Chairman Wontumi charged with mining without license - Lawyer

Read Comments Comments (99)

• Don 2 months ago

This guy should be careful, else?... I fear for him ooo...hmmm

• Atta Kay 2 months ago

NDC is doing this to distract our attention from the poor performance of John Mahama in handling Galamsey. They can't send him to jail bcoz there are ppl closer to Mahama also doing Galamsey. Ibrahim could be a suspect.

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 2 months ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper.......Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe.............yo ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

Chairman Wontumi needs to be very careful because this can be a Felony. In Uncle Sam’s country, if he is found guilty of the crime, apart from the fine, his properties will be confiscated and will certainly spend a good tim ...

• Farming 2 months ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed and tanks available on sale. 0265583388

• Trevino 2 months ago

The Law Is The LAAAAAAWWWWWW

• Frank Agyemang-Karikari’s Personal Experience in U.S. Prison. 2 months ago

Frank Agyemang-Karikari’s Personal Experience in U.S. Prison

Wontumi should be careful

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

Hahahaha. Interesting. US Prisons are reasonably better than our educational institutions in Ghana. In the USA Prisons, Inmates choose what they can eat and the kind of Snacks and Drinks they want. They are given recreational ...

• Ivory Mensah 2 months ago

Wontumi is part of the mess that we're in now. All the rivers and water bodies are totally discoloured. The environment is soo polluted that fish...food crops...are now dangerous. Cyanide and mercury are now part of ou ...

• ZIONISM IS MURDER 2 months ago

STOP THE GENOCIDE NOW!!!

• Dangote 2 months ago

This government is a disgrace to Ghana; instead of going after those mining and destroying water bodies you’re wasting time on mining without license. Foolishness “paa nie”!!!

• Frank 2 months ago

NDC they are not serious in this governance

• Akuffo Monkey 2 months ago

I find it strange to have people still shamelessly support a party of EVIL like the NPP giving how well the NDC is performing. The NPP leaders and members of the Akuffo Addo government must be hanged at the independence squar ...

• Trevino 2 months ago

Mention their names,ok?

• Kobena Hanson 2 months ago

You fool. ANIMAL

• TRUTH 2 months ago

WHY IS IT THAT SOME OF YOU DONT READ AND UNDERSTAND THE STORY AND ARE QUICK TO SPEW TRASH.? HE OWNS AKONTA MINING AND HE OPERATED WITHOUT A LICENSE AND OTHER RELATED CHARGES.

• Kelvin Taylor NDC propaganda secretary. 2 months ago

If this is not POLITICAL WITCH-HUNT then what else???. You deliberately withdrawn his mining license and then turn around to charge him for mining without a licence. Eeei JDM hmmmmm.

• Comrade Nguyen Van Theo 2 months ago

Pls remember when the former minister of lands accused Akonta mining company of mining in a forest reserve without licence?. That was during the NPP regime, though he was later on exonerated by the then president.

• Dungeon Master 2 months ago

It amazes me how Ghanaians like to copy everything the West does, including verbiage. Do you know what witch-hunting is?

Since you are using the expression, let me tell you how things work in the West. Generally speaking, ...

• KT 2 months ago

What has Asantehene got to do with Wontumi's case? Why the reference to volta chiefs? Such a foolish analogy. I know you might not even be a voltarian but you just want to exhibit your stupidity. May you and your descendents ...

• Brains 2 months ago

Do all the people doing galamsey have license? I am just thinking aloud.

• Lambert Logoh 2 months ago

Oh really? Then that’s unfair

• Al. J....A missed target 2 months ago

Yes, please help the court to educate the fool chairman and get him a punishment. Thank you.

• ST Ghfuo: CANADIANS ARE BIASED, DISHONEST 2 months ago

if you want to understand the nuances of the slave trade. just look at galamsay and you will fully understand everything

• Nepotistic Pantang Party 2 months ago

Better late than never. Fix him, into the Nsawam cooler. To go and prepare place. For his cooked bosses. Add catalyst to the other cases. To teach sense to these npp crooks. That they can run, but can never hide

• Test2 2 months ago

AFTER USING DUBIOUS AND ILLEGAL MEANS TO GET FILTHY RICH THEN THEY WILL BE BOASTING OF THEIR ILL GOTTEN MONEY TO INNOCENT HARDWORKING GHANAIANS ON THEIR BUSH/AKAN TV STUDIOUS
    KWASIA FUO

• ERNESTO 2 months ago

What has Akan people done to you? Why are you guys so prejudice? If you have a problem with this guy, just deal with him but don't generalize it. Lets try to build bridges and stop this tribal bigotry.

• Rusty 2 months ago

Test2 you're a bigot and a useless fooooool

• You are NOT Akan 2 months ago

You are NOT Akan, and Wontumi is NOT Akan, but a shithole like you

• Dungeon Master 2 months ago

I'm 100% Akan and I 100% agree with you.

• La Pleasure man 2 months ago

Cage him like the apeman he is..

