Captain Traoré demands answers after Burkina Faso misses World Cup playoff spot

Read Comments Comments (100)

• COURAGE AUX PEUPLES BERKINABERS 1 month ago

Ne vous enquiètez pas, monsier le président. La vie n"est globalement pas juste.

• Mr Smith 1 month ago

Mr. Frenchman, this is not about the world not being a fair place but let's simply consider this as a game that chooses only one winner. It's a just a game to entertain ourselves internationally.

• Fastook 1 month ago

If we are choosing a winner your country won’t be there . Your country was a big loser yet this bogus system favored . How did this benefit a winner . It only favored a loser country like Nigeria

• kwaku 1 month ago

I concur my friend. The system is absolutely shambel and disgrace

• Benji 1 month ago

It's like saying, don't beat whoever's going to be the last of your group too much. What type of bullshit rule is that? lol

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

Je ne veux pas parler aux voleurs... You can't steal a spot with force. They could have qualified outright, if they were that good. His marshal law in Burkina does not extend beyond their borders. Go read the rules, it's self ...

• ST Ghfuo: Canadians are dishonest, liars, Gh leaders are fools 1 month ago

Don't worry fifa can help Nigeria all they want but if that Nigeria team does not find an antidote to their one trick pony osimhen. It will be over for them you can't rely on one striker to carry the team up till this point a ...

• Dr Christopher Masuku 1 month ago

Don't mix politics here. Simply, CAF dropped the ball. That's not normalization of results but a deliberate plot to deny Burkina Faso a play-off place.

• Jimbl 1 month ago

That is correct. The last plqce team should be beaten by any team worth their salt. Nigeria couldn't beat the last place team and was rewarded for it while Burkina Faso was punished for rightly beating the last place team. A ...

• Bongo 1 month ago

Exactly Fastook and i agree with Mr Frenchman and Prez Traore. Only caf embrace foolishness.

• Wonitwaasedi 1 month ago

I can say same for my country Ghana too, to even talk of system favour is being utterly dishonest, kwasia yenkasa ya benefiti nti mongyae gyimie, when a group is loaded with teams like South Africa, Burkina Faso and Nigeria, ...

• You can't fixed stupid for real !!! 1 month ago

Benin sold the match to alatafour plain and simple... The match was fixed... FACT

• Charles 1 month ago

Why would Benin sell the match when they know pretty well that defeating Nigeria will earn them their first ever world cup

Coz Benin is a poor country and don't care very much about the w.cup...this is a country who doesn't even have a decent stadium to play their home games and instead played all their home games away in ivory coast...it is way ...

• Bongo 1 month ago

Yes Mr Smith, but through the entertainment things must be done fairly. Its like caf want Nigeria to be there at all cost. Did caf receive bribe from them?
    Cos the statement was 4 best second placed teams. Nothing was mentio ...

Any decent and true lover of soccer will recognize that CAF is playing a dirty trick here. Niger played only 8 games and it's not it's fault. The other eight teams played 10 games. By normalizing, you give Nigeria the 6 point ...

• Johnny 1 month ago

It is a propaganda against the head of state. 34yrs Captain Ibrahim Traore studied Geology at the University. It's a course that demands good knowledge in Maths and Geography. I don't think this FIFA Rule on the play off is d ...

• Anokwale 1 month ago

Nigeria will not qualify!

• Kelechi 1 month ago

Why is Nigeria living rent free in the head of both the living and dead Ghanaians...this includes both old and young people.
    Foolish idiots leave Nigeria alone and think about your wives and girlfriends cheating and bringing ...

• You. Are difficult to understand. An. English words 1 month ago

Illiterate. Nonsense Bigot.
    Why you not you insults. Burkina Faso. President who made that suggestion. I'd you are talking about cheating wives then you must Advice your women for can even with dog for peanut.# crown#

Kwasia,, you won a fixed match and only fool like you will think otherwise... Alata Ni Aboa

• Yaw 1 month ago

A fixed match that help South Africa to qualify right. You guys know Nigeria is a different breed when it comes to Africans. If Nigeria want to be like other Africa they will allowed Benin to win them to stop South Africa. S ...

