Vacant Seats: Speaker Bagbin challenges Supreme Court ruling as he files application to set aside ruling

Read Comments Comments (93)

• Qur'an is toilet paper 1 year ago

I spit on sick dog prophet mohammed. allah is a demon

• FRANKIE 1 year ago

Indeed we have a man of spine and steely balls as Speaker of Parliament, the third most powerful man in the country. Such bravery is what is needed in this country today to halt the wanton destruction and bastardization of al ...

• Errortorial Commission of Ghana -EC 1 year ago

SINE DIE every time until the end
    How will the supreme court direct parliament not to sine die at every seating?

• DotCom 1 year ago

Parliament is not under the supreme court and for the first time ever, the court has become frustrated because a branch of the government is insisting on its independence rendering the court unfit for purpose. People are stan ...

• L 1 year ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed available.0557430128 ~~~##*

• P Djamgbe 1 year ago

Everything in Ghana needs resetting, including the Supreme Court, and the only way to do that is get rid of the NPP government

• Jeff Casum 1 year ago

Those who claim Parliament is not under the Supreme Court should go and educate themselves about the Ghana constitution. If tomorrow parliament enact and prove that gay is legal can a citizen challenge that law? If yes where. ...

• DotCom 1 year ago

@Jeff Casum: A government has 3 branches: judiciary represented by the supreme court, the executive represented by the president, and the legislative represented by parliament. They all have equal constitutional powers. I am ...

• DotCom 1 year ago

I am referring to the separation of powers.

• TRUTH 1 year ago

Go and reset your mind by educating yourself and stop spewing nonsense

• Akuffo Addo 1 year ago

@jeff casum, I strongly believes you are a foolish boy.
    Lol.
    Social media is so cheap, idiots like you comes here with your madafucking foolishness to act like assholes.
    Masa, go screw yourself.

• Joe 1 year ago

Jeff Casum!
    You are exposing your ignorance and illiteracy with regard to the constitution without knowing it. Where in the constitution does it say parliament is under Supreme Court? The supreme court’s role is to interpr ...

• TogbeKporwomordzikpo KpornugloAvumako 1 year ago

The court has been taken to court. Interesting times ahead

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 1 year ago

@ Frankie:
    BAGBIN SHOULD ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS, AND EVEN HE ANSWERS NO TO JUST ONE OF THEM HE SHOULD BE IMPEACHED IMMEDIATELY.

1. Did the NPP petition Speaker Bagbin to declare those seats vacant? If the NPP didn’t pe ...

• Wahala government 1 year ago

I would think living in New York could shape your reasoning. Apparently, it hasn't. Which part of the constitution states that a party must approach the speaker for such a declaration?

• Errortorial Commission of Ghana -EC 1 year ago

Very Infantile questions, you make zero sense bro!

• Kwami 1 year ago

Read his questions carefully, he is making a lot of sense.

• Adan 1 year ago

What sense? So mean whatever those MPs do affect only NPP? I wonder why people think so selfishly and infantile.

• KOFI 1 year ago

@Kwami, the question is simple. Which part of the constitution mandates anyone to petition or even write to the speaker that a parliamentarian should vacate his seat?

• NPP = NEW POISON PARTY 1 year ago

Stephen Donkey, you are a bloody fool. Primitive buffoon. Do you understand what you are saying? What do you know about law? Which part of the constitution are you quoting to support what you are saying? Who said NPP should ...

• AA 1 year ago

One of the MPs was axed by NPP from their members platform. Did you hear that?

Have you seen any of the NPP MPs come out fighting to be reinstated ? They have declared themselves not to belong to the party anymore. Stop ...

• Sycamore 1 year ago

You've exhibited piffle

• Munafiki bawuliar is a disgrace to Islam 1 year ago

They are talking about constitution and law here and you are here talking jazz, come on! go and sit down and concentrate on your sweeping job.

• Shaolin 1 year ago

Did the Constitution made any provisions for the affected party to complain before article 97 is trigered?

• Charles Ghanaman 1 year ago

Please please dont return. Your statement and remarks are rubbish.