• SHAOLIN 2 months ago

I HAVE NEVER SEEN WONTUMI SO CALM AND RESPECTFUL. THE LAW IS THE LAW

• Zakarakis 2 months ago

Just yesterday, Wontumi saw himself as LARGER THAN LIFE. Today, he is as MEEK as a cat. That is why the ELDERS advise caution because no one knows tomorrow.

• LONGJOHN 2 months ago

WONTUMI IS NOT SETTING FOOT TO HIS HOUSE UNTIL HE FINISHES HIS JAIL TERM

• Gh 2 months ago

Nonsense... who told you.

• Joy 2 months ago

All his gains in this mining business must be confiscated and sell out to under go reclamation. Wontumi is a real thief.

• Kofik 2 months ago

Hey guys, what are you talking about, do you expect him to be start jubilation or what?

• Jah 2 months ago

Apuuuuu jail Wontumi in Ghana? I don’t trust the justice system in Ghana and I don’t believe they will jail him because of the corruption and bribery in the judiciary

• Nemesis 2 months ago

Must get not less than 80 years jail time. ANIMAL !

• Kofi Ghanaba 2 months ago

The NDC is setting the stage to destroy the NPP and reduce the NPP number of voters in the Ashanti region by jailing Chaiman Wontumi.NPP beware.

• Oklemekuku 2 months ago

reefer is not good for you,

• Nana TRUMU TRUMU Addo 2 months ago

SEND HIM TO JAIL!. LET YOUR COCAINE SNIFFING AKUFFO ADDO COME RESCUE YOU

• Lucky 2 months ago

This idiot is already toasted.

• Yaw 2 months ago

Most of these comments appear to be motivated by jealousy and politics, not by facts. While I'm not a Wontumi supporter, it's clear this is a political witch hunt. This whole effort will likely fail, and even if he were to be ...

• FATHER ELEPHANT 2 months ago

Yaw,it appears you have either been smoking or sniffing somethings which are not good for you. You mean when the law is at work you are saying people are jealous of Wontumi and that even if he is caged he will walk out in 202 ...

• Yaw 2 months ago

I have been sniffing your father.

• Divine 2 months ago

Look at that fool.

• Yaw 2 months ago

Exactly like you ! Where is your evidence?

• Michael 2 months ago

What political witch hunt, Wotumi decimated our forest, and ecosystem.

• Boro 2 months ago

This man must go to jail and serve as an example.
    Next time when you did not make it formal education and through the love of the people you come near to power, it as privilege and don't abuse it!!!

• K Poku-London-UK 2 months ago

The BLOODY ASHANTI TRAITOR AND ILLITERATE MUST BE SENT TO JAIL. YOU BETRAYED US ASHANTIS BY TAKING BRIBES FROM AKYEM ABUAKWA ARROGANT AND CRIMINALS LED BY UGLY AND LILIPUT TANI AKUFFO ADDO. GO TO JAIL FOR BETRAYING US ASHANTI ...

• Kojois 2 months ago

NDC govt is not serious. They have taken ghanaians for granted. They should arrested all galameseyers immediately useless govt. They have to be careful what they are doing today. I said any future npp govt should jailed 60% o ...

• Donatus 2 months ago

This guy displayed gold in a radio studio.

• FunnyGhana 2 months ago

This braggard and criminal mining in forests under the protection of certain people should now face the law and be convicted for all of his crimes. He thought he was untouchable bragging about his gold bars, cars, buying foot ...

• Koppong 2 months ago

Selective prosecution
    Don’t trust this government as they discontinued several cases and only target Akonta

• kk 2 months ago

this is a smokescreen to distract us from this government's failing galamsey fight. Is it Wontumi himself or his company that was mining? mining without a license? give me a break. when his own government was in power he didn ...

• Abby 2 months ago

Well said kk. This court case will not result in any jail time because discerning Ghanaians like us are seeing what's happening in the galamsey realm now

• John Mahama is a fool ! 2 months ago

Hahaha, I laugh aaa tire !So this is why made chairman Wuntumi come all the way from Kumasi to Accra , right ? NDC , John Mahama and Attorney General do not disappoint at all ! How ridiculous could this be ? John Mahama shoul ...

• John Mahama is a fool ! 2 months ago

Hahaha, I laugh aaa tire !So this is why made chairman Wuntumi come all the way from Kumasi to Accra , right ? NDC , John Mahama and Attorney General do not disappoint at all ! How ridiculous could this be ? John Mahama shoul ...

• VK 2 months ago

This is the more reason why we cant stop Gala

• Batuta 2 months ago

Consumption of Frafra pito and the meat of rabies dogs is making this man insane. After destroying Wontumi's businesses, this reckless PhD holder is now spearheading the agenda to facilitate the end of his life by jailing him ...

• Abugre 2 months ago

Typical effusions from a toilet munching brain full of shit. The rot starts from the head that’s why your asantehene has always been lobbying for npp criminals to be freed even to the extent of begging for the airport Chris ...

