Judge who twice remanded Abronye retires – Report

Read Comments Comments (94)

• Yaro Zongo 3 months ago

Retire or resign.? Shame

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 3 months ago

Was he at the Retirement Age or was forced to resign. I don’t think Mahama would force him to resign. Perhaps he was at the Retirement Age or felt guilty about what transpired. I don’t think he is a failure. He may also t ...

• So you wanted to promote to high court judge to retire with huge benefits? 3 months ago

The cabal is taken Ghanaians for granted. How can you promote someone with one month to retire?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 3 months ago

ARRESTS!! ARRESTS!!! ARRESTS!! WHERE IS THE 24HR ECONOMY????? EVEN WE CAN’T SEE THE NKOKO NKETEKETE ANYWHERE!!!
    THE 24-HR ECONOMY PROMISE WAS A SCAM!! THE GHC6,500 PRICE PER BAG OF COCOA PROMISE WAS “FRAUD”!!!! THE CED ...

• Catfish 3 months ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed and tanks available on sale. 0265583388

• Yaw Odiasempa 3 months ago

What was those who recommended his promotion thinking? Did they not know he was due for retirement?

• GH8 3 months ago

They knew of his age but if he had been elevated to to a HIGH COURT JUDGE they he could stay till age 70 but still as a circuit judge he has to retire at age 60.

• Jones 3 months ago

60 years is retirement for public servants so if he was born 1965 he is in the net.

• Citizen 3 months ago

So why do you fault the judge if he complains about selectivity. In the same nation some retire at 60 and others at 70. Why???? Is that not selectivity. Are all Ghanaians equal before the labour law s?

• ghana 3 months ago

ABRONYE CAN EVEN DIE IN PRISON - WHO CARES: HE IS LIKE A DOG

• GOV 1 3 months ago

He will not die. He will live to make John Mahama taste a dose of his own medicine.Do you remember ' its about the economy stupid'? How about Akyem sakawa boys' Jack toronto; just add yours.

• Okyere Kay 3 months ago

Am adding baloney.

• TRUTH 3 months ago

HAPPY BIRTHDAY JUDGE ACQUAH.

THE IGNORANT TRIBALIST HERE WHO CAN NOT READ HAVE NO CHA CHA RIGHT TO CRITICISE YOU.

HAVE A GOOD, GOOD RETIREMENT AND WONDERFUL HAPPY BIRTHDAY TODAY.

• Wontumi (London) 3 months ago

@Gov1
    I'm very sure you're one of them Npp irresponsible characters? So you siding with Abronye who is insulting and accusing people with impunity isn't it? What has president Mahama got to do with that riff-raft? Reme ...

• Kai nyame. 3 months ago

Wontumi ofui London, do you know Kelvin taylor, idiotic fool you cow dung.

• Kofi Akwetey 3 months ago

Under our laws, defamation is a civil offense. If you insult someone, the person can sue you for defamation. The police have no business arresting somebody for insult. By the way, were you in Ghana during Akufo-Addo's time?

• Yak 3 months ago

If NDC could come back to power, it is much easier for NPP to come back. Just watch out!!

• Kwame Baffoe aka Abronye Learn Your Lessons The Hard Way. 3 months ago

Abronye it’s better you change and open a new leaf in your life for the better.
    This is the time to make amends with all you have fallen out with. Rendering apologies will be good enough. To add to this you need to go to R ...

• Jones 3 months ago

His wife is seeking a divorce because of his abusive behavior.

Abronye definitely had a very bad upbringing. He can do his criticism in a very subtle way and I believe people would love him.

Even the Bible have a quota ...

• Bobby Stones 3 months ago

You're completely out of your, political wilderness is making some of you insane. Abronye is not an innocent person to begin with, people were jailed in the last 8 years for similar and less offenses. What makes you guys th ...

• Me 3 months ago

@GOV1. Are you talking about your filthy useless father or JM? NO One and I say no one can touch JM talkless of that filthy dog called Abronye

• TWEAA DC 3 months ago

GOING HOME WITH A COMDEMNED RETIREMENT?...SHAMEFUL....TWEAA.

