Courts can’t bar an MP from representing constituents for 15 months while defending representation in other cases – Azar

Read Comments Comments (98)

• Agya Yaw 1 year ago

Kwaku Azar give us a break

• Mary 1 year ago

TOILET SELF IS BETTER THAN AKUFFO ADDO, ADDO GYANTRA, ADDO BRONII, ADDO OKPO, ADDO AGYAPA, ADDO GUY GUY, ADDO 2FEET, ADDO TRUMU TRUMU, ADDO LAWYER DOO LITTLE

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 1 year ago

Inconsistently Inconsistent Easily Predictable Supreme Court Injustices

• Errortorial Commission of Ghana -EC 1 year ago

The UnanimousFC were doing pure politics, there are never interested in the rule of law. The take bribes and rule for their political party NPP. That is what the judiciary has been reduced too in Ghana, no justice!

• Blue Pen 1 year ago

NPP's Minister for National Security, Albert Kan Dapaah warned the Supreme court that the Mafia injustice is too much and too obvious and could lead to national security problems. But the Mafia Court led by the NPP women's or ...

• Dungeon Master 1 year ago

I shared this sentiment the other day and many felt uneasy: we were all shocked by the summary execution of judges during Rawlings' revolution in 1979.

Our current toxic political atmosphere, which reeks of corruption fro ...

• Kobby11_11 1 year ago

@Dungeon Master, the other day you made these silly statements, I just read it and made it slide. Let me give you one piece of advice, let any foolish adventurer try that stupidity that took place in 1983 in 2024 and onwards, ...

• Dungeon Master 1 year ago

@kobby11_11

On the bright side, what you wrote isn't a bad idea. If we all burn, won't it be better that way? At the moment, only the citizens are burning while our crooked overlords in parliament are enjoying.

• Jay NPP Fools 1 year ago

Sia.. what can you do? You think everything will look like a calm environment where younger ones respect the elderly right? Idiot..

• Kweku Tsin 1 year ago

This so-called US lawyer is an idiot. Forget about your beef with the speaker or the judiciary. An MP can be sanctioned, suspended, etc but the speaker cannot nullify the votes of the constituents that put the MPs in parliame ...

• P Djamgbe 1 year ago

Ghanaians must accept homosexuality..... I want to pound TRUMU!!!!

• Stephano 1 year ago

Look at a rat insulting a learned Prof whilst he has no professor in his entire family. A dirty rat!

• Kweku Tsin 1 year ago

He is God to YOU. But both YOU and HIM AIN'T SHIT IN MY BOOK. YOU, SORRY BASTARD.

• DeYoung 1 year ago

Ah, @Kweku Tsin, how can you be so stupid in your analysis?? You're here stupidly asking why the Speaker didn't remove Ajoa Safo. Hmmmm... now you see why I always compare you NPP morons with your bulubulu leader - Nana Akuff ...

• Kweku Tsin 1 year ago

Look at an idiot calling someone stupid, not aware of his own ignorance. Do you know what a rhetorical question is? I am not your teacher. Google it abua preko.

• Kweku Tsin 1 year ago

Also, i am a Ghanaian first. My soul is still intact, not sold to NPP, NDC, or CPP Corrupt politicians like you, who seem to have SOLD your conscience for the small goro that you get. GTFOH.

• Kwame King 1 year ago

Like the proverbial tortoise, Please, kindly tell the bird to stop its whispering, else one day we will find ourselves in danger. Our politicians are really playing with fire around the Ghanaian Youth and my word to them is ...

• Logorligi 1 year ago

It is so rare but heartwarming to hear sensible opinions from "educated" Ghanaians who by and large have lost their sense of reasoning. This Prof. Azar seems to be a shining exception. I must add that it seems that in this pa ...

• IN THE ERA OF NPP DIABOLICAL JUDICIARY 1 year ago

Fellow Ghanaians... this is to warn you, and to ask you to be careful about Ghana's dangerous & notorious “FEMININE MAFIA TRINITY.” It looks so shocking and bizarre to know that THE BIGGEST THIEVES & INCORRIGIBLE BANDITS ...

