Wow. On the face of it, ooooooo expensive. But Economies of scale. 1 : 10
What are you even talking about? Even Liberia and eSwatini are getting better rate with their smaller markets than Ghana.
THESE KWASIA GHANAIANS!
IN GHANA, THE MORE A LEADER LOOTS, THE STATE, THE MORE GHANAIANS WORSHIP HIM OR HER.
CONDONE THE DECADES OF LEADERSHIP THIEVERY IN GHANA. WE SHALL ALL CONTINUE TO SUFFER REPAYING DECADES OF HEAP ...
TODAY, THE MARKET PRICE OF ONE 12.5 KG GOLD BAR SELLS IN DUBAI AND THE WEST FOR A WHOPPING £1.20 MILLION TAX-FREE IN DUBAI.
WHAT HAVE SUCCESSIVE OTUMFUORS AND OTHER GHANAIAN LEADERS BEEN DOING WITH THE PROCEEDS FROM THE ...
Nigeria has a bigger market and prices will be significantly lower than in Ghana. Simple 101 economics.
If Nigeria have a bigger economy than Ghana, what about Liberia?
Brilliant question...thank you
@kelewele is one of those fools that reads the title and come and comment. There is table showing countries with even smaller population than Ghana getting better deal.
@kelewele is right , they should have compared Ghana to the countries with the same population not Nigeria that's heavily populated. But mentioning Nigeria will make Ignorant Ghanaians angry so they used it.
Economics 101. The bigger the market, the lower the prices. The smaller the market, the higher the prices to balance the ratio. Still don't get it?
I guess the question then is "why is Ghana paying higher rates than Liberia, Angola, Botswana"?
Ghana has a higher market than these countries based on population size.
Some times it may not depend only on the size of the pulpulation but the capital per income per head,that is the purchasing power.Botswana or Mauritius may have about one tenth the size of Ghanas pulpulation but their purchas ...
Your logic would work if Eswathini was expensive than Ghana
That small and poor country having it cheaper throws your argument overboard
Don't mind these fools. They'll defend like they work for or own DStv. In any case August 7th is around the corner. Showdown.
Are saying this for a fact or just a conjecture? Then support your claims with figures. We should ask Multichoice, operators of tje DSTv to explain to us how they came by these indices for Ghana rwlative to the other countrie ...
@ CB Agyemang, is Liberia's purchasing power more than Ghana's, and does Liberia have more subscribers than Ghana? You should have dealt with these as part of your submission.
Ghana’s smaller population does not justify maintaining the same profit levels as in larger markets.
What about Liberia
does liberia have covid tax and dont forget ghana's inflation rate was one of the highest in west africa at a time and even globally if you looked at the global average
Ghana’s smaller population does not justify maintaining the same profit levels as in larger markets.
You are at the same time wrong because Ghana's population is higher than the remaining countries.
You are not making sense either with your analysis. Ghana's population isn't bigger than that of Angola, Nigeria or SA. Angola for example has a bigger population and a lower GDP per capita so prices will be adjusted to those ...
Did you not see Liberia an eSwatini?
U re daft paaa
It doesn’t matter..u this kelewele, u shouldn’t be commenting on important economic issues because u seems very stupid..I have seen most of your comments on this platform and its always full of stupidity..it’s not the f ...
Use the same Economics on Eswathini
No no no ! What about Liberia with 6.5 million population? They see ghana as cheap because our MPs make stupid laws that dont protect us.
So Ghanaians simply cannot support it when something good is coming their way. Must you always fight goods things because you think you know it all. Here is a minister trying to get a company to ease some financial burdens bu ...
Thanks honourable Sam George for highlighting the unfair pricing by Multi choice. My question is didn't the former minister for communication Ursula Owusu know this? Or she knew but decided to turn a blind eye to it.
Sam Ge ...
I'm not NDC, I'm a "Ghana first principle".;Sam. thanks for this gesture. This is "Ghana first" move.
I have liked Sam from afar. A presidential material he is. I agree with you 100%, Sam.
What about the cost of doing business in Ghana as compared to other jurisdictions. Not to talk about the nuisance taxes. Clearly, operational cost will be transferred to consumers.
I'm not sure "MULTI CHOICE" and the Dstv operators cited "cost of doing business" as a reason for the high rates.
Smart analysis. It is like asking why Waakye might cost 2 cedis in Nigeria bu cost 25 cedis in Ghana. No logical analysis in his blunt statement. Raw minister with no brains to analyze the why but rather the effect. Tweaaa.