• Musa 1 year ago

U are very stupid to write this journal on the prevailing flimsy issue. Cant u read article 97 and comprehend????????? This daftness is so legendary.

• Akuffo Addo 1 year ago

@stephen donkor, to sum it up for you, the speaker doesn't work for both the ndc and npp but as a neutral officiant in parliament and the head of one of the three arms of government.
    The president, the speaker and the chief ...

• Keame 1 year ago

Bagbin the speaker could have solved the problem simply by giving the MP's whose seat had been declared vacant a hearing, he should have asked the this question "Are you still a member of the NPP? Are you representing your co ...

• Bunnaye Alan 1 year ago

Badgin is ordained to go to the history of Ghana as the most useless, clueless and corrupt speaker in the annals of Ghana politics. He had the opportunity to set himself as a man of honour but partisan politics has eaten up a ...

• Shaolin 1 year ago

Just like your parents and your bastard self

• BugaBuga 1 year ago

You call this stupidity bravery? Bagbin will forever regret this seeming confused decision. Thaddeus is a very good lawyer and he’s only doing his job. However, he must be careful of the jaundiced and devious decisions and ...

• Saul 1 year ago

The price of wanting to be too democratic. An ndc man had no business being a speaker in a country governed by an npp with npp as majority in parliament but Akuffo Addo and co wanted to prove that Ghana is the most democrati ...

• The NDC dying speaker is clutching at the last straw 1 year ago

When you vote an arrogant village man as a speaker this is what you get. When Adjoa Safo stayed away from parliament close to two years were you in Dubai treating yourself? Why was she left off the hook when she was teasing G ...

• Opoku Nana 1 year ago

Let answer did adjoa safe apply to go independent? Candidate? Where attend school is your teacher still alive? Ignorant

• Okatakyie 1 year ago

An exercise in futility. The SC shall constitute a panel of 7 judges including the original 5 who gave the unanimous decision and this 5 will not change their verdicts so assuming the additional 2 have alternative conclusions ...

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

@Okatakyie.......Your submission would be up for consideration were this government anything close to having a shred of integrity. They don't and every move and decision they have made is tactically partisan to please a small ...

• Adan 1 year ago

Yes, we are all thinking as much. But as they do so it will inform us how to vote. it will reaffirm what the opposition has been trumpeting all along.
    NPP should know that whatever they force these courts to do, is a campaig ...

• TRUMU TRUMU AKUFFO ADDO 1 year ago

NPP SUPREME COURT. KUFFOUR WARNED GHANAIANS ABOUT AKUFFO ADDO. THERE WILL BE CHAOS AND TENSIONS UNDER AKUFFO ADDO PRESIDENCY. IT HAS COME TRUE

• TRUMU TRUMU AKUFFO ADDO 1 year ago

OKATEKYIE KOTEBOTO: EATING ANTELOPE TOILET SOUP HAS DESTROYED YOUR BRAINS. AKUFFO ADDO WILL ALSO GO DOWN AS THE MOST USELESS NON PERFORMING CORRUPTION CLEARING PRESIDENT EVER IN THE HISTORY OF GHANA

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 1 year ago

BAGBIN SHOULD ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS, AND EVEN HE ANSWER NO TO JUST ONE OF THEM HE SHOULD BE IMPEACHED IMMEDIATELY.

1. Did the NPP petition Speaker Bagbin to declare those seats vacant? If the NPP didn’t petition Alan ...

• Nene 1 year ago

Total Nonsense and very ignorant. Did the constitution says a party should petition the speaker before declaring a seat vacant? You need to read before spewing such nonsense. You are the type of student that writes nonsense a ...

• Kofi Adu 1 year ago

Nene do those Mps whose seats have been declared vacant go home or stay in parliament,?No that those Mps are in parliament now as Mps on the tickets of Npp and Ndc parties. They were elected to parliament by their constituent ...

• PAPA KUMASI 1 year ago

WELCOME TO SALL AND ASSIN NORTH. MR.

You are everywhere repeating these silly thoughts, thinking you are posed the most intelligent questions ever. What does Article 97 of the Constitution say about vacating seats in parliament? Your questions are immaterial and ...

