This is how much Donald Trump's closure of USAID would cost Ghana

Read Comments Comments (95)

• FRANKIE 10 months ago

This amount is nothing compared to what AKUFFO ADDO and his gang of thieves and hyenas and buccaneers and pirates stole every year from the national Kitty. With economic prudence and diligence we shall overcome this hurdle. T ...

• KOFI 10 months ago

Trump closing the money tap of USAID is costing Ghana nothing. Zilch.
    All those so called grants which are not grants should stop. The woman selling plantain and groundnuts at Adabraka is not enjoying a pesewa of that money ...

• Orion Consult 10 months ago

EUROPE FACTORY WORK JOBS..

Companies and Factories in GERMANY and HOLLAND
    urgently need
    FACTORY WORKERS
    DRIVERS
    FORKLIFT OPERATORS
    for immediate employment.
    Travel expenses including Plane Tickets will be paid b ...

• OKUJZETO ABLAKWA KRONFOUR 10 months ago

Why should the American taxpayer waste money on greedy Ghanaian civil servants and thieving politicians?

• Nana 10 months ago

It is a curse to be an Ayigbe like FRANKIE, Dotcom or Rex psychologically they always feel their enemies are the problem.They struggle to think as part of the nation

• Bright 10 months ago

I am interested

• Nigerian man 10 months ago

Ghana is a poor country and must try to get an honest rulership to Grow.

• Ghanani 10 months ago

Abacha alone stole half a billion dollars of Nigeria's money.Ghanaian leaders are more honest than that of Nigeria.

• Sir 10 months ago

Absolutely!Most of these monies end in the pockets of those working in the offices and doesn't get to those they are meant for.This is why the projects end without making any impact.What Ghana truly needs is to work on stoppi ...

• Kukua 10 months ago

These USAID monies make no impact...they are spent by implementers of the so called programs...what is 'accountability in education'...such a disgrace for a wealthy nation like Ghana to beg for aid while our wealth is squande ...

• Dr. Allen Smith Jackson, UK 10 months ago

This is good US tax money should not be spent on corrupt nations like Ghana, we have every essential resources here but we go around begging and disgracing our selves for coins

• OKUJZETO ABLAKWA KRONFOUR 10 months ago

Famous Ghanaian beggars lexicon: MEDAASE and NYAME NHYIRA WO.

• Kwame UK 10 months ago

Stopping of USAID is good for Ghana and so called beneficiary countries. USAID is not as was intend and we must applaud Prez Trump for his courageous action to scrap this wastage that is perpetuated for the benefit of a circ ...

• Bobby Stones 10 months ago

Good move from Trump, the US is not father Christmas or Satan claus, Ghana and order nations must learn to depend on themselves. Ghana can do it and so the rest of the world.

• AKUFO-ADDO'S AIM OF GHANA'S PRESIDENCY IS TO LOOT GHANA AND BE PEOTECTED BY THE INDEMNITY CLAUSE. KUFUOR AND MAHAMA GOT AWAY WITH THAT, SO WHY NOT AKUFO-ADDO, PERIOD. GHANA'S LEADERS AND ELDERS ARE HIGHLY CRIMINAL AND IRRESPONSIBLE. 10 months ago

WHAT FORENSIC AUDIT NONSENSE?!

DESPITE THE FRAUDULENT CONSTITUTIONAL INDEMNITY CLAUSE, EVERY GHANAIAN KNOWS AKUFO-ADDO STARTED THAT FRAUDULENT NATIONAL CATHEDRAL PEOJECT, ASSISTED BY ANOTHER FRAUDSTER OFORI-ATTA WHO AIDED ...

• Kwame UK 10 months ago

Bullshit. USAID to Ghana is peanuts compared to the visa fees Ghanaians pay annually. Apart from that, those Americans who run the program here in Ghana spend greater portion on their own welfare, extravagant accommodations ...

• MR F 10 months ago

GHANA MUST STOP BEGGING FOR AID. WE HAVE ALL WHAT IT TAKES TO STAND ON OUR OWN FEET AND EVEN GIVE OTHERS. WE NEED LEADERS WHO CAN LEAD, NOT LEADERS WITH 'DOGON TURANCHI' WHO BAFFLE THEIR CITIZENS WITH NEVER TO FULFILL PROMISE ...

• TAX-FREE QATAR SAUDI ARABIA THE UAE, BAHRAIN ETC DO NOT DEPEND ON WESTERN LARFESSE TO EUN THEIR ECONOMIES. GHANA LEADERS ARE FOOLS. THAT'S WHY THEY ALWAYS DEPEND ON LOANS AND OTHER WESTERN LARGESSE. 10 months ago

TRUMP'S POLICIES ARE A CLEAR DEMONSTRATION OF HIS RHETORIC THAT AFRICA IS A CONTINENT OF SHITHOLE LEADERS AND HE'S SPOT-ON.

