Government raises cocoa producer price to $5,040 per tonne for 2025/2026 season

Read Comments Comments (42)

• Addo 4 months ago

I hope the government has the money to pay. I am wondering how the government is going to get the necessary revenue to carry out projects.

• Arkhosua 4 months ago

Cocoa farmers are paid from sale of their produce.

• KK 4 months ago

Shameless government. Only Ghc128 on a bag. NDC where is the Ghc7000 cedis you promised us?

• Benji 4 months ago

@Arkhosua you get it, as opposed to the fools on Ghanaweb. I would add that the cedi appreciation is good for everyone except exporters. Government did increase the farmers share in dollars by 68% compare to last year, but it ...

• GH8 4 months ago

Massa a tonne of cocoa at the world market is about 9000 dollars so giving farmers 5040 dollars a tonne is about 56% of the world market price. So they can easily pay if and only if they want to reduce the corruption at COCOB ...

• GH8 4 months ago

Fucking bloody lying politicians. What is soo significant about this price increase? A tonne of cocoa is made up of 16 bags(5040÷16)= 315 USD. If you multiply 315 dollars by the current rate of 10.45 cedis to a dollar you ge ...

• Truth 4 months ago

Very solid analysis. Ghc 200 per bag nd they are shouting as if there is anything to write home about.

• Benji 4 months ago

@GH8 is a typical dishonest NPP stooge. There is a significant increase of 62.58% in dollar term as stated, from NPP $3100 to NDC $5040. Unfortunately for everybody in the cocoa value chain, the cedi has appreciated in the me ...

• GH8 4 months ago

@ Benji typical NDC propaganda stooge. Do we pay farmers in dollars? It's your party that promised cocoa farmers heaven and earth and also touting your great performance of improving the performance of the cedi against the do ...

• JM 4 months ago

Kwasia do you transact with dollar or cedi

• Kwame Prah 4 months ago

Gh200 cedis is heavier now now it was 6 months ago. It will buy more things at current inflationary value of 13.7 instead of the inflation of 54.8% under Bawumia and Nana. In dollar terms, the farmers are earning much more.

• Kojo 4 months ago

To whom, proces are the same. Foolish NDC. Employ more anti cocoa smuggling. Togo do not sell in the world market. What a shame

• judischrislam 4 months ago

The current world price varies between 5314 t0 7 600 us dollars per tonne. Therefore the increase in price is very close to actual world price. This is an incetive to into cocoa farming as a career.
    Thank you

• Ghanaman 4 months ago

I suspected foul play ( usual with Ghanaian politicians), when they started quoting the increase in price in dollars instead of cedis. They wanted it to look so big. These people have no shame koraa o! They think they are mor ...

• Foreigner 4 months ago

Maybe it's not significant to u but to the farmers. If every gov was to increase this prices by 280gh yrly, will farmers be complaining everyday? Not everything is supposed to be politics.

• John Doe 4 months ago

Br0, GH8, these politicians are scammers. They are buying the cocoa at the same price, they campaign against. LOL

• George 4 months ago

NOW IVORY COAST AND EVERY COCA PRODUCING COMPANIES WILL SALE MORE AND GHANA COCOA WILL REMAIN IN GHANA

• Nico 4 months ago

Politicians never disappoints

• 100,000,000 4 months ago

Bro Gh the per price to cedis is Ghc 5040 wai read it again

• Kwame Nkrumah 4 months ago

Nonsense!!!! Tell the world that government increase cocoa price per bag to cocoa farmers at less than 200ghana cedis!!! Stop the confusing!!!! A shame to NDC ! Farmers want their ghc600 per bag!!! Give it to them!!!

• Big Joe 4 months ago

The price was increased from GHS 3100 to GHS3228.75. An increase of 128.75 per bag of 64kg. tell the truth.

• Benji 4 months ago

They are telling the truth. You have to factor in the exchange rate.

• CITIZEN 4 months ago

The dollar rate is right but NDC made it seem NPP was wicked. The world market price they used for the ¢3100 per bag was lower than it is today. So what the government is paying today may also be right but NDC's baseless pro ...

• HARD -Talk 4 months ago

The price has given Ghana’s farmers authority to smuggle the cocoa to Togo, Ivory Coast etc.
    I’m very much disappointed, only the fools shall sell their cocoa beans to GCMB.

• Sly 4 months ago

In all about 200 cedis has added

• Tt 4 months ago

The scarmers have done it again o.3100 to 3228 cedis per bag . Hahaha resetting paa ni

• Atia 4 months ago

Did you read well?

• KK 4 months ago

@ Atia you rather didn’t understand what you read. Only Ghc 128.75 has been added to a bag.

• Larbi 4 months ago

I am even shock ,this is total cheat to the Ghanaian coxoa farmer,i said it you believe incompetent Mahama at your own risk,this low price will promote smuggling and the farmer can be easily convince to their farms to gallam ...

• NYANSANI BA 4 months ago

This is very good news for our hardworking cocoa farmers.

• Kojo 4 months ago

Stop this stupidity. Continue insulting farmers

• Doctor Ding Dong (DDD) 4 months ago

Here we go ! Another reason for a big loan for the private Account with the (Motto) Me first.

• Atia 4 months ago

Eish. Will there be anything left for NPP to come and do? Please NDC slow down small. You are now changing the playground too fast

• Torpedo 4 months ago

What a scam, let's do the maths,
    3100 from 4850 is 1750
    5040 from 7200 is 2160
    So who is cheating the farmers
    Asaa government

• Obuobisa 4 months ago

It's interesting we are now quoting producer price of cocoa in Ghana in dollars. Is BOG awake?

• Hannan 4 months ago

;) A lot of hot girls waiting for you ~>> Sexy24.mom

• Koa 4 months ago

Please why all this grammar? Tell farmers you've increased 64 kilos of cocoa by about 130ghc and let's see the impacts on famers. Please the NDC must stop these propaganda. They are doing the same thing to miners. Robbing Pet ...

• No one can beat QNET NDC in propaganda 4 months ago

Since when have domestic cocoa prices been quoted in dollars. Ok, govt should pay farmers in dollars then . I thought this same govt said we shouldn't dollarize the economy. NDC, no way

• kwaku-t 4 months ago

How come? I thought the Governor of the Bank of Ghana said Ghana has stopped the Dollarisation of the Cedi. So how come this dollar quotation?

• Akwasi 4 months ago

Majority of the party stooges here praising the government doesn't have cocoa farms in their

• Kojo 4 months ago

Its a big shame on the government to use the dollar to increase cocoa prices. You beg cement producers but u force the dollar on the poor farmer. You will continue to spend money to fight smuggling fools. We will remember on ...

• D-great 4 months ago

#Do you need an online shop or e-commerce for your business...then contact us... We will setup the store with the right payment systems...we will setup all your social media platforms and help you get all the right followers. ...