Embassy Scandal: How staff diverted visa and passport fees into private account in Washington DC

Read Comments Comments (108)

• Donatus 7 months ago

Only dismissal?

• Lori 7 months ago

Disgracing Ghana globally by driving stolen cars around the world.

Wanderlust of crime. Arrest the Yahoo Boys.

• Ablakwa must resign 7 months ago

Looter Ablakwa, tender in your resignation letter together with your tenancy agreement…you have been an embarrassment so far.

• Josh 7 months ago

Dog and unintelligent fool

• SHIRLEY AYORKOR BOTCHWAY WAS PRAISED AS ONE OF THE BEST PERFORMING MINISTERS UNDER AKUFFO ADDO 7 months ago

BUT SHE SAT ON THE BUTTOCKS AND WATCHED AS ALL THAT WAS UNFOLDING.

• DOG BITE DOG. 7 months ago

Ablakwa is paying rent to a Jordanian Landlord in Accra. Ghanaians, from bottom to the top, will always find means to steal.

• P Djamgbe 7 months ago

Mahama and his team are really resetting Ghana - the resetting has to be global if it has to work

• Nkrumalist 7 months ago

Has to be in our rural communities. Right from the beginning, the grassroots to instill discipline.

If we don’t take the bull by the horn we shall suffer the consequences again.

Bring back the young pioneers the work ...

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 7 months ago

THAT’S NDC OWN MODUS OPERANDI, OKUDZETO ABLAKWA AND HIS NDC ARE VERY GOOD AT SWINDLING GHANAIANS THROUGH VISA APPLICATIONS I FIRST BLEW NDC’S LID WHEN I WROTE THIS ARTICLE IN 2017- 2024

MAHAMA AND HIS APPOINTEES USED R ...

• Vornyovie Victory 7 months ago

It looks like Ablakwa is still a boy. Do you have to qualify your actions ' decisive and drastic? Sounds like the words of SHS prefect

• Barko osae twum 7 months ago

Tell me!!!! Lets hope that she isnt linked to this scam. Cos that will be the rnd of her leadership as head of the commonwealth. How could this happen for 5 years under the NPPs nana showboys watch. Whoever is found guilty in ...

• Gino Osew 7 months ago

DID ANYONE REPORTED A CASE TO YOU? IT TAKES A THIEF TO KNOW A THIEF

• AB greatness 7 months ago

Oh gosh!! l weep for Ghana!! Did he give you some when these money were been diverted? So you dont see any good in stopping this kind of behaviour other to spew what you spewed. Hmmmm, this is just the bane of our struggle ...

• P Djamgbe 7 months ago

Corruption under Akufo Addo was not only happening here in Ghana, it was global. I swear when I went to renew my passport at the Ghana High Commission in London somewhere last year, when I arrived at the reception I was asked ...

• P Djamgbe 7 months ago

And they wouldn't mention any of this on the website when you are applying, because they know that once you have arrived you wouldn't want to miss the opportunity to join the queue which would have started getting quite long ...

• Benny 7 months ago

Ablakwa you can't cover your SHAME this bogus stories you are simply a dishonest guy, lies at your vetting exposed you.Resign now aa you vowed otherwise you are crook,behaving like an angel.you have no REPUTATION.

• Ameedat 7 months ago

Look at a fo*l like you. Your lies and jealousy on okujeto will yield 0

• Jumbo 7 months ago

NPP have same modus operandi. Folks, Before Nana Akufu Addo became president of Ghana in 2016 he created a bank account similar to that of their party account at the blind side of the party executives. Nana Akufu Addo and his ...

• Ameedat 7 months ago

Jandam will never succeed. We are wide awake.

• Kwame - Obimanso 7 months ago

This has been going on for ages. I went through this last year. And they purposely shut down applicants from checking on the status of their applications. They are not accessible after receiving your application fees. All emb ...

• Mahama 24 Hour Economy is Real & West Togoland independence 7 months ago

We NDC are becoming a disgrace to Ghana and demonstrating stupidity to the global world.

We are only 6 months and the scandals are too often and too many.

Mahama must sack Ablakwa before he disgraces Ghana

• Kwame Prah 7 months ago

Are you okay to there. These are Nana Addo Danquah Akkufo Addo recuitmwnts who were charging illegal fees. Did you read the story. Now that they have been brought home, Mahama people can go and do the right things.

