Here are the five oldest senior high schools in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (80)

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 1 week ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine ......... For instance 15 paracetamol at once. ....Or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Jeremy 1 week ago

The more these people keep at this the more they expose themselves as people who misplace their priorities and then try to dominate the fruits of someone else’s priorities. Are you not ashamed? Where are your own schools? D ...

• Idrisu Gouba 1 week ago

You are not God to talk about a Muslim going straight into prayers after making illegal transactions with you! He’s not praying or worshipping you and and he’s therefore not accountable to you when it comes to how righteo ...

• SANDRA 1 week ago

PLease SAVE me feLLow Ghanaians, i'm a 24 years oLd Ghanaian Lady that was scammed by some Nigerians, i'm currentLy stranded in Nigeria, it aLL started few months ago when i got a WhatsApp message that a traveL agency in Lago ...

• Antwi 1 week ago

Where were the Muslims by then. They have established their schools and you have come to enjoy, why do you have to come and dictate to them. Do they (Muslims) have schools? Go to Makalanta and tell them what you want

• Asakramitoga 1 week ago

And these Muslim terrory want to dismantle the core values of these school? They lie bad. A Christian crusade will rise up to defend Christianity. This is not Nigeria

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 1 week ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper......Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. .......You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe.........yo ...

• Fastook 1 week ago

He was not a prophet . He was a demented psychopath with schizophrenic tendencies

• Fastook 1 week ago

He was not a prophet . He was a demented psychopath with schizophrenic tendencies. We must be vigilant because he has commanded his followers to invade and subjugate the world under sharia law and impose the 6th century barba ...

• Charles oppong 1 week ago

And moslems want to change the core priciples of these great school..What NONSENSE!!!

• gh leaders dont have sense LIKE ROBOT 1 week ago

fool. by allowing muslim kids into these schs does not mean you are changing the makeup. ive told you countlesstimes that catholic schools in north amerca admit muslim kids even with hijabs. the toronto catholic sch board adm ...

• Maame 1 week ago

Who should build the quality schools for your terrorists-to-be kids. Comparing Canada and US and the UK to Ghana. After all the education the US gave you, what did you pay them with? Have you forgotten 9/21? Your Islamic S ...

• Raskolonikov 1 week ago

You lil dickhead! FYI, Muslims were the first to establish schools in Africa.

• Maame 1 week ago

Okay, agreed!!! Your schools are all over Ghana. Send your kids there, simple and short. Have you ever heard, "The first will be last, and the last first? You're last!

• Rex 1 week ago

First to establish schools in Africa? Stop your unsubstantiated claim. Egypt, Ethiopia and most of north Africa had educational systems before Muslims arrived. Africa was the first to educate the world. Had it not been the Ro ...

• Kanawu 1 week ago

We will reject any Muslim incursion in mission schools.
    If they want to practice Islam they should pick Islamic schools.
    These schools were missionary schools before the government came with assistance.

The standards are ...

• Marcus 1 week ago

Just Check The Historical Background Of Your Window Dressing Christianity Religion They Were Deeply Involved In Slave Trade That's Historical Fact

• NADAA2 1 week ago

Another Historical Fact
    Monsieur Ignoramus, Islamic/Arab slave trading preceded Christian slave trading by 900 years.

• Arabs did worse than slavery 1 week ago

Arabs were the first to engage in black slave trade and they are still doing it the difference is these moslems Arabs killed the black male slaves and rape our women

• Arabs did worse than slavery 1 week ago

Marcus be truthful it does not hurt check your facts Mauritania only abolished black slave trade in 1981 today libya is still engage in black slave trade and our people even including blacks moslems are treated as trash in A ...

• Kanawu 1 week ago

Muslims started enslaving Africans long before Christianity came to the shores of Africa. Islam still practices slavery today

• Fastook 1 week ago

Ben Islam

• Kofi 1 week ago

Islam still practices slavery as you are saying. Why is your people Christians lining up in the embassies of Islamic countries for visas to go there and work?

• Obarima 1 week ago

You must be out of your mind. Most people want to travel to western world not Arabic backward worlds. Dubai is different because their cities are westernized

• Kofi 1 week ago

You are saying I am out of my mind right?Is Dubai not an Arabic country?Think twice. My point is Ghana is a peaceful country. Both Christians and Muslims have been living together peacefully. These religious principles will n ...

• Former Dining Hall Prefect 1 week ago

The Arabs don't even like Black Muslims. How many Ghanaians do you know who live and work in Saud Arabia?

