The value is the same
Jesus said "I am the Way, the Truth and the Life; no one comes to the Father except through me. The Kingdom of God is within your reach. Don't miss this opportunity. The alternative is everlasting punishment. Just accept Jesu ...
Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed available.0557430128 __~~#*••
Now's a good time to prepare 2025 earning plans, or get this as XMAS GIFT for that young man you ought to help. Once you understand the fact that you EARN from what you LEARN - you are 90% into financial freedom. Start the ne ...
KWAKU AZAR THE TALKATIVE. KASA POOLEY. WHY ALWAYS REDUCE SERIOUS MATTERS TO FUTILE ACADEMIC THRASH? CONTINUE WASTING PEOPLE’S TIME ON FRUITLESS NONSENSE. TWEAAAA DO YOU KNOW BETTER THAN A PRACTICING LAWYER IN GHANA? YOU ARE ...
Kwaku Azar has been spot on in this matter from day one by succinct legal analysis. It is not surprising that his position in this matter is in accordance with the position of the judgement of majority of the Supreme Court Ju ...
Dadekro you’ve not followed his trend if thought in other matters. What do you know? Stop pretending that you are some legal headmaster and repository of all legal knowledge. I made my comment based on several analysis he h ...
F off. What analysis? WHO ARE YOU? TSIKATA?
Kwaku Azar has over simplified the discussions by not factoring in what the parties' constitutions say. It was based on the NPP constitution that Prof Mike Ocquaye asked Hon Asiamah to vacate his seat. The parties' constituti ...
He does not need to consider or be bound by the partys' constitution, because the constitution of the nation is supreme over that of any party.
So with this explanation does it mean that the independent candidate who have decided to align with the Npp in this current parliament must vacate his seat since he has crossed carpet to do business and vote on the side of th ...
In Parliament, there are only 2 caucuses, the minority and the majority. A member of parliament is required to align with one of the sides for the purpose of contributing to decision making in the House. MP's from minority pa ...
Am not sure you have heard that Prof. Ocquaye's ruling was unconstitutional? A lawyer with all those who rushed to the supreme present in that house real time but say nothing so don't trumpet this as if it's unexpected. Ghana ...
Actually the AG argued in court that the ruling by Speaker Ocquaye was unconstitutional and this was not challenged by the court or the other party. In any case, the Supreme Court itself can rule today that a decision they ma ...
In 2020, the MP side in Parliament had a commanding majority. The Speaker of Parliament, Prof. Mike Aaron Oquay, was from the NPP side. The Speaker, backed by his party, ruled that an NPP MP who had declared his intention to ...
With all due respect, if the court's decision had been in favour of Speaker Bagbin and the NDC minority in Parliament, and Professor Asare's analysis had also been in line with the court's, would you have described the Profes ...
Nice analysis, but per a party's constitution whereby an incumebnt MP loses the primaries but refuses to accept the results and files to contest as independent in the next elections, "THEREBY AUTOMATICALLY LLOSES PPARTY MEMBE ...
First of all The constitution supersedes any legislation in Ghana . Secondly whatever a party constitution says is a matter for the party and that is not the concern of Article 97. The article in the constitution is to preven ...
The villager where did you go to school? And who was your English teacher? You’ve stated that in Asiamah’s case the party expelled him. And that the prerogative of NPP. Correct. However, Prof Ocquaye, the Speaker was wron ...
Even if you lose your party membership, you have not lost your right to represent the people who have voted for you to represent them in Parliament
Excellent analysis and explanation. Prof, many thanks.
Now every ruling by any speaker will be change at the supreme court so now the supreme court is the parliament annex chief justice get your self prepared now that you are the chief speaker
In a democracy, parliament makes laws and the Supreme Court interprets the laws. The reason is, for example, in the next say 100 years none of the sitting members in parliament will be alive to provide the rational behind any ...
That's if the challenge is coming from an NPP member. If is coming from an NDC member against NPP, he will not succeed.
Respectfully no. If a Speaker interprets and applied a constitutional provision wrongly, and an application is made to the Court for judicial review, then the Supreme Court to which the Constitution of Ghana has the given the ...
Ok, In the Party Blue and Party Green Illustration, Joining Party Green from Party Blue in Parliament, even though elected in party Blue to come to Parliament, means Vacation of seat, What about a person elected as an indepen ...