• Akwatia 3 months ago

You were happy when the same judge jailed an NDC man 4 years when the short ugly moron Akufo Monkey Addo was in power. You hypocrite

• Kwaku 3 months ago

The lesson is that, in our zeal euphoria or enthusiasm we should not be carried away ooo.

• Yak 3 months ago

@akwatia, with these insults on Nana Addo, you are doing exactly what Abronye is being accused of. Yours is even WORSE !!. So you cannot make your point WITHOUT INSULTS??

• Apoyos. 3 months ago

So there's no sensible man in NPP or Ghana for that matter to condemn that Abronye to be civil in his utterances. While all the attention is on the judge, let's also promote civility in Ghana.

• GUARANTEED MONEY-MAKING $KILL JUST FOR YOU!!! 3 months ago

Make money before this XMAS with this tech skill; in 30 days LEARN with beginner-friendly, step-by-step tutorials requiring just 2-3 hours study/practice daily. Launch Your Own Business b4 Xmas. Start Earning Daily because Yo ...

• Emma 3 months ago

I love Mahama

• J 3 months ago

Your love for him doesn't make him a good leader.His assessment still remains the same as his 1st Term.

• Eric Mensah 3 months ago

@ J. According to who? You and your dirty father? You are very stupid

• Kwame Baffoe aka Abronye Learn Your Lessons The Hard Way. 3 months ago

@J HE John Dramani Mahama has ever been one of the best gifts GOD ALMIGHTY has given to Ghana our motherland!
    Many are ignorantly vilifying and dragging this man to gutters for no reason except for hatred.
    Let’s continue ...

• Steve 3 months ago

You Stupid and Useless Jurnalists make Abronye Looks like a Hero, the man who Insults every one ,very Arrogantly

• Oprege 3 months ago

Ma guy u are brainless for supporting what this government is doing . A Kwasea dude and tramadol fool like you

• Adwoa Tsetseba 3 months ago

@ Oprege. Who is more silly than you? You are very stupid. Your useless father did not train you well. Kwasea

• Malala 3 months ago

Useless person is the one who is taking up for the useless Mahama’s government! Your head is completely tore up over sharing water with the nasty cows! Go and screw your nasty self, bush piece of nothing you are!!

• Yaw mensah 3 months ago

Look at the way you talk go back to the bible and learn to respect.

• GOV 1 3 months ago

Even John Mahama himself is complicit in the insults business.How about kevin Tailor, Frema,Sam George, Sammy Gyamfi and ofosu Kwakye?. Look for their videos and you will be amazed.

• AK 3 months ago

Let him go home and take stock of individuals he judged.

• Akosomo Nyantakyi 3 months ago

It always hurts when I see our judiciary/judges carried away or "influenced " in any way to make bad decision/ judgements. They're the very last hope to save our nation after both the parliament, the executive and the securit ...

• LUNCH PAD 3 months ago

WHAT INCONSISTENT REPORT. WEATHER WE GO FOWARD OR BACKWARD

• Ozymandias 3 months ago

What a joke of a judge. He is stepping down in shame. Pathetic.

• Eva 3 months ago

It's a disgrace to end your career on such a sour note. You should always maintain your integrity, no matter who is in power. Your actions to curry favor with the NDC were so indefensible that even they couldn't protect you a ...

• the Villager 3 months ago

Eva, why would a credible democratic govt like the NDC interfer in the duties of independent judiciary? Just yesterday, we witnessed AG Godfredd Dame shopping round for favourable judges, so thanks Eva for confirming it.
    Hop ...

• Mr Apehtwe. 3 months ago

Fake news

• Akwatia 3 months ago

Hypocrite Ghanaians. The same judge jailed an NDC man 4 years and it was okay for the NPP animals

• Kofi Akwetey 3 months ago

Which NDC man please? And for what offense?

• Boat 3 months ago

Ghanaweb should look for news and stop this low level reports. Is this news??? He met his bail condotions thus 50000 Cedis and was bailed so what is this news for?????

• Prudhomme - Ignorant fool 3 months ago

How can you remand any person for a misdemeanor, the lowest crime on the law books?

