UPDATE: Chinese nationals arrested in 12-hour galamsey operation at sites linked to Akonta Mining

Read Comments Comments (72)

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 8 months ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine.....for instance 10 paracetamol at once....or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Bollerro 8 months ago

Please, castrate them and let them DIE SLOWLY

• FRANKIE 8 months ago

Enough of the media stories. Why is Wontumi still walking free, knowing very well that he is the owner of Akonta Mining? Stop the needless Lamentations and arrest Wontumi now. And kill all galamseyers before they kill our fut ...

• Ahimadu 8 months ago

Only Akans are fools and sacrifice themselves for people who hate you. Will Elikem and his gang of Ayigbes allow the Akans to enter an Ayigbe forest? Why Wontumi alone?

• Maame 8 months ago

Be a Ghanaian and not an Akan.

• Bollerro 8 months ago

Why at all do you bring these brainless mammals out from the forests and river sites to the cities to worry us..???? Why don't you just blow and scatter their heads with bullets and let the vultures clear their meat in the fo ...

• Alokoto 8 months ago

Yes you are right. A Ghanaian cannot go to China and engage in galamsey activities. Why is the present government finding it difficult to arrest Wontumi? Plenty talk, less action.

• .mr amin 8 months ago

Ghana is probably the only country in the world where foreigners come and walk freely without any checks from the toothless immigration services

• Blue Pen 8 months ago

All these arrests will amount to nothing if Prez Mahama and his cowardly NDC govt do not muster the courage to prosecute and jail them to deter their compatriots from joining the environment destruction frenzy. If all they su ...

• Samwill 8 months ago

Are you okay?

• Bollerro 8 months ago

No, gyimifuor ba @Samwill...!!!! It is YOUR STUPID MOTHER who is not okay! What else do you galamsey animals want again, apart from being shot and mutilated for all your madness...????

• REBECCA 8 months ago

Akufo Addo is disgraceful for bringing these chinese to destroy our water and forest reserve. Gold for oil is the cause of all this destruction.

• Jimbo 8 months ago

Rebecca if you have no knowledge about anything, don't talk or else, you will spew rubbish. If you want to learn, let me tell you that, it was late John Evans Atta Mills who sponsored some NDC members to learn mining in Chin ...

• THIS SKILL MAKES MONEY FOR YOU - NOT SCAM, OR MAGIC 8 months ago

Easter discount ongoing...EMPOWER yourself or EMPOWER someone this Easter. Time doesn't care. It's MERCILESS. You either rise or get buried. No more excuses. Time to thrive by SKILLING UP! This new week, Plant, don't plant; w ...

• Always arrested 8 months ago

But we don't heard any persecution so how can we scrapped galamsey which is seriously destroying our drinking waters

• Amanoquestion 8 months ago

Always massaging the wound by arresting the pawns ignoring the the bosses

• the Villager 8 months ago

Another high profile case where money will change hands and NOTHING will be done to them

• Fontomfrom 8 months ago

Hey, @Villager... (The Akpeteshie Loyalist). I guess you are senselessly thinking that it is your shameless and hopeless Kyebi kromfuor who is still in power

• Achakanapaya 8 months ago

Arrest them all Massa. They are all Nation Wreckers. NPP are the behind all the Galamsay activities in the Country. But they will blame the NDC not doing enough to fight Galamsay.

• Obibini 8 months ago

Wontumi should have been in jail by now but in politics, the game is different. The foreigners arrested should be given the maximum jail sentence before deportation. As for the Ghanaians, they should also be given maximum sen ...

• CECILLIA DAPPAAH 8 months ago

THE USUAL.. WILL BE SWEPT UNDER THE CARPET RIGHT AFTER MONEY CHANGES HANDS AND CALLS ARE MADE. I DON'T TRUST THIS GOVERNMENT ANYMORE AFTER SOME OBSERVATIONS AMIDST ALL THE NOISE AND FAKE HUNTINGS. GYE NYAME!

• Don 8 months ago

I’m surprised you trusted this government or the one before. They are politics as a game. When one is in power, they pretend they are about to correct the wrongs of the previous. News flash! They won’t, they only do that ...

