Illegal Mining: Ghana requires billions to reclaim, restore degraded lands - EPA

Read Comments Comments (10)

• BEN 9 months ago

PLEASE -USE OUR PRISON SERVICE AND THE MILITARY SERVICE TO RESTORE ALL THESE MESS- GHANA HAS NO MONEY TO OFFER HERE: WHY FEED PRISONNESS FOR NOTHING AND PAY MILITARY FOR NO WORK DONE

• CKA 9 months ago

This development partners thing will send NDC to opposition. First get earth moving machines to level this degraded lands, redirect rivers to their natural courses and pay the youth some reasonable monthly wages to plant tres ...

• Vanessa 9 months ago

@CKA all these activities you outlined...can we give you 1gh to complete it all???... Over sabi dey worry some of you.

• Ben Sackey 9 months ago

The Environmental department should have been merged with Lands and Natural Resources.This would have led to a coordinated approach.Small Scale Miners too should also pay reclamation honds

• Lion 9 months ago

I thought Mahama would act swiftly to protect our water and land from galamsey.

• Roadrunner 9 months ago

They made the mess,they can pay for the clean up........These scumbags who fucked the country ,would cop a 20% tax deduction into the value of the gold that they dig out of the ground.and sell to government ( trustworthy) em ...

• Kweku 9 months ago

Both NPP and NDC politicians are benefitting from illegal mining in Ghana and they will never stop it.Illegal mining is a new avenue for politicians to make money by destroying forest reserves farmlands and water bodies

• Bitter truth 9 months ago

Well said kweku..the fight against galamsey with this soft approach by both Npp and Ndc means they don’t have the will to do it..it will take another 50years when everything is destroyed in Ghana then Ghanaians will still b ...

• sad 9 months ago

You call yourself EPA yet you dont protect our enviroment. You watch for it to spoil and then come saying you need billions to get it back. Sorry for your failed asses been paid for no Job done

• Bitter truth 9 months ago

I can boldly stop this destruction of our land and water bodies by these Chinese in less than a year if am given the resources and power..it shouldn’t take any serious govt more than 3-6 months maximum to stop these illegal ...