• Life 7 months ago

Almost everybody appointed to positions in gov institutions of Ghana by Nana Addo is a thief.Almost all are crass cons wicked greedy nepotistic corrupt incompetent and arrogant. People who defend Nana addo bawumia Ofori atta ...

• DIGRACE FOR FIGHTING CORRUPTION? -GHANANI 7 months ago

NDC disgracing Ghana for fighting corruption? You must be sick in your head. Government appointees must fight and expose corruption whenever and wherever it is. Unlike the NPP the NDC government of Mahama should give zero ...

• Ameedat 7 months ago

You are right only dismissal? This will not stop any future diterant

• The Spear 7 months ago

The investigation is on. It is after having established the extent of the fraud and all that happened at that institution that they'd indicted and charged as appropriate.

I'd advice that all other Embassies be investigate ...

• gyimii 7 months ago

stop complaining and do the work .....

• DuMB 7 months ago

You have the mindset of a lazy person!!!

• Kofi Tonto 7 months ago

Now that the real men are at work to the benefit of all. With his that useless Ntim Fodjuor is saying Ablakwa must resign by his own words .

• Navapio 7 months ago

How useful are you, even to your children, if any?

• Rose 7 months ago

ADU BOAHENE NUMBER TWO

• Jeffie 7 months ago

Mr minister you have done the right thing and your action is in the right direction the corruption at the Ghana Embassy in Washington DC has been going on for ages this was between the officer at the passport office and the v ...

• Zek 7 months ago

They are doing the same thing at the ghana embassy at Denmark. Please close that one too.

• P Djamgbe 7 months ago

And the one in London too. This is Akufo Addos legacy - from Kufuor's time all the way up to date we didn't hear any of this

• The Spear 7 months ago

Bad things happened at Ghana Embassies during Kufuor's time! I had formally written to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to withdraw the portfolio of an Ambassador from one Maghrebi country and send him back to Ghana.

• Ablakwa next president 7 months ago

Unless he doesn’t want the job , Ablakwa is the man for the next Ghana president. Bawumia is busy fighting the other aspirants.

• Ghanaweb 7 months ago

Diversionary tactics. resign period

• Bustan 7 months ago

Mr Ablakwa Ayicooo.
    Mother Ghana owes you a lot

• Kwame 7 months ago

Ablakwa is dishonest.

• Navapio 7 months ago

Mr. Principled man, when are you going to resign? Cheap Talk and propaganda have exposed you.

• TT 7 months ago

He will resign after exposing you and your gang in public office. Why would someone divert government money into his private account?

• Co2 7 months ago

Take your pen and paper and write your resignation now please don't disgrace ghanaians, criminals

• Capt. Adabuga 7 months ago

When are you resigning over the VP's private jet brouhaha?

• GOD IS GOOD 7 months ago

GRADUALLY THEY WILL BE EXPOSED.FOR THE PAST EIGHT YEARS CORRUPTION HAS BECOME OUR DNA

• Yaw 7 months ago

Please STOP this careless forays into the Foreign missions!! Isolate the bad nuts and DEAL with them! Why close down a Mission which was established before you were even conceived?? Be careful with these your carelessness ooo ...

• Alu 7 months ago

You don’t make sense, Yaw. Did you read the article? This is about thievery.

• DuMB 7 months ago

This is the reason why members of you family think you're going mad!!!

• Achakanapaya 7 months ago

He should face the law with immediate effect.
    NPP is just a criminal organisation full of shameless, dishonest, thieves, lair's, hypocrites and Nation wreckers.
    NPP Never again Allah.

• Atinga 7 months ago

So are they going to refund the illegal fees to customers or they are waiting for class action?

• Kwabena Mensah 7 months ago

‘The fools always want to say something’as Plato once said. The fools are not happy about why the minister has exposed the criminals at Ghana Embassy in Washington DC. What bad ever bad comments you make will expose your ...

• NPP/ NDC are the SAME 7 months ago

Hmm..Ghanaians chaasi

• Man 7 months ago

Ghana, corruption is their food.

• Mus 7 months ago

The Ghanaian is so corrupt you don’t know how people who employ them manage.
    Years back, I had to make an export on Ghana Airways. Could you believe a worker at the cargo office took me to his car, took an old typewriter a ...

• The Spear 7 months ago

Which year was that?

