'You will only pay 1 cedi' – President Mahama unveils new automated road toll system

Read Comments Comments (58)

• Apraku 7 months ago

The benefits of the Ghanacard, thank you Bawumia.

• kkzk 7 months ago

Bawuliar didnt introduce ECOWAS IDENTITY CARD aka ghana card which was introduced by ECOWAS,just look on top of it, it is written clearly ECOWAS,it was on tv ads as far back as 2007 or even earlier

• DEAD GOAT MAHALIAR IS BACK 7 months ago

What can Ghana do without the Digitalization genius Bawumia. Ghana really blessed to have him around.

• Game Changer 7 months ago

President Mahama is causing High Blood Pressure to yanom every single day. Why???Hehehehehe

• Pelicles. 7 months ago

Mahama is rather exhibiting foolishness by attacking the very thing he is now using. What did he tell the people of "Nkran"? He said, quote, "We the people of Ga do not need digitization, rather "Kenkey" and is he using kenke ...

• Is that for kenkey 7 months ago

So the toll is back. You are introducing fees to worsen the plight of Ghanaians.

• MasakalaMicro 7 months ago

We have to pay tolls to fix the roads.
    Where would the money go and what are we going to use it for?
    Who would be in charge of that money? The government needs to be accountabable.

• Anti Ghana NPP 7 months ago

Your stupidity is preventing you from using your brain. You have no perspective in your life that’s why you don’t see any difference between this policy and that of the previous government. Only intelligent people underst ...

• Ghanani 7 months ago

Pericles, Mahama is wiser than your stupid mother and father. Your sensible Akuffo-Addo spent 58 million dollars to create the biggest mosquito bleeding pool in the world. Aboa,kwasea!!!

• Pelicles. 7 months ago

Emotionally driven feral.

• Yaw 7 months ago

If you do not want to pay toll don’t drive on the road simple. You can drive in your garage

• Eric 7 months ago

Apuu he just implementing all Bawumia ideas he can't think outside the box

• Bob the Marley 7 months ago

This implies, snatched / stolen vehicles can not use the toll because the owner of the vehicle will receive a prompt to pay.and the robber can be traced Good

• Yaw 7 months ago

The owner doesn’t have the Ghana card. It is only Ecowas countries who started implementing the Ghana card in 2009 during the 1st implementation

• Lordma 7 months ago

You are a liar

• 24 HOUR ECONOMY YAAMUTU! 7 months ago

Bawumiah is a gift for Ghana. God's time is the best.

• Tonee 7 months ago

What's time you are dreaming

• CK 7 months ago

When we started registering for the Ghana card during President Mills time Bawumia was a student struggling with economics. Even Kufuour is not bringing because if anything at all he was part of the pioneers of Ghana card the ...

• Sam 7 months ago

Is not true

• Kobby 7 months ago

You see how stupid you are. Go back to your books for reference on when this was introduced.

• Nana Gyambiby - Jacobuhene 7 months ago

GHANA HAS BECOME PARADISO!

God richly bless the current Ghana president.

It doesn't matter Bawuliar or not!

Which government laid the Fibre Optic cables in the sea to allow for "Digitalisation"!

Mr Apraku, please ...

• Silas 7 months ago

Shame on you!

• Pelicles. 7 months ago

Go to the archives and check about digitization and which government laid the most fiber optic cables.

• Koti 7 months ago

More questions than answers. Has the system been piloted? How would vehicles from other West African countries visiting Ghana pay? What about drivers without phones/mobile money or bank account pay? Would the gates automatica ...

• Kwame 7 months ago

@Koti where the world is heading now if you don't have,Ghana Card,Mobile Phone with Momo account then you can not be part of the civilised world. You either get it or go and live in some village somewhere where you can do yo ...

• Koti 7 months ago

Thanks.

• Steve Kaye London 7 months ago

John Mahama, you are not ashamed to say that all cars are linked to the owners' Ghana Card.
    You and your vagabond MPs, together with that skeletal chairman, asked your demented foolsoldiers not to register for the card.
    Hav ...

• Ruby 7 months ago

@ Steve Kaye. You are telling lies. Fool

• Zugu. Of zabzugu / TataleN/R 7 months ago

Great and brilliant idea! There have been some intra city trotros in Ghana that the owners have never paid toll for n their life. With this innovation everyone is expected to pay. Foreign cars entering Ghana will be handle th ...

• Kk 7 months ago

Asiedu Nketia once said no one should register foe ghana card. Why ghana card now ndc?

