'A public school cannot privilege one religion over others' – Professor Azar tackles AG Ayine

Read Comments Comments (107)

• Seidu. 2 weeks ago

WHAT AT ALL DOES AZAR WANT ?

• Moslems always want fight 2 weeks ago

Go to All the Islamic mission schools and see non moslems girls are all forced to wear the hijab no pork is allowed to be served why do they want to have their way in Christian mission schools

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 2 weeks ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine ... For instance 15 paracetamol at once. Or... combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• don`t care !!! © 2 weeks ago

Azar tackles AG Ayine!
    AZAR, I don`t agree with your opinion! How can a methodist-founded school cease to be a methodist-doctrine school? Azar is going to America, change your surname???

• FRANKIE 2 weeks ago

The real question to ask is, why were so many Moslem students posted to Wesley Girls, Achimota and? What is is it meant to achieve? What is the long term agenda? Talk to any staff of the above mentioned schools and you'll be ...

• FRANKIE 2 weeks ago

......... and Legon Presec?

• Kwaku Tee 2 weeks ago

Wesley Girls,Presec Legon,Achimota,St Augustines,Prempeh College and other top class schools shd be made autonomous. Govt shd take them off its payroll and let them pay their staff.This will free govt from some of its expendi ...

• Karikakchar 2 weeks ago

Acimota is not a mission school

• The Spear 2 weeks ago

Azar, I like you so much BUT this one di3, I disagree with you. You can't be more wrong.

Incendiary Muslims must either build more Islamic schools instead of using all their money of Mecca trip, or try not to be disrespec ...

• Chris 2 weeks ago

May be he is not aware that the government had returned the schools to the churches.

• Karikakchar 2 weeks ago

Kwaku Azar or whoever you call yourself cannot position yourself as if your wiser than anyone else. Nite the schools are first and foremost mission schools that are government assisted and no one stops a y religion from estab ...

• Saye 2 weeks ago

Govt has not returned any school back to the missions. It is something that has to be looked into.

• GH8 2 weeks ago

When did the govt returned those schools to the churches?
    Personalty, I believe as a nation we should about 10 year PLAN of De-Boardinising about 95% of our SHS. We can only do that if our road networks are improved tremend ...

• TRUTH BE TOLD 1 week ago

THIS PROF AZAR GUY SHOULD BE REPORTED TO PREZ TRUMP AND DEPORTED IMMEDIATELY FOR ENCOURAGING AND SUPPORTING JIHADIST ACTIVITIES IN OUR SCHOOLS IN GHANA.

• Lotus Bragadus 2 weeks ago

Prof Asare are you saying those who worship Tigari also can bring their gods to the school and pour libations and slaughter chickens in full view. What a logic. Can anyone go to any Islamic mission school and practice their r ...

• ISLAMISTS COMMITTING GENOCIDE AGAINST CHRISTIANS IN NIGERIA 2 weeks ago

John 3:16
    16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

• Sam 2 weeks ago

Which secondary school in ghana serves pork? Mention one islamic shs dat forces christian students to wear hijab. Wat happens is dat, if your parents declares to school dat you are a muslim then the authorities ask you to wea ...

• Maame 2 weeks ago

Islamic Girls Wa forced Christian girls to wear the Hijab. Nasrat Jahan Teacher Training College does not allow Christian worship on campus

• H. T. K. 2 weeks ago

@Maame, if Islamic girls in Wa is forcing students to wear the hijab, their parents can also take it to court, just as this person is doing against Wesley girls. The courts are there to help you fight for your rights, not soc ...

• Aniwaa 2 weeks ago

This prof knows it all Azar is one of Ghana’s problems. You sit in the comfort of America and want to profess solutions for us in Ghana. This man is against everything that is good.

• Gh 2 weeks ago

U should be ashamed of yourself, nobody forces anyone to wear hijab..a Christian and u are lying...name an Islamic school that forces people to wear hijab..

• snake eyes 2 weeks ago

God bless you, Muslims do not tolerate Christians in their institutions but they want Christians to give them freeway. There's an Islamic high school at Kanda-Accra where the national mosque is, Christians are not admitted i ...

