'Ato Essien is critically-ill in prison, do we leave him there?' – John Apea urges clemency

Read Comments Comments (112)

• Kow 4 months ago

Many people are there who are sick more than him, what do we do to them? Poor people's life also matters

• Kwame King 4 months ago

It's quite unfortunate the African is too corrupt to the extent that we equally find space to pull everybody along the path. Is Atto Easier the only one sick the prison? U know those making that notice are being paid to that. ...

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 4 months ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine....for instance 10 paracetamol at once.....or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Simeon London 4 months ago

Time to release al political l thieves!! Meanwhile the hungry poor guy whole stole cassava is still on remand after 10 years.
    Let's close down all prisons , cells and courts. Total waste of tax payers money

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 4 months ago

If he can sell all his properties and pay the stolen money to the country, then he should be released. If he cannot, let him die in Prison. He is an economic criminal and must pay the money back before he is released. There a ...

• YES OOO. NO ONE EVER SAID THAT PRISON IS ONLY FOR THOSE ENJOYING GOOD HEALTH. WHEN THE VICTIMS WHOSE MONEY HE STOLE DIED IN SILENCE IN THEIR HOMES BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT AFFORD TO EVEN GO TO THE HOSPITAL, NO ONE WROTE ARTICLES ON THEIR BEHALF 4 months ago

AND NO ONE STARTED STUPID PETITIONS FOR THEM. GO SIT DOWN AND REST. A CRIMINAL BELONGS IN PRISON WHETHER THEY ARE SICK OR NOT.

• CADA 4 months ago

Thank you,...some of us are suffering in SILENCE!

• Anokwale 4 months ago

I thought Frank Agyena-Karikari had a head, but now know he is headless.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 4 months ago

Frank Agyena Karikari cannot be headless because he has brains to think and write for fools like you to read, understand, and respond. ODWAN LIKE YOU.

• Coconut 4 months ago

If you release him today, he will attend church on Sunday without a wheel chair. This will serve as a lesson for those who want to cheat the tax payer. I am hoping of such people will serve prison term and learn valuable less ...

• Dr. Allen Smith Jackson, UK 4 months ago

Why are these clowns not campaigning for all sick Ghanaians in prison to be released?

• Christopher Ang-Nieten Dassah 4 months ago

You are on point!!!!

• JESUS IS GOD 4 months ago

Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third day. Believe in Him, accept His gift of forgiveness, and receive eternal ...

• Nana oware 4 months ago

Yes, we should pardon him. Ghanaians should forgive him. Mr. President, please my only need or request from you as President of Ghana, i plead that you pardon this man . Please please, he has family. He was once a responsible ...

• bs 4 months ago

kwaseaa

• Ali 4 months ago

So you will repay the money for him?

• Zamata 4 months ago

Why don't you go an replace him in prison? Tell the courts you want to serve his sentence for him

• Kwaata 4 months ago

Idiot dem bastard

• Pat 4 months ago

He must die in jail. No pardon.

• Hospital Blanket 4 months ago

Kwasiampanii, tell us, those who also sick in prison who doesn't have family? You are only doing the fante confederation job. That Dr. Apea guy is fanti and probably relates to Ato.

• HE PAID 10% OF THE STOLEN MONEY TO OTTABIL AS TITHES AND ADDITIONAL EXTRA MONEIES TO HIM AS OFFERINGS. OTABIL MUST REFUND ALL THOSE MONIES WITH INTEREST TO HELP HIM PAY BACK THE MONEY AND BE FREED!!!!! 4 months ago

WHAT YOU SHOULD BE TALKING ABOUT IS RAISING THE FULL AMOUNT OF MONEY HE STOLE AND PAYING IT BACK TO THE STATE WITH INTERESTS SO THAT THE STATE CAN FREE HIM. THE STATE CANNOT FREE HIM ON CLEMEMCY WITHOUT FIRST RECEIVING THE FU ...

• Kojo 4 months ago

Exactly!!!

• ST Ghfuo: CANADIANS ARE BIASED, DISHONEST 4 months ago

fucking thieves who cant be trusted with major jobs. where is the money? why is cecila dapaah not in jail? ghana is a fucking useless shithole country you allow govt thieves to walk around. imf an dworldbank need to hold this ...

• ST Ghfuo: CANADIANS ARE BIASED, DISHONEST 4 months ago

YOU FUCKING PUBLIC SECTPR THIEVES CECILIA DAPAAH YOU FUCKING ASSHOLE YOU ROT IN HELL.