• Citi 1 year ago

Let's brainstorm here. My brother whether npp write or not write we the npp are totally wrong and has no case. Speaker is more than 100% right. How on earth Afenyo Markins could've write to Speaker that he wants to be a mino ...

• Klutse 1 year ago

Thank you for being honest

• Kofi Adams 1 year ago

From Supreme Court where do you go, Mr Bagbin? Respect the institutions and stop the nonsense. When the Supreme Court declared Mahama winner to become President, Akuffo Addo accepted the verdict, why can't you follow Akuf ...

Akufo Addo debased the SC by appointing an NPP parliamentary candidate to the Bench. Incidentally, this same appointee was one of the 5 judges who stayed the speaker's ruling. Indeed, all 5 judges were appointed by Akufo Addo ...

• Good one there speaker 1 year ago

Good one there for justice to prevail in Ghana. Those Akuffo government judges will leave to regret in their dubious judgment.

• Kwaku Asamoa 1 year ago

If he is filling for an order to set aside the ruling, why did he refuse to be served? And can this character called Bagbin cite anybody for contempt of Parliament? We have so many fools occupying important positions in Ghana ...

• Asantehene 1 year ago

NPP is full of dumbs like you, no wonder when you people hear anything free you fall for whether good or bad, there are two separate issues here here. One ,bagbin is setting aside the injunction placed on him and Parliament, ...

• Sycamore 1 year ago

You don't even know the difference between FILING and FILLING yet wants to question the venerable seasoned speaker. Any 100 fools you meet on the streets 99 are npp.

• Joe 1 year ago

kwaku Asamoa, Do you read or listen at all, or you do but just don’t understand? Take your time to read about the standing orders of parliament and you will not say again that he refused to be served. Most Ghanaians can onl ...

• James 1 year ago

Better caption than he rejected the ruling. He must go to court and argue his case out. This is democracy

• Kobie 1 year ago

A criminal character as a speaker, what do you expect ?

• Kwame Peter 1 year ago

ASK Bagbin has already sealed his fate as the most incompetent Speaker of all time.He dug the hole himself and he will continue to sink in it,even his NDC cannot save him.

• Kobie 1 year ago

A criminal character as a speaker, what do you expect ? All this is a rehearsal done at NDC party headquarters

• Asantehene 1 year ago

Well done RT HNR speaker of Parliament, that NPP women organiser sitting at the SC must not have her way

• Russian best hacker good Link him up best hacker 1 year ago

: Bank wire transfer to all countries

Bank f ...

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

Speaker Bagbin is 100% right to challenge the Suprême Court if they go wrong.Even King Solomon made some terrible mistakes so judges are not angels from heaven.
    According to the Constitution, Speaker and MPs enjoy immunity ...

• Defilement king bag bin a disgrace to the speaker seat 1 year ago

Instead of being impartial this loose sex cannon chopping his wife's sister is exhibiting crass disgrace

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

Chief justice should respect the Law as it is written in the Constitution.
    Now, what is the use of Article 97 in the Constitution ?
    What is the use of Article 117 in the Constitution ?
    Let the Suprême Court tell us which ...

• Star from the North 1 year ago

The Supreme Court cannot coerce Bagbin into accepting their bogus ruling to please that bastard afenyo markins. I’m glad the USA is placing restrictions on potential Ghanaian’s who will want to cause trouble in this year ...

• Kayla 1 year ago

Stupidly on display…..why didn’t Bagbin send the case to his own Supreme Court? Those you are fighting against are the judges who are going to sit on the case.

• Excellent Speaker, Kudos 1 year ago

Thank you Mr Speaker.

• Enyo 1 year ago

Look at this comic of speaker!! You have not adhered to the SC decision and yet files an application to have it set aside? What exactly are asking the SC to set aside? Just try to implement your ruling and contempt will hit b ...

• The Truth 1 year ago

Supreme court in recent times has allowed itself to be manipulated by this useless Akufo Addo led NPP government making the court to become politically affiliated to NPP. Over 90% of Ghanaians has lost trust in the highest co ...

• Kilogram 1 year ago

So, the Supreme Court can be challenged! I didn't know this.

