Lawyer sues Wesley Girls’ SHS for allegedly denying Muslim students right to practise their religion

Read Comments Comments (138)

• Always Ready 11 months ago

The Muslim students (girls) should have gone to Hamadia shs why are they in Wesley and can not abide by the rules of the school.

• True Ghanaian 11 months ago

Idiot! Wesley girls is a public school, funded by the tax payer

• FRANKIE 11 months ago

Until we take religion out of all our public institutions this conflict will continue. Religion is a private matter and should not be forced on anyone. For example, why should you ask me to pray before classes or meals or any ...

• Zionism is racism 11 months ago

Frankie, I tend to agree with in most instances. But in this case I prefer an unclusive secularism to the exclusive one. Better accept all religious practices and ensure that harmony prevails than exclude them

• Zionism is racism 11 months ago

Inclusive

• APEX AG.... 11 months ago

EUROPE FACTORY WORK JOBS..
    Companies and Factories in GERMANY and HOLLAND
    urgently need
    FACTORY WORKERS
    DRIVERS
    FORKLIFT OPERATORS
    for immediate employment.
    Travel expenses including Plane Tickets will be paid by ...

• Blue Pen 11 months ago

People must try and comply with the traditions and systems of the institutions and not try to dismantle the institutions to suit them. We all complied for the few years we were in those institutions. If you attended any such ...

• ST Ghfuo: OKRAKU AND OTO MUST GO, NOW!!!!!! 11 months ago

Fool. Times change. Today, the colonists from Christian Europe are gone. Maybe China will start building Buddhist schools jn Ghana for your stupid kids to attend n then we shall se up the Chinese trumu choppers will allow you ...

• Say No to Islam 11 months ago

1. Why don't you Muslims build anything good for yourselves, why can't you develop Muslim countries for others to come there. You can't, that's y you're always begging and crying to enter Christian countries, schools and othe ...

• Die Hard 11 months ago

I’m very sure you eat through your anus or else you wouldn’t have wasted all your time to type nonsense.. does Ghana belong to Christians alone? Fools like you are the problems of the country. The school in question isn ...

• Ron Dee 11 months ago

you have a point and also the hypocrisy of trying to prove that we are God fearing and allowing for even supposed men of God to "dictate" how to run governance meanwhile we as a people do not practice theocracy is a big issue ...

• BBB 11 months ago

What useless talk is this one? What has this got to do with men of God. Every idiot wakes up and think attacking men of God is the right thing to do. Your political leaders and your biological fathers are your problems and no ...

• EFO KOKU 11 months ago

GANDAM STYLE
    This is the style America adopted and now the result is having children who go about without conscience. They kill without showing any remorse. Respect for the elderly is absent. Ghana should be careful. Ghana ...

• Kk 11 months ago

Period

• Blue Pen 11 months ago

Thank you @Efo Koku. Right on point.

• Die Hard 11 months ago

Fool .. does it belong to a private citizen or the government? You wake up with your stinky mouth and type nonsense.

• Wwwe 11 months ago

Lol
    Not Ur pastors who told us GH is not for Muslims hnmn

• Blue Pen 11 months ago

@Frankie. Why do we pray at public functions? The fact that Ghana is a secular state does not make Ghana an atheist state.

Bringing up children in the fear of God is absolutely crucial. Go to the USA. They took the Bible ...

Well, go to private boarding school and you will see religion u think broni is stupid like you to throw away their religious culture?

• NAMELESS 11 months ago

You are rather the idiot. All Wesley schools are faith-based institutions established to propagate the Gospel. Going there is a choice, and anyone who chooses to go there must obey their rules. Why don't you condemn the sa ...

• Magma 11 months ago

Tell them

• Taami RE: Fifi Afriyie 11 months ago

You are a pathetic brainwashed clown. We must cleanse ourselves from all these so-called religions that promoted slavery, colonialism and many of the most heinous crimes against humanity in world history, from our educational ...

• Taami RE: Nameless 11 months ago

The above was rather meant for Nameless.

Wesley girls is a publicly funded high-school therefore they can not by law prevent Muslim students from practicing their religions. Ah even private ivy lg schools like Harvard, Yale etc have accommodations for Islamic studen ...

