Mahama suspends post-retirement contract appointments for retired public service staff

Read Comments Comments (64)

• Donatus 8 months ago

They should go and make way for new persons to work.

• Kwame 8 months ago

RESET IS WORKING- MAHAMA HAS IMPLEMENTED THE BEST SYSTEMS TO MAKE THE COUNTRY ACHIEVE DEVELOPMENTS:
    WHY DID WE VOTE MAHAMA OUT OF OFFICE 2016? SEE HOW AKUFO ADDO AND BAWUMIA MESSED UP GHANA:

• Karikakchar 8 months ago

Maybe there's some information available to thr president that's not in the public domain. Some of these retirees are still strong enough to work and have knowledge and experience that's unparalleled and still needed despite ...

• A 8 months ago

They can be hired as private consultants to train the young ones instead of occupying positions that are meant for qualified subordinates. Thank you

• Ina 8 months ago

Exactly.
    Especially in the health and education fields. There are surgeries and situations that only the most experienced can handle

• Jet 8 months ago

Did you read well. Government appointments. A surgeons is a surgeon.

• Benji 8 months ago

The old must go, so the young can grow.

• Akwesi 8 months ago

Any supposedly skilled and knowledgeable retiree who did not pass down those virtues to his subordinates cannot be considered as a knowledgeable worthwhile person who should be reappointed. Every organization needs new ideas ...

• SARA 8 months ago

APPLAUSE FOR PRESIDENT JOHN MAHAMA- SO FAR SO GOOD: YOU ARE ON COURSE TO SUCCESS: GREAT POLICIES

• Crick 8 months ago

Enact a law passed by the GH parliament to make this effort effective and legal. This directive could be flouted by any other government that comes to power later on. But it’s hoped that talented retirees could be consulted ...

• Game Changer 8 months ago

The RESET is on and spreading far and wide. President Mahama, piiiiiaaaaawwwww!!!

• Kofi BA 8 months ago

That's good move, Mr. President! But, that won't be complete until you sack all ministers, deputy ministers, government appointees, etc who are over 60 years old. Politicians are not a special breed of people

• Ghanaba 8 months ago

Well said they should give room to the youth

• Donatus 8 months ago

Then we must first pension them from being in active campaign politics.

• Taxing foreign remittances 8 months ago

Scammer john Mahama, the gonja mafia has nothing new nor good for the nation.

Gonja mafia John Mahama and Isaac Adongo call Nana Addo A. Mafia. Was that tribalism? Answer before you... Is Gonja mafia Malam yohane Mahama tr ...

• Aduomi 8 months ago

Why are you so bitter? What has all these raving and ranting got to do with this article? Over 50% of Ghanaian voters have given the president the mandate to govern. Please let him be. Leave him alone to do what he promised t ...

• Tamale North Boy 8 months ago

I hope Academic and Research Institutions are not part of this edict..by the way some Institutions such as the Judiciary, 65 is the retirement age

• .com 8 months ago

I stand up for you Pres.John Dramani Mahama ,the country loves and respects you.The youth of the country says ayeeko!.I humbly and respectfully say that Otumfour has PLENTY job for them in the PALACE. Let us see what they hav ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 8 months ago

MAHAMA is being stupid. He said there is 24 hour economy. In this case more workers will be needed. Why is he sacking people? Mpepefuor agyimi paa.

• Kwame 8 months ago

@Kwasi In Europe, villager in Europe, wo na we gyimi paa.You think it is proper for spent old men to still be working after we have trained young men and women to take over from them.Kwasia

• Ebony 8 months ago

Even being in Europe still couldn't make you civilised?
    Odwan m333

• Sardine 8 months ago

You have a very low I Q .Younger graduates are there to be employed, so there is no shortage of manpower in Ghana. In Nigeria, the retirement age is 55 years.

• Kwakusika 8 months ago

Very unfortunate people like u even have the chance to be in Europe.Yet still,sense no reach u.

• david 8 months ago

Good move. What happens to those already on contract? Will they be suspended or allowed to run to the end?

• Akos 8 months ago

Come to COCOBOD, the retirees are back and controlling the top management with disrespect.

• Kwabena 8 months ago

Then he himself should also go. Isn’t he 66 years old.

• Millicent 8 months ago

How old was Akufo Monkey Addo?

• Abdul-Samed Mohammed 8 months ago

This is a very good move and I think many young men and women will be happy since this will give them the chance to upgrade and serve their country in high positions

• Asante 8 months ago

All those on retirement contract should also go home. These things are becoming a nuisance.
    GES is full of retired Directors for every sector.