• Kofi Owusu 7 months ago

NPP was too corrupt

• Kwame 7 months ago

What was Alima the Ambassador doing there? What was her role in the scandal. There are hardened economic bandits, worse that Boku Haram bandits

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 7 months ago

@ Kwame:
    THAT’S NDC OWN MODUS OPERANDI, OKUDZETO ABLAKWA AND HIS NDC ARE VERY GOOD AT SWINDLING GHANAIANS THROUGH VISA APPLICATIONS I FIRST BLEW NDC’S LID WHEN I WROTE THIS ARTICLE IN 2017- 2024

MAHAMA AND HIS APPOIN ...

• Tosh 7 months ago

Guess he scammed US citizens too. Report him to the US authorities. Justice would come swifter, than in our "go slow" justice system.

• Jb 7 months ago

Please can tithe minister address the fate of ongoing passports application?passports gave been mailed out fir travels in two week time. My daughter applied through the Arkansas consular general. She been trying to reach tem ...

• Kojois 7 months ago

When are you going to resigned. No credibility

• Yaw Wontumi 7 months ago

He is more credible than Fred Kwarteng. Gbemela.

• GhanaBeyond Aid 7 months ago

This is how corrupt Ghanaians are. This kind of corrupt practices is common all over Ghana and all the consulates abroad. When you go to the Lands Commission, they will not charge you the official fees. But rather they will c ...

• Ash 7 months ago

I have been a victim of this corrupt officer. I was Double for a visa fee payment. I requested for a refund and up to date I have not received it.

• Truth only 7 months ago

He should refund the diverted monies as well as sacked or jail

• Jack 7 months ago

Master resign quickly..Don't use these stories to cover up your loose talking of resignation. U r sacking others, u deserve to be sacked too..

• Efo 7 months ago

Diversionary gimmicks will never flourish..Unprincipled Ablakwa resign to save your little dignity..Only fools will believe this rubbish

• Costello 7 months ago

Fake @Efo kromfuor..!!!! An unrepentant NPP 38.2 % animal in full glare! Their entire NPP membership is made up of RAW THIEVES, so anytime the news breaks out about one of their members being arrested, they come out boldly to ...

• Rebrand Ghana 7 months ago

There should be a national referendum to change the name Ghana
    back to " The Gold Coast:.

We are known all the world for our Gold. That is the reason why the western explorers- The Portuguese came to Ghana.

The legis ...

• Pepenyi Mfantse 7 months ago

Super Ablakwa you did a good job. The Ghana Embassy in Europe is the same is full of criminals, corrupt and Idiots. this is a good news for all the Ghanaian diaspora’s .
    Hope they don’t kick them out and replace them a ...

• THIEVES,NATION WRECKERS CRITICISING ABLAKWA'Kwabena Ohemeng,London 7 months ago

You see how corruption has eaten deep into the fabric of the Ghanaian society. The thieves and the corrupt ones are attacking and blaming Ablakwa for the actions taken to root out corruption at our embassies. All those crit ...

• Wwwe 7 months ago

Lol lol put Ur ndc man there hmm who cares

• Kwasi 7 months ago

Ghana immigration services at the Kotoka International airport should be subjected to the same. It is so disgusting and shameful the way they collect money. I am a Ghana born man but holds USA passport. I decided to go to Gha ...

• Omanba 7 months ago

You are a moron like Trump . You have to apply for visa before coming to Ghana from America. They should have put you back on the next available plane to America. Holding American passport means you are not a ghanaian.

• Okyere Kay 7 months ago

Okudzeto Ablakwa when are u resigning from your position as promised when u were in opposition. D vice-president has used a chartered plane.

• Grace 7 months ago

Who were the auditors who went to audit the embassy? They should be investigated

• Nana TRUMU TRUMU Addo 7 months ago

DO YOU BLAME THEM?. EVERYONE WAS STEALING UNDER AKUFFO ADDO AND GOING SCOT FREE. IF THE PRESIDENT IS CLEARING THIEVES INCLUDING CECILIA DAPAAH, WHY WONT OTHERS STEAL?. EUGENE ARHIN, BEDIATUO, KUSI BOATENG , GYANKROMAH AND MAN ...

• Jeffie 7 months ago

You fools who are asking the resignation of the minister you may be Npp rots because all Npp people are thieves right from former president Kuffour in his stupid wheel chair Kuffour came and sold everything that bore Nkrumah ...

• Nkrumalist 7 months ago

Is this Kwateng a Fante guy, Ga, Ewe, Nezema???

Hmmmmmm the thirst for money of certain clan in our system is just obvious.

• the Villager 7 months ago

VERYTHING ABOUT AKUFO ADDO'S GOVT IS A CRIME SCENE. HABA! WHY?

