Blakofe demands removal of all Chinese-inscribed signposts in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (107)

• Kankamea 1 week ago

This a good call. It's long overdue. How many Ghanaians understand Chinese language on a signpost?

• FRANKIE 1 week ago

21 gun salute for you madam! Even hivis vests worn by industrial and construction and road traffic workers have Chinese inscriptions at their backs. English is our national language and must remain as such until further notic ...

• DotCom 1 week ago

You just have to be angry at what is going on in the country. How can we allow foreigners control our country like that? Mahama must bring back our economic, social and political independence.

• P Djamgbe 1 week ago

My good buddies (all the guys above), I disagree with you on this. If the installation of those signposts is being paid for by the Chinese and they want them to be in their language why not?

• MUMU FOOT SOLDIERS 1 week ago

Then next time they pay our books we start reading Chinese in our schools?

• Adasaman 1 week ago

You are a bloody fool to go this way.

• Adasaman 1 week ago

My response was meant for P Djamgbe.

• YOU COULD EXTEND THAT ARGUMENT TO ENGLISH.WHY NOT USE MULTIPLE GHANAIAN LANGUAGES AS NATIONAL LANGUAGES? THEY DO THAT IN BELGIUM,SWITZELAND AND CANADA!! 1 week ago

This lady's argument is flawed.One could also use the same argument against the English language. Why don't we drop English and then adopt 4 or 5 or 6 Ghanaian languages as NATIONAL LANGUAGES? After all numerous countries ha ...

• Kuasi 1 week ago

You are right,this lady opposes Chinese language but supports English. However, she has forgotten that it was the Chinese who were helping Ghana and the British were invading it.Funny.

• Bone crusher 1 week ago

Did you carefully read what she was saying, she used unfortunately,she has already answered what you are saying

• Wise 1 week ago

Can somebody please, tell me the meaning of Djamgbe?

• Wofa 1 week ago

Djamgbe means FOOOOOL. Go to China and put Ghanaian names on street posts. They don't respect us, so they must learn to read and understand our street names. People like Djamgbe don't understand how the Chinese operate. They ...

• Ekua Mansah 1 week ago

When in Rome, do as the Romans do. Can a Ghanaian go to any other country and pay to put up a signpost in Twi or GA?? Please use your brain. This type of mentality that just because people can 'buy it's does not mean it shoul ...

• MONEY-MAKING BUSINESS - ACQUIRE THIS SKILL NOW! 1 week ago

First quarter of the year almost gone, you're broke & unemployed YET refuse to skill up? CHANGE NOW! You need knowledge/skill to say bye-bye to being broke. FACT! January learners already emailed results - started making mone ...

• The Spear 1 week ago

What a message! Completely certified and approved.

• moonstone 1 week ago

Those signpost must to be remove now. This degrade our true identity as Ghanaians and Africans. It will never happen in China so why here?

• Let's go 1 week ago

Am happy with that, but why now where the billboards not there when she was a deputy at her time in office.?
    Thank you.

• Life 1 week ago

@ let's go ...Blakofe is one of the most sensible Ghanaians ever to serve,albeit very briefly.she was deputy CEO yes.there were no Chinese signposts then.during Nana addo's first term, she was made deputy CEO.she immediately ...

• Tosh 1 week ago

It's even worse when we look on, for foreign business entities to fly their national flags on their premises.

• HMMM GHANAAA!!!VERY USELESS GOVERNMENT!!! 1 week ago

HMMM GHANAAA!!!I AM SURPRISED IT IS NOW SOMEBODY LIKE BLAKOFE SAYING THIS!!!SOMETIMES I WONDER THE USE AND PURPOSES OF THE GHANA GOVERNMENT AND ITS MINISTRIES AND DEPARTMENTS!!!WHAT ARE THEY DOING SEE THESE SIGN POSTS IN CHIN ...

• Truetalk 1 week ago

Low level thinking. Chinese sign post are for Chinese customers.
    English is not a Ghanaian language. Promote Ghanaian language like Ghana made items not being discriminatory.
    Just like English and French, chines Hausa,Ru ...

• Danso 1 week ago

You are so stupid to say the signs are for Chinese customers.