• Kwesi 4 months ago

Dr. Apea, since when did you realise that Ghanaians are put in prisons for their crimes? The only person you know in our prisons is Ato Essien, Abi? Just get lost with your senseless contribution.

• Zamata 4 months ago

Apea can go to nsawam to replace Ato

• Lord Peppers 4 months ago

Please allow the law to work, he committed a crime against the state and must dance to that tune of music. We call it justice

• Wwwe 4 months ago

Lol now Ibrahim mahama and his brother HV left him there lol

• Zamata 4 months ago

Hahaha hahaha

• Wasteman 4 months ago

THIS DUDE HAS NOT EVEN SERVED 1 YEAR AND PEOPLE ARE SHOUTING FOR HIS RELEASE?!!…NONSENSE…DOCTOR TELL US WHO SHOULD BE IN JAIL?…APONKYE!!!

• Jacobzanne 4 months ago

The LAW must apply to everyone equally, who's Ato Essien? He has to spend his term in prison atleast to have way for so called white colour CRIMINALS to NSAWAM too. Nobody is above the law..

• Kofi Kay 4 months ago

Agraada is there barely a month and people are calling for clemency. This stupidity must stop!!!!

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 4 months ago

Track your car with our GPS vehicle tracking systems. Stop engine and monitor voice with your phone. Prevent car theft now. Cost; 850Gh. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Wtfff

• KofSam 4 months ago

There should be no clemency for financial misappropriations to benefit those accused but based on his medical condition, Ato Essien can have his sentence reduced and sent to a hospital for medical treatment.
    Ghana should n ...

• Poki 4 months ago

You’re chatting gibberish. Sorry

• Joy 4 months ago

He must be released

• KAKABO 4 months ago

He stole from the nation while speaking tongues. Nobody put him there. He put himself in prison by stealing without any remorse. If he is sick, he can request to be taken to the hospital and back. That is allowed under the la ...

• Onaapo 4 months ago

He'll die and rot in prison. If Prez grants him pardons then all the prisoners in Nsawam should be freed

• Zamata 4 months ago

Former Finance minister Kwame Peprah and Victor Selormey were jailed. Victor died in prison. Ato isn't special

• BB 4 months ago

Masa we need our money is it was me they won’t even mind me.

• Emmanuel 4 months ago

Why don’t you trade place with him John, he’s release , you serve the rest of his sentence

• Kwadwo Djan 4 months ago

Beautiful contributions. It is nationalistic in nature.

• K. P. U S of A 4 months ago

You know, one thing l don't understand back home is whenever a corrupt politician or a crooked corrupt Rich individual is sent to prison they will always find a way to be sick or gravely ill.. allegedly. I mean just saying! W ...

• kelewele 4 months ago

It's all just political theatrics. This man is nowhere near prison and is enjoying his millions stolen from customers quietly somewhere in Accra.

• Gborlahn 4 months ago

How come goat thieves live out their sentence there but the thieving political class are always critically ill and require presidential pardon?

• larbi earthar 4 months ago

he should rot in that hell

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 4 months ago

Bank ...

• Edem 4 months ago

Rubbish

• Nsoh 4 months ago

Why is it that only rich folks fall so sick that it warrants pardons from prison. What about other sick people there. There are periods where the president pardons inmates. Let’s wait for that day if he fits the criteria.

• Is he the only sick person there? 4 months ago

All NDC criminals are being asked to go free without prosecution. Why keep him there? Take him out. The proper day of reckoning is coming. And Mahama himself and his family will be dragged from his sick bed to answer for his ...

• DDT 4 months ago

Since pastor Otabil is enjoying his life after being part of the loot. The guy should be pardon immediately by President Mahama. Before i was against it but anytime i remember that Pastor Otabil was the board chairman, i feel ...

• Benjamin 4 months ago

Are serious? How can they jail a man of God like Otabil? Dare touch him and you will see the wrath of God. You better and apologize

• La Pleasure man 4 months ago

Fxck thiefman Otabil, fxck ashawo Joyce Aryee, fxck thiefman Opoku Onyinah and fxck thiefman Kusi Boateng..

• Sak 4 months ago

Nonsense

• Nana oware 4 months ago

Yes, we should pardon him. Ghanaians should forgive him. Mr. President, please my only need or request from you as President of Ghana, i plead that you pardon this man . Please please, he has family. He was once a responsibl ...

