Watch as police rescue 9 soldiers allegedly attacked by angry Ahafo Hwidiem youth

Read Comments Comments (138)

• Paa Yaw 1 month ago

Still we haven't exhausted our options. JM, Ghana is sitting on a time bomb hmmm

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 1 month ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper......Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe.............yo ...

• J 1 month ago

The gold will soon finish in the ground and this recalcitrant youth will take on the state. Ghana will soon be like Colombia or Haiti.

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 1 month ago

NDC Zongo youth on rampage.

• Catfish 1 month ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed and tanks available on sale. 0265583388
    ___~~ ...

• Karikakchar 1 month ago

That's how powerful illegal miners have become. We stop it now or never!

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 1 month ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine. For instance 15 paracetamol at once.........or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• GHANA 1 month ago

TIME FOR SHOOT AND KILL

• GHANA 1 month ago

TIME FOR THE GUN

• H.E. The Ugly Dwarf 1 month ago

Exactly. Complete lawlessness.

• Populist 1 month ago

Yes

• Emma 1 month ago

Ghana is really sitting on a time bomb. This problem should be nipped in the bud before it gets completely out of hand. It is a disaster waiting to happen.

• GLADSTONE 1 month ago

African governments..!!!! You are all STUPID JOKERS on this continent! I have told you many times that these GALAMSEY ANIMALS do not understand the word "reason", and they do not deserve any sympathy within the circumstances ...

• GLADSTONE 1 month ago

Poor African governments..!!!! You are all STUPID JOKERS on this continent! I have told you many times that these GALAMSEY ANIMALS do not understand the word "reason", and they do not deserve any sympathy within the circumsta ...

• Albert 1 month ago

@Gladstone. I can not agree with you more. Well said. Don't you see he was excessively happy that he was the only African President invited by the Chinese President to attend the Women's Conference held recently in Peking. Wh ...

• Alan Gyimi Gyimi Kyeremanteng 1 month ago

I TOLD U NPP = NKWASIAFUO PEOPLES PARTY. UMOUFIA CARTOONS CONCERT CATHEDRAL

• JDM 1 month ago

and who are you to tell anyone anything? kwasiaa!!

• Kigali 1 month ago

It is a clear & indisputable fact.!! Your NPP is truly... NKWASIAFUOR PEOPLE'S PARTY. If you have any doubts, check with your own man - Kennedy Agyepong.

• Very soon galamsey kingpins will be more 1 month ago

Very powerful than state securities if nothing is done to stop them

• Muslims n Christians are friends in Ghana stop your stupidity 1 month ago

You are cursed, both your mouth nose will be maggots infected B4 u die a disgraceful death, continue insulting the Holy prophet

• MAKE MONEY WITH A VIABLE SKILL & CHANGE YOUR LIFE - START WITH THIS NOW!!! 1 month ago

Wind up the year 2025 WINNING, as it is ending QUICKLY, INVEST NOW, JOIN THE DOERS, NOT the SPECTATORS this Xmas; it is a crime against self to remain penniless like before if you don't still have a good source of income. Be ...

• Kwaku Tee 1 month ago

President Mahama still don't see the need for State of Emergency. Just declare it and go to uncle Vladimir Putin for some Drone Bombs..Within 4weeks you drop it on them and Galamsey will be over.

• JESUS IS GOD 1 month ago

Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third day. Believe in Him, accept His gift of forgiveness, and receive eternal ...

• Danny 1 month ago

Amen

• Donatus 1 month ago

Yessss! I very much agree with you.

• Mawuli 1 month ago

Now where let's blame Nana Addo. Stupid NDC fools create jobs for them as u said during ur hungry days in opposition

• iNFO 1 month ago

A traveL agency in Lagos is recruiting Ghanaians & Nigerians for job openings in Canada, visa & fLight ticket is free for aLL sucessfuL appLicants on the condition that they start paying back once they start work in Canada, i ...

• . 1 month ago

U ARE A CRIMINAL. GO AND DO THE WORK URSELF, JON

• Kofi 1 month ago

This is fake. I am in the US there's more people in the US and Canada looking for jobs.

• NDC and npp are the same 1 month ago

Npp did galamsey and was bolted out and NDC came into power and they took are doing galamseys so what's different

• Donatus 1 month ago

My goodness, l can't believe this. State of emergency may be the option. How? Then why are we complaining about water?

• Kpe Kobla 1 month ago

If you do this and you are shot? Who will be blamed?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 month ago

That was exactly what I was going to ask.The Soldiers acted carefully because they might have been well armed than the local people. The Soldiers definitely had AK47 and other fully loaded Assault Rifles. The Soldiers made a ...