• Wo maame twe 1 year ago

But he refused to grant you opportunity to come and clean his wife toilet as a Labourer.

• REBECCA 1 year ago

That woman is disgraceful. how can a mother lies like kindergarten kids. we are calling for judiciary clean up now.

• Stephano 1 year ago

Why won't she tell lies to help her paymasters. That's a whole CJ goofing for the looted funds from the government. More than half of the dummy president's appointees are dumb and even more seriously very corrupt. A very corr ...

• Paul 1 year ago

Your forgot to add kortebotor to Anim! He's called Anim Korbebotor or the uncircumcised!

• Bright 1 year ago

@Yaw, what break,we have a Judiciary whose actions and inactions are no different from that of an armed robber; should we not complain. As for confidence in the Judiciary it has long since erroded.

• TWEAA DC 1 year ago

AZAR MEANS A LIAR...TWEAA.

• Paul 1 year ago

Where did he lie? Madman!

• Zagarolo 1 year ago

The reason why some of the NPP don't want to understand why Kennedy Agyeapongs father was burnt to ashes together with other high profile judges during Rawlings time.That woman is being used by the Ashanti's and the Akims unt ...

• Former dining hall prefect 1 year ago

Zagarolo, make use of free JSS. You can't even write proper English.

• Paul 1 year ago

But you understand what he's tried to say? Stupid fool!

• Joe 1 year ago

Torkono and her panel of unanimous are really becoming unbecoming

• Nzema K 1 year ago

Azar said it all. You placed all in the right context. Ghana is gradually becoming a laughing stock when it comes to justice . If the judiciary can do this to its own parliament, then how safe will be foreign investors.

• Paul 1 year ago

Very very bad! That's why Ghanaians must vote out this npp criminas otherwise this country is finished! Supreme Court so corrupt? Shocking! Oh Akuffo addo!

• Kweku Tsin 1 year ago

YOU DONT UNDERSTAND HOW GOVT. IS SUPPOSED TO WORK. THE JUDICIARY, PRESIDENCY, AND PARLIAMENT ARE CO-EQUAL BRANCHES OF GOVT WITH CHECKS AND BALANCES. THEY WERE NOT DESIGNED TO BE FRIENDS..... TOO MANY OPINIONATED IGNORANT PEOP ...

• TonyB 1 year ago

Double standard indeed

• JERRY BOSMAN 1 year ago

BAWUMIAR MUST GO TO GOOGLE AND LEARN WHAT IS SOCIAL INTERVENTION.
    WHAT ARE THE EXAMPLES OF SOCIAL INTERVENTION.
    HE SHOULD PROVE HIMSELF AS A PHD HOLDER.
    HOW CAN SOMEBODY WHO DOESN'T STAND THE CONCEPT SOCIAL INTERVENTION BE ...

• Yaw Nkansah 1 year ago

Former president Mahama needs to fo learn that and teach NDC members.

• Joe 1 year ago

Bawumia is very condescending! Likes to feel superior but has an empty head! Fake economist! Wicked my foot!

• JERRY BOSMAN 1 year ago

BAWUMIAR MUST GO TO GOOGLE AND LEARN WHAT IS SOCIAL INTERVENTION.
    WHAT ARE THE EXAMPLES OF SOCIAL INTERVENTION.
    HE SHOULD PROVE HIMSELF AS A PHD HOLDER.
    HOW CAN SOMEBODY WHO DOESN'T UNDERSTAND THE CONCEPT SOCIAL INTERVENTI ...

• A friend 1 year ago

My people are soooooo stupid all these so called lawyers not one iota of sense between them!

• Yaw Nkansah 1 year ago

Delay tactics for the plaintiff caused that to happen. Advise defending lawyers,especially on NDC side to stop that attitude. Ask great lawyer Tsatu Tsikata about how his team can delay cases in court.

• Nzema K 1 year ago

What do u mean by that.
    What happened to Gyekye Quaisons case after the bye election in Assin North...

• Yooo 1 year ago

Our Julorciary never learn to be Judicious. When the Chief justice becomes a thief justice what more could be expected.