• Ghana Money 4 months ago

Ghana is an interesting state.
    So soon as criminals are jailed they become seriously sick.
    If this is the way to go, then every criminal must be released.
    Not only those who stole millions of cedis.

• Obaa yaa 4 months ago

Please ask Dr Mensah Otabil to send should Pastors from ICGC to go and pray for him. That should be easy.

• Kwaku 4 months ago

Is he different from the other inmates who just stole a bunch of plantain?

• Sammy 4 months ago

Nonsense some of the inmates are in clutches.Some are even blind some are having stroke there are still there.Is he a above the law?

• Kojois 4 months ago

Stupid he should die there

• Christopher Ang-Nieten Dassah 4 months ago

If you really care, why not help him defray the amount owed the nation!!!

• Tryme 4 months ago

They should extend to him the good medical care he would have gotten when released there. The stealing he did, does he know the number of people who suffered from it? Criminals in coat. There is no mercy for such wicked souls ...

• Asemoooooo 4 months ago

Why would you prosecute and jail other people for causing financial loss to the state and at the same time show clemency to another person who has been jailed for a similar offense because he has influential people to plead h ...

• Razal Sheiba 4 months ago

As part of the NDC " reset Ghana" , they should equally "reset" Ghana's prisons by granting amnesty to all prisoners . Resetting Ato Essein alone will be discriminatory.

• Hannan 4 months ago

!! Hot girls are waiting for you on ~~ Sexy24.mom

• Abi 4 months ago

Cleamency on the ground that his blood is blue? Man have to pay for an international crime.when he was enjoying did he ever taught her will end up like this? He's not better than those there for the same crime?

• Jon k 4 months ago

Dear Mr Apea, you should be advocating for sick prisoners not for Ato only. I would love to see Ato released just like any other prisoner . The state should show compassion

• WHY CLEMENCY? BECAUSE HE'S RICH?? 4 months ago

Stupid foolish ppl asking for clemency for a criminal who's action had caused families financial and generational wealth to vanished .. how many poor ppl with less to no crime in bad state of health that have u asked for cle ...

• Otabil 4 months ago

I don't understand why Otabil is walking freely and Arto is languishing in jail?

• Koa 4 months ago

Stop that nonsense, so anybody can steal our millions of cedis and whilst paying the price for it should be pardoned because perhaps his party is in power. Do you know how many people are in prisons suffering more than him fo ...

• Ali 4 months ago

When Ato enjoying the money,is enjoying that money alone,so let him too alone what the problem?

• Abugre 4 months ago

Jesus gave out his life for other, it is said. John Apea should simply go and take over Essien's place at Nsawam and run the rest of the jail term.

• Kpotokui 4 months ago

Foolish monkey called apea. Wo maame twe paaaa kwasiaaaaa. Idiot like you. Foolish thing why won't you go and release him??? Gyimigyimi, ass.hole. that your very foolish 2by4 PhD, in fact wo maame twe. Gbeha!!!

• Koti 4 months ago

That's African politics, full of charade. Politicians who were in court before the change of government have been freed and are to be replaced with their political opponents. They are now finding a cunning way to free their s ...

• Zamata 4 months ago

The prison authority will take him to hospital. Does he have his diagnosis? There are over 5000 inmates currently in prison. Is he special?
    Dr John Apea can swap with Ato if he feels so strongly about it

• Kofi Addo 4 months ago

Let the poor man go la….. he’s paid more than enough than the other guys sef

• Philip Korankye 4 months ago

I am shocked by the hypocrisy of Ghanaians. The same Ghanaians who go to church every Sunday and the mosque every Friday. Is this what God or Allah will want? Let’s listen to the facts. He has paid back 100% of what he was ...

• Kwaata 4 months ago

You’re just idiot who is out his senses

• Moses 4 months ago

There some prisons in jail for 10 years the only crime they committed was stealing Banana. Let fight for those prison get out. This guy was corrupt amd he is in jail,

• Ghana man 4 months ago

They should jail all of those uses Ghana money useless for their own interest and other people are suffering,Victor Salomon,was jailed and die at the prison without any sympathy,is he not a Ghanian,Law is law allow the law sh ...

• Kofi Kay 4 months ago

Every criminal need clemency now. Even Agraada. You guys should stop this nonsens. "The Law is the Law"

• Dread 4 months ago

Whoever is this should just back off. What is so special about Ato Essien?