• Kofi 11 months ago

Let mahama try this and see the results
    Wesleyans will resist it with full force like tsunami

Keep your dirty hands away from Christian schools,Satan. Muslim teachers to teach what, sleeping with children?
    Gerrout of here. Make your own Islamic schools better if you can. Abdool no one is asking for or needs your taxe ...

• Wwwe 11 months ago

Not this same region that our pastors used to fight against BMW hmmmmmmm

Idiot. Any institution that is funded by taxpayers, public funds can not be a God unto themselves you hear. We are in 2024 stop putting people and religions in boxes. There are intelligent Muslim students from the central reg ...

• the Villager 11 months ago

In the name of freedom, amanfour mix a lot of issues. Applying to enter a faith-based institution is a choice. One cannot choose to attend such schools and insist on issues against the establishment. Imagine an SDA in a Metho ...

• Kweku Tsin 11 months ago

If its her choice why are you imposing your opinion on her. The girl may have loved the academics of the school but not the religion.

• Osei Manu 11 months ago

Foolish man, you will continue to die with your heart full of hate for Muslims. Is the school not a public one? Why is my fasting be a concern to the school? Stop this nonsense!

• NAMEFUL 11 months ago

Fool!! Wesley should have brought his land to Cape Coast then. U forget the land is for the traditional authorities who were not christian. For now, it is a publicly funded school.

@Nameless, its sad u dont realize that Wesley girl is a public school and funded by the tax payer. If it was private, no one will bother. Yes it was initially set up to educate and propagate the xtian faith. But since it beca ...

• Die Hard 11 months ago

Just point one Islamic institution that compels a non Muslim to convert before accepting them in the institution? Your hatred for Islam and Muslims has no effect on anything in the country. You will die with it and Islam will ...

1. Does Wesley Girls or any other Christian school force anyone to convert to Christianity as a condition to being accepted into the schools? You're talking nonsense that has nothing to do with the issue.

2.Islam grows by ...

• Magma 11 months ago

Massa. Will you allow a church service at an Islamic school? This is a Methodist school faith based organization school. The fact that government has taken charge does not mean it is not in the hands of the Methodist Church

Tax payer publicly funded school cannot be exclusively religious. They can only do so as a private school.

• Taami RE: Magma 11 months ago

My friend, how many God's are there in life? Weak-minded people like you allow various foreign religious organizations to divide your ranks, twist your minds and manipulate you to do their bidding to our disadvantage. For God ...

• Mensah 11 months ago

Sack dem from the skul

• MOSLEMS SHOULD STOP MANY WIVES AND BUILD SCHOOLS 11 months ago

@True Ghanaian, if it were a public school why is it named Wesley Girls? When the Wesleyans and of course the Christians were contributing to build Mission schools you moslems were using your money to marry four wives five ...

Long overdue. Sue them and let them govt ges pay. Foolish and primitive leaders in Gh. First they tried to deny education to a kid in dreadlocks. Meanwhile, foreigners with long hair are entertained. Foolish leaders. Wesley g ...

Hey Abdool. Let your imams take your zakat and build you schools of the calibre of Wesley Girls, if they can. They CANNOT. Who should build their school for you to bring your crazy imams to run.
    Very soon you'll ask to have ...

• Koji Mensah 11 months ago

Wesley Girls is NOT a government owned school. It's just a government assisted school.

• Kk 11 months ago

Fool the should be allowed to wash their asses and spitting around the campus during their fasting period, hypocrisy

• JUSTICE OSEI BOATENG 11 months ago

Wesley Girls is a Christian public school or mission school.It was built by Methodist church to teach Methodist way of life.The government found out that they are doing excellent job and the government decided to partner with ...

• Captain 11 months ago

For the fact that govt pays salaries of workers in the school doesn't make them owners of all these mission schools. The churches were running their own schools before government came in, in a form of some support. That has n ...

