'More Ghanaian incompetence' – Prof. Steve Hanke blasts Mahama's plan to renegotiate IMF deal

Read Comments Comments (140)

• Nii Tse 1 year ago

How can renegotiating be incompetence? Shouldn't Hanke first wait to know what renegotiation terms will be put forward by the incoming government?

• John,Tema 1 year ago

Even if Mahama is given the opportunity to Renegotiate for thousand times the results will be the same. The 1st time Mahama went to IMF it was Otumfuo who took him there and they know how a poor leader he is.

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 1 year ago

allah is a sick rat. If you poison islamic children you will go straight to heaven.

• Rex 1 year ago

At least now the Npp will know that this Professor wasn't working for the NDC when he was criticizing their government because if their ineptness which led to a 54% inflation, as they stupidly suggested then that he was paid ...

• they say they say 1 year ago

Rex, if I was Mahama I'd employ this Steve Hanke, at least as a consultant. Where Ghana is now, we need serious, competent advisors both foreign and local in the govt and to get the country out of this quagmire

• Rex 1 year ago

It's very true, you are on point.

• Babbs 1 year ago

That's a good Idea and that's what Prof Steve Henke is looking for.

• Pelicles. 1 year ago

Look into the mirror and ask yourself if you are sensible at all. Do you think, and with what, your mind? What makes you think that you have a mind? You are very foolish indeed. Do you think governance is all about talking to ...

• Think wise 1 year ago

Ask him for me.

• GD 1 year ago

Good move

• Albert Otchere 11 months ago

Just the suggestion I should wish to give Mahama. At least it's become clear that this Prof isn't an NDC stooge who was bent on viciously undermining the Akufo Addo government. He calls a spade a spade. It'd do Mahama a world ...

• M.T 1 year ago

Again, you are speaking ignorance. Akufo-Ado is the only president in the 4th republic who manged a single digit inflation for three consecutive years. Kuffour, Rawlings, Atta-Mills did for 1 year. John Dramani couldn't achie ...

• Babbs 1 year ago

He can blame the mess NPP government has created.
    Don't tell me you don't know what the messes are.

• Myopic opportunists 1 year ago

I have poisoned 30. How many have you poisoned? Fucking coward

• Dr. Mash 12 months ago

May the Almighty Allah forgive and guide you.Ameen

• Dr. Mash 12 months ago

May Allah forgive and guide you onto the straight and right path. Ameen

• Abdul-Rashid 11 months ago

Why the hatred for muslims ? That Allah you're saying is a sick rat is not a human being like you without morals and home training. If prophet mohammed is a sick dog to you, he's a billion times better than you and your grea ...

• Metw3 kankaen 1 year ago

And when these IMF and external creditors refused to give loans to nana addo otumfuor couldn't lead him or facilitate it for the npp? You see how stupid and retarded you're exhibiting?

• Sam 1 year ago

So many idiots in Gh and you are indeed one. What a foolish comment is that?

• John 1 year ago

Gyimifo now Otumfuo is now economics

You're only good in talking shit. Who's otumfuo in economic affairs. What's his influence in imf structure. You mo'fuckers are only good at stealing, diverting attention to your tribe men

• Babbs 1 year ago

Are you still sleeping? Please wake up.

• Babbs 1 year ago

Please wake up from your sleep

• Ibrahim fusssni 12 months ago

After your we have the Men denied for to IMF, what happened later.

• Wonitwaasedi 11 months ago

Otwebede3
    Where was ur otumfo nyame today? XD

• Obuor 1 year ago

R u not the same person who applauded for the prof.
    The table is gradually moving right?
    Hmmmm

• Sethoo 1 year ago

Don't ever put your trust in Americans they don't have permanent friends.It will be too late for NDC Followers to realise this.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 year ago

This Prof Henke is a fraud and just an opportunist. If he is a real Prof, he should let Ghanaians see two of the latest books he has written. He is a jerk and a goddamn foolish bastard. When he was doing same to Akuffo Addo, ...