• @Manny 8 months ago

What have you actually observed that you don't trust the govt for? If you don't want this issue to be swept under the carpet, then you and I should follow it up to the end. It is our responsibility as good citizens.

• CECILLIA DAPPAAH 8 months ago

I GUESS YOU DIDN'T FINISH READING, DID YOU? OTHERWISE YOU WOULDN'T HAVE WASTED TIME AND SPACE ASKING A QUESTION YOU KNOW DOESN'T DESERVE MY ANSWER. GO AHEAD AND PREPARE YOUR BED AT THE FRONT OF THEIR HOLDING CELLS. YOU'LL BE ...

• Kaakeiku 8 months ago

We hear these arrests taya, but galamsey still rages on. Gye Nyame

• Aba Sam 8 months ago

If the security personnel had gunned down about a dozen of these galamseyers, this nonsense will stop.

• Messi 8 months ago

Gun down who?please we are not in the military era.Even those who have stolen from the state monies which could have been put into good use for the nation are being given a good hearing in court how much more the innocent one ...

• Jimbo 8 months ago

I agree. Gun all of them down. If we get rid of them, our environment will be restored. It is better to kill the few miscreants to save the masses who are law-abiding than to rather lose the latter. They are criminals and mur ...

• Akwesi NyameAdom 8 months ago

Have you arrested the arrogant and stubborn owner of this mining company?
    While I support and congratulate your efforts to get rid of these dangerous activities in our country, your failure to arrest the owners would make a ...

• Titus 8 months ago

Shoot and kill them

• Aba Sam 8 months ago

I support you 100%. Kill them before they kill all of us.

• Name sake 8 months ago

It will never happen.We are govern by rules.

• Mad dog 8 months ago

I dont know why the military is watching this politicians fool around in this country....organise a coup detat and let's get our nation on track ...foolish politicians!!!!!

• Leo 8 months ago

Why did you not request for that coup when Nana was president, now you lost by the hand of God to help bring back the nation it’s original state, you’re calling for the military,my brother please

• Dd 8 months ago

Wow!Even Koreans are involved in gslamsey?Maybe The Mafia,Yahuza and Russian mob are involved too

• GOOD FATHER 8 months ago

ARREST WONTUMI SINCE HE IS THE OWNER OF GOLD LAND

• Amankwaa 8 months ago

The story is only alleging that the site belongs to him which means he may not be the owner of that place.

• If Chinese nationals are still on galamseys 8 months ago

Signified that our that some of our leaders are more corrupt

• Ataa Obeng site 19 Tema 8 months ago

All the directors of Akonta mining must be sent to court if really those arrested are their workers, NDC, the whole country is watching

• Rtl 8 months ago

Like the Arabs sentencing anyone dealing in narcotics to death so should any foreigner caught engaging in galansey should be sentenced to death. Period.

• Uncle Pee 8 months ago

Although I'm not a fun of NDC administration, good work must be commended. We shall see if the offenders would be prosecuted and the foreigners deported.

• Nana TRUMU TRUMU Addo 8 months ago

NPP IS AN EVIL PARTY. THESE ARE SAME IDIOTS DISTURBING MAHAMA TO BE HARD ON GALAMSAY

• Bastie The Emperor of Kumasi 8 months ago

As Asante man mining in Western Region.

THE FOURTH ESTATE has uncovered the mining activities of BODUKWAN (BONSU DUAH KWAKU NANA ).
    That’s the name of Asantehene /kumasihene in private life.

Together with his Manhy ...

• Atsu 8 months ago

Stupidity and inferiority complex go kill foreigners who claim to be Ghanaians. God bless the King Otumfour Osei Tutu 11 Nana piaw!

• Noboby 8 months ago

Authorities of the forestory commission must endevour to "revoke" both the mining permit & other legal license(s) of the supposed akonta mining company, owned by ... chairman wontumi.

• Aba Sam 8 months ago

Why are we doing this to ourselves? Aaww Ghana!!

