'What you send to your families back in Africa is now under attack' - Gabby slams US remittance tax

Read Comments Comments (70)

• harrison 7 months ago

Talk about what you people siphoned from the people of Ghana, and leave that to the government to resolve.

• FRANKIE 7 months ago

Gabby, all what you're saying is true, very true. But you see........sometimes it's difficult to take moral lessons from a brothel. We'll figure it out ourselves.

• TEACH ABROAD 7 months ago

TEACH IN CANADA

An International NGOs based CANADA need both qualified and unqualified teachers who can teach orphans and disabled children basic ( English, Maths, Science & IT)
    The NGOs are paying for the expenses inclu ...

• DotCom 7 months ago

For once, I agree with this man. We should strive to be independent and stop depending on handouts for survival.

• BUMBEBO 7 months ago

WHEN OUR NANANOM WERE FIGHTING FOR THE EMANCIPATION OF THE AFRICAN PERSONALITY, HIS NANANOM WERE THROWING WATER ON THE FIRE LIT. TALK ABOUT YOUR FOREIGN ACCOUNTS AND LEAVE US ALONE. YOU DON'T NEED US TO BACK YOU FOR ANYTHING. ...

• Benji 7 months ago

But what we sent to our families here in Ghana was under attack under you guys(e-levy)? Foolish man.

• Abrewatia 7 months ago

Exactly. His cousins government taxed remittances within through elevy.

How can he even be npp stalwart, what was his position?
    He was the 419 lynchpin

• Gomido 7 months ago

Trump has learnt NPP's e-levy duping scheme—no wonder they belong to the same elephant family. NPP or GOP, the value is the same!

• We are NPP 7 months ago

We paid e-levy under Akufo Addo government.
    Definately we will survive with President Trump 5% levy on remitances

• Man pass Man 7 months ago

Wat advice did you give to your cousin? AGYAPA

• Esi 7 months ago

If today, Gabby Otchere Darko of all people has finally woken up from his grovelling submissiveness to the West, then we can all thank Trump for this.

• Abrewatia 7 months ago

you are right on point.

The akyems showed so much respect and submissive ness to the whiteman that, it was nauseating

• Mnus 7 months ago

Is this different from e levy?

• Yaw 7 months ago

It’s better than a greedy government taking the remittances and spending it on frivolous private jet Gallivanting and globe trotting America will use it for nation building.

• Kofi Asare 7 months ago

Which nation-building? You mean nation destruction.

• JACK TORONTO 7 months ago

OFUI GARBBY. DIDN'T NANA ADDO IMPOSED E-LEVY TO GHANAIANS? DID YOU COMPLAIN WHEN THE E-LEVY WAS INTRODUCED IN GHANA? YOU HAVE JUMPED INTO AFFAIRS A FOREIGN COUNTRY WHEN YOU SUPPORTED SIMILAR TAXES IN GHANA

• Truth 7 months ago

Just trying to divert the attention of the Ghanaian people. What a de facto president in disguise that you were who never had sympathy for the common man on the streets.
    Are you not contradicting yourself by saying what you ...

• Mr. Ibu 7 months ago

Your government implemented E-levy so why do think Donald Trump shouldn't tax remittances? Didnt you think about this when the NPP government was implementing E-levy

• bisa 7 months ago

BRING BACK THE STOLEN MONIES AND STOP THE CHAFF

• K Opoku-London-UK 7 months ago

NPP is in a state of Mental Health Psychosis- a mental state where an individual's perception of reality is significantly altered, leading to difficulty distinguishing between what is real and what is not. This can manifest a ...

LOOK AT THIS AKYEM MAFIA IDIOT-WHO DONT KNOW ABOUT DONALD TRUMP LIBERATION DAY TARIFFS ETC. RETURN YOUR STOLEN MONEY FIRST TANI GABBY
    WE THE ASHANTIS VOTED MASSIVELY FOR THE TANI AKUFFO ADDO FROM THE EASTERN REGION OF GHANA ...

