetary looters should be sent back to face the judiciary in Ghana. They also undermine democr ...

• Abu 1 year ago

Tired of the usa they should stop giving visa ,They didnt created the World. God will take care of us till our last breath.Everyday with their nonses visa as if is the end of the world.

• Ebo 1 year ago

Very good piece. Jean Mensa and her entire staff should take note of that. Beside, those useless people who think politics is what they eat, breath and smell should be careful.

• Kofi 1 year ago

God Bless America !!!!!. They forgot to seize their houses and accounts in America. They all have Visas and bags of Dollars under their beds. Which is meant for the poor people of Ghana. The black man in Africa can not follow ...

• Kwabena Mensah 1 year ago

I doff my hat to the flag of America the country of democracy..The decision taken is the right way and appear to other European countries to do likewise.

• Kiki 1 year ago

The US State Department should first start with permanently banning and revoking visas for ANYONE in Ghana engaged in galamsey! That will be a good start.

• Nada a caution to you 1 year ago

If at 80 years Nadaa says he will not hand over power if even the NDC wins .
    Then this restriction if Nadaa, Brian Acheampong, Kennedy Agyepong etc
    We live to see

• Ghanani 1 year ago

America lecturing Ghana about democracy? This is funny!!!. America has never been a democracy. It is an oligarchic dictatorship that uses elections to create the impression that it is a democracy. America is a supporter of di ...

• K.K 1 year ago

EC , Nana and Npp, you hear?

• Ansa 1 year ago

U S should mine their own business, where were they when Trump was shot, have they imposed any sanctions on themselves, they should give us a brake.

• Appiah. 1 year ago

Good news paaa have a list of fellow Ghanaians. J̌ohn Dramani who went to Putin for help. Fifi kweetey Ablakwah Tobge Afedi Sam George Captain Smart A plus Dormahene Bagbin speaker of parliament. Don't forget to extradite T ...

Hmmm, the poor people of Palestine are being killed every second, minutes, hours.under the very eyes of US , yet don't see it. They have the eyes for other shithole countries.

• Otafregya 1 year ago

The most stupid fools here are the party supporters who don't even own a single room as a property but stupidly hail and support criminals cos of just t shirts and ghc 100. Stupid country with unthinkable beings.

• Nana Adusei 1 year ago

They should deport Trump from the U.S. if they are serious about maintaining democracy.

• Nana 1 year ago

You don't decide for US they know them and if you read their circular carefully they have been and are monitoring events don't forget they have an embassy in Ghana so don't tell them what they know.
    Time will tell those of u ...

• Kwasi Anthony 1 year ago

There you go we are going to smoke them out one by one, for the loot and share, the most corrupt government ever,

• Kabila 1 year ago

Us should not worry itself, ghanaian pastor has shown Ghanaians how to have one human body with multiple names and pasports.

• Pelicles 1 year ago

It is so pathetic for another country to issue such a stupid warning to another country about "VISA" restrictions due to up-coming election. If we Ghanaians see ourselves as "Independent nation" and understand what it means, ...

• Northern Boy 1 year ago

What we badly need is restrictions on individuals and or groups stealing our resources to the US and other western countries for safekeeping. By this announcement it appears the US is also more particular about who governs us ...

• Elsie, Bantam 1 year ago

No individual will move from Ghana. We all go dey here smell the rot

• Otto pfister 1 year ago

Very wise from the US government..

• Kukua 1 year ago

The US can't manage its own elections or trump.. the US only supports corrupt regimes and those willing to be puppets to the US and the west.

• Kukua 1 year ago

The US can't manage its own elections or trump.. the US only supports corrupt regimes and those willing to be puppets to the US and the west. The US lets criminals into the country from central and s. America everyday

• Kukua 1 year ago

The US can't manage its own elections or trump.. the US only supports corrupt regimes and those willing to be puppets to the US and the west. The US lets criminals into the country from central and s. America everyday

Good move, Akuffo Addo falls within, how I wish this came before 2020 elections.

• Osei mensah bonsu 1 year ago

Is USA paradise? They should talk of something better than visa restrictions

• The wise onè 1 year ago

Very gooooooooood one there.
    The blood shockers think they have a place to hide; so therefore.....................

Bank f ...

• Francis Asante-Boadu 1 year ago

VFCP divinely warns the USA to refrain from tampering with Ghana and Africa's Divine and Spiritual Emancipation. Ancient philosophers believed democracy would bring war, power struggles, and divisions, and the world has witne ...

We are sending wire transfer and direct flashing t
    Bank flashing stays in the account for 28 d ...

• LOL 1 year ago

The US visa restrictions should affect all politicians and their families,.

• IS USA VISA A TICKET TO HEAVEN ? 1 year ago

US must be stopped in interfering in the affairs of Ghana politically. For out of over 35 million Ghanaians how many of us desire and apply for US VISA, less 2%. Do.people die in US naturally. The US behaves asif if you don't ...

• Prime Time 1 year ago

"In fact over 90% of Ghanaians prefer to live happily and peaceful in Ghana than to travel to the US"

STAY OF THE WEED.........PLEASE

• Rev Professor Emmanuel Yao Nash 12 months ago

i made the research in 2016 originally

read on daily graphic online

refuse the politician visa till elections