• NzemaK 3 months ago

Think well. Did you read the whole prosecution or just talking from what you heard on the street. You think abronye didn't have a lawyer who understands the difference between misdemeanor and threat of someones life..Go wey y ...

• Akotsum 3 months ago

Is to retire and penciled by Prez for High Court at the same time???

• Some intellectuals are a serious disgrace 3 months ago

For being called to the bar at age 45 smacks of someone who is already a failure in life and he has crowned his disgusting career with the most the most disgusting court decision ever in the annals of Ghana's history

• Justice Ananda Aikin is also corrupt 3 months ago

Justice Ananda Aikins overturned a well balanced ruling by Justice Ellen Ofei in Baaba vs Nana Adjei custody battle giving full custody with supervised visitation to the father after the mother has shown the court she was phy ...

• This sad that a lady was the one who made that ruling 3 months ago

I have been following that story and I am shocked to know today that a lady was the one that overturned the ruling. This is sad and unfair to the poor victim. They get pampered here and take that midset abroad. Reason why a s ...

• Achakanapaya 3 months ago

Npp is full of hypocrites. Nation wreckers organization.

• Adpoc 3 months ago

Mr Bright Aquach you are indeed a very wicked NDC judge.
    God will punish you for your wickedness.
    Even you could quote Animal farm, Iddi Amin and others properly.
    What a SHAME.

• KANAWU AGBADZAHENE 3 months ago

JUDICIAL COUNCIL PLEASE FOLLOW UP AND SCRUTINISE HIS QUALIFICATIONS. HE COULD BE ONE OF THE IMPOSTORS USING OTHER PEOPLES CERTIFICATE TO WORK LIKE THE CASE OF MEDICAL DOCTORS ETC. THE GUY MAY NEVER HAVE SEEN THE MAKOLA LECTUR ...

• Obroniba 3 months ago

I don't know why majority of Ghanaians are solidly stupid and glorify foolishness. This guy is uncultured and uncivilized that must be caged and thrown into the zoo for free viewing. Freedom of speech is not a catalyst to ins ...

• Faze 3 months ago

Beauty Contest Judge

• KWASI IN EUROPE 3 months ago

The judge is 60 years and judges can retire at 70 so he is afraid he might be sacked and he would lose hid benefits. But at the same time he is an intellectually lazy judge.

• Target 3 months ago

We are not surprised. He has been forced out. His judgement was a disgrace to our judiciary. Unless this was an exception, any good lawyer who had a case before him should consider an appeal.

• Nana TRUMU TRUMU Addo 3 months ago

WHY ARE PEOPLE AGAINST THIS JUDGE?. ABRONYE IS A FOOL AND SHOULD GO BACK TO JAIL. ITS NOT THE FIRST TIME ABRONYE DID THIS. HE EVEN BOASTED THAT NO ONE CAN CAUSE HIS ARREST. WHEN NPP IS IN POWER, THEY WILL DO A WHOLE LOT OF NO ...

• Kwame Peter 3 months ago

KANAWU,I agree with you but as for Obroniba, I think he just returned from wherever his life took him hence his comment,he will do well to start from January 2017 and fast forward to January 2025 then he can make respectful c ...

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 3 months ago

Bank ...

• Ojatanaa 3 months ago

Why is he running away is he scared naniama

• Citizen 3 months ago

The conscience of the legal fraternity is now coming alive, albeit slowly. If the "four legs good, two legs better" of George Orwell is not in Vogue, then bring Afenyo Markin to book over the matter of striking the police man ...

• Kojofojour 3 months ago

Why retired the the owner of Ghana ? Today is you, tomorrow for someone

• Kojofojour 3 months ago

Abronye will not die in prison but rather come out stronger and deal with you, look the African political icon Nelson Holishyasha Mandela spent 27 year in prison and leased and became. President ...

• KPO KPO GBLI GBLI 3 months ago

Even in retirement, if we (NPP) come back to power in 2028, we will cancel his retirement benefits and bring him back to remand him for 24hrs to have a fill of it.

• Abena 3 months ago

The animal farm judge.

