Idi Amin: The 'icon of evil' and 'butcher of Africa' who carried a 42-words-long title

Read Comments Comments (106)

• FRANKIE 1 month ago

Idi Amin was not "The icon of evil and butcher of Africa". That was western propaganda. He was a liberator. Yes, you might not like some of his style, which was unconventional. Yes, he did extreme things. He was power drunk, ...

• SOMEONE SHOULD TELL MOSES FOH AMOAHNING 1 month ago

THIS MOSES GUY WANNA MAKE HISTORY TELLING HIS GRANDCHILDREN AND THE ONES YET TO BE BORN BY CLAIMING WAS THE ONE AND BRIAN BEHIND IMPOSING
    ON US AS GHANIANS SEXUAL AFRICAN CULTURED VALUES, MOSES I KNEW YOU ARE GREAT METHODIST ...

• African Teacher 1 month ago

AMIN OR AMEN WAS AN INCARNATED SOUL OF THE GREAT MARCUS GARVEY.. CERTAIN WHITE FOLK'S HATES HIM TO THE CORE. YOU MIGHT PROBABLY ASK WHY, THIS PURE SOUL WAS ABLE TO DRAFT A GREAT POSITIVE MISSION FOR THE UPLIFTMENTS OF TH ...

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 1 month ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper.......Search online for ways to move away from evil islam...You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe............y ...

• Muslims n Christians are friends in Ghana stop your stupidity 1 month ago

A criminal and cursed sperm whose useless father forgot to use condom n prostitute mother Should hv aborted such waste piglets like u

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 1 month ago

A DISGRACE TO AFRICA!! ANOTHER ONE IS GRADUALLY ESTABLISHING HIMSELF IN BURKINA FASO. HE WAS SHAMEFULLY INVITED TO THIS COUNTRY MAHAMA RELISHES BECOMING ONE OF THEM. MAHAMA IN MILITARY UNIFORM LOOKS THE SAME AS IDDI AMIN!! EV ...

• Brainwashed Africans! 1 month ago

Idi Amin is NOT evil, he was hero! He nationalized all industries and lands that were controlled by foreigners. So they used their media and movie to tarnish his image. He's on level with Gaddafi, Nkrumah, Sankarah and co. So ...

• ST Ghfuo: judge not a book by its cover 1 month ago

Idiot you comparing idi to nkrumah and Co are you on pcp and red? This snake under grass idi was secretly undermining the works of Milton by trying to kill the guy

• @ST GHfuo 1 month ago

I don't want to sink low to you level, but let me educate you. Anytime the West demonized any leader, the means that leader is doing something good for their country and NOT toeing the West line. Putin, Gaddafi, Maduro, Kim J ...

• The Spear 1 month ago

Idi Amin was pure evil by all fantasies of the word E.V.I.L.

• Steve Kaye London 1 month ago

John Odwanfunu Mahama has inherited ldi Amin as the butcher of Africa.

• Blay 1 month ago

Excuse me to say you're an idiot, who have learnt nothing, and forgotten nothing.

• NzemaK 1 month ago

When the king of England sent Sir Garnet wesley to Kumasi to without provocation kill over 100 people, loot their golden Jewelry and craft meusum and finally exiled over 70 people to sechelles where over 60 of them died out ...

• OH GHANAWEB!!! THIS IS HOW LOW YOU HAVE DECENDED. AMIN SERVED HIS COUNTRY. BUT NPP AND THEIR MOUTHPIECE SERVE THE PERSNAL GREED 1 month ago

This is how lost the NPP and its appendix institutions like Ghanaweb are. They continue to serve the interest of the Western imperialists. Iddi Amin served the interest of his people and the Western colonialist portrayed him ...

• Retarded Africa 1 month ago

No good leaders

• Be wise 1 month ago

This is how ignorant NDC like you thinks like your MAHAMA

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 1 month ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper.......Search online for ways to move away from evil islam..... You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe........... ...