• Na wo see s3n 4 months ago

You so called human rights and commonwealth whan whan, can you make this statement in any developed or commonwealth country apart from Africa and go scot free. A criminal or a currupt jailed person should be released from pri ...

• Smurffy 4 months ago

This gentleman was given opportunity to pay make payments on the money he made few payments and defaulted, perhaps he thought as usual they will lets him slide, he could have avoided prison by selling all those properties the ...

• kofi 4 months ago

what about poor peoples in prison,we always dont count poor peoples in prison. are not all equal in law or eyes of god. p;ease do not write the story

• Nii Joromi 4 months ago

Other petty thieves and innocent people are also rotting in our filthy jails. Justice for all. Not only for the rich who have destroyed our country over the years. He should serve his time quietly.

• kofi 4 months ago

we in eyes of God the same.it time things ask to change in ghana.rich people do not go to prison only poor peoples

• kofi 4 months ago

good for him

• Fiifi 4 months ago

Release all prisoners then. Share pix of every prisoner and tell us if indeed they are receiving the care the deserve

• Kwaata 4 months ago

Stupid man is ato forsen the only person ill in the prison?

• Free Ato Essien just like Mike nyinaku! 4 months ago

Free Ato Essien just like the criminal mike nyinaku!!

• Sam T 4 months ago

That too known boy; see his face in prison today.. lol

• YAW 4 months ago

even evil iran govt somthing how mercy to people i say release the man but make him understand he need to pay his debt or go back to jail there is no free lunch and dinner is not cheaper either

• NDC NPP SAME DEVIL 4 months ago

Many more innocent prisoners are in there and you don't care about them. All u care about is Ato Essien.
    Is he more human than the rest? These are the sort of things u do to attract a disease like corona virus which does n ...

• Nana Wireko 4 months ago

Those who are leading this delegation for his removal are all those he spend the money with…. Meaning helping Tim to collapse the bank…… and also is he special than those he went to meet them over there…… they are n ...

• Agenda1 4 months ago

Dr Apea is exercuting exactly the pig agenda.
    Dr, do u know how many prisoners we have across the country who are currently sick? How then single out Stop Essien?

• Brigadier Sabari v.2 4 months ago

Stop the nonsense. Tsatsu tsikata, mallam issah and many more white collar criminals fiegned illnesses to the point of death in jail to be freed only for them gain the strength of Samson.

• Lori 4 months ago

Who cares!

• Ghanaba kwaku 4 months ago

Then we should leave all prisoners .
    All the other inmates are also human beings.
    Is he the only one in that condition?

• Ghana. Ooo Ghana 4 months ago

Is better than any of his mates?

• Ghana. Ooo Ghana 4 months ago

Is he better than any of his mates?

• ICGC 4 months ago

So what about Mensa Otabil who is also equally guilty? Is it because of his congregants or what, Otabil transfered some of that 90 million to purchase properties in USA and he isvwalking as a freeman whiles only Ato is langui ...

• Demeterius 4 months ago

Is he the only person who is sick in prison? We must stop this emotional selective gimmicks.....

• Pee 4 months ago

Stupid man go replace him urself so he come out people doing bad things against the nation when they arrest them same people stand begging for them. Fool if u want to pay money took from BOG then go ahead pay or u go and re ...

• Raphael Abeam US 4 months ago

They should take him ftom.the prison immediately. Which is more important money or human being
    We should think of our fellow human being more than money.. Can money replace that of human being
    Take him from the prison imme ...

• Miagy Soft 4 months ago

Its a lie, all the prisoners are criticslly ill too.. The agenda has started

• Pat 4 months ago

Yes, leave him there. He is not the first criminal neither would he be the last criminal to die in jail.

Ghanaians are hypocrites when it comes to the truth and punishment. Please allow the law to work.

• Stitches 4 months ago

He should be released so that he will come and chop the remaining money and laugh at us? Damn ass-hole. It's either he pays all the remaining 60million or rot in jail

• Kofi Asare 4 months ago

Other people are critically ill in prison. Do they matter to you?

• Eric Ababio 4 months ago

No mercy for any smelly, corrupt greedy characters. They have caused real harm and suffering to others. no mercy even if they repent in the name of God. We cant trust them. They are all hypocrates and evil minded masqueraders ...

• CARNIVAL GOLIATH 4 months ago

Greed is a condition. Greedy people suffer from pathological jealousy, deceit and evil mindedness.

• Adanko 4 months ago

John Apea!!!! You need to go for a serious mental check up wai