GhanaWeb Investigates Decades of 'Sex For Fish': Voices of young girls expose disturbing trend

Read Comments Comments (43)

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 3 months ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine.....for instance 12 paracetamol at once.....or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 3 months ago

BAWUMIA IS ALL WE HAVE!! GOD BLESS HIM!!!!!!
    WELL DID RAWLINGS DESCRIBE THE NDC DISRESPECTFUL SMALL BOYS AS BABIES WITH SHARP TEETH. NOTABLY, OFOSU KWAKYE, OKUDJETO ABLAKWA, SAM GEORGE, AKANDO, OTUKONNOR, FIIFI KWETEY, SAMMY ...

• Ewiasé Mu Nsém 3 months ago

Aooooohh.......... @Prince *KWASIA* Adade! How I wish I knew your mother, so I can give her some money to take you to Pantang Psychiatric Hospital. Chaaiiii.............

• Kweku Tsin 3 months ago

According to some of these girls, it was not about hunger for fish. It is about poverty, sexual curiosity/exploitation, lack of parental supervision, education, and money; fish is just the legal tender, meaning they sell the ...

• The Motherland 3 months ago

Now everyone can see that this vermin MUMBI SERAKI is refusing to take a dose of his own prescription, else we would have been rid of him by now and he wouldn't still be here polluting this platform with his idiotic suicidal ...

• What goes around comes around. 3 months ago

Since you the political foot soldiers especially from the ndc always insulting, he mumbi seraki will not stop irritating you

• TWEAA DC 3 months ago

WHAT ABOUT THE SEX FOR GRADES LECTURERS HOVERING ALL OVER OUR UNIVERSITIES WHICH WAS SPEARHEADED BY THAT SEX FOR GRADES LECTURER GYAMPOH?...TWEAA

• Frank Agyena-Karikari. 3 months ago

That Sex for Fish is very true. I was at UCC a very long time ago and the young Guys have to use diplomacy and work as slaves to be like CANOE MATE to get the chance to work in a Canoe on the Sea. The Canoe owners and their v ...

• Yaw Ankumah 3 months ago

You are on point!!!
    This is nothing new!

• The Spear 3 months ago

Ghanaians are too stupid to accept the glaring truth. There's no sex education in Ghana. How about areas far from the coast where kids were having sex?

I remember so well growing when we all, girls and boys about the ages ...

• Quentin 3 months ago

You can’t even express yourself without using the insults! Dumb ass man

• Apuu then I will for Ken 3 months ago

Bawamuia us a mistake

• Sansan 3 months ago

Ooooh, you too. Bawumia can be a correctstake. Whether he will become president or not, you and I don't know with certainty. If you live long my age, anything is possible in this world, unless raising the dead. Even that can ...

• Bug 3 months ago

Ghana Web, take this stupid news or whatever you call it away....what so new here, ladies working in corporate institution earning 4k to 6k.....are doing low key side chick's to get more money.....you surprised poor fishing ...

In this case, the ladies have many other alternative jobs to do. Do you know Cape Coast and especially Elmina? Besides working for the Fisherfolk, what other jobs are really there? They have no farms as those in the Interior ...

• JESUS IS GOD 3 months ago

Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. Vanity upon vanity—everything in this world is meaningless without Him. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third ...

• GUARANTEED MONEY-MAKING $KILL JUST FOR YOU!!! 3 months ago

August will soon end, Make daily cash by Learning this skill in 30 days with beginner-friendly, step-by-step tutorials requiring just 2-3 hours daily. Launch Your Own Business. Start Earning Daily because You EARN from what U ...

• ROTTEN KINGDOM OF DONKEYS 3 months ago

PROPHECY CHAP. 1:1

Afriyie Ankrah, in my capacity as a prophet, I hereby confer this prophecy on Mr. John Dramani Mahama.

Here is my prophecy:
    .... and I saw the heavens open, hmmmmm, and I saw the angel descending fr ...

• Haha 3 months ago

Ghana paaaaa! Oh charle, sex for fish. Wtf

It is not the fault of the ladies from that area. I lived at Cape Coast for four years many decades ago and the system existed. The ladies do that for their survival and that of their families. Many are under normal circumsta ...