• Blackberry 1 year ago

Whether being fake or fraud, man think twice of his statements..

I don’t think I need to even think about his statement. He did the same to Akuffo Addo and the NPP and so many NDC people were happy and hailing him as very observant and knowledgeable. He is not. I don’t think Ghanaians ...

• Abigi 1 year ago

A lot of sound and fury signifying absolutely qnothing

• Bamba 1 year ago

Thank you for the write up, well said!

• Sam 1 year ago

What is wrong about renegotiating? Do you know the details? So how can you just assume that is incompetence. In any case that is for we Ghanaians to judge not an ignorant American.

• ST Ghfuo: OKRAKU AND OTO MUST GO, NOW!!!!!! 1 year ago

Otumfuo is not an economist so why did Mahama go to imf with him? Maybe he Mahama shoukd consult this prof Hanke or Go to imf with him. Also, Hanke should tell us why he thinks renegotiate the existing loan is negative and in ...

• Obuor 1 year ago

@st
    Is the blackman not capable of thinking?
    Why Hanke?' Lets fix our own problem
    This prof can help us

Don’t worry because Prof. Henke is an excellent and an accomplished fool who thinks he can blind all Ghanaians by throwing dust into our eyes with his awkward, stupid, and silly publications. What a damn twerp.

• Mental charter 1 year ago

A good lawyer knows the law but great lawyer knows the judge...... IMF is not about economics rather people with influence

• Only NDC can 1 year ago

Exactly, what would this azaaa pro do if he were to be JDM? You can't just say things like that without offering alternatives. I will rather say he the pro is rather incompetent and inconsistent. No NDC applauded this guy wh ...

• Abigi 1 year ago

The long and short of it all is that the IMF is, like the NPP, a largely incompetent organization. Throughout its long shameful history, the IMF has NEVER significantly managed to raise any of its blighted nation-members out ...

You're right to a point in the sense that, imf is more or less a financial institution that offers loans to distressed countries. Traditionally their primary interest would be how to recupe their money by tieing the loan to a ...

• Abigi to they say they say 1 year ago

Your last sentence is spot on. Going forward, our govts should look at the possibility of engaging foreign high-end management companies/consultants to effectively stabilize and make productive, some of our top-notch institut ...

• KARMA IS A BITCH. 1 year ago

HAHAHA HA HA IS NDC NOW TURNING AWAY FROM PRPFESSOR HANKE? KARMA IS A BITCH.

• Sam 1 year ago

No Npp is now turning to him- like you. Hypocrisy

• Blackberry 1 year ago

Renegotiation terms? What the f*CK terms man! He said Resetting Ghana , let him do it .. there are a lot that NPP did that this Nigga must continue with it and change little things but he letting the world know that Akuffo Ad ...

• Sam 1 year ago

Hmmmm. I think the old white man man has nothing to do.

• M.T 1 year ago

What renegotiation terms? The man said he will renegotiate meanwhile there hasn't been any instance where he pointed out any current terms which are not realistic. He shouldn't be talking about renegotiation if he accused the ...

• Phill 1 year ago

Say it loud and clear again.

• THIS "PROF" KEEPS TURNING UP LIKE A BAD PENNY. HE SHOULD FOCUS ONADDRESSING THE GROSS WEALTH INEQUALITY IN HIS OWN COUNTRY FIRST. 1 year ago

Don't mind this useless "Prof".He would be better off helping his grandchildren by changing nappies. He should be addressing the gross wealth inequalitity ,widespread drug addiction and endemic poverty in sections of his own ...

• Abigi to THIS "PROF" KEEPS TURNING UP LIKE A BAD PENNY. HE SHOULD FOCUS ONADDRESSING THE GROSS WEALTH INEQUALITY IN HIS OWN COUNTRY FIRST. 1 year ago

Reading comments like yours tell me more and more that the NPP and its followers seem to be going down the despicable path of captive institutions and megalomaniacs like the Rev. Jim Jones and followers, Hitler and his Nazis ...