ASHANTIS ARE CURSING THEMSELVES FOR VOTING FOR THE ARROGANT, UNGRATEFUL, SHORT, UGLY, LILIPUT AKYEM TANI AKUFFO ADDO-ABA, because HE DID NOTHING FOR US THE ASHANTIS. LOOK AT THE IMPORTANT POSITIONS MAHAMA HAS GIVEN TO THE VOL ...

• Emmak 7 months ago

This is foolish talk from Garby.

• Erik 7 months ago

Did i hear you describe this man as an npp stalwart.
    But for Akufo Addo and his akyem mafia who would've taken him for a porter in the npp.

• Arkhosua 7 months ago

Have you forgotten so soon that your party imposed same 10% transfer tax on the poor citizens of this country? That what we sent to our poor grandparents in the villages were under attack by the likes of you just to sustain y ...

• Gabby shut up 7 months ago

Gabby shut up,you are annoying us,npp can you not stop this loose talker,probably you do not want to come back to power,you cant dictate to US or anyone,shut up,you are annoying everybody.

• Slim 7 months ago

Stupid!
    That's their America.
    When you and your family got the chance to rule Ghana, you looted Ghana.

If American politicians were looting from their national resources, do you think America would have been so developed ...

• Jay in London 7 months ago

SHUT UP ---THIEF

FAMILY GOVERNMENT PRIME MINISTER WORKING BEHIND THE SCENES UNXDER AJUFFO ADDO.

OKYERE DARKO, OFORI ATTA, ASANTE BEDIATUO, AND AKUFFO ADDO GANGED UP TO FLEECE GHANA.

AKUFFO ADDO USED POLITICS TO STE ...

• Koppong 7 months ago

Still paying garden boy allowance

• dog meat 7 months ago

gabby must be arrested. without a position in government but lead government activities is to be questioned for causing financial loss to Ghana.

• bingo 7 months ago

eiii this joker dey?

• Am I dreaming? Pls wake me 7 months ago

You have opportunity in a time and you sell us.. Finish and come to advise what Ghana needs to do... You are corrupt and a failure to this country

• BISA 7 months ago

AFTER ONLY 5 MONTHS LOOK AT YOUR BEAR

• Korbla 7 months ago

Kwasia!! When u had the opportunity u ruled Ghana with Agyapa book. U even wanted to sell our gold. Criminals!! Posterity will judge u

• Francis 7 months ago

I hope the foreign minister Ablakwa Okudzeto will take note of this with his plan of sending Ghanaians to work in Germany. Once this policy is adopted in the United States it will gradually be emulated in Europe. Note that Eu ...

• Kweku 7 months ago

@Francis. Tell them before they go ahead and sign their slavery contract with Germany which is one of the most racist countries in Europe.

• Ohene 7 months ago

If it was to be those days we would have said, this guy is very intelligent and wise. But now we know them. Also, if this Trump effect had happened during their time, they would have taxed us

• Emmanuel 7 months ago

@Ohene. I have read your input many times but I can not get what you are trying to say. Can you please clarify yourself.

• JULOR CAESAR 7 months ago

Are you serious, Gabby? Was your NPP government not levying a Covid tax on Ghanaians even though the pandemic had been declared to be over? What is more troubling than Akufo-Addo's Covid tax on Ghanaians?

• FK 7 months ago

If this fool is your father, then you have problem!!!! It’s not going to work!!! You have not learnt anything, you think Ghanaians are that stupid?