• Ghanaba 1 month ago

Good analysis bro

• ST Ghfuo: judge not a book by its cover 1 month ago

Why did he have to use coup to overthrow Milton? If he was interested in power there were better ways to do this. The moment you lose support from the people you are toast! He idi tried to assassinate Milton then he staged a ...

• Kwaku Badu 1 month ago

Yes he was portraid as an evil leader by the west but actually was a good liberator.,now thanks to the Internet they've been exposed big time
    Shame unto their propaganda

• Kwadwo 1 month ago

Can someone please paraphrase and explain what this guy is trying to say about Foh-Amoaning? I cannot make any sense out of his post.

• African Teacher 1 month ago

@kojo or kwadwo. Whatever you call yourself. The wise and clever guy is making it clear to Black race down pressors Idiots such as Moses foh amoanig even you imposing and forcing African sexual values which are already c ...

• Emmanuel 1 month ago

@African Teacher, you have even made matters worse! You people should learn how to accept your writing limitations and desist from coming out as qualified academicians. You need to go back and repeat you JHS education. That's ...

• Kwadwo 1 month ago

@ Emanuel. Don't worry your head about these dunderheads. Judging from the terrible orthography and equally miserable counter-inflicting semantics, the the guy who presents himself as as African Teacher is clearly the same il ...

• SAEED OSMAN 1 month ago

We have had our own Idi Amin from 2017 to 7th January 2025. If you study Idi Amin critically he was far better than Akuffo Addo.
    Mind you he had the Western media against him, their media painted all pan African negatively f ...

• Ka 1 month ago

Isn't the dwarf worse than Idi? Akufo Addo is a monster

• Kojo 1 month ago

Exactly....that's a western narrative....there is a reason they are putting this out here now..... #THE AWAKENING CANNOT BE STOPPED

• FRANKIE 1 month ago

I'm so excited reading the comments. People are really waking up, if not already awakened. My hope in Africa's liberation is renewed.

• Kosmos 1 month ago

When you have bunch of fools at GHANAWEB this the type of Headlines News the feed you.

• Kotonkoli Man 1 month ago

@ Kosmos. It is not only because they are a bunch of fools, as you put it. The whole thing is orchestrated to continue with the cheap imperialist tactics of brainwashing Africans to keep us in line, underdeveloped and more vu ...

• Asem 1 month ago

The unfortunate truth is that many Africans - especially the so-called well-educated ones, have not been able to fully recover from the deliberate psychological distortion programs that the merchants of slavery and colonialis ...

• WELL SAID. HOW IS THIS RELEVANT NEWS FOR GHANAIANS? 1 month ago

HOW IS THIS RELEVANT ORIMPORTANT NEWS FOR GHANAIANS?
    Idi amin continues to be depicted in the west as the epitome of evil from the “third world” and from “dark” Africa. For sure he committed a lot of despicable acts ...

• KD 1 month ago

You describe a freedom fighter as an icon of evil? such nonsense.

• The person who wrote this is a big fool. 1 month ago

Who ever wrote this nonsense is a Black man with black brains.

• Maame 1 month ago

Exactly! He stood up to them and they labelled him as evil.

• POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI-CORRUPTION 1 month ago

John DrugMani Mahaliar is cast in the mode of Idi Amin. Look at the terror John Ford Airbus Deadgoat Dumsor Mahama is visiting on citizens who criticise him. Meanwhile, in opposition, he was the chief critique.
    On this note, ...

• Jonas 1 month ago

Idi Amin was pure evil period, those that want to accuse the west of our own failures are always ready to defend any wicked leader that was also against the west. I have lot of Ugandan friends in the UK that lived under Amin ...

• Nii 1 month ago

Please is your teacher a whiteman!!!!

• Tkk 1 month ago

@FRANKIE I doubt the families of those ghanaians executed under his regime will agree with you

• Thomas 1 month ago

That's what the west made you believe. He wasn't perfect but he was demonized for not being a western puppet. They brainwashed many of us via Hollywood while we were growing up but we know better now. Follow the trend and see ...