• Lawless Northerners 1 month ago

I bet you only Zongo Northerners will behave in the manner they did. They think their Northerner folk and their NDC are in power so they can behave anyhow and above the law. Didn't you hear them invading Obuasi gold mines to ...

• Mawuli 1 month ago

This NDC northeners ankasa , u is ok. They know, we know so let's keep mute, nipa bi paa ni, twaee

• Kwaku Tee 1 month ago

These hooligans don't need bullets. Drone Bombs will be very effective and cost less.No personal contact No discrimination

• Adams 1 month ago

There should be an instant declaration of curfew at the town. From 6 am to 5 pm. Such nonsense should not be tolerated at any part of the country.

• Anonymous Q 1 month ago

Best comment I have read so far!

• Samurai 1 month ago

Splendid comment @Adams.

• Ys 1 month ago

I am disappointed in Mahama. We are brewing anarchy and slowly slowly it will fester. Once the people lose their fear for the military, we are done for.

The state needs to reassert its authority. There needs ti be a massi ...

• BLUE ELEPHANT 1 month ago

Ys I agree perfectly with you. Look this is how it started in Sierra Leone and slowly some people came to believe they were more powerful than the state. Militias then emerge with their leaders who are armed and now challenge ...

• A LAWLESS TOWN 1 month ago

A town of hooligans .Makes you wonder what they smoke.

• Bakogone Tiblisi Honest VIEWS undualized intercity roads 1 month ago

Nowadays and nowanights, it appears the prez is travelling a lot.Why?

• Koti 1 month ago

This is Ghana, the story might not be the whole truth. Police rescuing military officers? Hmmm!

• Ohemaa 1 month ago

This act of stupidy and lawlessness came from the greedy MP called Collins Dauda. He must be brought to books.

• Military showing weakness?? 1 month ago

After Major Mahama I thought the military must learn to be real military. If its time to shoot, shoot. 8 military officers should be able to handle 600 people. Just firing shots will disburse them. They can shot the legs of a ...

• Hunter 1 month ago

COW!!! YOU THINK CIVILIANS CANNOT ALSO SHOOT??? CAN THE MILITARY HANDLE 30 MILLION GHANAIANS???? OR THEIR BODY IS METAL??? ONE DAY IT WILL BE LIKE A MOVIE TO YOU PEOPLE. ESPECIALLY THOSE STUPID AND CORRUPT AND ARROGANT POLITI ...

• N 1 month ago

U are naive and ignorant. A 10 tonnes bomb can take care of 40,000 civilians. Don't let us get to that point. We will not even get the opportunity to run on our tarred roads. We will be forced to run thru the tick forest.

• Youths of Ghana your life is in your hands, fight these corrupt politicians 1 month ago

NDC ni aboa. You think these civilians don’t have relatives too in the military right to come bomb them. Low IQ government, you campaigned to help them continue with their galamsey when you come to power and now you trying ...

• Yoo 1 month ago

Don't add Ghanaians. 30 million Ghanaians don't stand with those destroying our waters. No Ghanaian with common sense will ever stand with those involved in this kind of galamsey.
    How different are you from the politician y ...

• Nii 1 month ago

I guess the military have learned their lessons. If the uniform does not command respect anymore, the shoot on site. The they will know what the military stands for. I doubt if these fools will make such an attempt during the ...

• Nogokpo 1 month ago

Foolish military. They should hold guns and allow this village boy to kill them like what happened to major mahama.

• Cleggie 1 month ago

I am really surprise, Ghana needs a military head

• Samurai 1 month ago

Fully agree on that. We need a very radical leader who will not pull any punches

• They are far far better than your backwards people in Nogokpo 1 month ago

Aboa next time don’t go and lie to them for their votes. You dirty backwards NDC party deceived them of allowing them to continue with galamsey or whatever when you come to power and now you sending military to destroy thei ...

• Arrowman 1 month ago

Kwasia ba! Your entire comment is 100% shit. You are only reacting to your humiliating election defeat, and the fact that you are in opposition with pain. Get well soon......

• Sly 1 month ago

The military must wake up, they are dozing. This is not how we were trained to handle situations such as this in our days.
    Very unfortunate.

• Cleggie 1 month ago

Ghana needs a military leader

• Chew-and-pour 1 month ago

It reminds me of the 'let the blood flow' situation in Rawlings' era and today he has turned ghana's worst enemy. State of emergency, military should do this, police should do that, but later John Mahama's name will change ...