• Hannan 7 months ago

~~~~~~ Single women are waiting for you on >> Fun4.top

• Mus 7 months ago

You are the cause. They watched you introduce E.levy on your people. They only advanced it.
    You tax us for sending transfers to our mothers and fathers in the villages.
    They learnt from your government. They are now advanci ...

• jesus 7 months ago

LORD HAVE MERCY UPON US! NEVER THOUGHT I COULD HEAR THIS FROM THE 'E LEVY' MASTERS, IN MY LIFETIME.

• Daniel 7 months ago

Pity you didn't give this advice during the time of your defacto period in the previous government. Suddenly your senses are active.

• Serebour 7 months ago

Look at this man too. Bring back what you have taken from the coffers ? Crooks

• Sumaa 7 months ago

Are also thinking about Ghanaians not to even talk about the entire Africans?

• Ras fi lyf 7 months ago

Kwasea man u will rot in hell for bet taxes.....stupid fool....u still get mouth dey talk bullshit

• Shameless NPP politicians! 7 months ago

It's like when your govt taxed elevy on the remittances Ghanaians sent to their families in the village. We cried all we could but you people were deaf then. Now that you're out of power, you see how evil the NPP govt had bee ...

• Africawatch 7 months ago

And there are stupid africans who support and admire Trump,the deranged man. He hates anything African- the continent and its people. To tax Africans for sending dollars back to their countries as remittances is pure madness. ...

• Gabby geerrruottt 7 months ago

Who is asking your opinion

• Obed 7 months ago

Eeeeiiiii, is this idiot still there? Hahahaha

• Sam 7 months ago

Shut up you billy goat. Is it.not same as E-Levy?

• K Poku-London-UK 7 months ago

Is the NPP Also claiming CREDIT for the current DUMSOR- which is happening because Akuffo Addo and Bawumia failed to pay the DEBTS-Arrears of Electricity POWER GENERATING COMPANIES AND GAS COMPANIES. Ghana owe NIGERIA £150 m ...

• K Poku-London-UK 7 months ago

Is the NPP Also claiming CREDIT for the current DUMSOR- which is happening because Akuffo Addo and Bawumia failed to pay the DEBTS-Arrears of Electricity POWER GENERATING COMPANIES AND GAS COMPANIES. Ghana owe NIGERIA £150 m ...

• Kwabena Ohemeng,London 7 months ago

Those insulting Gabby aren't serious.What is wrong with his comment about Trump taxing remittances in dollars to African countries? Our criticisms must be directed at Trump who hates anything African. Trump just doesn't wan ...

• Felix 7 months ago

Foolish talk coming from someone part took in the destruction of people's livelihood. If your Uncle had done things no Ghanaian. Would even think of leaving the shores of this country in the first place

• It's US foreign policy 7 months ago

Trump is making it unattractive for foreigners to live in US.
    I think it's a good idea especially for Ghanaians elite who will steal and send all their generations abroad.
    Come home with all the stolen money. I wish US, UK ...

• Nana yaw 7 months ago

Do you think your words carry any weight in Ghana now?,
    You squandered your golden chance and no one i mean nobody hears your words even at your highest tone. please just keep quiet and let Ghana stay.

• Toza 7 months ago

Mr. Richard Jakpa, someone needs your attention please

• ... 7 months ago

AS FOR THIS AIDS VICTIM HE WILL NOT STOP FOOLIN. LOOKING LIKE A GHOST SKELETON STANDING IN A COFFIN

• Opoku Nti 7 months ago

This face wants relevance

• Joe Nyame... 7 months ago

...stalwart?INDEED.....SO...?

• Nana 7 months ago

Foolish man. When you had power didn’t you attack workers and pensioners savings accounts? By the way, what stops you from developing the economy? You people brutalize our economy and stole as if there’s no tomorrow. God ...

• Joe Bonado 7 months ago

Ugly fool.

• Jay 7 months ago

Look at the pot calling the kettle black..Aaahhh

• True 7 months ago

What is this idiot going on about?

Guess he’s forgotten what he’s preaching now that they are not in power? How did they fix our reliance on other countries, other than borrowing heavily and looting.

Foolish idiot ...

• Nana yaw 7 months ago

how much is ghanaweb " receiving " to give space to ........

• Naa 7 months ago

So your happiness is that Ghanaians should be poor so that those sending money can dominate any little they send home? So u intentionally weaken the cedi to make those sending money powerful?

• Wilson 7 months ago

The majority of Ghanaians who don't have anybody outside are doomed if we concentrate only on remittances. The current situation of low dollar rate and moderate prices of goods help us all within the system.

• Sammy 7 months ago

The is sense in your comments