Independent can independently choose to caucus with any party but cannot claim to be a member of any party. Asiamah is seeking to return to parliament as NPP MP but has not done that in the current parliament.
Because the whole idea is to preserve the mandate the MP was given by the people who elected him. If I go to the polls to vote for an Independent because I dont want any of the two parties and their ideologies etc, my MP can ...
If the sitting Chief Justice was part of a panel that justified a similiar decision by the former Speaker Mike Oquaye, how then condemn this Speaker’s decision as wrong intepretation of the same?
When Ocquaye made that stupid ruling , nobody sent it to court . At the time , the NPP were satisfied because they thought they were punishing Asiamah. And the NDC was quiet because it did not really matter . The NPP had a st ...
Joko you are 1 million percent correct. That’s the right position. And THE SPEAKER AND DAFT NDC POLITICIANS DO NOT UNDERSTAND SUCH SIMPLE ENGLISH. WIASE Y3 YA PAA
Actually the Ocquaye decision was not challenged in court. However, even if the SC had endorsed it then, nothing stops the SC from departing from its own decision now!
I entreat/admnonish NDC followers to take time and read this piece,Ghana's Supreme Court is one of the best in the world with regard to professionalism,interpretation of the law and sound reasoning.It is sad,the ignorants,uni ...
Did you say our Supreme Court is one of the best in the world? Wow! Did you hear about the SALL case at that court? What about Domelevo’s case? I can go on and on
This whole thing is not clear, once an MP enters parliament, I don't know of any law or procedure that gives room to that MP to switch from one party to another. Even if an NPP MP publicly says he now belongs to NDC, which la ...
If an NPP MP decides to join the NDC in the house, is there any standing orders that will facilitate that? Even if that MP goes for NDC ID card,, is there any law that validates that switch in parliament?
The operation of the law forbids that . In Ghana’s first Parliament Awuni ( MP for Kusasi) left the Northern Ppls Party to join the CPP backbenchers because It was legal . By the end of 1958 many opposition MPs from the NLM ...
Azar is missing the point as well
This is absurdity of interpretation of the law in Article 97 by the justices. How do you vacate a seat if you don't occupy it now and turn it futuristic. which the mp is not guaranteed of winning in the future. Tms is common ...
I have just one simple question; when should Article 97 be implemented?
Could our Supreme Court judges cite just one scenario, where a parliamentarian should vacate his/her seat according to Ariitcle 97. If the Article is no ...
Roger,
Here is a scenario: Moore was elected to parliament on the ticket of party A. At the first sitting of parliament, MP Moore decides that the seat reserved for him on the A benches is uncomfortable. Moreover, he does n ...
Your analysis is not wholly correct. You should have used the same example and changed the timing of the information to the speaker to when the mp informs the speaker less than three months to next election .
There is no cav ...
You also don’t understand the article, it clearly states “wants to remain in the same parliament”
Am afraid you don’t say why you think I don’t understand the article. I was not referring to the article . My comment was in response to a comment by Mese Hmm.
In addition let us not think that those writing the articles or commenting are super humans with superior intelligence or better understanding of English language and of the best analytical reasoning. The more reason why we a ...
@ Mese Hmm, You state, rather insolently and demeaningly, that "In fact, in his haste to feel relevant a couple of weeks before the end of his undeserved leap to such high office, Bagbin failed to apply common sense to the pr ...
Akufo Ado ankasa ye criminal, Akufo Ado nnyer lawyer biaaaaa huuute!
Thank you, Prof, hopefully a president who cares about advancing Ghana's legal system will nominate you to the Bench, and rulings you present to the public will be characterize with this clarity for most to appreciate.
MASSA! STOP YOUR TECHNICALITIES AND GO TO THE POINT!PROF. BUSIA STATED IN TECH THAT IF A SCHOLAR TALKS,EVEN A LAYMAN ON THE STREET SHOULD UNDERSTAND! IF NOT HE ISN'T A SCHOLAR period!so dont wabble arroun
It means the independent MP cannot be part of the NPP caucus. Hence, there's no majority.