• 123 1 week ago

It seems to be an agenda well crafted from the top. Look at the comments of the Interior and Education ministers.

• GH8 1 week ago

Don't mind Muntaka and Haruna they churches will stop them in their tracks one time.

• Kanawu 1 week ago

All these great schools were established by Christian missionaries.
    The Muslims would rather go to makaranta than build great schools.

• Kweku 1 week ago

With all these notable schools and scholars over the years we still cannot run our country efficiently. Small nation states such as Singapore, Malaysia, South Korea, etc. have overtaken us in terms of socioeconomic and techno ...

• Quintavious 1 week ago

Elections has been rigged for a poor and an alcoholic Gonjaman to run the country! It is almost impossible to develop such a cursed country! I wonder what Nkrumah was thinking when he decided to expand Ghana with the people w ...

• NADAA2 1 week ago

And NADAA, the ugly WEEd-SMOKING AKYEMpanzee who made Ghana his AGYAPADIE is still prancing around....notably at funerals.....

• Francis 1 week ago

@Quintavious. Get away with your nonsense and ethnocentric rubbish. No one rigged the election. Even Bawumia acknowledged that they have lost the election. It's tribal bigots like you who are holding the back.

• Francis:Addendum 1 week ago

@Quintavious. It's tribal bigots like you who are holding the country back.

• Marcus 1 week ago

You Damm Right And Most Of Them Are Very Corrupt

• Paul Tweneboah 1 week ago

Wesley Girls School was established in 1836 and not 1884

• Obaa 1 week ago

You are right

• Ekay 1 week ago

Paul Twenwboah, As a second cycle school, (a secondary school), Wesley Girls was established in 1884. Details are important. Get your facts right before making brazen statements. Mfantsipim IS the oldest second cycle school i ...

• Henry 1 week ago

Wesley Girls is the oldest.it was established in 1836 Period.

• adu 1 week ago

Does not make sense!! First secondary school in Ghana was all girls?

• Ch.ristian Gen.ocide in Nig.eria approved by Mohamed 1 week ago

Ch.ristian Gen.ocide in Nig.eria approved by Mohamed

• Marcus 1 week ago

What Is Special About Those School's? It Was Part Of Our Slave Masters Doctrination Using That Window Dressing Christianity Religion To Undermine Us

• Stick to the rules or you'll be talked down!° 1 week ago

Why did you not write this stupid piece in your native language and broadcast it with talking drums? Village champion!

• gh leaders dont have sense LIKE ROBOT 1 week ago

the schools were built to train missionaries for the gold coast and catch them young and they expanded into teaching them "civilization" so they can become, think like white folks

• OGyam 1 week ago

@Marcus, your stupidity actually begins with your name Marcus.At least the white slave traders left us some decent infrastructure. What sort of infrastructure did the Arab Moslem slave traders leave us apart from memorisi ...

• Marcus 1 week ago

It's Sad Oooooh That You Still Glolyfing Your Slave Masters By Changing Everything About Us And Also We Are All Coming From That god In That Kwaku Ananse Story's Book That Bible Once Again Those Who Brought That Window Dressi ...

• Marcus 1 week ago

My Stupidity Started When Our Slave Masters Deliberately Demonized Everything About Us And Imposed Their Culture On Under The Watch Of Jesus's Christ And His Father

• Marcus 1 week ago

Most Christian's Like You Always Prefer Insults As An Answer, Once Again That Christianity Religion Per Their Historical Background Till Date Is The Most Fraudulent Organisation In Human History

• Maame 1 week ago

Killings, bombings, kidnappings, rappings - what a religion.

• Bazz 1 week ago

I see tactics by some so called evil brains to use any topic just to bring division between Christians and Moslem neighbors whom we have peacefully coexisted and shown the way in both Africa and the world. Do not allow yourse ...

• Free education since independence 1 week ago

Many of these moslems including the education minster had free education because they are northners today they are rich wanting to dictate to mission schools what to do

• Koti 1 week ago

How old is the oldest Islamic school in Ghana?

• OGyam 1 week ago

@Kofi,the oldest Islamic school you will ever find in Ghana was just for the memorisation of the Arabic Nonsensical Text calked Koran. It never improved their lives or gave them any reliable human changing skills.

• Islam has no place in Christian mission schools 1 week ago

They don't have anything. They keep moving into Christian places demanding access. All they know is reciting the backwards Quran which doesn't create any civilization.

Very soon they will demand a mosque in every school. ...

• Ghana man 1 week ago

And the Muslim fools want come and destroy our beautiful schools for us.