The judiciary from time immemorial has not seen itself as a nation builder but destroyer.

In the ev ...

• Ray 1 year ago

They were brought in specifically to do this bidding of this corrupt old man. Hence, they've thrown their brains to the wind and deciding on cases as and when it suits the appointor. This is dangerous.

• OLDTIMER 1 year ago

Why are we giving this Apache cum Guy Accountant-Lawyer an ear. ??? He is grade C clover in legal matter in the USA. His ego is having the worst of him.

• Odjame 1 year ago

Speak to the substantive issues he raised and stop being stupid

• Sycamore 1 year ago

Piffle! Speak to the issue and stop the tomfoolery.

• Kweku 1 year ago

Grade C lawyer in the USA you call him. What grade will you give to your President? Grade w.

• BB 1 year ago

It does not negate the content of the issues he raised. This posture of the SC is a danger to all of us. When citizens loose confidence in our institutions most especially the judiciary. We should not wait to that point where ...

• Joe 1 year ago

Many npp supporter don't love this country! How can you coerce the judiciary to subvert the nation? It's very dangerous move and every patriotic Ghanaians mist condem it!

• Kwame Alhaji 1 year ago

You sound envious. Speak to the issues, if you have anything better than envy.

• Vapore 1 year ago

This man is always criticizing the Supreme Court like an emotional illiterate lay man. Where comes the inconsistency when rulings are made based on circumstances, evidence and the Law. The institution that qualified this man ...

• Joe 1 year ago

Stupid comment! Where did yiu school? Your school must bow it's head in shame!

• Marcus Adepaye 1 year ago

Azar, are you telling Ghanaians that the reasons that occasioned these two scenarios are the same??? Masa reason up a bit for the knowledge you have acquired is not meant to antagonise issues negatively but to be used sensibl ...

• Odjame 1 year ago

You are a fool. The underling fact is people had been deny representative in parliament which is against the constitution . Are some Ghanaians human than others ? I now understand what JJ did . Kwasiafor

• Pope Innocent 1 year ago

Please did SALL exist as a constituency during the 2020 elections ? Who was the MP that was elected by people of SALL and the court denied him/her opportunity to serve his/her people? Please don't compare two different circum ...

• Errortorial Commission of Ghana -EC 1 year ago

Stupid question! The NPP EC denied them the opportunity to vote and elect an MP but the so-called supleme court sat aloof for 4 years telling them stories such as go to the lower courts and after 3 years back and forth gala ...

• Slow 1 year ago

I said it and I will repeat again. Today it is the people of SALL that has been denied representation in parliament. Tomorrow, it may be a a whole region. Let no one complain when the table turn in that manner. Continue defen ...

• Nogokpo Energy 1 year ago

Do we even have Supreme Court any longer??? No we don't. What we have currently is npp headquarters annex, vexed to bullying the constitution and the good people of ghana for their selfish interests. May God save Ghana.

• Okatakyie 1 year ago

Opinion is free

• Bugbaba 1 year ago

Ghana courts are definitely turning into politics and political courts.

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

Prof.why are you running away from your own advocacy?
    You told us that Speaker has no right to declare a seat vacant in parliament.
    You said that only a court can declare a seat vacant in parliament.
    Today,the court has ri ...

• Jungler 1 year ago

Is this man not mixing apples and oranges? The cases are different.
    Again,ge forgets that the SC is bound by its previous decisions.
    And what's fairer than treating each case on it's own merit, instead of being bound by pre ...

• CommonSense 1 year ago

Come 2028, a lot of sitting MPS who may be embittered after losing their party primaries will go independent depending on the judgment in this case.
    Everyone knows which party will be most affected ... in case.

• Max 1 year ago

They are completely two different cases here Mr. Azar

• Justice 1 year ago

Brains at work!
    Are the Ghanaian “ lawyers “ listening???

• Bukyi 1 year ago

Go away
    You are too know

• HENRY, SPAIN 1 year ago

WHEN JERRY DISSOLVED PARLIAMENT AND SUSPENDED THE CONSTITUTION WHERE WERE YOU.? BUT THE COURTS WERE THERE. A CROOK. BOOKLONG FOR NOTHING.

