Makola onion seller sues Telecel for GH¢2 million for using her picture without her consent

Read Comments Comments (69)

• Aluta 5 months ago

Pay our sister or mother. These companies think they can take advantage of our people.

• MADAM, THIS IS YOUR CHANCE. DO NOT LET THEM CAJOLE YOU INTO SETTLING FOR LESS. 5 months ago

THEIR CURRENCY CONVERTED TO 2 MILLION GHC IS NOTHING FOR A COMPANY LIKE THAT.

• Karikakchar 5 months ago

Obviously some lawyer want some free money, right?

• Six4 5 months ago

If not for poverty, should this have resulted in any lawsuit...???? Hmmmm, the things poverty can do eehhh.......

• Possibility 5 months ago

It has nothing to do with poverty...... ask b4 publishing people's images....

• Complete BS ** 5 months ago

Simple as that .

• ray 5 months ago

lawsuit yes. They cannot exploit her for corporate/Commercial gain to her detriment.

• Koti 5 months ago

Very interesting comments. This is what ignorance can do, these are the people politicians love.

• Kweku Tsin 5 months ago

@Koti...the irony of your own ignorance, and you still don't get it despite people trying to educate your dumb ass.Without a signed permision or compensation you get a lawsuit.

• Aluta 5 months ago

It’s interesting how some people think. These are the same people who will support a politician who steals from the public and uses the money meant for the public for their own benefit. Then when that thieving politician is ...

• Hmmm 5 months ago

Well put. Thank you

• .. 5 months ago

THE LAW IS THE LAW

• Kojo Talons 5 months ago

if not for poverty my ass.. do you know most of these market women earn more income than most of you in tie sitting in offices??

• Oklemekuku 5 months ago

You're ignorant of the law, but that's no excuse

• John Martin 5 months ago

This has nothing to do with poverty,ofui,people rights must always be respected,no matter poor or rich.

• Pelicles. 5 months ago

Are you a normal huma or trying to be? Some of you are the reason these things happen. How do you use someone's picture without her consent? Are you normal? What is the meaning of, if not for poverty, should this result in an ...

• Oboy 5 months ago

Akoa Wei nyansa wo fom oo

• MUMU FOOT SOLDIERS 5 months ago

Because you are not civilise enough, that's why you can say this. They're lucky it is in Ghana here where people like you didn't know their right

• A SKILL THAT CAN CHANGE YOUR LIFE: RECOMMENDED FOR YOUTH EMPOWERMENT PROGRAMS 5 months ago

EARN DAILY from in-demand high-skilled HAND-WORK - it is your secret vault. EMPOWER yourself or help a young man around you with this skill; Youth Empowerment Schemes? Buy quantities and share to youths...You either rise or g ...

• Luck 5 months ago

This is your luck..take full advantage madam

• Kojo 5 months ago

She should get image rights payments for all billboards and commercials involving her as long as they are running and being used. Time to cash out Ma'

• Kwakusika 5 months ago

I tell u!What a lb opportunity !

• Major 5 months ago

90% of the money is for the crooked lawyers pockets.

• Karikakchar 5 months ago

Exactly as you know it!

• King 5 months ago

Very smart move of her IP rights.

• Teddy more 5 months ago

This will never work for compensation. Was that your personal image or the product. This is similar to sakodie. If the government takes pictures of food products or across the market what would you say?
    Waste of time. Is ...

• Nkrapan. 5 months ago

My brother read well and understand before you respond to issues.
    The writer says file photo get someone to explain to you what that means.

• @TEDDY MOORE: I HOPE YOU HAVEN'T REPRODUCED YET. PLEASE DO US A FAVOR AND GET A VASECTOMY. SO YOU THOUGHT THEY ARE SUING BECAUSE PICTURES OF HER ONIONS WERE USED? 5 months ago

BRAIN FREE, INTELLIGENCE FREE. WE BEG, DON'T HAVE KIDS WAI

• Possibility 5 months ago

The person said her friends told her about the bill boards and u are asking if the picture is about the product...... are the onions unique to their sellers....

• Nuo 5 months ago

Lazy Gas want to be smart

• Mucus 5 months ago

Are you from kumasi?no hard feelings. I am only asking.

• Goodman 5 months ago

Useless being,she is from your children, someone made foolish comments and you foolishly asking if she is from Kumasi,some of you just hate Asantes for no obvious reasons. Asantes you hate are better than you million times

• Major 5 months ago

Ashantis suffer from cognitive dissonance and mental incapacity. They need help. Some of those illiterates even say Kwaku Duah is Julius Caesar, in addition to king solomon. If this is not madness, then tell me.

Opinionated bush people blinded by ignorance .

