Why an 81-year-old British citizen has been stranded in Ghana for months

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 4 months ago

Chase wasap him 0 04 4785305
    Bank flashing s ...

• islam is a false religion 4 months ago

Say no to islam and convert to a real religion. Prophet mohammed was a sick dog and qur'an is toilet paper..............Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be saf ...

• don`t care !!! © 4 months ago

Hmmmm! family witch @ work...

• P Djamgbe 4 months ago

@Ghanaman, thanks buddy. A lot of people don't know how the system works here in the advanced countries, especially here in the UK. It doesn't matter how long you have lived here for, or since when did you become a citizen, i ...

• Kwaseato 4 months ago

Do you know your date of birth? How many Ghanaians know their real date of birth in those years? Fools like you with low self esteem will excuse anything the racists people do to non-white people

• AB 4 months ago

Not knowing your date of birth, and your date of birth being inconsistent is a different thing.
    The date you choose as your date of birth because you don't know your actual date of birth must be consistent in all of your do ...

• Test2 4 months ago

AT 81 WHY NOT RETIRE IN GHANA
    BECAUSE AKAN THIEVES POLITICIANS HAVE DESTROYED GHANA STOLE ALL THE MONEY NO GOOD HOSPITALS AKAN NURSES ARE FIGHTING AT RIDGE HOSPITAL

• P Djamgbe 4 months ago

Thank you AB. That moron with a low IQ has (most probably) never obtained any traveling documents in their entire life and yet has audacity to insult those of us who live in these countries and know how the system works.

• P Djamgbe 4 months ago

**** the audacity......

• GUARANTEED MONEY-MAKING $KILL JUST FOR YOU!!! 4 months ago

Launch Your Own Business as August ends; YOUR income cashflow is URGENT business!! Make daily cash by Learning this skill in 30 days with beginner-friendly, step-by-step tutorials requiring just 2-3 hours daily. . Start Earni ...

• THIS IS NDC STUPIDITY ERA! NOTHING WORKS IN GHANA NOW 4 months ago

Just allow the old lady to leave Ghana to go back for her CHEMOTHERAPY TREATMENT. THIS IS ABSOLUTELY NONSENSE. GHANAIAN WANT BRIBE AS USUAL

• Don't kill the old lady. Cancer is no joke. 4 months ago

Arrest the person who is causing the delay in her flight out. She will never pay nokofio. My advice to madam is to forget the sithole country.

• Ghanaman 4 months ago

If you watch the video, you will realize that the refusal for her to return is not coming from Ghana. It is the UK that is refusing her the right to go back.

• Ghanaman 4 months ago

If the home office in the UK finds some irregularity in the information you used to obtain citizenship or a UK passport, they can cancel your passport from there, and it will be detected here as cancelled and you can't board. ...

• Buy no fake 4 months ago

Thank u very much Ghanaman

• GHANAIANS AUTHORITIES WANT BRIBE AS USUAL 4 months ago

The immigration service just want to take BRIBE first. Just let the old woman go back to UK

• Kb 4 months ago

What is irregularities is she having different documents with different mames

• Gh 4 months ago

Get An E-commerce Website/ Online Shop to Market and sell your products Online....We also design all types of websites/Social media Marketing Services. Whatsapp or call for more info: www.webgateconsult.com : 0244289681

• Expretol 4 months ago

They will frustrate this poor grandmother aa, next we will hear is she has died in Ghana. Meanwhile the country's image has been tarnished already. These authorities want to add "more fuel to the fire"

• Al. J....A missed target 4 months ago

Be civilized and get facts because you make any reasonable statement.

• The uk government is just being dishonest 4 months ago

The UK government knows that the cost of chemotherapy treatment is very high and will put a burden on the tax payers and her insurers.hence the denial. I don’t think they will ever work things out for her. It’s deliberate ...

• Kwaku Tee 4 months ago

Do you know whether if she has an insurance to cover the treatment. I know of some Ghanaian born Canadians,on retirement who travel outside periodically for their prostrate cancer treatment. Of course they have insurance

• Jonas 4 months ago

The UK is different from the US, you don't need health insurance for any treatment. So far as you have worked there you would automatically be paying health insurance through a mandatory deduction called NI (national insuranc ...

• Jah Cure 4 months ago

You are absolutely spot on,Jonas. You do not need to be a British citizen to benefit from the National Insurance Scheme.However,you need to have to been in the UK legitimately and must have paid your National Insurance “st ...

• Ivory Mensah 4 months ago

They should send her to Ridge hospital to make a long story short. Cos she will die there in 2hours.

• Koti 4 months ago

81-year-old woman, how many years has she left on this wicked earth? If she should die today, will those manning the 'system' that rejected her jubilate? Whether it the Ghanaian or the British government, they should consider ...

• Ohene 4 months ago

The Windrush has been a controversial immigration in recent times. Those that are affected particularly, Carribbean decent and other Commonwealth Nationalities. Before 1973, anyone from these were allowed entry into the UK an ...

• They never spoke about the irregularity.. What is it? 4 months ago

All the same whether she used multiple dob or what ever in past she must been seen on compassionate grounds as an aged person terminally not well

• Koti 4 months ago

Elsewhere, unlike Ghana, they don't bend their laws.

