Behind Bars: Unravelling the events leading to Shatta Wale's EOCO detention

Read Comments Comments (61)

• DotCom 3 months ago

Pay your taxes, simple. I am glad his manager and lawyer confirmed all followed the law in this investigations. Those who think people should not be prosecuted because they are famous or from other political backgrounds must ...

• don`t care !!! © 3 months ago

Cheap! Cheap things often bring cheap problems! Wisdom will tell you that you need to protect your status (relative social or professional position; standing)with integrity!

The proverb "buy wisdom and do not sell it" orig ...

• Karikakchar 3 months ago

If some 'musician' is arrested for non payment of tax is that news?

• FIELD MARSHALL 3 months ago

THIS GBEE NAABU CALLED EKELEBE TALKS AND FLAUNTS TOOO MUCH.....THIS GBEE NAABU CALLED EKELEBE TALKS AND FLAUNTS TOOO MUCH.....THIS GBEE NAABU CALLED EKELEBE TALKS AND FLAUNTS TOOO MUCH...AH WELL,,, HE SHOULD GO AND DEFEND HIM ...

• Your abuse back on you 3 months ago

Idiot. Get away with your foolishness. Shatta is bigger than you in any sense. Jealousy go shame

• Manu 3 months ago

JEALOUS. SHATTA SEE YOU IN THE GINI

• Kwame 3 months ago

Charlie Raymond Archer you must be careful ooo. We in NDC we really suffered and laboured for this party before the party came to power oo. Know persons who must be targeted in case they do wrong oooo. Shata Walle is not a Po ...

• Sp 3 months ago

Shut up pig… you and who suffered? So the law shouldn’t work? Animal using internet

• Bug 3 months ago

An idiot detected.....adu boahene and a loads of them make visits to court....!!

• Kofi 3 months ago

I once wrote on this platform that Shatta should be careful about how he conducts himself. He is very arrogant and has a big mouth. He has no respect for any body let alone the rule of law. Invincibility landed Agradaa in jai ...

• EOCO BOSS AFRAID OF NPP MEMBERS WHO STOLE BILLIONS OF DOLLARS 3 months ago

Arrest npp corrupt officials and stop arresting cars.

• Kwame 3 months ago

Raymond Archer you got to be wise and know where to centralise and direct your focus. If you are really on the ground and understand the politics of the day, it not a person of Shata Walle calibre you must be joking with oo. ...

• Bug 3 months ago

Fawugyimie kc....

• Asem A 3 months ago

@Kwame what NONSENSE, who is Shatta Wale.If he has tax obligations and is not meeting them should he not be investigated. You guys are so happy to be travelling to the USA and other European countries but are not prepared to ...

• JESUS IS GOD 3 months ago

Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. Vanity upon vanity—everything in this world is meaningless without Him. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third ...

• GUARANTEED MONEY-MAKING $KILL JUST FOR YOU!!! 3 months ago

God helps those who help themselves, so learn this skill in 30 days with beginner-friendly, step-by-step tutorials requiring just 2-3 hours daily. Launch Your Own Business. Start Earning Daily because You EARN from what U LEA ...

• Bug 3 months ago

An idiot with little more money than sense....

Ghana ankasa, a country that is reviewing prophecies is not serious...
    All these people bundling around with cars that are questionable in terms of affordability should be ac ...

• Apraku 3 months ago

And if he is not guilty of any of those crimes , why should they detain him? Should there be any other tax issues, ask him to settle those bills and everything is fine , why detain him? Maybe there are other issues which are ...

• Nana 3 months ago

My dear why shd it take 72hrs detention when you're doing Tax Audit ? Raymond Archer EOCO is creating too much tension in the society. Let's adopt civilised ways in our investigation. What the nation needs is more revenue no ...

• Lucky 3 months ago

Shut up if you don’t understand what’s going on.

• Nana 3 months ago

The funny part was they invited him in the evening to detain him intentionally for calling them out.

They said, he bought a stolen car and now we know that the car was not stolen, then they went for money laundry, and now ...

• Mahama sits there for this eoco boss dey fool. No npp members in jail 3 months ago

8 months now, none of NPP members are in jail. Before Eoco boss lied that the car was a stolen car, then he said someone was killed in the car, then he said npp Adu Boahen knows something about the car, now he detained Shatta ...

• Gh 3 months ago

We remain the best choice for all your NGO websites development, company website, school website, church website design, online store, e-commerce website etc...At spotlight Africa Media, we will design the website, setup your ...

• Afriyie 3 months ago

Foreigners in this country are not paying taxes, and political figures with companies are also not paying their fair share. Authorities should focus on these issues rather than getting distracted by unnecessary matters. The E ...

• Revelation + Rationality = Truth 3 months ago

Stop the deception. How can Ghanaian Authorities discuss tax about stolen goods?

Do you pay tax on stolen goods?

Is about the stolen goods, the car

• dboyy 3 months ago

This EOCO boss is making the NDC unpopular in some way, maybe they are not telling us the truth. If detaining Shatta because of Tax issues then why is GRA there as a body. This guy was vocal for the NDC to come to power and I ...