• Koti 3 months ago

Mr judge, go and read 'Things Fall Apart'. I can liken you to the tragic flaw of Okonkwo was fraid of being thought weak, he killed Ikefemuna. Okonkwo was warned, "The boy call you father, do not bear in his death." Albert Ei ...

• Lance 3 months ago

Ghana bar association is now talking. For eight good years they were quite. Greg Afoko was given bail but the authorities refused but Ghana bar association never said a word.

• Cat 3 months ago

It was jj who sent ndc to opposition bcos of hatred for jdm and atta mills.After his demise korku tried with the help of npp to collaps the ndc but they weren't good enough as jj.....so my big question is who will be the n ...

• Edward 3 months ago

I said it. I told Ghanaians this man might be under some spell. Or his mental ability had started diminishing. And here we are

• Free Radicals 3 months ago

Stupidity.political stupidity has forced you to retire from your job.Next don’t be political bias and show your political allegiance.Low IQ judge.

• WATCH OUT FOR YOUR TURN 3 months ago

THE EVIL THAT MEN DO LIVE AFTER THEM. “ HE IS RUNNING AWAY WITHOUT BEING CHASED! GOD HAS PUNISHED HIM FOR HIS EVIL DEEDS !! MAY HE LOSE ALL HIS ENTITLEMENT AS WELL . HE IS LUCKY THAT HE HAS RETIRED, OTHERWISE HE WOULD HAVE ...

• Erico 3 months ago

He is a nonsense judge and ashamed of himself…he doesn’t need to retire, he needs to be fired.

• Gonja Mafia 3 months ago

If criticising this QNET govt led by Gonja Mafia John mahama will lead to arrest and time in jail, then it is a badge of honour for heros like Abronye to wear it with pride.

• John Quasi 3 months ago

No comment

• Botafogo 3 months ago

The Judge was about to retire, meanwhile this is no news knowing very who acronym is

• Original akan 3 months ago

99% of Ghanaians are fools.
    And it shows in the way they don’t want the judiciary to work.
    Very soon it would be a federal republic
    The foolishness is legendary
    NDC and NPP are all fools

• Alhaji Moro 3 months ago

That judge will go home with his name totally soiled . His children and grand children will come and reap what he sowed at the judiciary

• Obempe Mensah 3 months ago

Last show haha

• Nyameba 3 months ago

The judge is a FAILURE so it’s good for such a person to move on

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 3 months ago

Chase wasap him 0 04 4
    Bank flashing stays i ...

• Coach 3 months ago

This ìs completely untrue. A Gh judge does not go on compulsory retirement at 60, as is the case of public servants. The compulsory retirement age for them is 65yrs or 70yrs depending on whether you are a judge of a lower co ...

• Kingsford Asiedu 3 months ago

Why are you running away? You will never be forgiven when NPP come back to power. Abronye will by all means get you for the sin you committed against him and the party.

• Maame Abenah 3 months ago

The judge Bright Acquah's appointment ought to be terminated, because his ruling on Abronye's case is a disgrace to Ghana. He ought to be fired.

• Ray 3 months ago

He was appointed by the same people making noise about his competencies.

Following their rule book.

• BB 3 months ago

Judges have now turn into stooges of politicians ABI. The judiciary must be autonomous and must elect their own leaders. The law should bar presidents from choosing leaders of article 71 holders.

• Ozymandias 3 months ago

Good for him to go before he gets pushed out. A disgraceful end to a disgraceful career.

• Agyeman 3 months ago

ACQUAH SACK HIMSELF SO WILL MAHAMA

• Concern citizen 3 months ago

Shameless Mahama aka communist trained Idi Amin and his current IGP cannot jail any citizen who criticise their bias government. Mahama should first hail himself then Kelvin Ayigbe Taylor, Asiedu Nketsia, Captain Dummy Smart, ...

• Arab 3 months ago

Didn't NPP jandam people shouting on joynews that he's on a list to be promoted, eiii joynews boi jandam nkoa

• Dee 3 months ago

Good riddance, u refused bail for a misdemeanour? Ur law sch didn't do u right