• Moslems quiet when Christians are being slaughtered 2 weeks ago

You see no moslem is protesting about the genocide in northern Nigeria simply because those killing are moslems same in Sudan but when they kill jews and jews retaliate the foolish black moslems will be all over protesting

• snake eyes 2 weeks ago

Exactly, Christians in Ghana should stand up now against their attitude of always playing victims when in fact they are the aggressor, Nigeria situation now should guide us.

• Moslems should build schools and stop mecca 2 weeks ago

Majority of moslems in Ghana are very poor but will still save money to go visit mecca enriching Saudi economy and build mosque all over their communities but can't save to build schools and hospitals waiting for Turkey to co ...

• Nyansa ni 2 weeks ago

You are foolish. Look at the wealth paraded by charlatans like Duncan Williams, Obinim, Otabil, etc and tell me it is not from poor ignorant christians.

• UCAN: United Citizens for Accountability Network 2 weeks ago

But given the absence of a genuine political alternative in our body politic, how can anyone expect the NDC/NPP—two scam parties—to have the moral authority to claim to offer solutions or present themselves as saviours? T ...

• MO KWAME NKRUMAH NO 2 weeks ago

Ghanaweb please allow CONTRIBUTORS on (SIL) platform to debate meaningfully and don't block people who debate on your platform, we are not debating politics, we are debating about disciplinary of dressing code, this is not p ...

• Nana 2 weeks ago

Let's be blunt on this topic and stop beating about the bush. Osama Bin Ladin brought these problems to Moslems and the world.Why shd young girls as little as 10 or 11yrs wear Hijabs to class or assembly?What is there on the ...

• Kwasi 2 weeks ago

He is spot on with his submission. The AGM got it wrong this time around.

• K Poku-London-UK 2 weeks ago

STOP-YOUR-BLACKMAIL-BLACKMAIL-NORTHERNERS.-These-former-Presidents-were-NOT-MUSLIMS.-John-Kuffour,-Jerry-Rawlings-Prof-Atta-Mills-John-Mahama-were-CHRISTIANS.-Bawumia-IS-A-MUSLIM.-Ghana-is-A-CHRISTIAN-COUNTRY.GET-LOST-YOU-ARE ...

• 123 2 weeks ago

There is a difference between a Mission School and Public School. Mission School:
    Owned or founded by a religious organization (e.g., Catholic, Methodist, Presbyterian, Anglican). Even if the government now supports it, the ...

• Osman Adam Bangaham 2 weeks ago

That is incorrect, and palpable false. Muslims in Ghana do not build grand mosques. The most grandiose place of worship in every city in Ghana is a Christian church. Even in areas where Muslims are majority, such as Tamale, W ...

• K. Kusi 2 weeks ago

They build the churches and build the schools as well, but you concentrate on building mosques. That is the point he is making.

• Star from the North 2 weeks ago

@ Osman Adam, you are damn right on muslins in Wa not making false statements about issues. Do you know why? Those Muslims in Wa are well integrated with the indigents of the land who are God fearing. I think Prof Azar is get ...

• Kwaku Tee 2 weeks ago

Ghanaians by nature are hypocrites and cheats Assuming Wesley Girls & Presec were less endowed public schools ,Moslems and Christians won't be fighting over this topic.Govt shd let these schools be Autonomous period.

• Asakramitoga 2 weeks ago

Ayini is perfectly right. If Muslims feel threatened at schools associated with religious traditions, they should attend Muslim religious schools where their faith is practiced. All schools have their own internal regulations ...

• James 2 weeks ago

They can stay away from such schools.

• Apo 2 weeks ago

Azar, pls this is common sense, it is a mission school that is helping the state. It is a semi public school, for instance the state cannot change the name of the school o.

• Senegal 2 weeks ago

Come to Kumasi Islamic school at abrepo and see azaaar man

• Donatus 2 weeks ago

Do you expect to be served pork at a Muslim party?