The independent member will ever be an independent member in the current session. However, he has the right to lease with any of the other parties during debates and voting in parliament. Te first such occasion was when the ...
the analysis from the renowned professor could lead to absurdity and lack of integrity on the part of the affected MP, conflicts etc. Can you imagine an NPP sitting MP has been seen trying to join NDC in the next or future pa ...
An NPP member who wants to stand for an election on the ticket of the NDC must go through the primaries. What is the minimum period of membership that qualifies one to go through the primaries?
Per current occurrences, it is clearly established that the Ghana constitution is above any political party constitution so the question is what does the Ghana constitution say about how to contest for MP. Now, the person can ...
The framers of the constitution wanted to preserve the mandate of the electorate. And to make Parliament stable .
If Kasoa ppl elect you as MP for party A , u can’t go to Parliament and work for party B.
Also if MPs are ...
In any such instance, the NPP hierarchy can trigger the removal of such misfit from their fold from the ward level, through the constituency to the parliamentary caucus. If the membership of such person is revoked throughout ...
Massa take your matter some where in southern america ok
What this ruling implies is that, I can enter Ghana’s parliament on the ticket of the NDC and immediately after, decide to quit the NDC party and join the NPP party and still remain in parliament as an NDC parliamentarian. ...
@BE INFORMED,
This is exactly what article 97 is making impossible. Immediately you decide to cross carpet in the current session, the NDC caucus in parliament will withdraw your whip status and alert the NDC headquarters, ...
I don’t subscribe to this analysis you are giving. If one decides to contest for another party does his membership subsist in another party on that day that he puts up posters? I believe the moment you decide to contest eit ...
I think you don’t appreciate the implications of the ruling by the SC properly.
@mese hmm
The reason for the ruling has not been given save for the fact that it is unconstitutional. So what you are doing is to advance a reason but am saying your reasoning is typical of all the people with either a strict legalisti ...
In actual fact am not discussing the ruling of the Supreme Court as to it being right or wrong. Am only asking you questions and stating facts based on your comment. That’s why I gave you the scenario so you can educate me ...
My comments are not directed at you @kwame.
It was rather a reaction to @mese hmm
When you have the half baked appointed as judges not on merit,this is what you get!
: Bank wire transfer to all countries
Bank f ...
by this ruling from SC an MP can sabotage his/her own party and still can't be punished by losing the seat. This judgement will negatively affect all political parties in future
Exactly, it is morally and and even in simple logical terms made to be very confusing , a rather very simple and clear matter. I promise you the flood gates of saboteurism has been so wide open, deep bribery and corruptio ...
Ghana needs to set up a new constitution base on union government,one Party winner take all is bad taste for our constitution.
An MP who vacates his seat by switching to another party is NOT barred from contesting in the bye election to fill that vacancy in his new robes.
The difficulty for the NPP is the " No bye election 90 days to a General Elec ...
I verhemently disagree with your (Kwaku Azar's) reasoning, lets take it one after the other, if the individual MPs in parliament had indicated that they don't want to be associated with a political party and an independent mp ...
Prof Azar your analysis makes so much sense.
Ghana is going through a democratic anarchy and a state of decay and denial
All this is the beginning of the bloody civil war that old chimpanzee mafia boss and his criminals organization wanted in Ghana, blood will run like a rivers in Ghana.
I think Kwaku Azar has brought some clarity to the discourse. However, the important question is who determines membership of a political party? It’s the Party. So how can the Constitution ignore it when by virtue of a Part ...
I understand that a Ghanaian footballer in the UK is being pursued by another Premiership team. Members of his family are delighted, because if he decides to join the team pursuing him, they will move to London.
Upon discu ...
: Bank wire transfer to all countries
Bank f ...
But, if two who joined later raise a concern that SC does not have juridiction how could they vote? On a matter that is not for the SC..?
~~~ Hot girls are waiting for you on - www.Hot4.eu
Prof. Azar, has the Fomena MP not changed his independent member affiliation to be a member of the NPP?
Supreme court’s verdict on this matter has really affirmed my constant impression of our judicial system. Lawyers and judges always find ways and means to massage the law to suit their desires. A typical example is what hap ...
Please per the explanation you offered and the examples made, does it mean the independent candidate that have agreed to does business with the Npp group or seat with the Npp group must vacate his seat since he has decided to ...