• I REALLY DON'T KNOW WHAT SPECIAL ATTRIBUTES MUMU GHANAIANS SEE IN MAHAMA. 12 months ago

THIS PROFESSOR HAS HIT THE NAIL RIGHT ON ITS HEAD.

AS MAHAMA ONCE SAID, "GHANAIANS HAVE VERY SHORT MEMORIES". MEMORIES OF THE ENDEMIC CORRUPTION, CRASS INCOMPETENCE AND DEPRIVATION ALL TOO PREVALENT IN MAHAMA'S PREVIOUS ND ...

• AN INCOMPETENT THIEVING PRESIDENT BANKRUPTS HIS CITIZENS, USES TAXPAYERS MONEY TO RETIRE ON EXPENSIVE ROP OF THE RANGE MERCEDES MAYBACH CAR AND LEXUS SUV, YET MUMU GHANAIANS SEE NOTHING WRONG WITH THAT? KWASIAFUOR KWA! 12 months ago

THAT'S THIEVING AKUFO-ADDO FOR YOU.

AT BANKRUPT GHANA TAXPAYERS EXPENSE, AKUFO-ADDO BOUGHT FOR HIMSELF SPANKING NEW EXPENSIVE MERCEDES MAYBACH CAR AND A LEXUS SUV TO RETIRE ON, AND MUMU GHANAIANS WATCH THIS NONSENSE PROFL ...

• Nana 1 year ago

The IMF Team are the same and will remain the same no amount of Renegotiation will change anything for Incompetent John Dramani Mahama. Ghanaians shd not think IMF don't know Mahama's Credibility and Waywardness.

• Bakayoko 1 year ago

I like the way you've been suffering and crying from your pains after suffering those beatings from the NDC. Masri saaaaaaa...........

• meee 1 year ago

Education, some people are making it look shambles

• Yaw 1 year ago

Skin pain

• Efo 1 year ago

Get over it...JM have won and no tags works including the “incompetent John Mahama”

• KMS 1 year ago

Let's wait and see hmmm.

• Yaw Amankwaah 1 year ago

@Nana,
    What about your useless Akufo-Addo? How did we end up in IMF after bragging to the whole world that we won't be going there today or tomorrow? That stupid government used $25m to solve a $9m problem. Ghanaians has rej ...

• Obuor 1 year ago

@ Yaw
    Very interesting submision based on ur political colour.
    We all witnessed Ghana out of IMF program under this very stupid govt.
    We saw wat happened to the whole world after , yet ur lenses r much different.
    Dont kn ...

• Invite Prof Steve Hanke opinion the way forward 1 year ago

President elect JDM arrogant of Nana Ado landed him where he is today no legacy. Kindly write to Prof Steve Hanke sick his advice. Ghanaians I tired suffering with imf back and front programs

Tell Henke to solve the problems of Uncle Sam first and leave Ghana alone. Did he not know that for the love that Biden has for USA, the country’s economy was almost shut down. What did that idiot Henke do to help Uncle Sam ...

• Michael 1 year ago

Is too early to start judging

• Ato 1 year ago

Steve Hanke, it us the right thing to do. You were sitting in your corner observing how Akuffo-Addo and his relatives were mismanaging the country.

The international bodies were just dishing out the money on request withou ...

• .com 1 year ago

The picture appears JM ,president elect ,is arrested by the Professor of economics for incompetency for opting for renegotiation of IMF loans. But forgetting his party team of economics as always as indirect negotiators . My ...

• Witful 1 year ago

We need to end this reliance on the IMF and chart a self reliant path.

• Edem 1 year ago

Unfortunately our greedy misleaders will never allow that to happen.

• Obuor 1 year ago

@ Witful
    How??????

• Incompetent Mahama is back. 1 year ago

Prepare for Economic Hardship. Don't say i did not warn you.

• Pilato 1 year ago

Steve Hanke, are you a Ghanaian or you love our country? Thank you for your affirmation. Mahama is just a coward man with no manly vision. He's absolutely incompetent.