Kwasia Alata yaw,, you fake useless person... you are not making any sense here.. your pathetic shameless country bought the match that's why they won...now go back to Alata and inhale generator fumes... Aboa

• Kelechi 1 month ago

Why is Nigeria living rent free in the head of both the living and dead Ghanaians...this includes both old and young people.
    Foolish idiots leave Nigeria alone and think about your wives and girlfriends cheating and bringing ...

• @Godisking 1 month ago

This is daylight robbery. Then CAF should rather add 6 points and 6 goals to the rest of the teams in the group with 5 teams. Even if this is done Burkina Faso will still qualify.

• Oprege 1 month ago

Fix your stadiums and play home games to give your team home support and you will be fine . Rules were there before qualifiers — not changing rules for any one particular dictator —too bad

• EDDY 1 month ago

But for FIFA TO BE fair, they must compensate the which would have quakified for the play-offs, for the cost of the those matches whose points are cancelled.

• John 1 month ago

This is injustice. If that rule is to be applied, they should have allowed all the teams to play on the same day and time and not to allow Nigeria to play their game last after knowing the goal difference of the other potenti ...

• Adebayor 1 month ago

You should rather bow ur head in shame bcoz u are a dullard to understand simple arithmetic

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

If you pay attention, you will know that the bottom half playing against each other will not have effect on what happens at the top,

• Okyere Kay 1 month ago

You are 100% right.FIFA should know better.

• Adjei 1 month ago

Idiot!
    The last games were played simultaneously.
    When you were asked to go to school, you were selling banku and played on the streets.
    How will you understand the simple meaning of games being played simultaneously

• Naija 1 month ago

I totally agree.
    No last games in qualifying must be played on separate days.
    So all the points that the top and second placed teams earned against the bottom teams don't count?

So Ghana's 4 points earned againt bottom t ...

• Yaw 1 month ago

Because your father was Fifa usless and lliterate Ghanaians hahaha . Do u think Fifa is your country that vote base on emotion they do they calculation well dumb.

Business caf and fifa favoring Nigeria to qualify. Why so you think the Nasha match VS Benin was last to be played? You already know the thing but you still asking questions? Next time take your destiny into your own hands an ...

• Adebayor 1 month ago

Some Ghanaians are even more pained than Burkina faso. How come?

• Ghanaman 1 month ago

Because you take your 419 activities everywhere! Including bribing Benin yesterday. Pathetic!

• Mybigdickinyamamamouth 1 month ago

Why didn't you bribe to qualify for afcon? You will sit at home and watch on tv. Silly children of hate aka ghana aponchee

• Ghanaman 1 month ago

I will tell you a Ghanaian secret today, we just don't care about the afcon. Most of us will not tell you the truth. What would afcon do for Ghana? We are already well recognized in Africa. World cup means more to us. Another ...

• Kojo K 1 month ago

Listen to yourself. You are clever by half.
    And so we are we wasting tax payer's monies and time to play AFCON qualifiers matches?
    When last did we win AFCON? We didn't qualify because the team has no pattern of play then.S ...

• Adebayor 1 month ago

We bribed them when they are also in the middle of qualifying too.. you are such a dummy

• Fastook 1 month ago

Because we worked hard to get there yet some as a real freeloader you took the back door trying to get get. You’ll certainly be apprehended for the thieves that you are. You won’t qualify. Mark these words

• Bernie 1 month ago

@Adebayor Why are hundreds of Nigerians on Ghanaweb interested in what Ghanaians are doing every day? Question: Do you even have a national news portal, and if so, are there hundreds of Ghanaians there every day? Ghanaweb sh ...

• Kelechi 1 month ago

• Kojo 1 month ago

Oh old fool. the bad chicks and praise yourself. I guess our children will take your names too? No. Your history is tainted. Ghana is your heaven.

• Adebayor 1 month ago

Yes u are in pain and that was why u keep ranting like a lunatic.. anyway, tell ur journalist to stop reporting about Nigerian news for every blessed day.. from sports to entertainment and business u talked about us in ur lif ...

