Vacant Seats Controversy: No-show from Bagbin at Supreme Court

Read Comments Comments (89)

• Sammy 1 year ago

Bagbin is a big disgrace. He wants to destroy Ghana. He must respect the Supreme Court.
    He is power drunk. Holding Ndc are not smart

• KOFI 1 year ago

You are an idiot. Speaker Bagbin should not waste his time appearing before the goro boys and girls of Akuffo Addo who are squatting at the Ghana Supreme Court okay.

• Probably chilling in Dubai with tax payers money 1 year ago

This is the sick man we are spending millions of cedis treating him in Dubai. What a waste of money.

• Ghana Observer 1 year ago

There clearly is a collusion between Dame and Torkornoo. For every question Torkornoo asked, Dame had pages tagged with his answers. That is not coincidence. That is question and answers on display.

• Yaro 1 year ago

Kofi wo y3 Kwasia pee. Was not the same court system under the chief justice that set Ato Forson free ? Ndc people don’t know any shame.

• JACK TORONTO 1 year ago

Where were the supreme court judges when Mike Oqueye declared Hon. Asiamah's sest as vacant?

• Boss 1 year ago

Nobody took the matter to them and they don't act on heresy

• DotCom 1 year ago

Exactly. The case wasn’t properly filed and therefore the speaker didn’t need to appear. The attorney general should represent the legislature. The SC erred badly.

• Deen YENDI. 1 year ago

M T N should do do Ghanaians a favour by checking on the their chat an call of late the 3 group boys as we have seen in Japan case.

• Nana Abena 1 year ago

Yaro you are also very stupid paa is it not the Same speaker who declared npp the majority even though they had the same number as the ndc??

• Kofi Akwetey 1 year ago

NPP + 1 independent member = Majority caucus. The Speaker didn't declare them the majority. They were the majority caucus.

• NPP KNOWS NO SHAME 1 year ago

Because the SC did not have any evidence regarding Ato Forson in the first place, so it is rather NPP who knows no shame.

• Nat 1 year ago

It was an Appeal court that set the Ato Forson free. Not the Supreme Court

• UNCLE PEE 1 year ago

The court had no choice but to take a sharp U-Turn because the embarrassment was becoming legendary.

• AGBESI KWASI 1 year ago

It will be scandalous if the court rules in their favour.

• Sam 1 year ago

Thanks bro

• ....... 1 year ago

WHAT A SMAME ,PATRIOTISM IS OUR WAY TO DEVELOP. BAGBIN IS LOSING HIS REPUTATION BECAUSE OF NDC.

• Delight 1 year ago

You are right

• FIELD MARSHALL 1 year ago

PARLIAMENT DOESN'T TAKE ORDERS (INSTRUCTIONS) FROM THE SUPREME COURT...... SEPARATION OF POWERS,, IF YOU DONT KNOW,, GO AND READ

• James 1 year ago

Good!.,, they should sit and rule on their own case and implement the outcome of the ruling themselves. As for parliament it will focus on its standing orders. Assuming the whole Supreme Court judges go mad today, their irres ...

• Gyataba 1 year ago

You don't even understand the matter in issue. It's a constitutional case and for which a constitutional interpretation is required. Get that into your head. Everyone is subjected to the constitution and the only body mandat ...

• Unanimous FC VRS WE KNOW THE OUTCOME 1 year ago

Gyata fool. Which line needs interpretation

• Dannaa 1 year ago

So if it is interpretation and SC has the final say, what do they need the speaker for. They can go ahead and interpret it. If they choose to interpret wrongly just to satisfy Afeyo Marlins and NPP who are their children or c ...

• Ojah 1 year ago

The AG should be representing the legislature headed by the Speaker, not a faction of parliament as we are seeing. In fact, the AG is serving as a partner of the NPP CAUSUS and notes taker for the damn court.

• YAW 1 year ago

Sammy, do you expect the Lawyers of the Speaker and the AG to be contradicting each other as co-defendants? The case is crystal clear: Rule on the constitutionality of the stated articles of the Constitution, PERIOD.

• THE SUPREME COURT HAS NO POWER ON PALIAMENT AND IT AFFAIRS 1 year ago

PALIANMENT MAKE THEIR LAWS SEPERATE AND NOT SUPREME COURT ACTING LIKE MORONS. NPP BOUGHT ALL THE JUGDES TO MAKE THEM LOOK LIKE FOOLS. THE JUDGES BEEN PAID BY THE NPP GOVERNMENT TO ACT LIKE CHILDREN TO PLEASE THEIR NPP MASTERS ...

• Akufool Aduro 1 year ago

Bagbin has no time for unprincipled corrupt NPP Judges who are a disgrace to the womb that carried them. He is a man of integrity and would rather use his time on useful things. Every right-thinking person knows that the judg ...

• Liarmia Nat 1 year ago

We all know that the SC will rule to please Akufo-Addo. They've thrown their Bibles and Korans away and become pleasers of Akufo-Addo. THEY DON'T FEAR GOD. Hence they disregard justice, fairness and honesty. Ironically, the C ...