• .com 8 months ago

If those on "contract" are leaving then what must the "illegal entrants and occupants" do . Ajakpa and NIB team must be awake to throw them out of offices,the moment every Ghanaian has been waiting for.

• MLGD 8 months ago

Such things are all over the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development

• Isaac 8 months ago

That's a great and bold move. Mr Mahama so far so good. But please try to enforce it. This President is really working for the country.

• Kay 8 months ago

The Go ja Bull is on the right path. I only hope 60 yrs plus politicians are also retired from drawing money directly from the public purse.

• ATA 8 months ago

Does it mean Mahama would sack kofi Boakye? He is a retired police officer. Can someone explain better for me. Thanks

• Akwasi 8 months ago

Ghana is indeed working again

• fg 8 months ago

How come the letter is not addressed to any body?

• Say it loud 8 months ago

This action of our president is meaningless until it's extended to the political class. The elderly ought to retire to pave way for the youth

• fg 8 months ago

And what about the retirees that your appointees such as the new EPA boss has just recruited? Are you going to sack them? You waited to bring your own party faithful who are on retirement before making this rule. Jokers.
    If ...

• Nash 8 months ago

The president is past 60 years, anaaa? Okay, how old is the president? I rest my case!

• Miki 8 months ago

Will you retire IGP Yohuno in December?

• Kobby 8 months ago

So your highly rated IGP is retiring on 14 Dec 2025. The waters will be tested papaaapa. I rest my case

• Kanawu 8 months ago

Old people in Ghana refuse to retire!

• caseDie 8 months ago

Apt Reset

• ONASIS 8 months ago

IDIOT PRES. JOHN MAHAMA, YOU ARE OVER PENSION AGE (66 YRS) AND STILL IN OFFICE . WHY DONT YOU RETIRE YOURSELF TO SET EXAMPLE? YOU.
    GO AND SEE IN EUROPE AND AMERICA, 70 YEARS OLD ARE BEG TO WORK PROVIDED THE PERSON IS FIT

• Kwasi 8 months ago

What are Nathan Kofi Boakye, Callistus Mahama, Alban Sumani Bagbin, Jane Naana Opoku Agyemang and yourself doing in government? Package your things and go home, you are all over 60 years.

• Kwame 8 months ago

Simplicita

• Tex 8 months ago

The president himself was retired but is back in office. Please comment on this issue, no insults.Thanks.

• Excellent decision 8 months ago

Very wise directive from the President. Great leadership indeed.

• Jidoshaki 8 months ago

Over to you IGP, you said you have been in the police service for over 40 years

• BBB 8 months ago

That should apply to politicians and their criminal gangs.

• Systemic 8 months ago

In fact President Mahama is on top of issues. You are indeed resetting Ghana.

Ghana is working under you, this is one of your many best decisions.

• Kofi Seaman. 8 months ago

Good one there!!! That's a very good policy

• Oboy 8 months ago

The best decision ever
    The second coming of Mahama is full of blessings for the youth
    I salute you Mr. President

• Citizen8 8 months ago

A 66-year old President suspending post-retirement contract appointments. What a paradox.

• Zakarakis 8 months ago

Hard working President Mahama is RESETTING GHANA!!!!!

• T 8 months ago

Sack them and open recruitment portals for the young unemployed Ghanaians. There are a lot of Nigerians in our public sector as well. Ghanaians first.

• SSB 8 months ago

This is a great policy direction. They should go and rest.

• Ghana Hard 8 months ago

Mahama is really doing what Ghanaians want. Let the retirees go and let the young grow. NPP egu!

• Very good decision. 8 months ago

Well done Mr president.They must give way to the younger once.Those retirees in public service make sure they employe their children knees brothers sisters and all their family members before they go home and most of them are ...

• Hannan 8 months ago

~~ Single women are waiting for you on ~~~ Sexy24.mom

• Yaw Buabeng 8 months ago

Good move by all standards.

• HDondon 8 months ago

Let the rerire go for the young ones to get employment. John Mahama is resetting mother Ghana

• Hanyevi 8 months ago

It should have been Pre - retirement and Post retirement contracts rather than post retirement only. Some people request the contracts pre retirement and stay on above the retirement age. This is the common practice in the pu ...

• Yaw Nsiah, OHCS 8 months ago

JDM , you are our man at the moment. Worst things happened in the civil service and are still happening with some prominent Chief Directors messing up big time. Infrastructure contracts without due process etc. Also, appointm ...