• Mahama y3 Dumsor hene 1 year ago

Oyiwa.

• Fake promises is here. 1 year ago

Mahama is still incompetent, he cannot do us well. Negotiations with the IMF before his swears in. What an akokora tipa paaa nie.

• Bracket 1 year ago

Here we come again o, our so called upcoming president is negotiating with the IMF before he takes office. WTF. Hahaha

• Socrates Ewurafua 1 year ago

IMF already by Mahama, aaaaw, y3n ko te a mete. Mahama gyimi aaaah,? Hmmm, aaaaaaaky3.

• Mental charter 1 year ago

They don't have a program......

• Jojo 1 year ago

Says a prof who has been accused of spreading misinformation about the COVID-19 pandemic,[31][32][33] as well as the 2022 Russian invasion of Ukraine,[34][35] and was listed as a Russian propagandist by Ukraine's Center for ...

• Kofi Asare Bediako 1 year ago

Why don't we contact Nana Kwame Bediako to learn about his policy on IMF.
    True, Ghanaians rejected him and his policies and even labelled him as a SCAMMER, but he had really good things to say on his policies, especially on ...

• Donatus 1 year ago

What is his (Prof. Hanke) locust?

• Ekplor 1 year ago

Fake professor Hanke planted by nppigs. Go tell those who sent you that you didn't see us .Very ridiculous. NPP is finished.

Talk about Ghana but not party now. When he was always talking rubbish and nonsense about NPP and Akuffo Addo, who sent him? Some NDC people were stupidly hailing him as very knowledgeable. Why should NDC people cry now? Let ...

• Agbeli Kumordzi 1 year ago

IMF is like a vampire organization
    Is a common sense revolution now
    We have to take over the gold mines
    Refined the gold in Ghana to support our cedis
    Take over the cocoa production from Nestle and Hershey we can make ov ...

• Batuta 1 year ago

These apostles of reset want IMF, World Bank and the other Financial institutions to grant them fiscal space to appropriate the country's resources to meet their personal and political goals. They did not fight for power to i ...

• Joseph , retiree civil servant 1 year ago

The IMF and the World Bank, the two questionable institutions in the World. The World Bank for instance should rethink and value the kind of programmes that are forwarded to them by Ghana’s Ministry of Finance. Those projec ...

• Ghana lover 1 year ago

Don’t worry about us in Ghana we have survived and will survive for a long time .
    Maybe you can check somewhere else.

• Jim Jones 1 year ago

This is what Dr Nkruma is talking about,they will only give us political freedom but not economical freedom.This man is an opportunistic ,and an idiot,should we go to him to fix our economy for us! A stupid blatant white supr ...

• Ojooo! 1 year ago

I can hear this prof loud and clear. IMF doesn’t work!

• Odjame 1 year ago

What is his suggestion if renegotiation is incompetent ?

• Ishmael Yamson 1 year ago

I respect Steve. But I think he needs not rush to judge. Prof. must remember that during the East-Asian financial crisis, Malaysia was the only country that rejected the IMF prescriptions, and the world predicted doom for the ...

• Mahama y3 otetah fo) 1 year ago

Why should Mahama even start to think of going back to IMF but accused Akufo Addo of going to the IMF? "3tua wo yonko ho a 3tua dua mu, Abafan s3 wo y3 oni na bso na onim s3 ne to na wor s3 no" haha. He had been the presiden ...

• Mahama y3 otetah fo) 1 year ago

Why should Mahama even start to think of going back to IMF but accused Akufo Addo of going to the IMF? "3tua wo yonko ho a 3tua dua mu, Abafan s3 wo y3 oni na nso na onim s3 ne to na wor s3 no" haha. He hadn’t been the pres ...

• Agbweko Mensah 1 year ago

Mahama y3 things fall apart.

• Obuor 1 year ago

Do we hv a choice?
    Not that easy to walk to IMF and get a loan wai.
    Ppl should take it easy

• Agree 1 year ago

Well said Prof.