• You. Are difficult to understand. An. English words 1 month ago

Shut up. And be honest to yourself..that method is injustice. Empty Barrels

• Why Not 1 month ago

Populist nonsense. Takeover the coaching too.

• Benji 1 month ago

Fool, he makes sense. Why would someone who finished 2nd of his group with 21 points be disqualified, while another which finished 2nd with 17 points be qualified? What happened to meritocracy?

• They agreed to the rules before playing 1 month ago

They agreed to the rules before they started playing. If the rules are not fair, they should have said something before agreeing to it. You cannot cry after the rule doesn't favor you.

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

mmo

• The rule only become known this week bro 1 month ago

It is new

Then that's not fair

• Know the rules 1 month ago

A country can be first in their group but another can be second with higher points in another group
    The law is the law

• Ghanaman 1 month ago

Yes, exactly ! This rule stings. Why didn't FIFA concentrate on Eritrea's group alone but added other groups? Stupidity at its highest level. If a black person had been in charge of FIFA, you know what they would have said ab ...

• kwaku 1 month ago

Honestly, Burkina Faso and Congo deserves the play offs more than Nigeria

• Kelechi 1 month ago

Nigeria is your biggest problem and concern in life ...hater go hug a transformer we are going for playoffs foolish Ghanaians

• Yaw 1 month ago

Keep quiet chale you knew nothing about football. The law is the law. Or are you scared of seeing Nigeria in the world cup ? Bitterness will kill u.

• Ghanaman 1 month ago

Consider this fact, Burkina Faso is the nation that could have beaten Nigeria hands down. You know why? They would have been afraid to accept bribed from Nigeria. They dare not because very serious consequences would have bef ...

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

Nonsense, we all thought Ghana could have beaten Chad away hands down too, but we saw what happened.

• Ghanaman 1 month ago

I don't think you watched the Ghana v. Chad game. This is different. I am telling you this and the truth will come out some day, Nigeria bribed Benin yesterday. The truth will be out someday, mark my words

• MiYUyu 1 month ago

But wasn't the South Africa game at the same time as the Nigeria game? So how did they know how the South Africa game is going? And that they need 4 goals

• Reality 1 month ago

@ Kelech. Ritual murderer. Nigeria cannot and won't beat Gabon. You are loser in advance. With all your giant of Africa boasting you are going for playoffs in Africa and intercontinental. Shaaaame !

• Nelly 1 month ago

Why Ghanaians are so pained, you people can just withdraw your team from WC and show solidarity to Burkina Faso, I don't know why you people just pain as if Nigeria dey una wives, what a people, am not sure you are one of G ...

• It's very unfair 1 month ago

They should have announced this rule before not afterwards. It is unfair against AES!

That's what I was thinking, because it seems they Burkinabe had no idea of how the draw was gonna be, for them to even feel like they've been cheated means they didn't understand it in the first place. Even CAF is not functio ...

• Osei 1 month ago

Demand what answers?the game is over?

• Sister Soulja 1 month ago

What injustice!

• Makeshift team 1 month ago

The tesm lacks a prolific striker. All the forwards are midfielders.

• Paa Rasta 1 month ago

Captain TRAORE is doing a good job so far . He should stay away from these football issues. His team lost to the better team . He shouldn't behave like the old African dictators in the past.

• Agbelimor Paris 1 month ago

Nigeria was selected ahead of Burkina Faso on superior goal difference

• Kwame Angel 1 month ago

The answer is simplier than the matches they played; they did not win, period.

• Semantical 1 month ago

This move by the so called football regulatory bodies doesn't and can never make sense.Even mad animals will not and can never take such a decision. Robbers indeed.

• Paa Pee 1 month ago

FIFA and CAF are stupidly wrong. How can they cancel some matches just because a group is a team short. They should award the points to those Eritea were supposed to play. Like the rules say teams who do not show up lose 3poi ...

• Simon 1 month ago

Excellent comment!