• Gbetia 2 months ago

I told you today that you're welcome here your prisons home and you will know difference between ghost and skeleton am l correct Bernard Antwi Boasiako?

• Jk 2 months ago

NDC miners without license should also prepare for future trial..infact wetter licensed or not

• Rb 2 months ago

Foolish charge

• Achakanapaya 2 months ago

Who born dog???.
    Ghana fuo, mu wor hiiiii?????
    They have taken me to Court ooh mun sori oooh.

• Fire for fire 2 months ago

Is Chairman Wontumi above The Law?

• A/G YOU ARE DISGRACE 2 months ago

A LITTLE BOY KNOWS THERE ARE WAY MORE SERIOUS CHARGES FOR THAT ANIMAL THAN WHAT YOU ARE PUTTING OUT. I DO NOT THINK YOU ARE THE MAN FOR THE JOB. YOU ARE USELESS

• Kwame Peter 2 months ago

Some so-called billionaires must be careful because the future does not bode well,a word to the wise.

• Jim 2 months ago

It's about time somebody went to jail for breaking the law on irresponsible mining.

• Koletey Jannie 2 months ago

It will never happen untill both NDC and NPP parties are got rid off from holding power in Ghana.

• King 2 months ago

Good news

• FTT 2 months ago

This is pure political witch hunting

• JJ KUFFOUR AKUFO ADDO 2 months ago

I support NDC, but don't tell me that Wontumi is the only person mining without license. In as much as I don't like what he's doing our environment, we shouldn't single him out whilst others who are as guilty as him are walki ...

• JJ KUFFOUR AKUFO ADDO 2 months ago

Correction: in as much as I don't like what he's doing t9 our environment

• Yaw 2 months ago

Wontumi is a illiterate and stupid boy and must be jailed

• Yaw 2 months ago

Wontumi is a illiterate and stupid boy and must be jailed

• ANTWI 2 months ago

Nonsense, with all this money you are making without tax, you can't just register?

Semi-illiterate

• Fosuhemaa 2 months ago

Jail bound

• Buidam 2 months ago

He should go and show them his license, that's all, no sweat at all.

• SW1 BF SPOIL ME 2 months ago

He should be in prison by now

• Lopez 2 months ago

Arrest Ndc kingpins so that Ghanaians will believe it's not just political witchhunting. I'm against galamsay but this not a fight against galamsay it's purely Mahama's way of showing Wontumi and Npp where power lies. Apuuu

• Koletey Jannie 2 months ago

This is Political gimick. If mining without license is th only charge against Chairman Wuntumi, then Ghanaians must forgert about it. No court judge in Ghana would find him guilty of the ofense because, he was issued countles ...

• Kj 2 months ago

Good evening NDCs Yamin. Your time will also come

• Kwaa Ananse 2 months ago

Co gratulate the police and the AG? What kind of english is that?

• K.B 2 months ago

This should be the right thing to do for the Ghana COCOBOD to consider upgrading some roads in the country in areas where cocoa production is highly significant.

• Sikiratu Muhammed 2 months ago

Throw Wontumi into jail. He is a thief

• Agboglimate Wolefiatem Zuborborm 2 months ago

If this illiterate man who destroyed our forest and water bodies didn't go to jail for 25years NDC will lose more than NPP in 2028. I rest.

• Kingdav 2 months ago

So what licence did the minister revoked? If he didn't have licence then it means the minister lied by saying he has revoked his licence

• Agbeli Kumordziì 2 months ago

Jailed Wontuni 10 years
    He's environmental terrorist

• AMEGAHTSE YAO 2 months ago

IF CHANGE OF GOVERNMENT IS CONTROLED BY POLITICAL PARTIES , THEN WE CAN GO THIS WAY . IT IS NOT THE CASE . AND THAT IS WHY WE HAVE TO BE CONCERN ABOUT TOMORROW IN THE THINGS WE DO TODAY .

• Concerned citizen 2 months ago

Please throw this man in jail so he knows that no one is above the law

• Afia Pokuaa 2 months ago

How can that be possible!

• Say it again!!! 2 months ago

They wanna use him as a scapegoat.But power is not permanent.Whats NDC national organiser Yamin doing?Has he been arrested???????God is watching

• Nana 2 months ago

Get more followers,views,likes etc on Tiktok.,..We also have packages for Instagram, Facebook, YouTube etc .....Our services are fast and reliable: 0244289681 or visit: www.webgateconsult.com

• Kwame panin 2 months ago

shame to the all who are pronouncing him guilty even before a trial. Ghana is indeed under seige.

• Tweaa 2 months ago

I think I remember this man, is he the guy who wanted to buy Chelsea FC ?

• Nepotistic Pantang Party 2 months ago

Oh.I see. Was that the pinacle of mirage, the akuffo-addo, bawumia and prime minister/crown-king gabby's corruption and bad governance septic ethics, had heightened to? Eeii! The Ship was truly lost at sea.

• Bonus Baba 2 months ago

Put the Asshole behind bars with no food to deter other young criminals from following suit. And please tell the Lawyer to steal all Wontumi's money.