• Ogyam 3 months ago

Wode asempa naba o, well done eoco ,shatta campaign for NDC,and it's good , akkufo addo will be remembered soon

• Efo Kofi 3 months ago

If this is how eoco wants to go then I guess they’ll have a lot of work to do oo unless it’s a witch-hunt agenda.
    It’s good to chase people for tax non compliance though cuz Ghanaians no dey like pay tax kraaa and ther ...

• Gborlahn 3 months ago

Ha! I thought he said he would never show up there again. Or I didn't hear well?

• VK 3 months ago

Attorney General cane to do press conference court. He has not been able to prosecute 1/2 a human of any NPP after singing in opposition for 8 years. The ORAL findings which was handed over to government in a white envelope t ...

• The truth 3 months ago

No smoke without fire.

• Paa paa 3 months ago

The law is the law, nobody is above it. Wale is a criminal

• Watamata 3 months ago

Eoco always changing the goal post, who kraaa is shatta wale that cannot be checked

• Clynns 3 months ago

Shatta so they detain you again

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 3 months ago

Secure Ur home, office, and property now with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Gshcvv

• Od 3 months ago

Ghanaweb you get problems with the guy,

• Asida 3 months ago

Not involved in any criminal activities, but detained

• Kofi 3 months ago

Leave the man alone.
    Has EOCO finished checking the taxes of the church leaders and super rich or is Shatta going through this ordeal of he spoke out against some media has owners.

• 3Mera Ber3 3 months ago

Are you sure Raymond Archer, and Jakpa shall not be persons of interest at end of the day? Hmm, time is pregnant and will really tell at the end of it's course. Interesting days ahead.

• Gbetia 3 months ago

Dr. Shatta Wale plus your mental derailed and convict on license certificates to other documents you promise having to GTEC Boss for your PhD. Come with same to EOCO and GOD WILLING as you've said but repent change and be a ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 3 months ago

I THINK IT IS A GOOD EXAMPLE TO OTHERS WHO DONT WANT TO PAY THEIR TAXES TO THE STATE BUT WOULD LIKE TO SHOW THEMSELVES.
    ARREST ALL OF THEM INCLUDING NPP PEOPLE WHO STOLE OUR MONEY.

• Leonidas 3 months ago

Shattered Wale: "invited by EOCO", "detained"...very beautiful words.

• Wasteman 3 months ago

OH REALLY?!…BUT I THOUGHT HIS PARTY IS IN POWER?!!…THE RESET IS SWEEEEET!!

• Hwewa y3 m)b) ampa... 3 months ago

If your wellbeing depends on the competent management of an economy by an African, you are doomed and will never be out of poverty. A Ghanaian will demand money or sex to give you a job or any service/opportunity you deserve ...

• Kofi Kwatsi 3 months ago

According to Ken Ofori Atta, the former Finance Minister, "money does not like noise", especially when you are stealing or committing illegalities to get your money, just keep quiet and enjoy the loots. If you start shouting ...

• Balman 3 months ago

Npp should learn a lesson from this.

• Dread 3 months ago

What are the SM fans doing at EOCO? The youth in Ghana must be serious.

• Ashley 3 months ago

The article is quoting Shatta's lawyer. We have not heard from EOCO yet. I believe the lawyer is not telling the whole story.

• Lucky 3 months ago

Sammy Flex was dancing around the issue. He’s not being straightforward with us. Is Shatta’s case only about taxes?

• Unknown 3 months ago

Everything concerning this scandal simply, smacks of "witch-hunting" stuff. EOCO alleged that, Shatta has a stolen vehicle, but he has proven otherwise. So why the unnecessary detention ?. Tax issues in ghana, must be prope ...

• Pincode 3 months ago

He go explain explain taya

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 3 months ago

Bank ...

• Manu 3 months ago

IS THAT NOT THE WORK OF CUSTOMS,WHY EOCO?

• Kofi 3 months ago

Raymond Archer is doing Kofi Boakye dirty work.
    You can recall Shatta said in his last video that when he arrived the EOCO office, on the on set Raymond to him that he doesn’t respect. Now I am wondering if this has anythi ...

• Nii Akwei 3 months ago

There is nothing new in this story.

• Shen 3 months ago

Nonsensical bullshit. EOCO must investigate all artistes in Ghana. Bullshit

• Joe Sam 3 months ago

Let our Laws wok with due diligence and not be applied due to hatred and Misunderstanding. EOCO has been a sleeping dog for years. Why have they awoken all of a sudden to start bulling Ghanaians. What's Going On

• Isaac yensam 3 months ago

Catch all the Cheddars,Ibra1s,Nam1s-Eyezu eyeza

• Ama serwaa.aduana ba 3 months ago

Some npp members has embezzled millions of dollars and they are walking and u er there arresting some one who use his songs to promote ur party.

• Ende 3 months ago

Seems the other tribes in Ghana hated Gas. But they must remember, Accra belongs to the Ga people only. Other tribes in Ghana are strangers.

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 3 months ago

NIGERIANS AND SOME GHANAIANS IN THE U.S.A., HAVE BEEN STEALING VEHICLES LONG AGO, ESPECAILLY FROM NEW YORK AND NEW JERSEY, AND SHIPPING THEM TO THESE TWO WEST AFRICAN COUNTRIES. NIGERIANS ARE THE MOST INVOVLED CRIMINALS. NI ...