• Nana TRUMU TRUMU Addo 7 months ago

STEVE KAY LONDON: BY ADDING LONDON TO YOUR NAME SHOWS HOW UNCOUTH AND FOOL YOU ARE. IDIOTS LIKE YOU SHOULD REMAIN IN GHANA AND CONTINUE ENJOYING YOUR ANTELOPE TOILET SOUP

• Donatus 7 months ago

I nobody has wired this to his/her private company bank account as alleged in Adu Boahene I and Fred Kwarteng II?

• Prudhomme - Childish Mahama 7 months ago

Mr. Mahama, Ghana is not ready for such a utopian honor system, OK. You need to test this system in a very serious pilot program. Also, your toll of only one cedi is not going to do anything for the country. Be realistic and ...

• korku 7 months ago

exactly! they need a separate platform for this shit cant just take from amanfuos momo accts

• Willie 7 months ago

Mr President, what will happen to our disable people who were laid off by the previous administration. I thought they were promised something.

• Hannan 7 months ago

!!!!!!!!!! Welcome to the best sex dating site --> Fun4.top

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 7 months ago

TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route by your phone etc. PRICE: GHS850. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info ...

• Stanley Chart 7 months ago

DRIVERS AND FORKLIFT OPERATORS NEEDED URGENTLY.
    We need experienced personal drivers, truck drivers and Forklift Operators.
    LOCATIONS: Accra and Tema
    LICENSE GRADE: B, C, D, E and F
    ☎️ 0533574591 ☎️
    Salary rang ...

• Nana 7 months ago

Arr they assuming that all car owners live in Ghana? Please charge it to the drivers, not the owners.

• Kwabena Gyam 7 months ago

Please Mr. President give us idea of how much we will spend in instalation and mantanance of the toll equipment. How much revenue will it generate? I think the one cedi (GHC 1) charge is too low. Minimum should be five cedis ...

• Emmanuel 7 months ago

Mr President slow down for the carency because our salary is working slow down please Mr President

• Kwam 7 months ago

Seriously l disagree with the president JM. Will all vehicles pay 1ghc ??? . As a concerned citizen of Ghana can we hear more definate answers?

• Daakyehene 7 months ago

It won't work, it is dead on arrival, there are so many cars in Ghana which are in the hands of original owners

• Emmanuel 7 months ago

Mr President we are not happy at all because you are making it faster please your citizens in all Gulf county we are not getting anything please Mr President do something for your citizens in Gulf country

• Kofi K, London 7 months ago

If this project is now going through procurement pre-qualification, how did Mahama conclude that it’ll cost only GH1?

• KofSam 7 months ago

If Ghana wants to use the tolls as a revenue generating tool then Ghanaians must be willing to contribute their fair share towards our economic recovery. All vehicles cannot be subject to the same toll. Private vehicles shoul ...

• Laughter 7 months ago

When idiots come into power by mistake...they waste the precious time of hardworking citizens. Now automation is relevant to the economy?

• Eric 7 months ago

Now digitalisation is important this man was lambasting Bawumia for saying we need to digital Ghana economy he was saying all kinds of nonsense ,

• Kwaku Vuley 7 months ago

What about visitors or cross-border drivers who don't have Ghana card or any account in Ghana?

• Omanba 7 months ago

Stupid Ghanaians!! They always have something negative to say about their political opponents. The NPPIANS THEY HAVE NO BRAINS IN THEIR FUCKING HEADS

• Banana republic 7 months ago

What if u are owing quick loan
    More questions than answers

• Kwasi 7 months ago

“…the good thing is that every car is linked to the owner’s GhanaCard …” – John Mahama.

Massa, this is not your baby, it has already been done before you assumed the presidency. Every sincere and levelheaded G ...

• Kwasi 7 months ago

#2012 – 2016

• Kofi 7 months ago

So now, you see the wisdom and sense behind the ghana card? Still, this man is clueless. Abroad, you pay according to the weight of your vehicle. Opana is saying a small vehicle such as a Toyota Vitz will pay the same as a ti ...

• Hahaha 7 months ago

Why can't we just support Mahama now and we thinking about 2029 this will not help us, we must act now to develop the country now, if 2029 whoever's comes we support him as well let be focused on now and not 2029.

• KY 7 months ago

It will be a very difficult task to work through. As far as i know, in Ghana, most people have multiple mobile phones and most of them owe the services providers. These people do tell you not to wire money into specific momo ...

• Ken 7 months ago

Abanpapa Aba

• .com 7 months ago

A beautiful system,not only does it creats employment,generates income ,it's security function is also just perfect.Bravo,Pres.Mahama.