WHILE TAX-FREE WEALTHY QATAR SAUDI ARABIA, THE UAE, BAHRAIN, ETC HAVE ONLY CRUDE OIL AND NATURAL ...

• MONEY-MAKING BUSINESS - ACQUIRE THIS SKILL 10 months ago

Something these politicians loot? CASH OUT today with this skill made easy to learn. SOWING & REAPING is an everlasting principle, so SOW into knowledge/skill, & REAP money in exchange. It is training that would give you an e ...

• SO, WHERE DO ALL THESE FREEBIES GO TO? INCLUDING GHANA'S TAX AND EXPORT REVENUES, WHERE DO ALL THOSE REVENUES GO TO? 10 months ago

GHANA'S SUCCESSIVE LEADERS ARE CRIMINALS THROUGH AND THROUGH.

WE SHALL REMAIN A POOR HOPELESS SHITHOLE THIRD-WORLD AFRICAN NATION TILL THY KINGDOM COME, WHILE GHANA'S USELESS LEADERS CONTINUE TO SCOOP EX-GRATIA EVERY 4 YEA ...

• Kojo 10 months ago

No problem. Let's take it that thus is the current government' COVID 19. Let then manage the situation.

• Kabila 10 months ago

Who cares if monkey decides to run diarrhea

• Kk 10 months ago

It should be canceled immediately,how many times has ghana used funds as directed

• Ct 10 months ago

Cancel all aid to ghana now and let these foolish so called african leaders to use their brains and resources

• Isaac 10 months ago

Go and seek for funds from Russia. lol

• Kwame 10 months ago

You fool, this is not a matter of seeking for funds from Russia. This is a heavenly opportunity to gradually wean ourselves from dependency.

• Isaac 10 months ago

@Kwame you mean A fool? Really? I don't know where you are but I pray that you and your descendants run mad and stroll in the streets if you don't retract your statement. Did you think you can insult any person unprovoked and ...

• Kwame 10 months ago

Any curse be upon you.

• Kwame 10 months ago

What has Russia got to do with this discussion. You are following the western Russophobic narrative and when you are corrected you resort to threatening with the supernatural.

• Kwame 10 months ago

All the same I am sorry for calling you a fool. Accept my heartfelt apology and let bygones be bygones.

• Nt 10 months ago

Uk and Europe should please follow suit we don’t any aid,these so called leaders steal more than that each year according to the auditor general

• Ghanani 10 months ago

Oh yes we shall go to Russia to seek funds.Russia and China are more reliable friends of Africa.They helped us to get rid of western colonialism and exploitation.

• Blak 10 months ago

You think Russia and china don’t have problems on their own to give ghana aid why do Ghanaians like begging like that it’s almost as if it’s in their dna to beg

• Medusa 10 months ago

"Donald Trump's closure of USAID" likely to become NDC's equivalent of "Russia-Ukrain war" in explaining our internal economic difficulties from 2025. Karma is really cold and impartial.

• Jj rawlings 10 months ago

We don’t need trumu-trumu aid,it was all scam by Ghanaian politicians,99% of the money was going to politicians pocket

• Kwame 10 months ago

If we re- align our expenditures we can surmount this adversity. Declare a moratorium on purchase of V8 vehicles and other unnecessary expenses.

• Floating voter,no nonsense from anyone 10 months ago

We don't want any excuses,and we don't care either,just deliver on your campaign promises, period

• Aaapaaa 10 months ago

Even JAICA and others should go. these are neocolonialist agencies, their absence will tell who a true african is.

• . 10 months ago

TRUMP PLS DONT GIVE US ANY AID IN GHANA, OUR LEADERS ARE JUST MISUSING THE FUNDS FOR THEIR PERSONAL GAINS, I LIKE THAT IDEA, PLS TRUMP DONT GIVE US, WICKED CRIMINAL LEADERS

• Close the US military base in Ghana 10 months ago

Upgrading Ghana's agriculture can help the country a lot. Close the US military base in Ghana.

• Boye/California 10 months ago

Very happy President Donald Trump cut the funds if Ghana over sixty years (60) we gets our freedom from the Colonial Masters and we can't take care of myself and Thank you President Trump let's Africa Leaders the Money that's ...