• Agbeli Kumordzi 1 week ago

Another colonization on going in Ghana

• Kojo poku 1 week ago

But the Chinese give Ghana soft loans and interest free loans. It is give and take. We need their assistance right now as Trump USA will NEVER HELP AFRICA

• Enos 1 week ago

When you don't have foresight, the one who's smarter than you would become Lord over you. You'll become servitude to him just because he gave you a morsel of food. Africa must be smarter this time.

• Insha Allah (swt) 1 week ago

You should have done it before leaving office, wahala.

• SEAMAN IN TORONTO CANADA 1 week ago

Well said madam.God bless you for that.

• Tsotsoo 1 week ago

We should start closing down some of these Chinese shops/malls/restaurants where they sell items with Chinese inscriptions only. Thank you.

• Cheddar Is the real deal 1 week ago

Use Fante to replace the chinese chu cho language.Fante or ewe is better

• Isaac @73 1 week ago

Well said Sister! WAY BACK IN 2017 I saw a building in Kumasi with all the signage in Mandarin or .I hope the zKMA has seen it fit to take all such signs down.Again well said.

• Nana Saffro 1 week ago

We are fools and idiots in Ghana with missed directed leaders. The so called elites ruling class has no vision and direction. They have missed managed the lives of the people, destroyed our land with Chinese and Ghanaians gal ...

• Kofi Ghana 1 week ago

Aaah well,ebi Ghana we dey...Same ways the British came and made Ghana who she's now,same way the Chinese..Country called Ghana

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 week ago

Band Chinese in Ghana they're ugly.

• Hannan 1 week ago

!!!!! Welcome to the best adult dating site >>>> www.Sexy24.mom

• Koose 1 week ago

Charley Asamankese Sanaahene ba, how are you big sis?
    The Chinese are heavily invested in Ghana and have plans of bringing more of their citizens over. That is why this is going on.
    Last time I heard they are adding Chinese ...

• Sotoro 1 week ago

Our stupid government entertained them too much now they took over. Can you imagine the damage Chinese are doing to our economy especially our natural resources????? Ghana government wake up!!!!!!!

• Fools 1 week ago

I support you 100%. You will never find any Ghanaian languages boldly displayed in China

• HAVE GHANA'S BNI, POLICE, OSP AND ORAL READ THIS ABOUT CECILIA DAPAAH HOARDING SUCH LARGE AMOUNTS OF FOREIGN CURRENCIES IN HER HOUSE, AND NO ONE IS QUESTIONING THE SOURCE OF THESE MONIES? Ei, GHANA! 1 week ago

HAVE GHANA'S BNI, POLICE, OSP AND ORAL READ THIS STORY ABOUT CECILIA DAPAAH HOARDING LARGE SUMS OF FOREIGN CURRENCIES IN HER HOUSE, AND NO ONE IS QUESTIONING THE SOURCE OF THESE LOOTED MONIES?

HADJIA4REAL FLAUNTED MUCH LES ...

• Kof 1 week ago

Also all product labels should be in English, and not other foreign languages.

• Farahan for All but for only Northeners 1 week ago

This is completely true. What are the district and municipal assemblies doing. They must as a matter of urgency ask the owners of all chines inscription sign post be changed or removed. I wonder what is happening. These thing ...

• Jael 1 week ago

I agree with her

• Farahan for All but for only Northeners 1 week ago

This is completely true. What are the district and municipal assemblies doing. They must as a matter of urgency ask the owners of all chines inscripted sign post be changed or removed. I wonder what is happening. These things ...

• Stephen Baafi 1 week ago

WHY IS SHE TALKING ABOUT CULTURE HERE ?WHAT IS WRONG WITH HER? ENGLISH IS NOT OUR CULTURE. ENGLISH OR CHINESE IS NOT GHANA CULTURE. SHE SHOULD STOP BEING COLONIALISM MINDED.

• Kuasi 1 week ago

She likes American

• John Quaye Quao 1 week ago

Yes she is absolutely correct because we as Ghanaians need to be proud of our IDENTITY....( our official language is English )

• Faruk 1 week ago

God bless you

• Atsu 1 week ago

Long overdue
    Let’s take action fast

• Yellow man 1 week ago

I was in Zambia some few years ago and I saw these Chinese inspiration in all their facilities so I ask my self what do they do there if it is for the benefit of Chinese nationals what about the indigines. This must stop.mad ...