• Grandpa 4 months ago

Madam the UK authority knew something was wrong with your documents and just waited for you to move out before they cancel your documents Ghana can't stop you from going back to UK, I believe strongly that they ask you to tal ...

• Kwasi 4 months ago

Essence of story please!!!!!

• Grandpa 4 months ago

Am a travel consultant and I see this over and over again the mistake might come from the first time she secure the visa to enter UK and after she gain her grounds she start to correct things but she forget that home system i ...

• Tny 4 months ago

So many years in UK and you never build a house in Ghana? Now you leaving in a hotel?. A lesson to the younger once out there. Never overfear your families

• Shamsi Waleed 4 months ago

Unless you're relocating to Ghana. There's no prerogative to build a house. Who'll take care of it in your absence?

• Adepa 4 months ago

Your relatives.

• Talk true 4 months ago

In fact, this is madness, what do they need from this old Bone's, 81yrs old lady, is a shame. They should find better thing to and leave my grandmother alone.

• Yeboah 4 months ago

Stranded in her own country?

• Gborlahn 4 months ago

Those who see white folks as better or their countries as greener pastures are beginning to wake up. They are all human beings like us. There's nothing unique about them.

• These people and their racist policies 4 months ago

If she was white, they would do everything to get her back. Karma caught up with them when their white citizen was caught up in a similar situation in Sweden with medical problems. They urgently negotiated with the Swedish au ...

• Atopa 4 months ago

This is not an issue of her British citizenship but rather caused by inexperienced Ghana immigration officers at KIA. They can't even identify a genuine or fake travel documents.

• Stanley Chart 4 months ago

FACTORY WORKERS NEEDED.
    ☎️☎️0533574591 /0533574591 ☎️☎️
    LOCATIONS: Tema Free Zone, Prampram, North Kaneshie and Bortianor.
    VACANCIES: Machine Operators , Forklift Operators , Drivers, Warehouse & Logisti ...

• NO BLACK PERSON IS AN EUROPEAN 4 months ago

It is just a deception. No European accepts a Blacks person as a citizen. Let us know this and develop African our continent well for ourselves.

• Afroboy 4 months ago

The Whiteman will never respect the black man even if you have their passport. That’s a fact

• Andrew 4 months ago

Weren’t Ghanaians calling the Korean ambassador not Ghanaian?

• Ghanaman 4 months ago

Just let the poor woman go back to the UK. What can your corruption ridden, God- forsaken, evil minded, stupid article 71ers do for her? It doesn't matter what, just let her go back to a country that is serious. Nonsense! You ...

• Bylon 4 months ago

Akwaaba

• Asem 4 months ago

What is British embassy doing to help this old woman?

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 4 months ago

Secure Ur home, office, and property now with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Uwygwgv

• Wasteman 4 months ago

AT HER AGE WHAT IS SHE GOING BACK TO DO?!!..STAY IN YOUR COUNTRY MADAM

• Abronye Don’t Try. 4 months ago

@Wasteman the lady is granny, in her80’s and is undergoing cancer treatment besides walks with difficulty. Moreover she has five daughters who can comfortably give her the support she needs.
    By the way did you read the st ...

• Helicopter 4 months ago

It is the fault of Okudzeto Ablakwa. Please let us all make one and insult Ablakwa for being behind the 81 years old woman's predicament. He is very incompetent and Mahama should sack him. Fellow NPP animals please attaaac ...

• Trump 4 months ago

These whites are cruel and evil after so many year spent working and paying taxes now they don't know her. Eish it's a difficult situation for mama. God help please her.

• Rosemary 4 months ago

All they know is to order Mahama to reinstate Chief Justice Gertrude Araba Torkonoo and nothing else. France helps their colonies with CFA francs what about these our English GATE OF NO RETURN fools? Zilch

• Galayie 4 months ago

When I Blackman know his or her true identity. Calling your British woman on paper.NB. As far as you Blackman you are an AFRICAN.

• Naa 4 months ago

Hello

• Naa 4 months ago

I swear Ghanaweb journalists/writers have the best writing skills in the whole wide world. Well done. Continue to leave your readers hanging with your narrative

• Jah Cure 4 months ago

Whoever wrote this article is a moron and,a fvcking idiot.
    The lady is Ghanaian by birth.How on earth could she be part of the Windrush Generation?
    The Windrush Generation came from the West Indies and were brought to the U ...

• Shades 4 months ago

Why did she go to Ghana when she knew she wasn’t well????
    African witchcraft is real oooo

• Esi 4 months ago

I am not being superstitious here,
    But please someone get them a very serious prayers before it gets out of hand.
    It seems the old lady is spiritually grounded by her own family members in Kumasi.
    She has been traveling ba ...

• Bush Kay 4 months ago

All powers belongs to God so where from bayie. You are still living in the ancient days. Even with Ai you are still thinking about bayie.

• GPS 4 months ago

A Ghanaian holding a British passport means a British though, born in Ghana. How can she gets her pension fund? Of course the British government pays her pension at her age 81 years old. I think something is wrong somewhere.

• We are Dagombas, Frafra etc not Ntafou 4 months ago

Ghana has never been a British Colony, it was Gold Coast and we never used Gold coast when we got independence. Colonial nonsense.