• Bad news 10 months ago

I swear to my mom in grave that you wish trump was your family

• Akufo Addo 10 months ago

Trump you are a very ugly polar monkey. What type of face be this? Sad the assassin missed his shot. Foolish man

• Charles Taylor 10 months ago

@Akufo Addo Bravo, this is one of the best comments i have read so far. Blacks/Latinos and Arabs must not support Trump. Those who do support him are unknowingly supporting a white supremacist that has no good intentions for ...

• Where is that Kofi Badu the twep 10 months ago

Ghana will not die because US aid not given. Simple.

• the Villager 10 months ago

Thank, Donald. At sixty-something Ghana is still a baby and orphan. Ghana must grow

• Peter 10 months ago

No need to panic the loser is the politician. No more travelling abroad. Burkina Faso, has shown the way and Ghana can do even better.
    Stop buying unnecessary things and only buy what we need. This is how the west made it an ...

• Akos 10 months ago

Trump should close the USAID down with immediate effect how can a country with all the blessing from God and our ancestors depend upon USAID for 137 million dollars this amount of money is someone earing money.

• Dr who 10 months ago

All aids to nations should have expiry date. African dependency on aid needs to be reset. This is a wake up call. Learn to stand on your own two feet.

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 10 months ago

, Bank wire transfer to all countries

Bank f ...

• Nigerian man 10 months ago

Government was sharing and spending those funds on slay queens.

• Pelicles. 10 months ago

Who cares if that amount is $1billion? If we cannot generate income to sustain programs, we have in Ghana but rely on donor nations, who are we then?

Some of think that going to school to learn how to speak "English" is th ...

• Thinly Veiled Codswallop 10 months ago

Nkwasiasem pro maxxx! Is Ghana now an American colony or what, nmoa?

• WHY THIS DECISION TO STOP USAID IS A VERY GOOD THING. IT COULD RESULT IN A MORE SELF-RELIANT AND PROSPEROUS AND FAR MORE DEVELOPED GHANA. 10 months ago

This decision by the erratic and unpredictable American President to stop USAID could turn out to be a great blessing for countries like Ghana. It would force us to evolve from the status of a beggar nation living on handouts ...

• Ghanaman 10 months ago

The politicians in Ghana are stealing the money

• world 10 months ago

this is mahama covid-19 he should solve it .

• Alidu 10 months ago

The world will now respect THE GREAT UNITED STATES OF AMERICAN. The police and the guardian of the world. May God bless AMERICAN, ISRAEL, ASHANTIS and GHANA asa whole

• Tall Moshi man with tribal marks 10 months ago

@ Alidu. When will you stop smoking the wee. We are in 2025. PleaseTry. Kwasea

• Kojo Opoku-London-UK 10 months ago

OPERATION FEED YOURSELF-Do you remember Gen I K Acheampong slogan. WAKE UP AFRICA. AFRICA UNITE-BOB MARLEY, UNITED STATES OF AFRICA-Dr Kwame Nkrumah. Africa is failing itself because the white man or woman would NOT do anythi ...

• TT 10 months ago

The amount of money they spend on the staff and logistics etc is far more than that.

• Kojo Yankee 10 months ago

It will cost Ghana their BEGGING RIGHTS, that’s all. Get up off your knees and control and work with your god given resources, stop kissing obroni ass for a ball of kenke!

• Justrac Africa Ltd 10 months ago

TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route by your phone etc. PRICE: GHS750. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info ...

• Kwame Ofori 10 months ago

It is the best thing that ever happened to Ghana. We should be truly independent not just say it !!!

• Ghanani 10 months ago

Trump the white supremacist,racist and a felon president can go to hell!! Ghana can exist woyhout America.

• Titus 10 months ago

Coat Ghana what ??? Complete nonsense. Ameroca doesn't owe us to give us any thing for free . Pure nonsense.

• Wise Man. 10 months ago

I find it good so that all this Countries would do things on their own and not get easy money to share into their account.

• Esi 10 months ago

I bet the bulk of the money goes into people's pockets.

Trump is teaching you to.be true independent.

It is time we extricate ourselves from the west.
    Kill all these churches and teach our culture with technology advan ...

• Low thinking Blacks stop crying and begging 10 months ago

Low thinking Blacks why always want to beggars . Stand and work to move up and stop crying for free food. Crazy blacks always want others to take care of them . Blacks main thinking is women , entertainment, laziness. What is ...

• Better close that useless entity. 10 months ago

Those monies are used to buy big cars and organizing of useless meetings. Nothing more.

• Kwam 10 months ago

For me H.E Donald Trump should go ahead and shut down some of these agencies. Why should the American tax payer be supporting us , when we do as a country is to loot , steal and misappropriate the monies donated to us. We sto ...