• Kanawu 11 months ago

You rather sounds like an idiot!
    If religion is so important to you then why don't you go to your islamic schools? Think deep

• Mo Ibrahim 11 months ago

You pig,swine!Are the Muslim schools not government assisted?You can't do anything right apart from pretending to be praying to your Allah.Meanwhile your lives doesn't show anything godly. No Christian school should allow any ...

• ABREWA 11 months ago

But was founded by the Wesley Mission and believes in its doctrines . They should send their girls to ADU or Saudi Arabia

• Farouk Suleman 11 months ago

They won't go, they are there on merits of hard work, they school authorities must abide by the constitution and their Christian values and not hypocrisy.

• Lion 11 months ago

When it comes to Islamic schools, non Muslims are supposed to abide by Islamic codes but do not want to do same when they find themselves in other faith based schools. Go to the Islamic girls school in Suhum and witness thing ...

• The school was built by Christians 11 months ago

Go to Islamic schools and country they do not allow Christians to practice their religion they can go burn the sea they should go to Islamic schools

Fool. Some ppl dont wash their hands before they eat. Why don't you do the same? You don't have common sense

• Akan Prophecies 11 months ago

THANK YOU " ALWAYS READY."
    YOU WILL ALWAYS FIND A MUSLIM MILITANT IN A DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC SEEKING RELIGIOUS EMMANCIPATION WHILE KEEPING THEMSELVES AND THEIR RELIGIOUS PRINCIPLES AWAY FROM A COSMOPOLITE SOCIETY. ISLAM IS ...

• SACK THOSE ZONGO IDIOTS FROM WEYGEYHEY 11 months ago

THEY KNEW IT WAS A CHRISTIAN INSTITUION AND THEY AGREED TO ATTEND SIGNING ON THE PROPETUS TO ABIDE BY THE RULES AND REGULATIONS, WHY THE U TURN? MOSLEMS SCHOOLS STRICTLY FORCE STUDENTS TO PRACTICE THEIR ISLAM AND DO ABLUSION ...

Toronto catholic school board admits all students irrespective of race, religion however every student must abide by school rules muslim students can be exempt from mass and other religious practices but Wesley girls and all ...

1. We are not in Toronto and we're not ignorant of the sinister nature of Islam like the Canadians. If you choose to attend or send your wards to Christian schools you must be willing to have them abide by Christian principle ...

• Yoo 11 months ago

Didn't the parents of the those student knew that Wesley Girls is a Christian Missionary school? Disturbances kwaaa adhere to their teaching otherwise there are some many muslim schools around the country. By the way, did you ...

Ignorant are you in Ghana? didn't the Christian missionary school know they are Muslims?
    Didn't they realize the any school established in Ghana could be attended by all Ghanaians?
    Are aware of computer placement?

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 11 months ago

Then let the government return the school to the missionaries.

• NAMELESS 11 months ago

You are a SUPERNATURAL FOOL. Computer placement does not select candidates who have not chosen particular schools and forced parents to send their children to schools that are faith-based. The computerised system places cand ...

• J.C.A 11 months ago

This are missions schools built by their own money and from the state. They can choose their Islamic schools to be free from religious instructions

• J.C.A 11 months ago

This are missions schools built by their own money and not from the state. They can choose their own Islamic schools

That's where u are wrong. They are public schools funded by our taxes.

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 11 months ago

It is rather the government who begged the missionaries to open the school up to other Ghanaians.

• Kk 11 months ago

You lie

• Apuuu 11 months ago

The whole Ghana has denied a Muslim President how much more students.

• Stitches 11 months ago

This is foolish case. Go to valley view and see. Go to Ghana - Lebanon Islamic secondary school and see. Every female student is supposed to waer the hijab. What about that? Nonsense.

This nonsense must stop, even in America and the west the home land Christianity,Islam prevailing just obey the constitution. Islam is unstoppable

• NAMELESS 11 months ago

What about the Islamic countries where there is no freedom for other religious practices. Libya, Qatar, Afghanistan, Morocco, etc are Islamic countries where Christians are being murdered everyday.

In Ghana, all non musli ...

• The Spear 2 weeks ago

Absolutely fallacious, Farouk! I mean, you're lying.

Which part of this big world are you living in? Go to the Middle-East; Egypt, Lebanon, Gaza, Iran...even Saudi Arabia, let alone Maghreb... they're converting to Christi ...