• A Fool At 40 1 month ago

stupid ghanaweb talking shit about real icons of africa mmoa
    even akuffo addo was not icon of evil and butcher of africa fools

• KK 1 month ago

We was not an evil. Africans are brainwashed to see their owns as evil. Shame on you Ghanaweb

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 month ago

Any good leader of Africa who doesn't accept the evilness of the Europeans in his country the same evils criminals Europeans will paint him as bad leader and foolish fellow Africans will believe them. It's good for many Afric ...

• Augustina Quayson 1 month ago

Ooo Fante Warrior, why do you make such a statement? Please Asantes and Akyems were not enemies of Dr Nkrumah. Please apart from Dr Danquah Nana Ofori Atta 11 please Akyem Abuakwa was CPP. Please in both the 1954 elect ...

• Augustina Quayson 1 month ago

Sam Fante Warrior, why would you want President Nkrumah to kill Asantes.Please Asantes were not enemies. Please it was Ashanti that crowned President Nkrumah as Leader of Government Business in 1951 and Prime Minis ...

• Accranie 1 month ago

@Sam Fante Warrior/ Dr Nkrumah& His Issues With The Asante People/Nation/Tribe Is Properly Catered To In The Up/Coming Work/Book Ghana's Growing Pains/ Excepts Of The Book About The Subject Matter

• Jim 1 month ago

I think we need to tell our own storise and stop this kind of ignorancy. he was none of the above but a true african lebarator RIGHT. Educate yourself first before trying to educate others RIGHT?

• Kubala Kubala 1 month ago

It’s all Kubala, Kubala. Amin trained in both Israel and UK -and these 2 countries soonsored his coup against Obote before Amin turned against them with Gaddafi’s encouragement. Amin earned his wings in the British coloni ...

• Sam 1 month ago

Is all western propaganda take a look at how this stupid Indians treats Ghanaians at melcom, somotex we will soon show them the way out

• Obi 1 month ago

RAWLINGS, THE DEVIL WAS WORSE THAN IDI AMIN

• Onipaba 1 month ago

Idi Amin was not evil. That was western propaganda. He was on the side of Africans. And he resisted Zionism. Let us not fall for this old trick again, where we are taught to hate those who stood up for us and for what is goo ...

• John ustruum 1 month ago

Kwasiampanin trumutu onipaba mpayinfoc aa mo gyimi gyimi stupid old fools when you stupid old men and women sell your souls to the devil for riches and become slaves homosexuals prostitutes that's where you feel hatred about ...

• Akpe 1 month ago

Rawlings was SATAN INCARNATE, The Evil One

• Benson 1 month ago

These are all western lies, spare us the crap.

• IDI AMIN IS A HERO 1 month ago

IDI AMIN WAS NOT EVIL! AFRICANS, STOP BEING BRAINLESS BABOONS.
    IDI AMIN IS ONE OF THE GREATEST AFRICAN HEROES.
    ANY AFRICAN PRESIDENT WHO REFUSES TO BE COMMANDED AROUND BY WHITE PEOPLE, IS LABELLED EVIL.
    HE TOOK OVER FROM A ...

• GHANAWEB, YOU ARE WRONG! 1 month ago

GHANAWEB, APOLIGIZE TO AFRICANS IMMEDIATELY. YOU ARE WRONG FOR POSTING THIS. IDI IN IS A LOVER OF AFRICA, A MAN WHO TOLD THE TRUTH AND REFUSED EVIL WHITE MEN DESTROYING AFRICAN INTERESTS.
    1. THOMAS SANKARA.
    2. PATRICE LUMBA ...

• Pelicles. 1 month ago

As soon as an African becomes tough and does not bow to the West, he is termed as "EVIL", and we have been made to believe that stupidity because it is cemented in the minds of the stupid African that he/she should be ruled b ...

• No Mercy 1 month ago

What Idi Amin did to his Country doesn't Concern Ghana.Idi Amin was fighting against the Colonial System, The White European's were Steeling their Mineral Resources.What Rawlings did was the same as Idi Amin.What is going on ...