• MUMU FOOT SOLDIERS 1 week ago

China is where they borrowed money and share amongst themselves, if not why Chinese signpost here?

• Sleeping Tablet. 1 week ago

Oh Ghanaians are you supprised of Chinese singnpost in Ghana? Our Leaders think like fools, behave like fools and indeed they are fools .

• Old Player 1 week ago

Great

• Osei 1 week ago

I always ask my friends, who understands what's written there?.
    If it says we're selling bombs and guns, who understands it.
    And the authorities see this things and pass by.
    A country we live in called GHANA.

• SHEIKH A.SADICK 1 week ago

The Lady is right, but why now??

• Doug 1 week ago

On point!

• Ktay 1 week ago

I'm so proud of this woman. She got sense oo. Sadly, the men who are leaders, can't lead a starfish back into the ocean. they are weak and clueless to allow others to come to our African countries and impose their ways. We ca ...

• Tenbears 1 week ago

Send the Chinese bastards to where they come from
    All of them

• Nii Amarteifio 1 week ago

Chinese language written over sign boards in Ghana. We are lost and have lost our senses. We are struggling with English and our own languages now we are bringing Chinese. No wonder nobody respects us.

• Jay Swiss 1 week ago

Where does Ghana's identity lie? Foreign cultures in all parts of the country. Madam, you are the angel of God. Ghana must not be colonised again. Avoid modern colonisation!

• WE WILL KEEP AN EYE ON THE CHINESE.AS SOON AS THEY START TAKING GHANAIANS BACK TO BEIJING AS SLAVES THEN WE WILL RISE UP TO CAST THEM OUT. 1 week ago

We need to keep a careful eye on the Chinese because for all we know they may not only impose their language on us but may decide to come in with slave trading ships to cart of Ghanaians as slaves to China. The last time this ...

• Alata broni 1 week ago

Madam Blakofe, you don't know Ghana has been sold to the Chinese?

• Yaabi... 1 week ago

Wasn't she a government appointee from 2017-2024? Hypocrite

• Gh 1 week ago

It becomes a problem if no English translation. Use that same energy to those selling in dollars

• Very soon Chinese will take over our country 1 week ago

The Chinese are very smart and if we misbehaving soon or later they will take over our country

• Nana Adjei 1 week ago

I agree with you

• Kweku 1 week ago

Excellent point!!! We are too ready to put foreign symbols, culture and language above ours. When I was in China, any Chinese gathering or event etc was performed in Mandarin, even if the Chinese present spoke or understood E ...

• Kweku 1 week ago

Regarding other comments about owing China…
    The US owes trillions to China, but they have not turned over their country to the Chinese!
    Ghanaians really need to understand even the subtleties of power projection, cultural ...

• Tomorrow 1 week ago

How much were you payed for you to came out and say this.
    Pay your Chinese dept now and don't come for any then you are free to write what you want about China.
    You can not bit the finger that feeds you.

• Northern Boy 1 week ago

I agree 100%

• Stepp Mackko 1 week ago

When they are the one's who loan us money and help build our infrastructure, which we always find difficult to repay and continue to either ask them to forgive or reschedule, and are continue to constantly ask for their assis ...

• Sycamore 1 week ago

Ghana is just a sick country with sick leaders and sick citizens, when Donald Trump described Africa sometime ago as a SHIT HOLE country we're crying and calling Trump names but that's exactly who we are a shit hole country w ...

• Sos 1 week ago

Weldone long over do. If you don’t take time you will be like SA.

• ISAAC K 1 week ago

MY SISTER,I SUPPORT YOU 100% ,FOR WHAT YOU ARE DOING
    AAAWW WHY AFRICA LOSING EVERYTHING FOR ALL THESE THINGS

• Kan 1 week ago

Maame, God bless you. You a very wise woman who should lead the country. Can anyone go to China and play that stupid thing. You will be arrested and deported immediately. Some people are not wise in our country. We don't nee ...

• Reality 1 week ago

1000% spot on !