• Giffen 5 months ago

Coming from a low I.Q ,lazy beach shitter..very funny

@Goodman.. This type of nonsense only comes from one place, and one place only, KUMASI. It's like they have taken an oath to demonize other tribes with lies to feed their inferiority complex. The rest of Ghana does not have p ...

• EBBY 5 months ago

Wow. It’s amazing how Asantes are living rent free in the minds of the other tribes. Why do you get psychologically traumatized anytime hear of the name Asantes? Seriously, this is not good for your mental health. This is t ...

• Aluta 5 months ago

You don’t understand. Stay in your corner.

• Kwame Peter 5 months ago

Six4,this is not poverty matter,this is unauthorized violation of her human rights and dignity,the compensation being is even too small.Whoever did that on behalf of Telecel was highly unprofessional and aught to be sacked.

• Onye Gbemii 5 months ago

What is 2m ? Stupid lawyers should have asked for 200 billion cedis. And put her on contract since her imaged already been used .

• Kofi Christian 5 months ago

Bam! Thanks

• Osei mensah bonsu 5 months ago

She has hit a gold pot like that. She should start looking for a house to buy

• Scoring goals for Ghana is not easy 5 months ago

What about KIVO gari 4 in 1

• Kay 5 months ago

Wow! Let's test the law for purpose of education.

• Zola 5 months ago

The company will not pay her Foko. Because you can get these images from pexel for free. Or other places to buy. Someone else took her picture and sold it.

• Buju 5 months ago

Educate yourself on the law.

• Richie 5 months ago

Can someone take your picture and sell it just like that? Isn't there any legal action the person whose image was taken can take?

• Lucky 5 months ago

What image is this woman and her Lawyers talking about? I can see Onions displayed. Is there something more than the Onions?

• Aluta 5 months ago

Do you know the meaning of intellectual property? If not, please stay in your corner.

• La Pleasure man 5 months ago

This was just a file photo as an illustration for the article..
    The case is about another picture showing her face.

• USA Visa with cruise ship Jobs available 5 months ago

USA visa available with cruise ship job and lucrative salary
    Call/Whatsapp:0248909267

Serbia Tourist Visa Available
    Call/Whatsapp:02489009267

Mexico Tourist Visa Available
    Call/Whatsapp:0248909267

Bank Statement ...

• Sam Fante warrior. 5 months ago

Stupid educated fools you should pay her now.

• Man 5 months ago

Smart woman

• Frank Boateng A 5 months ago

Out of court settlement; make friends with Telcel again! Enjoy your new found fame and the windfall ( sudden prosperity). I hope it was a reasonable pro bono

• Kwame 5 months ago

He he he I laugh enter Mokola market. Admittedly she was not consulted or engaged before using her picture; the company will simply settle her with some cash, she pays her lawyers who know very well that this is a low hanging ...

• Too small 5 months ago

Madam you should have asked for twenty million and finally settle on ten million. You can change your mind and do the adjustments they will pay . Get a big strong lawyer .

• Nana 5 months ago

I will always advocate for our of court settlement. The harm has already been done. Reputation is denied. Lawyer is rich. The woman will have her cut. The money will not last

• Nana 5 months ago

Reputable is damaged

• Kojo 5 months ago

Let's see the advert. She will get some compensation but not to that amount. How popular is she or how well is she know in Ghana?

• T.T 5 months ago

Only an ignorant person won't see anything wrong with her stance.

• Aluta 5 months ago

T.T, it looks like you are the ignorant one here! Do you know the meaning of using someone’s likeness without consent? If you don’t know, pleas stay in your corner.

• George 5 months ago

What if she confesses that she can't read and did not ask her lawyer to go to court.

• John Martin 5 months ago

Thanks madam,well done,but the money is too small.
    Now people will learn from u.

• Pelicles. 5 months ago

Madam Abbey, go full length with your lawsuit. It is about time these companies should know their boundaries, because in the West, they cannot do that.

• Kofi 5 months ago

ONE QUESTION IS, DID SHE AGREE FOR HER PICTURE TO BE TAKEN? IF YES, WAS THERE AN ORAL "CHAT" THAT WE ARE GOING TO PUBLISH IT AND MAKE EVERYONE SEE YOU?
    IF THE ANSWER IS YES, SHE HASN'T GOT MUCH CHANCE.
    IF THE ANSWER IS NO, ...

• MUMU FOOT SOLDIERS 5 months ago

The money is too small sef. I'm happy they can now learn how to operate. Remain someone suing them for bad network which made him/her loosing contact or any sort

• Hannan 5 months ago

.. Hot girls are waiting for you on >>> Hot4.eu

• Kwakusika 5 months ago

I love this suit.₵2m koraa is small.She have asked for ₵10 m

• Baby 5 months ago

How can a big tech company like telecel make such a childish mistake. Heads will surely role.