Ras Mubarak lists 22 Ghana embassies that should be scrapped to cut spending

Read Comments Comments (66)

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 6 months ago

Quran is toilet paper. Islam is pure evil. allah is satanic scum.

• Jesus Is God 6 months ago

Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third day. Believe in Him, accept His gift of forgiveness, and receive eternal ...

• Addo 6 months ago

I don't think the person posting quran is a toilet is a Christian because a true Christian will never do this.

• Me 6 months ago

I think it's a real shame on the Editors if Ghanaweb to keep allowing this publication by the same person always.

• Ras 6 months ago

Ghanaweb why haven't you censored this idiot. Block this fool

• Donatus 6 months ago

When were these embassies opened, why were they opened without considering these factors first? Need further and better particulars to compare first. Is economic benefit without political and humanitarian benefits the only co ...

• Big Ben 6 months ago

I think Mr. Mubarak is making a good suggestion, but I will also like to suggest the following:
    1) Why can't the Ghana government request annual or bi-annual reports from the embassies for their accomplishments, diplomati ...

• Former Dining Hall Prefect 6 months ago

Let me begin by saying I wonder what Ghana's ambassador to Guinea or Niger does in his office from 8 am to 5 pm, Monday to Friday. A few decades ago when there was no internet and therefore no text messaging and email, peopl ...

• Unkomoti-Hawaii 6 months ago

Fire time this guy is making sense

• Kk 6 months ago

I agree with hom 1000%
    Including Serbia, Malaysia, Spain

• Me 6 months ago

The Embassy in Malaysia manages the whole of South-east Asia excluding Singapore.

• Waters 6 months ago

In fact is long overdue, our economy is suffering, and yet we are maintaining these embassies. If trade businesses are not coming from those countries, one or two embassies close-by can oversee the needs of Ghanaians when the ...

• Truth corner 6 months ago

ONLY Jesus can save.
    Whoever believes in him will see life again.

• P. Tosh 6 months ago

U have malaria

• Ash 6 months ago

This is long overdue and should be done soonest.
    But I think our West African neighbours should be exempted.
    It looks more like just creating jobs for politicians and friends. Wise advice. Ghana first.

• Eugene mensah Larbi 6 months ago

You are joker former MP you don’t know what you are saying please

• Cadillac. 6 months ago

Eugene Mensah, Ras is making a lot of sense. What do you gain from these embassies?

• John 6 months ago

Ghana has no embassy in Libya

• Okyeheneba 6 months ago

@john
    They have an embassy in Tripoli, Libya

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 6 months ago

Bank ...

• Jeffie 6 months ago

Good idea to close down some embassies that are not effective in trade with Ghana embassies are established in countries to benefit the allies countries.Money spent in these useless countries could help for developing infrast ...

• Good idea 6 months ago

Very good idea.Many embassies are useless to Ghanians taxpayers.The government must stop waisting our money on such useless embassies while people are hungry and no job .Our police stations building in some towns is horrible, ...

• DOOBIA 6 months ago

Is this research-based or you just sat in your room and spewed out this? Do you know the business Ghana does with the Czech Republic? Components of your village bridges come from that country? And do you know the number of Gh ...

• Akroma 6 months ago

Your reasons do not justify the cost and wastage expended in the embassies you have mentioned. There are very few Ghanaian embassies whose role can be economically or even diplomatically justified. Most of them only perform c ...

• Kokonsa 6 months ago

This guy doesn't know the real functions of diplomatic missions.

• The Wiseman 6 months ago

Why don't you tell him?

• Former Dining Hall Prefect 6 months ago

You, tell us the functions of diplomatic missions. A poor third world country like Ghana does not have much to contribute to diplomacy. We should concentrate on trade missions.

• Marquis 6 months ago

Ras you are wrong. Just look at trade between Ghana and its neighbours alone. It doesnt make sense we should close the embassies

• Akroma 6 months ago

You mean without the embassies the ongoing trade between Ghana and our neighbouring countries will not flourish? What relationship do the thousands of traders that cross the Ghana Togo border everyday have with their respect ...

• Richness 6 months ago

Very good idea, this time this guy has made a good suggestion

• Ed 6 months ago

I agree with the closure of Burkina Faso . It is our embassy and immigration officials at the border that are rather not up to scratch with the latest developments. We depend on them for a lot of things. Look at our embassi ...

• Cye 6 months ago

To me Saudi Arabia should be the first embassy to be closed down and Israel should the first embassy to open and man. You mentioned Israel because it's the Holy Land for Christians majority in Ghana but you deem saudi arabia ...

• Kofi 6 months ago

Ignorance on full display. Israel is NOT a Christian country as you seek to portray. The Jews does not even recognise Jesus in the manner you do.

• Joseph 6 months ago

@Cye. Ignorance is dangerous. So you think Israel is a Christian country? Then you need to do more research. To the substantive subject matter, if it is proven having Embassy in Saudi Arabia is not necessary, it can be closed ...

• Donatus 6 months ago

1. Embassies are necessary for both routine administration and emergency situations. Specifically, embassies are established to:
    • Assist citizens of its home country living, working, or traveling overseas.
    • Advance t ...