• William 1 year ago

Yes , I said on this platform. More than a week ago that the little fella had legal advice on where he was going with this exercise...The NDC
    Leader in the house, had discussed with the speaker long ago ,about the issue o ...

• Enam 1 year ago

You have disappointed me Mr speaker!

• The Truth 1 year ago

RE: Those bogus questions to the speaker on the comment section. NPP is really funny. Majority of them think they are even more knowledge than God. Mean while majority of them knowledge is even lower than that of a day old ba ...

• Musa 1 year ago

The man has the balls the sizes of a watermelon. When u lion chooses to visit the market place it will be treated as a puppy. The SC is just trying to keep the MPs in parliament at all cost even though the law doesnt say so. ...

• Ghana Needs Reset in Everything 1 year ago

You people do you know that from the Auditors report a whooping US 17 million was used to create 'Smart Offices' during the COVID-19 time but no such centres were created but the contractor was paid that amount. From Public A ...

• John K(This is a good test for the supreme court. They can liberate themselves or remain stooges) 1 year ago

I think this step by the speaker is a good test for the supreme court. They can choose this opportunity to liberate themselves from their paymasters or continue to remain stooges. The whole world is waiting to hear the law th ...

• Kwame nkrumah 1 year ago

Soon the courts will rule that 'Ghanaians' don't care!!

• SANTROFIE 1 year ago

ARREST THIS ASS HOLE NOW! HE IS NOT ABOVE THE LAW!

• Klutse 1 year ago

Educate your self lil bro

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 year ago

This unanimous 7:0 FC is doing politics instead of law and it interpretations - we must take a good of that to deal with them as political party card bearing members but not as judges .
    if you make foolish rulings and judge ...

• Abu 1 year ago

Stupid judges and leaders we have they have base everything partisan in their affairs ,so we keep sinking .

• Charles Ghanaman 1 year ago

Oh! this Chief Justice is a disgrace to the judiciary.

• Genevi 1 year ago

This idiot Speaker is being a horrible nuisance in Ghana. His lawyers are deceiving him and wasting our precious time and money.

• Gash 1 year ago

Parliament is a master of its own rules in the 3 arms of governance , Parliament formulate and pass laws and its full of lawyer . They should be able to resolve such issues by themselves running to the supreme Court always ...

• Nokware 1 year ago

I'm waiting for this ruling because decision taken is going to affect every political party in future. Npp can mark it on the wall if the ruling goes in their favor in future they should look forward to more MPs who lose the ...

• OSINOHENE 1 year ago

MR SPEAKER, TEACH THE UNANIMOUS SC THE LAW
    All they know is: 9-0, 7-0, 5-0 as directed.

• Kojo 1 year ago

Solid reasons from the Speaker and his lawyers

• OZYMANDIAS 1 year ago

The worst Speaker in Ghana’s history. Who made the mistake of swearing in this disaster of a northern free-education recipient? The person who swore this jackass into office has done an unpardonable mistake to Ghana. What a ...

• OLDTIMER 1 year ago

Speaker Bagbin is behaving like an anarchist who what to undermine our beautiful democracy. A wise leader wouldn’t have done what he did, let alone, challenged the supremacy of our 1992 constitution! His ego is going to be ...

• GHANA MUST BE ON SECURITY ALERT - ON EVERY NGO 1 year ago

Ghana must be on a serious security alert in every part of the country from today until the end of the first quarter 2025. Security in the sea, in the air and on the land borders must be doubled and beefed up. The Military Po ...

• Musa 1 year ago

in ur myopic mind. Nobody in this world has time for this failed state. The enemy of ghana is Akufo addo and family. A failed state has no attraction for any country.

• Koo 1 year ago

Is it not a disgrace that after the disastrous demonstration of incompetence of the supreme court, they still
    go their chambers and offices instead of resigning enmasse at least to cover the embarrassment to Ghana

• Emily 1 year ago

Mr Speaker is working with the constitution

• Klutse 1 year ago

Mr speaker is so right and the Supreme Court doesn’t have any right to interfere go and sleep

• Hannan 1 year ago

!!!!! Hot girls are waiting for you on ---- www.Nu21.eu