• Kwame 1 month ago

Are you repeating the words someone from somewhere used to describe our leaders? Do your own research ghanaweb. Do your research.

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 1 month ago

Bank flashing to all count ...

• NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH 1 month ago

The akyempanzee is our Iddi Amin: uncircumcised, evil, vindictive, arrogant, and greedy!

• Nomowe 1 month ago

Who sanctioned this article as "news" on the first page of Ghanaweb?

It is a disgrace to parade western propaganda and smear campaign by colonialists against an African leader who stood up for his people and Africa.

I ...

• Alkabulan 1 month ago

This is really bullshit for saying Idi Amin was evil, when would Africans learned to respect and do research on their own God given brains and stop being deceived for ages. Those who's wrote this story about him are the mai ...

• Kay 1 month ago

UNLESS AND UNTILL GHANA (AFRICA) BEGINS TO REWRITE ITS OWN STORY, WE WILL CONTINUE TO BE FED SUCH NONSENSE. THEY ARE ABOUT TO DESTROY NIGERIA TOO, UNDER THE PRETEXT THAT CHRISTIANS ARE BEING KILLED. AND STUPID, IGNORANT AND C ...

• Bono 1 month ago

This man said he didn't like the West and Israel but still referred to himself as the Last King of Scottland. He's just like Akuffo Addo saying Ghana Beyond Aid and sending us to IMf. What kind of inferiority will make a blac ...

• Rekado 1 month ago

If Idi Amin so brutal as the whites want us to believe the son can't be a president candidate in Uganda to day . Who ever want to stand for Africa will be disgrace and fight u back . Africans shld know whites are our enemy.

• Achakanapaya 1 month ago

Just like Akuffo Addo.

• Western propaganda 1 month ago

I wont be surprised in future propaganda will write and make protraying Ibrahim Troare as a bad leader.

Those who don't want to think for themselves can believe whatever the West wants them to believe.

• Paul 1 month ago

Africa needs a man like him now. He stood up to the West. He was not what the West painted him to be or Saudi Arabia wouldn't have have given asylum.

• Antiba 1 month ago

God will punish Saudi Arabia for allowing such an evil man to live on their soil with so much blood on his hands

• TRUTH 1 month ago

Sick new agency

• Jay 1 month ago

Lazy Journalism misrepresentation of idi Amin

• PaulDavid. 1 month ago

I know somebody in Ghana who wanted to get 'there'.

• Kofi Ghanaba 1 month ago

Ghana had its own Jerry John Rawlings.

• PaulDavid. 1 month ago

I never write nonsense here but if you claim to be schooled, i doubt you will not know iddi amin. No one can describe RAWLINGS, NKRUMAH even AKUFFO ADDO as a tyrant. Go learn and stop comparing ignorantly. Nkrumah. Gaddafi: ...

• Yew 1 month ago

idi amin dada the sicco killer was bad news but uganda dictator now days is also bad news stole the election don't ever forget that

• Selorm 1 month ago

One of my heroes of Africa.Iddi Amin Dada. Live on great ancestor

• Jey Joey 1 month ago

Even the slave traders are not “icons of evil”
    Shame on Ghanaweb

• TRUMP ,IDI AMIN IN WHITE SKIN - Worldwatch 1 month ago

Trump is now Idi Amin in white skin. He and Nyetanyahu have teamed to destrooy Gaza,expel Gazans and take their land.They are butchering Gazans to attain that goal.

• Kwaku 1 month ago

Your comment somehow mean well but you are ignorant about Idi Amin. He is a hero. He was a freedom fighter and fought the white man. Read about the true history of Odi Amin by African writers, not what the whites have written ...

• Kwaku 1 month ago

Ghanaweb must not be the mouth peace for the white people. Idi Amin was a warrior who fought for the people. These Ghanaweb borla journalists dont read and research. They only copy and paste the fake history the white people ...