• Kofi K. 1 month ago

"Our gov't is in power" This is the impunity of the people. I heard that President Mahama speaks with two sides of his mouth. Galamsey earns 4 billion USD???? Really JM??? Posterity exists, Follow Sammy "the Liar" Gyamfi and ...

• J 1 month ago

The Military men didn't want to be violent cos these are not external aggressors, they are our own people who are not happy with a policy stopping them from illegal mining which they consider as their livelihood and survival.

• Bk man 1 month ago

All this nonsense will happen in Ghana and no where
    Sometimes it is good to take the law into your hands

• KWEKU 1 month ago

They will soon take over control of their area and it will be no go area for the security agency if care is not taken

• AB 1 month ago

Clear lawlessness manifested in the face of deteriorating water sources and quality of life of the community. A clear ruthless signal needs to be sent to these people to serve as an example of zero tolerance for galamsey and ...

• Gab 1 month ago

These dogs would have been lynched if it was during the rule of JJ Rawlings. Who born dog?

• Tosh 1 month ago

We have allowed lawlessness to fester for so long that, citizens, now believe, they have a right to be lawless. It is not just about galamsey, it is in every sphere of life.

• Donatus 1 month ago

NDC MPs for asutifi north and south, ebenezer kwaku addo and collins dauda, where are they? ahafo hwidiem? no no no no ......

• Yaw 1 month ago

The crowd control management by the Ghana Police requires significant improvement. The recurring chaos at court premises during the transportation of high-profile suspects highlights critical gaps in planning and execution. T ...

• Idiots 1 month ago

and if they kill these idiots civil society will start shouting

• Sela 1 month ago

The military men did extremely well they used common sense and applied real tactical sense. The site owner should be immediately arrested by national security for instigating the mob action and any community leaders involved. ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 1 month ago

Where is the 24-hour econonmy to give employment to all these unemployed villagers?

• Papillon 1 month ago

Civilian governments don't have the balls to take drastic measures. Ghana needs a military coup to cleanse the system.

• Nana Gyamfi 1 month ago

In Ghana this? Unbelievable, this country is something else. The citizens have taken the laws into their own hands. Military should just go and clear or wipe them off, that’s the way to go.

• Cross roads 1 month ago

This is how political parties lose power. This makes politics to look like an enterprise without principles.

Ghanaians are watching what will happen to these 2 MPs to finally make their minds about NDC's commitment to the ...

• Kom 1 month ago

This is why this illegal mining issue needs to handled with a radical approach.Smoke out the financiers and make them face the law.

• Sammy 1 month ago

It is our government. Others can be chased around for engaging in galamsey. Collins Dawda and Ebenezer Addo are protecting galamseyers in the open. We are watching what Mahama will do.

• Frank Talk 1 month ago

\

• Frank Talk 1 month ago

A stitch in time they say saves nine. I think the galamsey situation has gotten out of hand. This is something that should have been nibbed in the bud, however, political stand points took centre stage now we have our own "Bo ...

• Semantical 1 month ago

Why are these guys called politicians pretending to be fighting galamsey? Who are they deceiving? This whole Hwidien tin is soooo annoying. Come to the black Volta river and river tain and see something. Come to Bamboi and Ta ...

• Gbeze Gbormita 1 month ago

This act of vandalism is the reason why a state of emergency must be declared to curb the menace of Environmentally Destructive Mining (E.D.M.).

The lives of our law enforcement agents who are on national duty to curb gala ...

• Mercy 1 month ago

The President should declare a State of Emergency as early as possible for these Hwidiem fools to know where power lies. Enough is enough.

• Failed lying government 11 months in power no single job for the youth 1 month ago

Where is the 24-hour economy to give employment to all these unemployed villagers?

• Rasta 1 month ago

So with all these, some people think state of emergency is not needed. The government wants military and police or security personnel to die first or what?

How can you attack security personnel on national duty? We have ...

• Prof Atokan 1 month ago

This is what a failed state looks like.Openly doing an unlawful act and the military is powerless to stop it.The islamist Jihadist are gradually taking over the northern west africa.Some of the Galamsayers are from these area ...

• Charlotte Torkonoo 1 month ago

Are u serious? Yet Akuffo Addo sent military to brutalize ashaiman youth?

• NDC criminals in military uniform stealing peoples gold.. 1 month ago

Next time the citizens should burn the whole police station and set tyres on fire to block the road and beat them mercilessly

• kolos 1 month ago

The Failure of Leadership ? The wrong Implementation of GOVERNMENT'S CALL TO ACTION to curb the galamsey Wahala,Having forgotten Ghana is not only Accra ,the loss of sight in the monitor of the demographics and the economic i ...