• Eric Sintim Dadzie 7 months ago

I dont understand, Why politicize every good thing so NPP you are not even ashamed you are still talking.
    is better you keep quiet.

• Afutuo 7 months ago

NDC had come to power to contemplate the used of citizens minds, how many times have we heard the abuses going on ? 3000 ecg containers missing,200 containers of cocoa jute sacks missing, ECG money going to Bawumia pocket,Abl ...

• KofSam 7 months ago

The Foreign Ministry should bring up charges against Kwateng in the US to face the law . Dismissing him is not the solution. He must face the law . The NPP has taken their corruption to wherever they are present and Okudzeto ...

• NPP is heading towards implosion 7 months ago

I'm surprised fooools are insulting Ablakwa. No wonder we're still the wretched of the Earth

• Nat 7 months ago

So how do people that have applied for passport and visa receive their passports and visas.

• Northern Boy 7 months ago

Anything akufo ado stinks

• FOYOOSIS 7 months ago

You can't apply for visa online and get it, though the portal is on their website. Embassy officials have liased with the numerous Ghanaian ticket/ travel agents to acquire visas through them at 2x the visa fee.

A typical ...

• Kpokpobiribiri 7 months ago

Dishonourable MP, resign and stop accusing people from opposition to government. You are being reminded to resign based on your own promise that you will resign from government should any member of ndc government patronise a ...

He can resign because there's no body to do the job

I mean he can't resign because there's no body to do the job

• Sammy 7 months ago

Diversionary tactics.
    You Ablakwa you think you are too smart to use your usual propaganda to outwit Ghanaians.
    Just resign from your ministerial positions so that we will all tout you as a principled person that you told ...

• Democrazy 7 months ago

The same thing they did to Ghana Airways and led to its collapse

• Sookoo 7 months ago

This payment appears to be illegal per the minister, and the embassy should reimburse anyone who applied for a passport or visa for the past five years. Should we pursue a class action lawsuit to recover our funds, or should ...

• Paa Joe 7 months ago

Do you have official receipt from the government of Ghana
    Before you think of class action

• Kwame 7 months ago

Electronic receipts from the transaction should be enougn. Isn’t the Embassy for the government of Ghana?

• Kinte 7 months ago

Hon. Ablakwa, thank you for catching the thieves!

• Donald T 7 months ago

Is that the new trend with the way NPP siphoned the Ghanaian money into their private accounts??

• 4 Year Old 7 months ago

Fred Kwarteng is just a scapegoat. It's a criminal syndicate and the entire embassy outfit is involved: from passports, visas, etc etc. How could anyone establish an external accounts in an embassy, collect money and process ...

• Hannan 7 months ago

!!!! Welcome to the best sex dating site --> Fun4.top

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 7 months ago

TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route by your phone etc. PRICE: GHS850. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info ...

• Rusty 7 months ago

Ablakwa, you should humble yourself and learn the job well.
    Everything is a scandal, eeiiii.
    You are destroying what we have achieved since independence.
    Babies with sharp teeth.
    Very soon tou will all be called for accou ...

• Sammy 7 months ago

PROPAGANDA MINISTER.
    What has the President seen in this boy to be appointed as the Foreign Affairs Minister of our dear country Ghana.

• Rusty 7 months ago

Ablakwa, you should humble yourself and learn the job well.
    Everything is a scandal, eeiiii.
    You are destroying what we have achieved since independence.
    Babies with sharp teeth.
    Very soon you will all be called for accou ...

• SA 7 months ago

No checks and balances as always, this can only happen to a country called Ghana. Our leaders are more concerned about useless things, politics, while their citizens suffer both home and abroad. What is the point of collectin ...

• Free Radicals 7 months ago

So thief Ablakwa what is the VISA fees cost Ghana-US embassy to charge for VISA application?you only mention 25 -60 dollars extra so what is the actual fee?we need response immediately.Your stupid propaganda will not work.

• Adjei 7 months ago

Confirm whether these are not other Joseph Anokye hielings.. Check how widespread these tendencies go.

• Shirley Ayorkor knew the rot! 7 months ago

Somewhere last year a lady complained on social of the ordeal Ghanaian applicants go through in obtaining visa in the USA. Not knowing it's true. Oh, so the situation was that bad. From my analysis, the NPP group is cancerous ...

Now we have adults with super sharp teeth

• Otto Fister 7 months ago

the ghanaian and badness. it stated from Adam