• Kwaku 1 month ago

"If you hear the white praise me, know that I have betrayed you" Samora Machel, the first president of Mozambique

• Kwaku 1 month ago

"If you hear the white praise me, know that I have betrayed you" Samora Machel, the first president of Mozambique..

• Selorm 1 month ago

One of my heroes of Africa.Iddi Amin Dada. Live on great ancestor. Those narratives na Western copy and paste

• Kwaku 1 month ago

Who is the fool who approved this news item?
    It looks like there are no learned and experience journalists that work at Ghanaweb.

Idi Amin was a great fighter who freed his people from the whites.

These fools who work ...

• ICam 1 month ago

Ghanaweb fake propaganda. We have cought enough to know bull. You cannot deceive Ghanaians and Africans any more.

• Kweku 1 month ago

Stupid article. Ignore those lies paddled by the west. They created that image of him because he sacked the Asians

• Yussif 1 month ago

See how a colleague African wrote to support whites tarnish the Pan-Africanist Idk Amin's name.

May the Almighty God punish the writer of this unfortunate statement about the genius man of Uganda and a proud President in ...

• Blay 1 month ago

Udandans and history is now treating this alleged tyrant and dictator leniently as a result of passage of time. He died with no palatial building in his name or any of the stores he seized from the Asians when he expulsed the ...

• GEN. IDI AMI - AN AFRICAN HERO 1 month ago

The only African the imperialists feared and the only Afrrican to be carried on their heads by the imperialists. A brave guy who fought against apartheid and injustices. Gen. Amin is in the same category as Thomas Sankara, N ...

• Kwesi 1 month ago

About 80 percent of the things said , written and movies about him were and are lies.

• Jojo 1 month ago

GhanaWeb, stop spewing rubbish..bunch of uncivilized twerps

• Joy 1 month ago

Idi amin was a great ruler. Democracy put his ruling evil

• Bh 1 month ago

What about dick Cheney, George bush and co in USA ?

• Osei mensah bonsu 1 month ago

Amin wasn't an evil man. He was a true Pan African and a nationalist. What u have written about him is a direct quotation from the handiwork of the West. U should be ashamed of ur self

• Ohyepraye 1 1 month ago

The iconic butcher of Africans is king leopold of Belgium not idi amin

• Ghanaweb is a fake. It is NOT Ghanaian owned media. 1 month ago

Ghanaweb is owned by western people. It is not Ghanaian owned media.

• Gbetia 1 month ago

Why this article that Idi Amin Dada of Uganda governance those days better than that of Akufo Addo Dankwa the icon of evil and butcher of Ghana with Sakawa Boys?

• Alkabulan 1 month ago

The owner of Ghanaweb wasn't a Ghanaian but a foreigner from Holland, so what do you expect. He needs to be control for some of his articles, because we Ghanaians aren't ready for fake news like this article.

• Nana kay 1 month ago

Ghana web stop being lazy with this western propaganda. Amin was a hero and defied the powers who still control Africa till this day.

• Paul 1 month ago

We need someone like him now in Africa. He was tough on foreign exploitation of African resources

• Kwasi 1 month ago

IS THIS WHAT YOU WERE TOLD, OR YOU CARRIED OUT AN INDEPENDENT RESEARCH. IDI AMIN SERVED HIS COUNTRY WELL, MAKING SIRE UGANDA BELONGED TO THE NATIVES INSTEAD OF BEING HIJACKED BY INDIANS.

• Kwasi 1 month ago

Idi Amin Dada the great. My hero. Too much lies. People of Uganda loved him

• Justrac Africa Ltd 1 month ago

- Business / corporates websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for m ...

• James Ogwang 1 month ago

I am Ugandan and lived under Amin. It's true that Amin especially his henchmen caused a lot of suffering to Ugandans. However, Amin was fiersly nationalistic and exposed Ugandans to value themselves as black Africans. His act ...

• Louis 1 month ago

Why has Ghanaweb turned up this story at this point? Is this Web now teaching history to students of history? Why won't you churn out the developmental agenda of government instead of telling us about Idi Amin? Well, even in ...