• Matete 1 month ago

LAWLESSNESS BECAUSE OF GALAMSEY? ATTACKING SOLDIERS? HOW AND WHY? GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO GO HARD ON THESE IDIOTS. THAT IS THE ONLY WAY TO CONTROL THE GALAMSEY. AKUFO ADDO ISSUING OVER 2000 LICENSES TO SMALL SCALE MINERS HAVE EVE ...

• Paul fears Haruna Iddrisu and is always lying to create confusion 1 month ago

Paul is a known liar now in the Ghanaian media. He also fears Haruna Iddrisu, so he will do all proper propaganda to avoid mentioning Haruna's name in the race.

• Kojo Npp Iraq 1 month ago

So is not Wontumi that doing galamsey eish Ndc.

• K 1 month ago

What a state and continent?

• Kojo 1 month ago

This country is gradually moving towards anarchy, if care is not taken very soon it's going to be ungovernable. Our leaders are not doing anything about it because it's their party members who most at times leads these kinds ...

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 1 month ago

We are sending wire transfer and direct flashing to

Bank flashing to ...

• Mt Everest 1 month ago

Wow, this is totally unacceptable. These youth have become so emboldened that they even hit some of the soldiers. If the soldiers are part of the team helping to curb the menace of galamsay then how dare those youth do what t ...

• Kigali 1 month ago

I am blaming President Mahama 100% for all these nonsense we are seeing!How can you go on applying that fake and unworkable dialogue & peaceful engagement with such rogues? Are you serious, or you have some interest in what i ...

• Eric 1 month ago

We thank God these soldiers were calm. Who ever is in charge of the this situation if it is the interior minister or defense minister so quickly dispatch 1200 military to the place to manage the situation. First a curfew sho ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 1 month ago

Why should Ghana entertain such No Go Area in the Country? The Military should be immediately dispatched to the area in great force .

• Papa 1 month ago

Did I hear Collins Dauda’s name.
    We need the airforce officer who beat the civilians at the pharmacy at the Galamsey site.

• Mad dog 1 month ago

Useless politicians....none of them will see heaven ..greedy demons,look at what this country has turned into because of galamsey

• Badwenba Karikari (Aberewa Nana) 1 month ago

This is shameful!
    Hon. Ebenezer Kwaku Addo, MP for Asutifi North and a Board Member of the National Investment Bank (NIB), reportedly led the thugs to attack NAIMOS officers and soldiers who were carrying out a lawful operat ...

• GLADSTONE 1 month ago

Let the president be embarrassed. He is being so foolish now.!! You sit there and watch all the massive weapons that these galamsey thugs are now using, and you think a simple "State of Emergency" will be something too harsh ...

• Kwamina 1 month ago

This is what happens when there is widespread unemployment in the country. People are protecting what they see as their livelihood. So far, no policy (apart from recruiting some youth to go for the Galamsey workers) was launc ...

• Kwame Owusu 1 month ago

We are gradually getting there, sooner. Oh Ghana. It's about time the authorities act now or doom will befall Ghana and it's escape door will be very narrow

• Kwame 1 month ago

The politicians are to blame. If the msaasive stealing had been curbed and human capital investment had taken place, the youth will find jobs and not venture into galamsey. The loot from NSS could have doubled the national se ...

• Sam 1 month ago

Well done police officer.

• Sam 1 month ago

Well done police officers

• Antiba 1 month ago

First it was major Mahama and nothing was done, then it came to the helicopter crush and nothing has been done. I don’t know what we are waiting for again to fight these galamsey issues

• Gonja Mafia 1 month ago

why the involment of the zongo chief? Were the mob dominated by people from that community? Why the absolute disregard for state authority? Are you seeing what we are seeing?

An Ibrahim a mahama can own and operate mines b ...

• Samurai 1 month ago

This is unacceptable!! We have been telling you to shoot galamseyers on site, you see how irate and confident they are getting?? If the police had fired shots to protect lives, we would get people making noise that they overr ...

• kulbogo 1 month ago

The most lawless nation in Africa. how can the youth take the law into their own hands without they being arrested and be brought to book, seriously Ghana is sitting on a time bomb,

• Kwame 1 month ago

This galamsey is a serious threat to national security.