• Hollywood 11 months ago

Let those girls go to Islamic school simple.

• OZYMANDIAS 11 months ago

You should not have chosen the school for your child if you were not prepared to follow its rules and regulations. There are many Islamic schools in the country for you to have chosen for your child.

• Kenzack 11 months ago

This is what I've always wanted, for an ordinary citizen to test the laws of the country. We shouldn't debate on it on this platform. I was forced to go to church and observe Christian beliefs during my days in a prestigious ...

• Magma 11 months ago

This is a missionary school. Methodist. We have Ahmaadiya Senior High So they allow church service in there??

Interesting

• NAMELESS 11 months ago

Christians are not allowed to worship as Christians in any of the T.I Ahmadiya SHSs at Salaga, Kumasi and Gomoa Potsin, Islamic SHS in Koforidua, Ghana-Lebanon Islamic SHS in Accra, Islamic Girls SHS in Suhum, Sadique SHS in ...

Waaa look, and they're bold enough to do this in Ghana, a Christian majority country. That's who they are, be kind to them and they try to take advantage of you and even mistreat you. Demonic. Yet they're still crying to ente ...

• Mensah 11 months ago

If u want to practice ur religion go to a Muslim skul

• Kwabena Kwakye 11 months ago

Wesley is not runned with church funds, the church does not pay any teacher there it is the Government, hence why discriminate when the school is a public school. The ruling of the court will be similar to Marguey Vs. Achimo ...

• Mega 11 months ago

.....you are so bitter!!!

• Wiseup 11 months ago

Religion is the problem of Africa countries,Mostly Christians and Muslims,They introduced religion to separate us so that we fight each other.Is time we rude religion from our rule then peace and progress will prevail in our ...

• Northern Boy 11 months ago

If the school won't comply then they shouldn't receive public funds that belongs to all Ghanaians

• ABCD 11 months ago

The Methodist Church is very capable of running their schools without Government support

• GH8 11 months ago

@ Northern boy do you know the strenuous efforts these churches are making to get back their school? They want to get them back and run them on their own so please the issue of govt ceasing funding is certainly not a bother t ...

• Kk 11 months ago

Who said the church can’t run the schools. Even private schools are being run by individuals how much more a church. Stop this waste of time. Even if the court rules in their favor are you going to implement the it or draw ...

• Awudsum 11 months ago

We are in a very interesting times. Are we moslems mow crying foul for any help. No help will not come from anywhere. We are our own enemies and hate one another. How can we make progress. Wesley Girls senior high school even ...

• Arabs slaves are black Muslims.The evil Muslim party NDC is behind this 11 months ago

Most foolish people in the world are black Muslims. They still being serving their slave masters since.

• ABCD 11 months ago

The Constitution grants freedom of religion. Same Constitution also grants freedom of association. And all associations are governed by rules. Immediately you step into any association, their rules will prevail. Example, Akan ...

You are confused. At the core of this issue is private vs publicly FUNDED institutions. A mosque is privately funded and cannot be subjected to such rules. Privately funded schools can enjoy the same privilege of none interf ...

• ABCD 11 months ago

The issue is are Muslim girls admitted into Wesley Girls? The answer is Yes. So where is the discrimination here?

• Nice case 11 months ago

If the constitution allows freedom of religion, then go to our traditional durbar grounds near the palace and go and do Islamic prayers and see.

• talk true 11 months ago

Values and principles of real life should not be sacrificed for beliefs. believing in something or whatever is different from reality of life. education is a practicing reality. if Christianity does not conform with the schoo ...

• Bless 11 months ago

Damn it. Wesley Girls is a missionary school. Why should a Muslim raise concern about a Christian mission school? Can a Christian attend a Muslim school and attempt to practice his religion in school? The answer is a big NO.

• Prof 11 months ago

Wesley Girls is an old school, many Muslim students have passed through the school, why now. It's these same arguments they made to destroy most of the mission schools in name if being public schools. You wait for a mission t ...