• Pee 2 weeks ago

Masa that school was formed by that religious group, so what's your problem, it is so even in the US

• Senegal 2 weeks ago

I've never seen you write anything sensible.why don't you write about the ongoings in the US.only ghanaweb Will publish your non sense

• Kk 2 weeks ago

Prof Azar, Wesley girls was not built by government NIR with public money..... you are wrong in your judgement

• PROF AZAR IS ON POINT 2 weeks ago

It's common sense and common knowledge that the resource used in running that school were taxes paid by citizens including Muslims. So why should Muslims pay taxes to fund a school that would strangulate their basic belief sy ...

• Donatus 2 weeks ago

That's fine. The school you know very well will make profit. You know the number of people who would pay anything to get into that school? The better for the Methodist church.

• Johnny,Oyarifa -Madina 2 weeks ago

Ghana Govt is equally spending our taxes on Islamic schools.Why can't those Islamic clerics look for funds to improve them? We are having this problem bcoz of these Islamic clerics insistence on forcing their youth to adverti ...

• Maestro 2 weeks ago

Crap. Apart should tell that to the marines. Has he ever visited any Islamic public schools in ghana. They make the girls were scarf. Dress like mosley women etc. Have you ever heard a Christian group kidnapping Islamic schoo ...

• Big joe 2 weeks ago

Master do Muslims allow any religion to be practiced in their schools, or institutions?, if yes then methodist should not do so, if not then what's good for the goose is good for the gander ( ateka ateka)

• SK 2 weeks ago

Thanks to the comments I have seen so far above the about topic. All seems to be in favor of the AG. To be frank I don’t know where this nonsense is coming from. I did attended a mission school in the late 80’s and earl ...

• Carol 2 weeks ago

When you go to Rome, you do as the Romans do. You dont ask them to change their Religious Ethos because you have come to the school with your own religion. They may accommodate you up to a point. Its only sensible that you go ...

• A slave master's religion being championed by victims? 2 weeks ago

Why is the AG in court? Is he spending our resources to champion Methodist faith? Let the Methodist go and defend their faith. One Bible, million faiths. Africa has become slave to foreign religions. Religion has made the Af ...

• Donatus 2 weeks ago

The AG interest is because government took over the mission schools, if you want, return the schools back to the churches dassoourrr!!!!

• K. Kusi 2 weeks ago

Prof, that may be the case but there is some religious impunity by the Muslim community that has to be checked. They do what they want in their schools and everybody has to obey. A case in point is Wa T.I. Amass basic school, ...

• Abugre 2 weeks ago

Azar got it all wrong. What was the agreement for government surport to the mission schools.

• Michael Dudikoff 2 weeks ago

The Republic of Ghana, as a sovereign entity, is doomed to total destruction the very day a Muslim person is declared president. Ghana will automatically be declared an Islamic caliphate in West Africa.

Remember the old Gh ...

• Truth Table 2 weeks ago

ONLY Jesus saves.
    Yes, ONLY Jesus can save.
    The rest are fake.

• Agbeli Kumordziì 2 weeks ago

Religion is a colonial made should not be taken seriously because God didn't approved that
    Let's stop talking about Religion and think about Ghana

• Mental charter 2 weeks ago

This same government was on npp last government after the catholic schools said no to multiplicity of religion in the school. JDM was everywhere defending the Muslim..... answer the same question

• Kenneth 2 weeks ago

The plaintif is absolutely right.this nonsense of not allowing people to practice their faith which is not harmful because of your religion should be thrashed from the system.aside public schools,i also believe that private s ...

• Ashford 2 weeks ago

This is a classical example of our problems in Ghana. We don't keep to the laws and the content of our constitution. Here instead, we take decisions to favor an individual and or an institution. The AG Ayine should know bette ...

• Kk 2 weeks ago

This Azar guy is an idiot. Wesley Girls' school belongs to the Methodist Church. Muslims should build schools and take their wards there. Christians will nit compromise again. Give should return the schools to the churches. ...