• Ha 6 months ago

Do these embassies HELP citizens??? The embassies rather make life horrible for the citizens. Tell me one embassy that has the interest of citizens at heart? Just ONE. They rather MILK you.

• Truth 6 months ago

You’re very loud in your ignorance.

• Ha 6 months ago

Iis your name Lie rather than "Truth"? 'm talking from experience. I've lived in many countries around the globe and did not see the embassies doing anything to help the citizens like how other countries' missions do. If you ...

• Baba Y 6 months ago

You've spoken well. Ineffective embassies should be closed down.

• Akroma 6 months ago

If we are to consider that very few Ghanaians have very few good things to say about our diplomatic mission in one of the most powerful countries in the world, the embassy in Washington, then as for the rest, we can very well ...

• Ha 6 months ago

On point. Yes, the embassies are a shame because of party fool soldiers without any qualifications. They don't understand the meaning of service. They think they are lords that need to be worshipped. There's a stark differenc ...

• Ohene 6 months ago

If Ghana Government really wants to tap benefits from Libya, then the Govt. can look at Manpower mobilization to Libyan Oil & Gas Sector.
    The Libyan Companies bring Manpower from Thailand, Philippines, Romania, Algeria, and ...

• Random picking 6 months ago

Good idea but picked some wrong counties.

• Mr. Ibu 6 months ago

Not everything is money. Having a good friend is better than money in your pocket that is why some countries give aid just to derive that soft power from countries.

• The Wiseman 6 months ago

Is it because you are poor? Money is all and everything. Shut up ofui.

• Say it loud 6 months ago

I support this idea 100%.

• Charles 6 months ago

Good suggestion. For example, I don't understand why we have an Embassy in Norway. Why can't the Embassy in Denmark cater for Norway? Also please bring back home all military attaches from the Embassies across the world. Inst ...

• Bazz 6 months ago

Massa u can't close down Israel and neglect Saudi. He makes some sense but this guy naaa he has some mental issues as well

• Yaw 6 months ago

Cheap talk. Does he even understand the essence of diplomatic relations?

• AB 6 months ago

We need to look at both political and economic implications to guide a decision of this kind. This is not about cost savings only.

• Joseph 6 months ago

Long overdue, they should be scrapped.

• The Truth 6 months ago

Do you know the revenue derived from thse countries in terms of passport and visa issuance.
    Do you know the benefits Ghana derived from trade between these countries, especially our neighbours? Ras doesn't know what he's ta ...

• Gaslg 6 months ago

Why should we cut off from our neighbours, Burkina and Ivory Coast for that matter, when we have relatives there?

• SA 6 months ago

Good advise to the government, most of these embassies are of no use to Ghana, they are basically extension of past government corruption posts across the world. The sad news is that they are so corrupt, they do not issue Vis ...

• Gonja Goats 6 months ago

Ras is making good points. One may ask what benefits do we get from having so many military men? A lot of resetting must be done. Government should rather pay the teachers and health workers well. Too many soldiers is a drain ...

• @Gassig 6 months ago

For food security alone we need to maintain good relationship with Burkina Faso.
    Many Ghanaians are living in the countries that Ras has ignorantly calling for closure. How will they get consular help?

• Honestman 6 months ago

I dont agree with Ras you mean cote divoire, Burkina I mean you are not serious with your neighbours. He is not well informed, mind Ghana is hosting Africa. Trade centre and must have outlets for new trade avenues

• Tweaa 6 months ago

Oh Mr Mubarak l lv you so much , you think about these kids too

• . 6 months ago

Ras M is ignorant, period full stop. This is a decision to be made by the President upon the advice of the Minister for Foreign Affairs, who will be advised by the competent authorities.

• Hannan 6 months ago

!!!!!!! A lot of hot girls waiting for you >>> Hot4.eu

• Eun 6 months ago

Thank you, Hon. Mubarack, for your thoughts on the future generation and healthcare. However, we, the Ghana Association of Barbados, would like to kindly ask if you could consider moving the Ghanaian Embassy from Trinidad to ...

• Dr Abraham Tetteh 6 months ago

No no. UAE, B. Faso, Ivory Coast, Austria etc. We have a lot of Ghanaians in these countries. Not a wise decision to make.

• Aziz 6 months ago

Mr. Ras Mubarak, I did not agree with you. We normally open embassies to strengthening our ties with another country economically, which is practice in this 21st century
    Even though some of the embassies seems to be work ...

• Agboglimate Wolefiatem Zuborborm 6 months ago

Ras Mubarak ayekooooooo. A God sent one. I think by now the government has finished closing down all of them fast fast fast before day break. Best decision ever. Never again we should keep these embassies opened

• Osei 6 months ago

I think what should be scrapped is NPP NDC political parties. We need a third party or we should sell Ghana so white people can come and rule us. Because over and over, the black man is showing that no alone is he incompetent ...

• Oracle 6 months ago

Bullocks. Ignoramus talking crap. First look upwhat Ghana gains from these missions before spewing rubbish