• ABCD 11 months ago

The plan was to gradually Islamise Ghana by enrolling the Country into the Organisation of Islamic Cooperating Countries (OIC). But thank God, the agenda failed

• moses 11 months ago

The constitution of Ghana is above any religion; Westley Girls School authorities stopped forcing students to practice Christianity.

• Sarfo Bediako 11 months ago

They should dismissed the management of the school.

• Shingo 11 months ago

This a religious institution. Anyone who wants to attend it should be ready to adhere to their rules. If Today,am to attend an Islamic school,I have to know from day one that there are things I cannot do because of where am g ...

• Lawyer sues Wesley Girl. 11 months ago

When it's worship time you can go and pick them to the central mosque in Cape for them to pray. Stop going to schools that you are not welcomed. John Wesley was a Christian missionary who lived a legacy based on Christ. I bei ...

• Oyibo 11 months ago

Why this trouble? There are Islamic school and Methodist schools. If you are a Muslim why choose a Methodist school? Why are girls in Islamic schools wearing headgear? What is wrong with Muslims? Wherever they find themselves ...

• Jeopardy 11 months ago

I don't see a reason for sending this matter to court.
    I equally completely a parochial secondary school called Notre Dame seminary in Navrongo. I can tell you no Muslim student allowed practice his religion on campus. Once ...

• Osei Manu 11 months ago

If the Notre Dame school you are talking about is a private school, why should I force my child there? If it is a public school run by our taxes, you cannot use that colonial mentality in that school. It's time you begin to b ...

• Son of sons 11 months ago

This is my problems with Muslims. They will never allow other people to practice their religion, however they are the first to react when they are faced with this same problem.

• J.C.A 11 months ago

Those missions schools were built based on their religious principles. They use their own funds to build those schools before government decided to take charge. Well you hardly finds christians going to Islamic schools so if ...

• Edem 11 months ago

Tell Dem. We are bringing Pigs to the school farm. Bring pork to the dining hall and eats with ur kids. Now come and tell me the constitution says dis and dat. Come can me. We go take pork do shito for u kids on campus. Non6

• Can this happen in Pakistan. 11 months ago

Can A Christian Lawyer Sue an Islamic School in Pakistan.

• Wwwe 11 months ago

Please send this to our pastors they told us GH is not for Christians hmmm

• Gborlahn 11 months ago

I'm a Christian who wants nothing to do with Catholicism so I stay away from Catholic schools, including the Catholic university. I fellowship with Pentecost but wouldn't want to enrol at their University.

I'm getting fed ...

• One Mind 11 months ago

Honestly if the school was not good your kids and you the parent will not have chosen it.
    Please enough of you trying to change a schools foundation.
    the rules has made it a stalwart in educating the girl child.

• Divine 11 months ago

Right on there. Imagine what the reaction will be if a Christian decides to be.selling pork meat in one of the Muslim secondary schools or a traditionalists also gets up and takes a bottle of schnapps to school in the name of ...

• Nene 11 months ago

When you were given the prospectus. Why didn't you objected to the items on the paper or better still what your girl will be doing while she is in school. Please take your girl to a Muslim SHS.

• State Capture 11 months ago

Mustapha of Aboabo and Jawula championed hijab wearing, in classroom and state spobsored fasting during ramadan to cause confusion and sectarianism. Ask what is the result for Jawula and Mustapha if you want to introduce sect ...

• Hannan 11 months ago

!!!!!! Welcome to best sex dating site ~~ www.Hot4.eu

• Jah Cure 11 months ago

If the girls chose to go to Wesley Girls, they would have known it is a faith based school.However,if people do not have choice about which school they go to,then,there should be provision to cater for the needs of non Christ ...

• JUSTICE OSEI BOATENG 11 months ago

Wesley Girls High School is a Methodist mission school in Ghana,Islamic High School is a Muslim mission school in Ghana, T.I Ahamadiyya is an Ahamadiyya mission school in Ghana. These institution are operated by their bylaws ...

• Alawa 11 months ago

AntiChrist spirit on the loose in Ghana? Christian awake!! Pray and defeat this spirit by the power in the name of the Lord Jesus!!! Our Paracletus is with us, go forth.