• Sul 2 weeks ago

THIS OUR AG LACKS COMMON SENSE

• WESLWY GIRLS SET UP BY METHODIST CHURCH IS A PUBLIC SCHOOL? AZAR YOU ARE DUMB 2 weeks ago

Azar your premise is wrong and the arguments are porous.They should just take the girl to a public or Islamic school It is not by force to accommodate her in a Christian school. If Islamists want a fight with Christians in Gh ...

• True talk 2 weeks ago

Kwaku Azar is fully right, a government founded institution cannot discriminate on anybody, the constitution is against that,WHAT at all is coming on Ghanaians? It never be this way, we stay, school, we marry each other, we e ...

• WESLEY GIRLS HIGH SCHOOL WAS FOUNDED IN 1836 2 weeks ago

Wesley Girls was established in 1836, that is 121 years before Ghana. And you say Wesley Girls was founded by Government of Ghana? Are you an idiot or what?

• Dani 2 weeks ago

then the authority should not chose cristian school for muslims .....that will be ok...

• Don 2 weeks ago

Certainly

• Onipanua 2 weeks ago

Sad day for Bawumia campaigning team. This court case has destroyed Bawumia. Bawumia lost the last election because he was a Muslim!!!. Now what? The Methodist church will now lead a silent campaigning against a Muslim being ...

• Yoo 2 weeks ago

Christians in Ghana should try and read about the circumstances which led to a once upon a time, a Christian dominated country called Turkey, and has now dramatically turned to an Islamic state. Christians must be very caref ...

• OGyam 2 weeks ago

@Yoo, aptly said. Those who pander to this Arab Crap called Islam simply makes me sick. What good has Islam been to Africans since their bunch of terrorist invaded Africa seven years after the death of their false prophet ...

• Concerned Citizen 1 week ago

I knew this will one day happen. The idea of allowing foreign monies pouring into Ghana to establish muslim schools in the country right from PNDC time is now bearing the bad fruit as anticipated.
    This matter must be treated ...

• Mk 2 weeks ago

This so called Azar or whatever is such a fool. I have never read any sensible thing coming out of him. As much as I will respect any religion and its practice should be private and they shouldn’t get us all involved. Wesle ...

• See me 2 weeks ago

Kweku Asare, you are indeed a stupid and foolish man calling himself a scholar. Just one question, can you practice christianity in muslim school? You are ignorant foolish idiot.

• Ghanaweb will soon block me. 2 weeks ago

Mr Azar it is not everything you will involve yourself. You are wrong from my view.

• Kwabena Manu 2 weeks ago

If what Professor Azar is talking baout freedom and rights is what we should go by then students shouldn't be compelled to wear school uniforms,. They shouldn't be told to report to class at a specific time .They should have ...

• Soffo Bissi 2 weeks ago

It is important to do what Romans does when you go to Rome. This is what we call control measures to curb juvenile delinquencies. The school has a foundation that was established and that must be obey by all. If I don't like ...

• Helen 2 weeks ago

The AG is perfectly right. That school is a Mission school and it is what it is today because of religious values which elevate discipline on campus. It is not completely public. Government has to learn from this and build mo ...

• GAKA 2 weeks ago

Please Mr Azar think through the logic well. If one religious group is able to build a school, for which reason it is categorized as a mission school, what makes you think that this school should be treated as LA/MA school? B ...

• Sage 2 weeks ago

This nonsense must stop.
    There is this program on ITV, Islam in Perspective, the whole program is used in the denigration of Christianity and the Holy Bible.
    Let there be an alternative show that denigrates Islam and Mohamm ...

• Kk 2 weeks ago

Kwaku “know-it-all” Azar, after you graduated from schools in Ghana you are living comfortably in the US and using what happens there to be applied here, why don’t you come here and join those who refused to go migrate ...

Muslims always want to take over/steal what doesn't belong to them. They're jealous of what Christians build, but their own backward religion cannot build anything good. Look at the Muslim majority countries, predominantly sa ...

• Mk 2 weeks ago

Why are we as blacks doing this damages to ourselves. We have serious issues like water shortages, power outages, huge unemployment issues, bad roads and many many more. Someone called Azar claims to be the most educated and ...