• Ghana Ni3 1 year ago

Well said. Add the SALL and the hypocrisy of the NPP Supreme Court is left naked

• Hannan 1 year ago

~~ Welcome to the best sex dating site - www.Nu21.eu

• VAR 1 year ago

Unfortunately that's what we are confronted with.

• Athena- US 1 year ago

I have argued that our democracy is very vital that we can not trust it in the hands of a predictable Supreme Court headed by an npp women organizer.
    CJ Torkoono is doing politricks at the SC.

• Sammy 1 year ago

Unfortunately we live in a horrible mafia state so that will be our lot to live with

• Nuumo 1 year ago

Lack of principles

• Kaya 1 year ago

It’s disheartening to listen to CJ, the reasoning of their ruling. You wonder the logic behind those decisions. Prof Azar thanks for speaking up for many Ghanaians.

• AKUFFO ADDO IS SATAN. BAWUMIA SHAITAANIR RAJEEM 1 year ago

J.J.Rawlings showed the way to deal with corrupt judges.Now you know why

• Kofi 1 year ago

Shut up pocket lawyer....
    You don't even know what you are saying.

• How many judges end well? 1 year ago

Sometimes oscilating azar too but me like this. Let them behave like poltlcians; they have followers but how many judges have even stable families. The one who died "alone" is an abomination and was discovered only on the 7th ...

• Slim 1 year ago

That woman has her own agenda.

• Kofi Adu 1 year ago

If this guy is an American citizen I hope the American Secretary of state will recognize his interference in Ghana politics and deal with it. He's very dangerous to Ghana democracy.

• Paul 1 year ago

Stupid comment! Yiu think America is kumasi where even the death swims in corruption? You are very stupid!

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 1 year ago

The Thief Justice has lost it. Even a magistrate is respected and honored more than the Thief Justice. She is useless, senseless, shameless, reckless, gormless, lawless, corrupt, ignorant, divisive, arrogant, primitive and an ...

• Joe 1 year ago

and Condescending!

• Kweku 1 year ago

Fake democracy in Ghana. Nothing seems to be working in Ghana anymore

• Myopic thinking! 1 year ago

The current Supreme Court leadership is as unprincipled as the current NPP leadership. It is not surprising they flock together!

• Kay Man 1 year ago

The current leadership and judges at the SC are shameful , not well baked in the law and are fully pro NPP judges which isn't good for the country.

• Abugre 1 year ago

Someone should tell this my colleague accountant, I hope he is a professional accountant, that accounts is different from law!

• Joe 1 year ago

Stupid comment! There are many lawyers who are also accountants, and vice Versa! Talk sense, idiot!

• Dr Glausser 1 year ago

We just need the 3 rs coming of JJ..just to clean up the courts and sanity will surely prevail...like the SALL People dier they are animals right..? The courts have to be cleaned up dasaw..

• William 1 year ago

You are no longer relevant in our court processes
    Shout up

• Charles Ghanaman 1 year ago

What a shame.

• Virus 1 year ago

By their deeds we shall know them

• Kojois 1 year ago

Go and work at the Supreme Court and stop that ugly noise.

• De resqui 1 year ago

Say it again oooo

• Kwabena Mensah 1 year ago

These judges are all NPP members in disguise so no wonder with their decisions but there is time for everything.About 80 percent of Ghanaians don’t have any faith in our judiciary system today.As William Shakespeare said” ...

• KK 1 year ago

Ohhhh God of Justice where are you? We are calling on you. We know you dont sleep nor slumber

• Victor A. Young 1 year ago

This joker who calls himself to be a lawyer is always out of control, trying to throw dust into people's eyes. Please get lost with your NDC stuff

• CRD 1 year ago

A are, you are on point

• Baluk 1 year ago

I now understand the reason behind some actions of Late Flt Lt JJ Rawlings. Ever since Akufo Addo takes over this country, all the Chief Justice under his administration behave as if the constitution is not their to guide the ...