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 3 months ago

Secure Ur home, office, and property now with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Sitevveb

• Eun 3 months ago

I am writing to clarify a few points raised in the documentary regarding teenage pregnancy in coastal villages such as Brofoyedur, Amanful, Intsin, and Ayidan.

While it is true that teenage pregnancy has been an ongoing is ...

• Zion Lion 3 months ago

Ghanaian teenage girls are generally attracted to sex for fun if I must be honest judging by how indecent small girls dress when compared to other west African countries. I am well traveled so I know what I’m talking about. ...

• The Spear 3 months ago

Absolutely Zion! This is exactly what I have said above. It has nothing to do with poverty, lack of education or anything at all. Above all, it's stupid to make it look as if it's only prevalent in the coastal belt where fish ...

• Joy 3 months ago

Fanta self is being bought for girls for sex. This is not news to me. What is sex? Twiaaaa.

And do you know some of the women are married and can’t easily get any jobs at Cape Coast? Do you think married women would want to do that? Some of them are forced to do that because that is the Devil’s alternatives. I b ...

• Camonzi 3 months ago

Very useless documentary, u said absolutely nothing, seems u just pulled ur camera to walk around shooting everyday life, u made no sense and said nothing new.
    And the people of cape coast led by a very useless chief, kwe ...

• Od 3 months ago

Your story will never win any awards because of your evil agenda, Ghanaweb

• Okese 3 months ago

Ghana web please, capture the heading well.
    It's poverty and parental irresponsibility and not sex for fish.
    Thank you ...

• Cat 3 months ago

This writer paaa........come to circle,accra agbogboloshi tema and other places. young girls sell their body for five cedis and ten cedis.this is no news .go and do your home work again and come with a very good documentary ...

• Agbeli Kumordziì 3 months ago

Blame the NPP government failure to tackle the economic aspects of the nation things totally falls apart in Ghana for 8 good years under Useless Akuffo Addo's government

• Papa J 3 months ago

I don’t know why we try to paint issues of national concern with political colors. In our part of the world, we choose the path of trading blames and describing issues instead of finding solutions to them. This is why we ar ...

• Papa J 3 months ago

An brand new A3 lamination machine is up for sale for Ghc 950. Prospective individuals should contact me on 0201229664.

• Mawule 3 months ago

And so what ?
    Who cares ?
    By the way are you done investigating yourselves?

• Paa Jackson 3 months ago

This documentary says a lot. I schooled and worked in Cape Coast for 18 years. Married there and stayed just few meters from Ntsin and what I saw was worse than the video showed. But Ntsin has produced lots of prominent perso ...

• Kwame 3 months ago

My mother from 1969 started selling fish from the Akosombo lake. She travels from Accra through Somanya, through Asesewa to Otekpolu to buy fresh fish as all types.
    She said that whenever the vehicle that send them everyday, ...

• Stanley Chart 3 months ago

, WAREHOUSE WORKERS NEEDED
    POSITIONS: Manager, Cashier, Record keeping, Loaders,Female Pickers, Forklift Operators and Cleaners.
    ☎️ 0533574591 ☎️
    Salary range : Ghc 140 ...

. WAREHOUSE WORKERS NEEDED
    POSITIONS: Manager, Cashier, Record keeping, Loaders,Female Pickers, Forklift Operators and Cleaners.
    ☎️ 0533574591 ☎️
    Salary range : Ghc 140 ...

• Abdu 3 months ago

What about "sex for grades " of some of our various educational institutions and "sex for work" in our institutions like the security services, companies, organisations, etc. It is something prevailing in all the systems whic ...

• ASUNKE 3 months ago

Why are the cape-coasters angry, over the truth ?

• Kweku Tsin 3 months ago

Because it happens everywhere in Ghana, even in the galansey pits, schools, work places.

, FACTORY WORKERS NEEDED.
    ☎️☎️0533574591 /0533574591 ☎️☎️
    LOCATIONS: Tema Free Zone, Prampram, North Kaneshie and Bortianor.
    VACANCIES: Machine Operators , Forklift Operators , Drivers, Warehouse & Logis ...

:FACTORY WORKERS NEEDED.
    ☎️☎️0533574591 /0533574591 ☎️☎️
    LOCATIONS: Tema Free Zone, Prampram, North Kaneshie and Bortianor.
    VACANCIES: Machine Operators , Forklift Operators , Drivers, Warehouse & Logist ...