• Bryan 1 year ago

Yes!!! Steve is right!!! The priorities should be RADICAL ECONOMIC CHANGE in favour of IMF renegotiation!!!

• Obuor 1 year ago

@ Bryan
    Big brofo.radical economic change.
    Like how?

• Akos 1 year ago

Hank3s you are very stupid, you are rather incompetent

• Oyibo 1 year ago

Oyiwa!

• From the kettle to the furnace 1 year ago

Why you guys thought he was gonna speak for you after you come into power?
    Keep Daydreaming

• Montesquieu 1 year ago

Wicked white man!! Africans,and Ghana for that matter are where we are is because of people like you!! You always oppresses Black man progress in other control them together with some few wicked African leaders like Akuffo Ad ...

• Kenkey is 7ghs!!! 1 year ago

I thought hankes was an NDC paid footsoldier....now this eiii NPP !!! You can lie paaa!!!!

• Johannesburg 1 year ago

Kwasia white man. Why we mustn’t renegotiate. You white ur time is here n now.

• NY 1 year ago

Because the right people do not lead the negotiation with the international bodies that is why he can label us as such.

JM should elect the right people. Do not include any foreign person as a consultant. We can do it and ...

• Integrity 1 year ago

Every lunatic can be a Professor. How can renegotiation of a deal that his inputs weren't considered as incompetence? Some of us are disappointed in the IMF for forcing the current government to collapse local financial inst ...

• Rory 1 year ago

Go and mind your own fucking business!!
    Decrepit old fool.

Do you know the damage YOUR AMERICA has cause to African economies?

Why don't you research that. You idiot.

When this Prof started on Akufo Addo. The NDC was happy. But I said it clearly. This prof is on a mission to destroy Ghana. Open your eyes Ghana

• Haruna 1 year ago

When NDC talked about Ghana Reset, I thought they were coming to do away with the things of the past , including IMF. Therefore Mahama negotiating with IMF even before coming to power, means the NDc has nothing better to of ...

• ADD 1 year ago

In my opinion, this professor brings shame to Johns Hopkins. I wonder whether he is real.He never has a proposed solution to any problem!

• kulbogo 1 year ago

wat dis stupid hot pig man poking his noise on our africa affairs, such an idiot must talking abt africa affairs n to talk abt our belove country,

• Oklibone Accrar 1 year ago

When The wise refuse to vote wisely the fools will vote foolishly for incompetence to rule.

• Haruna 1 year ago

Yes you are right. NDC deceived Ghanaians.

• kulbogo 1 year ago

At harna in wat way has de ndc deceived ghanaians, has de ndc assume offfice yet, its too early for guys like u to start judging, i believed de destruction ur npp ll need alots of tym to correct tins, so we must give de incom ...

• Achakanapaya 1 year ago

This Man is a Junky.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 1 year ago

The post is from an imposter or a humbug character and not from Professor Steve Hanke. So, all should do well to disregard the caption above.

• Michael Gilbert Essien 1 year ago

What does this "Hankerchief man" want from Ghanain leaders?. He is always criticizing without making any suggestions. Where were him when Akufo-Addo went to the IMF to renegotiate as soon as they came to power. Criticism is a ...

Typical of academics always criticising without proffering real life solutions

• George Simpson 1 year ago

Prof Hanke has said in various lectures that the key to development for 3rd world countries is to commercialize agriculture, and obtain adequate trade surplus to underpin our fiscal expenditures. The NDC is wasting time seek ...

• Arabs Tagoe 1 year ago

In fact the NDC going to the IMF is a big disappointment for me. IMF is the reason why Ghanaians kicked the NDC out in 2016.

• Aboagye 1 year ago

John Mahama is a BIG JOKER

• Ayitey 1 year ago

A Market Economy Manifesto for Bulgaria
    Article
    Mar 2013SSRN Electronic Journal
    Steve H. Hanke
    Professor Hanke served as an adviser to Bulgarian President Petar Stoyanov, from 1997 to 2002. In 1997, Bulgaria adopted a Cur ...