• Snyder 8 months ago

Ndc Agyimifoc with their kwaseato president Mahama who sold our National port to a French citizen for 35 years will remain retrogressed until their kingdom comes

• Van Pello 8 months ago

You have been crying saaaa since December 9th, 2024. Can you continue to cry for the next 40 years??

• Kwadwo 8 months ago

Arrwsy Wontumi immediately if there is concrete evidence that the illegal winning indeed connected to him. We have enough of this impunity.

• HDondon 8 months ago

Please jail them all they are killing us with polluted water

• La Pleasure man 8 months ago

Apeman Wontumi..
    I thought he was living in his forest again, shouting along with the other apes and monkeys.. ooh oohh aah aah ooh..

• Akajatayogogo 8 months ago

All the Chinese and Koreans must be deported and the Ghanaians must be jailed. The Owner of Akonta mining too must be arrested.

• Akua Nsiah 8 months ago

It would be unfair to let these people go Scot free - especially the foreigners. Ghanaians would not have this kind of freedom to destroy any country, definitely not in the republic of China. Cut off their heads or put them i ...

• Markent 8 months ago

What at all does this Chinese people want from Ghana somebody must go to jail for ten years and ask them to reclaim the land before deportation

• Arrest the owners 8 months ago

Why is the police focusing on the workers and not the owners? This is a joke.

• Asakramitogs 8 months ago

Arrest Wontumi now. He is national saboteur. You see foolish people like this fool are held in high esteem by the stupid micro npp. Why are we wasting our time on these arrested galamsayers. Just shoot them. It will be a dete ...

• Work in Dubai 8 months ago

Directs employment availability in Dubai with lucrative salary

Call/whatsapp:0248909267

• Some people think the table have turned 8 months ago

They are only arresting galamseyers who are mining on concessions. Nobody is being arrested for engaging in galamsey.

• Kwabena Gyamfi 8 months ago

I see some inconsistencies in the government's galamsey fight.
    Why is it that some excavators and other equipment are burnt down whilst others are seized? The approach should be uniform.

• Hannan 8 months ago

! Welcome to the best sex dating site ->>> Sexy24.mom

• Markent 8 months ago

Wontumi must be arrested and prosecuted as well as the Chinese people. They should be to reclaim the land at their own cost

• OSAFO KANTANKA. 8 months ago

The officers should have set the excavators with mobility problems on fire. It’s an old trick in the book. The excavators were immobilised .

• Rocky USA 8 months ago

Arrest that stupid man called wutumi himself. He taught nobody can not touch him

• Saint Kwame 8 months ago

I think they won’t mine if the site has no permit to operate and that is why every blessed day people are being arrested.So the best is for the president to declare a state of emergency for all forms of small scale miners t ...

• Boldsteven mother serpent of Corruption 8 months ago

Wontumi has the guts to be talking as he has beennleft of the hook as Chinese continue to do the dirty work for him.

• Jay Swiss 8 months ago

These two political parties, NDC and NPP are destroying our country. First of all, we got tired of the NPP for mismanagement of the country and we voted the party out of government with the belief that the NDC will reset our ...

• Boye/California 8 months ago

President Mahama please put all of them in Nsawan Prison don't just deport them let's me be in jail period for four years before deported them back to their Countries you can't never go to China the Rubbish Country to dig a G ...

• Kojofojour 8 months ago

South Korea or North Korea national?

• Maame 8 months ago

Left Ashanti Region to destroy our land. Doesn't wontumi know any form of mining is degrading the environment? Politicians are the cause of our downfall as a nation.

• Nanaba 8 months ago

The stupid NDC minister will use state founds to deport them and jail Ghanaians. God will punish all of them

• Jimbo 8 months ago

Pls no discrimination. The foreigners benefit from the illegality more than their Ghanaian counterparts so they should all be prosecuted and jailed here in Ghana. That stupidity that, the foreigners will be deported will neve ...

• Obibini 8 months ago

Wontumi should have been in jail by now but in politics, the game is different. The foreigners arrested should be given the maximum jail sentence before deportation. As for the Ghanaians, they should also be given maximum sen ...