• Ananse 1 year ago

You’re the disgraceful person.

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 1 year ago

As it has been said that "you don't have to argue with fools else people will not know the deference". Thumbs up for Mr. Speaker

• When will supreme court put judgement on LGBTQ+? 1 year ago

The Supreme Court has already toured on a path of biases so why the a need for Bagbin's representation? How long has the issue of LGBTQ+ been with the Supreme Court and they have not found time to sit on it?

• NDC KOMFO 1 year ago

TO NIGHT. DONT SLEEP SO YOU CAN LISTENNING TO. OFUM

• Miagy Soft 1 year ago

But the attorney general godfred damey is supppsed to be his lawyer !! He was there why was godfred damey the attorney general on frolick of his own, yieee this boy

• Ray 1 year ago

If so be the case or the argument from the stammering and incoherent ag, how do you undo or reverse the benefits of such unconstitutional ruling? Was he sleeping or living in another planet to use the constitution to correct ...

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

The Chief Justice has already given her verdict long time ago so it's simply waste of time.Tnx.

• Cross roads 1 year ago

The supreme Court will shamelessly rule in favour of Afenyo Markin. Mark my words! They dare not rule otherwise. They will not be paid.

• Patriot 1 year ago

How can the Speaker claim on the one hand "I reapete, there's no Constitutional Crisis in the nation", and on the other hand fail to have his legal representatives appear before the Supreme Court, who are deciding on the Spea ...

• Joe Pike 1 year ago

Jon. Parliament was sued. Attorney general was sued. AG is supposed to defend parliament except AG and parliament font agree in this case plus thry were sued as different parties t the suit.
    Bagbin tried to hire a lawyer fo ...

• Citizen Kojo 1 year ago

This will be coup d'etat by Supreme Court....

No one needs to be a lawyer to understand article 97 of the constitution.

Speaker Bagbin doesn't need to defend this simple article as it's self explanatory and very simple ...

• Joko 1 year ago

Kwasea . If there was no need why then do different ppl ascribe different meaning to the provisions .

• Citizen Kojo 1 year ago

Young Man Jojo,

The NPP is ascribing different meaning because they don't want to be called minority. This requires no interpretation. The Formena MP has definitely joined NPP and that is why the NPP sponsored him to conte ...

• Gyae gyimie 1 year ago

Very shameless leader being bred by the quest to be corrupt and rich.
    Shame on you Dame.

• JERRY BOSMAN 1 year ago

THE COMEDY OF THE CENTURY.
    OF ALL THE WONDERS THAT I'VE SEEN AND HEARD,IT SEEMS TO ME THAT MAN SHOULD FEAR DEATH , NECESSARY END ,IT'LL COME WHEN IT COMES?
    FEARLESS GHANAIANS WILL EVER RESIST MISINTERPRETATION OF OUR THEIR ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

Gbagbin is displaying a perfect leadership skill
    May God grant him more wisdom.

• Sammy 1 year ago

Bagbin is a disgrace.

• Matey 1 year ago

For resisting oppressor's rule? Our anthem demands that from us. He is the number one citizen of our time.

• Zanlerigu Bakuri innocent 1 year ago

Why he waits his time appearing before unanimous f c in the supreme Court.NOTE parliament does not instructions from supreme Court .

• Errortorial Commission of Ghana -EC 1 year ago

I salute Mr. Speaker!

• MR BIG MOUTH 1 year ago

IT'S WILL HAPPEN TOMORROW. AND I WILL TOLD YOU SO. IT'S WILL BE ANOTHER BIGGEST JOKE OF THE WEEK

• Russian best hacker good Link him up best hacker 1 year ago

: Bank wire transfer to all countries

Bank f ...

• Alawa 1 year ago

Dis anyone read Animal Farm by George Orwell?

• Tony 1 year ago

It will be interesting to see the minority with their tails between their legs sheepishly returning to their designated minority seats. Hahaha.

• Nye bro 1 year ago

What can we expect from a speaker who is sick in that coconut head of his....

• Kweku FRIMPONG 1 year ago

The independence of our judiciary is at an all time low under this regime according to the Mo Ibrahim index with specifics on our judicial. Just Google it.
    The overarching hands of some members of the executive and some pow ...

• Truth 1 year ago

Upon all the numerous problems facing Ghana, these stupid and useless politicians are interested in Majority and Minority thing. The gyimie attitude in Ghana is becoming unbecoming.

• BAGBIN AN INTELLIGENT MAN 1 year ago

LET THE SUPREME COURT DO THE INTERPRETATION IT WILL COME BACK TO HAUNT THEM AFTER DECEMBER 7, IF YOU SOW THE WIND YOU WILL REAP THE WHIRLWIND.

• Ghana Money 1 year ago

Alban Bagbin would make the Supreme Court relevant by defending the suit.
    Afterall, Godfred Dame has given Ghanaians the interpretation already citing Mike Oquaye's ruling.