• Kwame Nkrumah 2 weeks ago

Change the name to Wesley - Mohammedan Girls School. It will promote religious inclusiveness. Religion is also education. Leave Wesley girls and yhe girls alone. The hijab is good

• Kwame 2 weeks ago

Dominick (Dominiki) must remove his Christian ideology from this issue and think just like a human person.

• Kwame 2 weeks ago

If you want to wear hijabs go Muslims school, period. This foolishness must stop. The churches made contributions to build their school.

• Brigadier Sabari v.2 2 weeks ago

Too known professor. Will a muslim school allow the serving of pork to Christian students? This coward, who got the ex CJ sacked after his lame and infantile attempt failed woefully but lacks the balls to admit so sits in h ...

• Mr. Kofi 2 weeks ago

Thank you, Mr. Azar. You can’t call yourself a public school taking funds from government and decide alienate minorities. Ghana ankasa it’s like we don’t understand democracy

• Alex 2 weeks ago

If you go to Rome do whatever Romans do.

• Jojo 2 weeks ago

That Azar guy must be on some crack...it's a methodist school ..silly man

• Joy 2 weeks ago

Good idea mr ayine

• Okatakyie 2 weeks ago

Sometimes we need to be circumspect in how we address matters and should not allow ourselves to be constricted by the wording of the law whilst neglecting the spirit of the law. We run the risk of throwing the baby out with t ...

• KB 2 weeks ago

The School should show tolerance, We have freedom of worship,so if you allow them into the school ,You should allow them to practice their faith . This is a religion that Trives on confrontation,so don't give them the chance.

The Hijab is not about decency, that is a big lie from the 'Islamic Scholars'. The Hijab was 'revealed' from Allah based on a suggestion by one of Mohammed's companions,Umar, who spied on one of Muhammad's wives while she was ...

MUHAMMAD THE PAEDOPHILE FALSE PROPHET:
    Narrated 'Aishah:
    The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) married me when I was seven years old. The narrator Sulaiman said: or Six years. He had intercourse with me when I was nine years old.
    ~ ...

• Antiba 2 weeks ago

Hw3 ni Kwasia. These are some of the fools parading themselves as Professors

The churches should take their schools back from the government and run it themselves since Muslims are so envious they want to infiltrate and then try to steal the school from Christians. Give them an inch,next they'll ask f ...

*Edit: plus Christians killed this year alone, over 125,000 Christians killed and over 9,000 churches burned by Islamic terrorists since 2009 and yet we have stupid people like this Azar here to fight for Muslims girls to wea ...

• Concerned Citizen 2 weeks ago

My learned friend Prof. Azar I think this time you are off course.

• KofSam 2 weeks ago

If the Attorney General Ayine is in support of Wesley girl’s decision to ban the Moslem student from wearing hijab and fasting then Ayine should not be the head our legal department. Our constitution allows religious freedo ...

• Ben Teye D. 2 weeks ago

just now
    All they do is to claim ownership of what others have toiled and built.

No hijab in Christian mission schools

Go burn the sea

STOP-YOUR-BLACKMAIL-BLACKMAIL-NORTHERNERS.-These-former-Presidents-were-NOT-MUSLIMS.-John-Kuffour,-Jerry-Rawlings-Prof-Atta-Mills-John-Mahama-were-CHRISTIANS.-Bawumia-IS-A-MUSLIM.-Ghana-is-A-CHRISTIAN-COUNTRY.GET-LOST-YOU-ARE ...

• Gladdy 2 weeks ago

To put a stop to all these arguments, I will simply advise all Christian schools not to admit any mosley students in their schools. ASAR,you got it wrong this time around

• Kojo- Holloway 1 week ago

Haba
    Mr Professor enough. St Augustine's College Cape Coast and St Peters accommodated you in your time. Catholics schools ?

• Yaw 1 week ago

This religious issue should be handled with care. I think every institution has its rules and regulations. If you can’t obey, then don’t go there. An example is CHAG health facilities and GHS. Whilst the MedSupt is the Sp ...

• The orangutan State 1 week ago

Can a Christian enters a mosque and insist freedom of worship and therefore demanding that he should be allowed to dance and praise to worship God?