• don 1 month ago

masa,,we are solemly behind u but not on this stupid thing,,ofui,,,,has your country even won afcon b4

This Troare guy supposed to blame his fellow French country Benin for selling the match for alatafour to eliminate his country ... He should leave both FIFA and CAF alone and put the blame on corrupt Benin Republic... That m ...

Benin understood the memo and assignment and delivered..now will Gabon understand the assignment? Bevause after Nigeria beats Gabon they will have to face Cameroon muahahahaaaaa kawukudi park kokompe

• Kojo K 1 month ago

Don't forget that in the last AFCON Nigeria is the runner up and deputy AFCON Champions.On the way to the Finals they beat Cameroun.
    Underrate the Nigerians at crucial times at your perils

• Momo 1 month ago

Bet me Ghana will not win any match in this World Cup. Just remember this.

Kwasia Buulu,,, Ghana have already qualified for w.cup quarter finals before and what about your pathetic super chinchin team ??? kwasia Buulu, Alata Ni Aboa... spits

• Ed 1 month ago

NIGERIA BETTER TEAM AND PLAY VERY WELL GO GET ALIFE MR TRAORE STOP CRYING LIKE A SMALL BOY

• TT 1 month ago

Nigeria shouldn't have qualified ahead of Burkina Faso. This qualification appears to be shedy.
    I second the president calling for explanation.

• PITO 1 month ago

Burkina Faso should have qualified with their raw points. All counties should qualify with their raw points. It is not reasonable to deduct points for any reason in football other than the team losing or committing an offense ...

• Akwasince 1 month ago

Well well well, i understand with captain, football that we know is about the accumulation of points for winning a match and not vice versa. CAF is totally wrong with this formula.

What happens to those who used that to ga ...

• Koo 1 month ago

What the white man won’t do a black man will easily do and turn around and desire to be as the white man.

Go to Europe and last matches are played simultaneously but in Africa because of ways and means we do our things d ...

• Kantoose 1 month ago

Never underestimate Naija ok. When Naija is involved, anything can dissapear, including points won.

• Bonus Baba 1 month ago

Leadership at its best. Young President Traore,disciplined, talented ,well organized
    Age,PHD degrees don't mean anything until these qualities are well tested and put in place
    How l wished Traore ruled the entire contine ...

• Selfmade UNIVERSAL 1 month ago

They wanted Nigeria to qualify

Is all about MONEY

• Adebayor 1 month ago

I guess u were there when Nigeria was giving them bribed? Continue to explain ur pain. Lollzzz

• Fb 1 month ago

You Ghanaians should not be making unnecessary enemies for yourself because you hate Nigerian. Why calling FIFA, Benin, Cameroon, Gabon rougues and bribe takers even before the matches are played. This your comment sections i ...

Kwasia Alata man go back to Alata and inhale generator fumes... you asshole when it's obvious that the match was SOLD do you want us to keep quiet??? any critical thinking individual with brains can figure it out that there' ...

• Adusei 1 month ago

He is not the head of Africa states. If you are excited about him, limit that to your self. There are other more important things to talk about.

• Herbert GH 1 month ago

Burkina Faso should vehemently protest against the method used to select the best runners up for the play-off.
    Nigeria should NOT qualify at all at the expense of Burkina Faso. Why am I saying that. How can we play equal num ...

• Philip 1 month ago

In soccer military doesn't count , Mr president they want your country to fail.These long nose people have succeeded hanging democracy on our neck

Very awkward decision from CAF. Are we back to the old dirty tricks of CAF?. This is daylight robbery on Burkina Faso by CAF.
    As football lovers in the continent we demand FIFA to intervene and make the correct decision to. ...

• Fb 1 month ago

Nigerians shouldn't be replying Ghanaians for always turning everything Naija to topic. Because this Ghanaians turning Nigeria to TOPIC is making Nigeria to be at TOP

• Kwame 1 month ago

You are lucky FIFA made you participate.

• Ghinstigator 1 month ago

Without knowledge, my people perish.

• Laye 1 month ago

Accept Jesus today as your Lord and Savior