• Oyibo 1 year ago

Lawless lawmakers. Bagbin, it's understandable!

• JK 1 year ago

Hahaha, you will not get away with this

• Hannan 1 year ago

~~~~ Welcome to the best sex dating site -- www.Hot4.eu

• Clifford 1 year ago

AG and SC have lost their credibility

• Waste of time and energy 1 year ago

Infact while should Bagbin and his lawyer show up? Ghanaians know it is a completely WASTE OF TIME. This is because Ghanaians knows in advance what the outcome shall be. Why will one waste him time for the bullshit at the sur ...

• Myopic thinking 1 year ago

The CJ is on her way out!!!

• KofSam 1 year ago

When Mic Oquaye rulings in the Formena case benefited the NPP , that was a fair decision at that time but now that the current speaker is playing by the same rules that seem to go against the NPP , hell is breaking loose. Wha ...

• Duka daya 1 year ago

Those 4 idiots who are the root cause of this problem are relaxing. You people are not tackling that. The 4MPs by their greed and the two parties by their weak disciplinary procedures triggered this crisis. Don’t blame BAGB ...

• James 1 year ago

He wants people to respect him mean while he disrespect others.

• Tintempa 1 year ago

Prof rev. Mike you see your unconstitutional level the same people who urged you on have cheaply sacrificed you thrown you under the bus
    These akyems are smart they never do their dirty jobs they let fools execute them they ...

• Godfred 1 year ago

I’m praying NPP lose and the rule of law can work. We now see exactly what is wrong with Ghana’s society. The epitome of lawlessness and people who will say and do anything to get their way. Why did god give us people suc ...

• WHY SHOULD BAGBIN APPEAR BEFORE FOOLS 1 year ago

The Speaker is too big to appear before NPP empanelled idiots who have sold their conscience for pittance.

• ABREWA 1 year ago

The. Patapaa man. Use the law to remove his robe .

• ....... 1 year ago

What a SHSME Albin Bagbin,you are losing your reputation. We talk about winner take all and look at your behavior. PATRIOTISM IS OUR WAY TO DEVELOP GHANA. NOTHING GOOD COMES FROM NDC.

• Ed 1 year ago

You pple are just twisting the fact. You claim the attorney general is the one to represent him. He has left the case for you to what else do you want him to do.
    Banana republic. Human right lawyer pro max as president. Eve ...

• Nat 1 year ago

Lawyers for the speaker were not at the Supreme Court today. This is a slap in the face of the CJ and the enire Supreme Court. He says。' I know the outcome ' Damn you '

• Analyst 1 year ago

By now, the SC should know that, their verdict would have no immediate effect on parliament. Rather, it's the Speaker's ruling that would be holding in parliament for now. Even if the Speaker will regard the SC ruling, parlia ...

• TRUMU TRUMU AKUFFO ADDO 1 year ago

ODAME BODAMFO.

• Ye de owuo ka East Ham London 1 year ago

Bagbin's political meltdown! Can he even survive his fast approaching few dying days? Indeed, Bagbin is a humiliating shame and disgrace for the nation's young thriving democracy.

• Ke 1 year ago

If Bagbin will not appear before the SC why did he disagree in the first place. Before declaring the seats vacant and giving his backing to the minority as now having gained majority by quoting article 97, he alluded to his ...

• Akwasi 1 year ago

Bagbin can use his own money to procure lawyers. He has already being warn on procurement breaches if he goes ahead to hire a lawyer. What kind of double standard is this.

• James 1 year ago

Bagbin has become a disgrace and a disaster cos of partisan position he has taken.

• Mutar Mohammed 1 year ago

Who the cap fit's..........

• Slim 1 year ago

Somebody go and read the novel:

Master of the Game

By Sidney Sheldon

• Slim 1 year ago

This Bagbin guy is simply a hero

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

NDC will also boycott parliament until after general elections.
    Draw game.Tnx.

• Yaw 1 year ago

Bagbin lost it. I really don’t trust him anymore.

• GANYOBI 1 year ago

Just imagine.. You were mute then because it favored you and your party.. Hmmm

• Wiseman 1 year ago

You go explain tire. You didn't do anything about it when the Hon. Leader declared the Fomena seat empty. Actually it pleased your party and aligned well with your party internal constitution. Now that it doesn't favour you, ...

• Deen YENDI. 1 year ago

Mike ruling was unconstitutional then but why you guy didn't sent it to court. Or because it the national yourth organiser was the chief justice. AMIN Yaboah. Double standard.

• Victor Adjei 1 year ago

He knows the decisions already, so No need.
    7:0
    Against speaker.
    But Kama will visit shortly.

• BISA 1 year ago

THERE IS SOMETHING SERIOUSLY WRONG WITH THE SPEAKER?ITS EITHER HIS OLD WAYS OF THINKING OR HE MAY BE SICK?THE COUNTRY IS GOING DOWN IN TERMS OF ECONOMIC HARDSHIPS THE ONLY THING THIS SPEAKER IS DOING IS ABOUT VECANT SEAT INST ...