• Abom 1 month ago

Mahama sack Sammy GYAMFI now.
    That boy is foolish too much.He is the Wontumi in our party for the past 10 months in government.
    The GOLDBOD is foolishly entertaining criminals in the fight against Galamsey.
    We need a matu ...

• Set special fast track court got galamsey 1 month ago

This stuff has to be quick and serve as deterrent.. Don't condone it... If it's 100 youth arrest them all

• Warrior 1 month ago

Hmmmmmm

• Atsu 1 month ago

This is annoying Government and all antigalamsey NGOs and media and all well meaning Ghanaians should rise up to condemn the implicated MPs as persons ( not linked to any party) and demand full investigations and prosecution. ...

• Atsu 1 month ago

Kudos to NAIMOS and its leadership. Ghana stands behind you. Any attack on you is an attack on Ghanaians

• KKK 1 month ago

Why won't they do so ? JDM promised them that if voted into power, nobody will chase them out and even those in jail would be released. Now JDM is in power cos galamseyers saw him as their saviour and the one who understood t ...

• Demetrius 1 month ago

If Galamsey is not tackled head on this is the consequences. I think we are playing with fire. We must learn from Liberia and Sierra Leone Diamond mines how the war started. We are sitting on fire, John Mahama

• Populist 1 month ago

How can civilians behave like this in a democratic State? If the assaulted military decides to retaliate Oh my God. Can we protect our environment for our tomorrow?. In times of state of emergency, we these youths behave ign ...

• Nana Yaw 1 month ago

Complete lawlessness

• Yoo 1 month ago

Why call police reinforcement... They should have called just 200 soldiers to go open fire on them.

• Kwam 1 month ago

These galamseyers are terrorists that are burnt on destroying our nation. What more is the government waiting to fight them like armed terrorists? Very soon l believe these bandits will take advantage of the situation and sta ...

• Omama 1 month ago

They should change e DCE and e police commander. The know e tricks all.

• kwame 1 month ago

why the hunter got hunted? if priorities are reversed . such outcomes are seriously inevitable. we've placed corruption above national Interest and if care is not taken, we will wake up one day where the center no more would ...

• Stugat 1 month ago

Hey Gladys Stone don't insult the gassers ok if mahama and his government can't do anything to the youth he should step down, simple governanceif you don't have the idea just step down. Go and ask Nana Leave Bedisko the new f ...

• Jack 1 month ago

Wow NDC Ghana........

• Jim 1 month ago

If these hooligans and criminal elements can do this to soldiers, then one can imagine what they are capable of doing to civilians. I hope these scoundrels will be brought to justice.

• Honesty 1 month ago

What, there must be immediate emergency meeting of the military high command & the police, arrest all those in the video, call a curfew on the town. Call the chief to Accra, lock the town down, no going out, no coming in for ...

• Analyst 1 month ago

This is a test-case for JM to prove the government is serious about fighting galamsey. The military did well by ensuring no blood is spilled.
    It's good all the evidence is captured on video so the galamseyers and their king ...

• RASTA BANGI 1 month ago

THE MINING NEED TO STOP ELSE THIS GALAMSEY WILL NEVER STOP AND CAN LEAD TO SOMETHING ELSE IF IT'S NOT STOPPED EARLY.
    THIS IS A NATIONAL SECURITY ISSUE, THEY SHOULD SEND A HUGE SECURITY DETACHMENT TO THE TOWN, LOCK IT DOWN AN ...

• Nana 1 month ago

Is it still not enough time to declare the state of Emergency?

• McCoy 1 month ago

Please just shoot and kill any illegal miner U see or catch destroying our forest reserves and water bodies. Shoot and kill. Don't let your name be added to major Mahama.

• Scammer Mahama the Gonja mafia. 1 month ago

Gonja mafia John Mahama sees nothing and hears as far as those rampaging are not called Owusu or Antwi. Are the soldiers afraid of Bole Bamboi Nebukat Nezer? So his people in the Zongo communities can do whatever they want an ...

• Straooo 1 month ago

Akwatia style will happen again,
    Let's keep our fingers crossed.
    Mark it on the wall

• Nana Kwame 1 month ago

This people need to be taught a bitter lesson by the military’.

• Sallana 1 month ago

!!!!!!!!! Hot girls are waiting for you on ---> www.Sex24.fun

• Kofi 1 month ago

Both the Mps and the Omanhene of Hwidiem has to be arrested. Because they are behind the galamassey going on in the area. That gave the youth power to do such things

• Akua 1 month ago

Ghanaians we're about to suffer on water matters because of our own selfishness concerning galamsey we love the money more than our health