• Ray 11 months ago

I am not a lawyer but I wonder how the court can order GES to develop guidelines. The court can rule that that it's unconstitutional but for developing guidelines by GES, that's solely the decision GES can take.

• Kk 11 months ago

Its a Methodist School you can't practice Islam there. Take them to an Islamic school simplicita.

• King Arthur 11 months ago

Those foolish muslims saying Wesley girls is funded by tax payers money ... I want to ask you one question... How much revenue is generated from that your poor dirty smelling zongo communities that you think you have every ri ...

Practice which religion? Is it the same desert cult of Arabia that calls for the killing of Christians and Jews. Is the abdool Osman bold enough to read surah 9:29-31 of the Quran and other murderous verses and hadiths in cou ...

• Adooo 11 months ago

who even told them (christians)their clapping and whistling might be benefitiary in the day of regretion ? Tweeee!

• Adooo 11 months ago

Woe on to them (christians)when their days of regression come.

• Kofi 11 months ago

This case is going nowhere. Wesley Girls is a faith-based school. If anyone cannot obey their rules, that person should not go there. Period.

• Adooo 11 months ago

When will christians and jews get Proper sense to think well about GOD ?

Do you know God yourself, and what is day of regression? Abdool stop trying nonsense. While our Lord Jesus Christ was doing miracles Muhammad, the false prophet you follow, was busy sleeping with little girls. Allow Muhammad ...

• Yaala 11 months ago

Next they will go to the Supreme Court and demand a mosque to built in the school. Next they will go to the Supreme Court to demand that everyone should convert to their religion. Then they will demand that our girls should ...

• BBB 11 months ago

This is a simple matter the school should stop giving admissions to Muslims period and immediately allow those in school now to take transfers to other schools or Islamic schools.

ISLAM VS WOMEN

SEX SLAVERY

Quran 4:24 Also ˹forbidden are˺ married women—except ˹female˺ captives in your possession.This is Allah’s commandment to you. Lawful to you are all beyond these—as long as you seek ...

• Kanawu 11 months ago

How funny these muslims fanatics behave!
    My son is in islamic shs at kumasi and he told me how their past assistant headmistress treated the Christian fellowship on campus. According to my son, the assistant headmistress eje ...

• Stoic 11 months ago

1. Ghana - Lebanon Islamic School is a private school, so they have every right to enforce Islamic practices there. Wesley Girls is public.
    2. Ghana by definition is a secular state not a Christian state so comparison to co ...

1. Wesley Girls like many of the prestigious senior high schools were founded by the church, not government. The fact that government along the way chose to align itself with the schools does not make them the property of gov ...

• Akora 11 months ago

I don't in the least hate Islam as a religion but it seems Muslims want to get away with everything the want. If you go to Islamic schools all girls there are required to cover their heads no matter your religion. My daughte ...

• ABREWA 11 months ago

Nonsense. Build your own female Islamic schools and stop wasting our ears.
    When you go to Rome , you do what the Romans do.
    Are these students the very first to be in this situation?
    We have always lived in peace with ...

• Dboyy 11 months ago

If you are a Muslim and you choose to attend a Christian School, pls and pls it’s your choice and you must keep mute about this. I don’t think I can wake up one day and say I’m taking my kid to a Muslim school and say b ...

1. Muslims are the biggest hypocrites in this world. They like to force their ideas and believes in everyone, including through murder. They love to steal what belong to others and then they turn around and play victim and sl ...

• Kwaam 2 weeks ago

Thank you Brother. We are aware this this cult. But Mohammwad instruct them to kill Jews and Christian's. Jesus said we should pray for them. Let's keep on praying for them until they know the truth of Jesus. Without this the ...

• Kwaam 2 weeks ago

Say BIG NO to Islam.
    It's a cult. Empty organisation not a religion.
    They always mingle with minority and impose their cult belief when they become majority.
    Ghana will continue to be a christian despite the constitution. ...

• Kwaam 2 weeks ago

Why didn't they send her to a moslem Shs? Or Islamic school? Instead of joining Christian's from your slavery doctrine and become son of God you keep on challenging us. Until you come to know the truth in Christianity, you wi ...