• Di tw3 10 months ago

Odwan Akuffo addo nti look at what they're doing to us

• Joy 10 months ago

Ghana is a very rich country and must not be affected by any operations of foreign countries. There is so much money in ghana but always in the hands of thieves. The monies made by customes officials on the aflao to Accra roa ...

• Kyinkyinaatwan 10 months ago

Heheheiiii Ghana government is shaking. Why shaking? Why MDs, CEOs, Managers, board members etc of SOEs(State Own Enterprises) receive juicy salaries and other benefits and at the end of the year, nothing but losses. SOEs ru ...

• Kodjo 10 months ago

Folks- We should learn to be self-sufficient. Depending on such funds has made us vulnerable.

• Pouv 10 months ago

Why should they fund you, when the money is going to buy V8s and fund Hajj? What would you do?

• Medusa 10 months ago

"Donald Trump's closure of USAID" could become the NDC's version of "Russia-Ukrain war" in explaining the reasons for the continuous ailing of the economy. I love karma.

• KofSam 10 months ago

Ghana is not the only country that is going to be impacted by the closure of USAID by proposed by Trump and this should not lead to a new tax imposed on Ghanaians. Africa has enough resources to be financially independent of ...

• Ghanani 10 months ago

Who are behind the chaos in Africa? Paul Kigame gets one billion dollars every year from the West to ensure that they get access to DRC resources. .His soldiers are being trained and armed by the West and they are invading th ...

• Londoner 10 months ago

Good, less money for Mahama and his thieves to create, loot and share.

• Sir Kuma 10 months ago

This should have happened during the ugly ape's days.He and his gang of Akyem mafia looted like there's no tomorrow.The bane of all of Ghana's challenges was the coming of Akuffu Addo and his looting brigade.

• Londoner 10 months ago

Let's see how many of the Akyem mafia your conman, Mahama, will put in jail. Some of you are so shallow-minded that your minds are toned by the likes of Ablakwa and Kevin Taylor. I feel so sorry for mother Ghana

• Agbeli Kumordzi 10 months ago

This is absolutely nonsense writing
    How xan any reasonable mam depends on America government aids to develop
    Go work and pay taxes to develop Africa
    Donald Trump father don't own Africa
    Africa needs to be free

• Hannan 10 months ago

!!!!! Welcome to the best adult dating site ->> www.Sexy24.mom

• Akora 10 months ago

USAID is mainly about *US interests* on foreign lands and those interests have never helped any developing country since John F. Kennedy established USAID by *executive order 10973* in 1961.

Besides, the Government of Ghan ...

• Kwamina 10 months ago

Oh my God. So beautifully written. Concrete facts and nothing but the facts regarding the misuse of our resources in Ghana. President Trump we thank you.

• George 10 months ago

This is a very good wake up call for African leaders who are always dependent on foreign aid. Thank you President Trump.

• MAKOLA no 2 MARKET! 10 months ago

GOOD JOB PRESIDENT DONALD TRUMP

CLOSE THE USAID DOWN!

• MAKOLA no 2 MARKET! 10 months ago

GOOD JOB PRESIDENT DONALD TRUMP

CLOSE THE USAID DOWN!

INCOMPETENT NDC SEE VISIONARY PRESIDENT AKUFFO ADDO TO LECTURE YOU ON HIS PROGRAM; GHANA BEYOND AID.....

PRESIDENT DONALD TRUMP EXCELLENT JOB

• Steve 10 months ago

Good job Trump. Most. of the money allocated for delivelopmet by USAID. Ends up in private pockets of the big guys...the citizens are charged for services which supposed to be free.. that money should be diverted to the ...

• Ghanani 10 months ago

Close the subversive American embassy and let us have our peace of mind.To hell with mad dog Trump. Ghana can live without American aid.

• Ghanani 10 months ago

Mad dog Trump can take his money.Ghana will continue to be Ghana. We prefer to live in poverty than to be America"s poodle.Trump aka Stormy Daniels is a racist,white supremacist.

• Slim 10 months ago

Great news, Donald.
    African leaders have been stealing these funds.

It's high time African leaders began to look within to solve their problems.

No Western nation can build Africa, stupid idiots!

• THE POLITIANS ALWAYS SHARE THE MONEY 10 months ago

It is good in the right direction to stop the USAID because the money goes to the pockets of the politicians not what its meant for.

• Ian 10 months ago

Very informative, who is the columnist? Pls let the writers have their names in the Articles somewhere. Thank you.

• Kofi 10 months ago

I think we should be very careful about these numbers. The USAID support were largely out of the budgetary process of Ghana and included their consultants and employees and the cost of running their operations. This provides ...