• Hannan 1 year ago

!!!!!!!! Hot girls are waiting for you on ~~ www.Sexy24.mom

• Aboagye 1 year ago

The NDC has betrayed Ghanaians with another IMF program.
    I can see more hardship instead of the people’s betterment.
    This classic betrayal by Mahama.

• Citizen 1 year ago

Please Hanke or whatever you call yourself. Stop meddling because we have has enough of your nonsense. Let us think

• Louis 1 year ago

What is this nonsense? Has Hanke finished solving economic problems in his country? If he had any remedy to the wanton borrowing of the NPP government leading to this IMF saga, why didn't he offer it then? In this case, he is ...

• Susan, Tema 1 year ago

John Mahama is a Judas. The IMF will destroy Ghana more.
    Doesn’t he know this? or he is bereft of ideas.

• Bruhuber 1 year ago

Mark my words. The NDc will make Ghana worse.

• Linda 1 year ago

Will all the problems Ghana has, I was thinking that John Mahama would be cracking in the basement to figure out rescue pathways for our economy. Not knowing that he was spending time at his farm harvesting soya beans and cas ...

• Npp is highly corrupts 1 year ago

Swallow your pride,And promise , that your boboclaate hopelessly corrupts unpatiotic nepotic visionless Npp will dare not not set foot on our corridor of powering Country

• Steve hanke, shut up and mind your business. 1 year ago

Steve hanke should be extremely proud of President John Kwame Mahama Administration Envious Records of Economic Growth and Cedi Stability in Ghana , President John kwame Mahama Records of Our National Financial Management ...

• Kwabena Ohemeng, London 1 year ago

Is Prof Steve Hanke not aware that America owes over 36 trillion dollars and will soon go bankrupt? America is always printing dollars to keep its economy afloat.Prof Hanke should rather advice his home government about how ...

• naked virgin 1 year ago

Prof. Steve, I don't blame you waiiii. I blame our misleaders. If not for them, your nation would rather be begging us for loan.
    It is because our misleaders, who are corrupt beyond measure, sold Ghana to you people so you ...

• Ghanaman 1 year ago

John Mahama is still incompetent we know that he will destroy Ghana soon

• Time for African Economies to Away from IMF WORLD BANK CRIMINAL LENDINGS 1 year ago

Every idiot from Western Countries wants to lectures. Africans talk trashed, idiot like Socalled Prof Steve Hanke should take his hypocritical trashed to his American Government chronic debt hole. TIME HAS COME FOR A ...

• Pelicles. 1 year ago

Who and what is that Prof. Steve Hanke? Who is he that always nosing about our politics? If he is from the US, why can't help the US solve the homeless problem? A very rich nation like the US with such huge homeless problems ...

• Fireman 12 months ago

The whole st doesn't want Africa to progress. We will align with Russia very soon and you will be shocked. Bloody evil west and the IMF trap. Mahama, proceed with your instincts and don't listen to these fools.

• Mangana Yazo 12 months ago

Who is this American? What does he want? Or he was the Bawumia NPP Election Strategist? NPP should pay him off. Why is Ghanaian media giviing him such prominence. Comot him from there. Thinks Ghana is a colony?

• Nodi 12 months ago

Ei Incompetence again ?

• naked virgin 12 months ago

Prof. Steve, I don't blame you waiiii. I blame our misleaders. If not for them, your nation would rather be begging us for loan.
    It is because our misleaders, who are corrupt beyond measure, sold Ghana to you people so you ...

• Mangana Yazo 12 months ago

Who at all is this White man?
    A so called Prof. Steve Hanke? Anybody denied him kokonte with groundnut soup? Can someone show him his return flight path to his home country? It's getting irritating!!

• Hey 12 months ago

Hanke is protecting American Interest

• Ibrahim fusssni 12 months ago

Old Man stop disturbing our ears,leave Mahama alone We voted for him not you or your country.You don't know more than all Ghanaians.

• Koni 11 months ago

When this lunatic American professor was insulting Nana Addo you were all happy and praising him. Hmmmm