Do they pay their Ghanaian employees higher than Nigeria or other nations. I suort Sam George. They reduce it or they leave. We have TikTok these days even
Stop the commentary and fix the problem. You were yelling in opposition and u r in power and still running unnecessary commentary
Stupid guy. He's fixing the problem. Everything is always politics with you clowns.
Honorable Minister of Communications,
Thank you very much for standing up for us on the issue of DSTV subscription fees. Indeed, the cost of DSTV in our country is significantly higher compared to other African nations. Th ...
What do you describe as "unnecessary TV watching"?
All they want is money money and money.
Ban them .
Please revoke their licence DSTV are thieves
Dear Ghanaians, get yourself DSTV Nigeria decoder and use to save yourself.
I think DSTV Ghana is not wise. Some Ghanaians are using DSTV Nigerian decoder to pay lower charges. If our charges are reduced as same as that if Nigerian, all those people will revert and more customers will also go in for ...
Stop this foolish urgument and reason out.Common economic principle will tell you that one of the factors of deciding on where to invest is the size of the pulpulation at a particular geographical situate.Nigeria has a pulpul ...
What's with this guy and DSTV drama. While DSTV provides entertainment and information, it is not a fundamental need like food, shelter, or healthcare. Focusing on these basic needs and economic development will have a far gr ...
Many people defending DSTV do not use the service, so they have no idea what users are experiencing. They should just keep quiet.
This is more than enough evidence
The data don't lie, force them to reduce it, even equalize it or threatened to cancel their contracts, exactly what Donald Trump is doing with Tariffs across the world, it works with difficult partners in business. All these ...
DsTV, the minister should work on the telecoms and everything can be streamed online
The fact that they compare themselves with Nigerians make it even funnier. I won't tell them why they will be at lost in the end. DStv is in a good place when it comes to this negotiation unless DStv sorry for y'all that's w ...
We have tolerant of exploitative transnational businesses for too long
How much tariff has been placed on Dstv's broadcast or transmission to to Ghana?
Ghana must be charging DSTV higher tariff resulting in highest subscription fees. I am sure that Sam George's Ministry must be over-taxing ...
Why do you compare Ghana to Nigeria when you know Nigeria is ten times the size of Ghana. They are smaller countries paying less, that should the comparison not Nigeria. Why are you people so stupid. The hatred for Nigeria i ...
Massa tackle the lousy service and rip offs from the telcos and stop this dstv nonsense.
The reset is on course. Let’s look at all other areas to block the loot
WHAT IS THE AU FOR ? THE AFRICAN UNION SHOULD NOT ALLOW MULTINATIONALS TO RIP US !!! EU FOR EXAMPLE WILL NEVER ALLOW THIS . THEY HAVE COLLECTIVE BARGAINING POWER .
The white always keep billing ghanaians more than any country in the world.
;))))) Welcome to the best sex dating site ~~ Sexy24.mom
But is it by force to subscribe to DSTV? It is by choice.
EVEN INTERNATIONAL PHONE NETWORKS CHARGES GHANAIANS HIGHER RATES THAN OUR NEIGHBORS ON THE AFRICAN, BECAUSE OUR POLITICIANS TAKES KICKBACKS FOR THEMSELVES AND THE POLITICAL PARTY THEY BELONG TO. THAT IS THE REASON WHY WHEN TH ...
Don't you think that DSTV is charging less plus something added for somebody . Please just investigate how much they are officially charging Ghana. It is a pitty they chopped everywhere.
A NOTE TO SAM GEORGE
Thank you for your self-explanatory chart which fits a political campaign.
I respectfully wish to remind you that the political campaign ended seven months ago. NDC won. Ghanaians want solutions: ...
Thank you Mr George . Force dstv to reduce their prices in Ghana by whatever means .On the 7th Aug , lock all their offices with the police and if possible with the military . Let their license be revoked and drive them away. ...
For the first time in history, I support Sam George..As a country we have allowed ourselves to be exploited by foreign companies..any services that’s cheaper in other African countries, Ghanaians have to pay for 10 times th ...
For this price you get in USA TV unlimited internet Yes unlimited internet and telephone. DSTV give you old movies only. By the way Kenia is also cheaper. And MTN Ghana Internet is also more expensive than SA.
I hope you had the common sense to also have asked how much taxes are these countries charging DSTV.
IT'S A MERE TALK SHOP NOTHING POSITIVE.....
I have thrown my DSTv decorder away very long time. Just get a digital n satellite TV u are ok. It's free to watch. If u want a good Installer to get the stations u can send me ur number. Thanks
Sam George should force Dstv to give us Nigeria prices or revoke their licence.!!!No compromise!!
Now the picture is clear why Ghana is paying such huge amounts if dstv can not comply what the minister is saying,then they should take action because this is day light rubbery nkwasias3m kwa