• Baffour Awuah 1 week ago

Well said.This shows you can do the job.
    More grease to your elbow

• Kingsley Kessie 1 week ago

Chinese signposts in Ghana :
    I feel conflicted having read majority of comments being entirely in support of the call. My humble opinion is that this call, while it may seem justified on the surface is not exactly correct, i ...

• Wise 1 week ago

Sign posts in Chinese in Ghana?
    Never heard of this
    Who allowed that?

• Chief Nana 1 week ago

I totally agree with this assessment! When will we stop marching to embrace someone else's culture while fleeing our own!

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 week ago

when the Ritish came to our land, they came as traders, and made their way in the first stage as friends,
    what happened next ? they ended up to colonised the country.
    this country and her leaders should be mindful about a ...

• Kuasi 1 week ago

Actually,China is different from UK and USA

• Jury 1 week ago

I have approved this message. Great sister

• Gbetor Nyonyo 1 week ago

Whoever authorised such signpost should be jailed in the first place. It is tantamount to treason.

• Kuasi 1 week ago

Chinese help you build the road,you say it?
    So why don't you refuse their help so that you can insist your culture?
    funny girl

• Willams 1 week ago

This lady opposes Chinese language but supports English. However, she has forgotten that it was the Chinese who were helping Ghana and the British were invading it.

• Nii 1 week ago

nkwasias3m saaaa, why couldnt you do or start the processes when u were in power?

• A lot of ignorance in our society is serious! 1 week ago

By law, Ghana's official language of communication is English. So, all contents for public consumption must be communicated in English. As Ghanaian consumers, we must understand and know what is being offer to us to inform ou ...

• Emmanuel Kweku Sackey 1 week ago

Those in charge of erecting those signpost in Chinese should be ashamed of themselves. What sort of nonsense is that. That's invasion

• Know your boundaries 1 week ago

True that makes sense because we can't be darkness they can hide some vital information and we will not be able to read or understand

• Right 1 week ago

Same with our street naming. We

• Yes 1 week ago

Madam. you are very right. Our leaders are weak and allow that to happen

• Yes 1 week ago

Chinese inscriptions cannot be allowed in Kenya or South Africa. This can only happen in Ghana because of our weak national culture

• Nana Oduro Abonee 1 week ago

An excellent suggestion but I'm also surprised why you couldn't you couldn't work achieving that when you were in Office. I hope the Authorities would take the suggestion seriously and implement it.

• Judith 1 week ago

Yes, she is very right, and am wondering why the past government allowed this. ":A stitch in time saves Nine"... lets stop this asap!!!!

• George 1 week ago

Not only the Chinese sign boards but numerous other sign boards in our towns and cities should be pulled down. Accra looks clumsy and untidy with billboards along the roads, on buildings, public spaces, parks, etc. There seem ...

• I support this 1 week ago

Because if you don't gradually everything before you know is Chinese. They are colonising us gradually mentally

• Asem 1 week ago

Force our governments not to borrow money from China.

• Confusion... 1 week ago

We will pull down their sign posts that will not give them any revenue but rather go and buy (import) their chairs for our Parliament and generate revenue for China?
    Eeiiii, are we serious?
    Let's be thinking right.. let's p ...

• Kay 1 week ago

Spot on.

• Asonaba asiedu 1 week ago

I haven't noticed. The lady is right. I don't think it's the policy of the Chinese government but rather some individuals who has money influencing things.

• ministeremmanuel@yahoo.ca 1 week ago

Wise saying but will our superiors accept it...very sad

• Kay 1 week ago

100%

• Wudorzy 1 week ago

We all support that call....it should be English or any other Ghanaian languages....not Chinese

• James Owoahene 1 week ago

Absolutely, we need to get our act together. The Chinese should not be allowed to take over our country.

• Chris Milan 1 week ago

I support you 1000000 times as Ghana has become jokers No one to control these stupidity

• Kobina Nyame 1 week ago

I am with this lady. I wish her excellency the vice president Naana Jane Opoku Agyemang , should bring back her conversation on teaching our children our local languages starting from kindergarten, so we can eventually come t ...

• Dan 1 week ago

Oh what a great observation and wisdom

• Charlatans 1 week ago

Is English African Language?