• Asantehene 1 week ago

Take it from me .These terrorists called Muslims will continue to test the waters and the day we give in to them the beginning of doom for Christians . Take a careful look at countries with moslem majority and consider what i ...

• GOLDEN 1 week ago

GHANA IS A PEACEFUL CHRISTAN COUNTRY,AND SHOULD REMAIN LIKE THAT,MUSIMS HAVE THEIR OWN SCHOOLS AND HAVE NO RIGHT WHATSOEVER TO DICTATE TO US,THEY CAN LEAVE OUR MOTHERLAND GHANA ASAP,YOU CANNOT SERVE GOD AND MAMMON!!CHRISTAINI ...

• Kofi 1 week ago

Ghana is a peaceful country as you are saying. Ghana and Muslims has lived together for a since independence. Take Ashanti region for example. KUMASI has suburbs for Muslims and under tribes. I don't understand where from thi ...

• 123 1 week ago

I am very surprised Moslems are too confident of wining this case as if others don't have rights under the same Constitution.

• Christian schools 1 week ago

Now you see why the jealous Muslims want to destroy our schools.
    Very soon they demand mosques in Christian missionary schools.
    Islam is a wicked religion....Now you know what Israel is dealing with. Muslims don't build, on ...

• Esa 1 week ago

Where are the Islamic schools....? Mmtchewww...savages

• Ghanabi Kofi 1 week ago

Is Ghana riped for a moslem president?
    In Nigeria the president Tinubu is a moslem and his wife is a Christian and a pastor yet Nigerian Moslems are killing Christians. The example of co- existence by the president means no ...

• Kofi 1 week ago

Then the Muslim holidays has to be abolished. Because Ghana is a Christian country. How many Christians are renting houses from Muslims?And how many Muslims are renting houses from Christians. These religions argument should ...

• Paa Rasta 1 week ago

MAJORITY OF MUSLIMS IN GHANA ARE PEACEFUL. LATELY BOKOHARAM AND THE FULANIS FROM NIGERIA, MALI NIGER AND BUKINA HAVE INFILTRATED THE MUSLIM COMMUNITY IN GHANA WITH THEIR EXTREMISTS IDEAS. MUSLIMS FROM DAGOMBA , GONJA AND ...

• Obarima 1 week ago

Missionary schools should serve the purpose they were created for.
    Educate children in the way of Catholic, Presby, Anglican, Methodist etc...

Anyone who doesn't like it should send their children somewhere. Muslims have ...

• TWEEA 1 week ago

Do your research well. Where is the picture of the third oldest school GSTS. You had nothing useful to say about this school when indeed almost all the lecturers at the engineering faculty of KNUST are alumni of this great sc ...

• Reuben Addo 1 week ago

With all due respect, Wesley Girls' Senior High School was birthed in 1836 by Harriet Wrigley and fittingly named after the Founder of Methodism John Benjamin Wesley.
    It has impeccably moulded high-profile alumna such as Gha ...

• NDC NPP SAME DEVILy 1 week ago

Five old senior high schools and so what ?

• Samuel 1 week ago

Where is GSTS?

• AK 1 week ago

This case is going all the way to the Supreme Court. CJ Baffoe-Bonney must be prepared to be a member of the panel. He dares not joke with the public court.

• King Dave 1 week ago

You can’t have a list of 5 oldest high schools without Ghana Secondary Technical School, which was established in 1909..
    This is unfair.
    Be credible

• Slimmart 1 week ago

Can't you read? What's your battle cry? It is stated in the article that St. Johns is the 3rd oldest, after Kwabotwe and Wey Gey Hey.

• SURVIVAL. 1 week ago

If a Catholic wants to be a priest he goes straight away to a Catholic seminary senior high school like Pope John shs,Koforidua.If a Catholic wants to be technical man he goes to St.Paul technical,Kukrantumi Akyem.If Catholic ...

• J 1 week ago

Education is Central Region and Central Region is Education

• SURVIVAL. 1 week ago

The Catholic church has the most Christian institutions in the country and in general the best schools you can find all over the country.

• Oh Ghana 1 week ago

What's this HATE all about ? Keep hating Noble Islam, and nothing will profit you. The caption here is about the oldest schools in Ghana and yet some Ghanaians have veered off and attacking Islam. Brethren let's be respectful ...

• Check For ANSEC 1 week ago

ANSEC know as ANUM PRESBYTERIAN SENIOR HIGH IS ALSO ONE OF THE OLDEST SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL AT LEAST IT SHOULD BE BETWEEN 1ST AND 3RD .

• Shakara 1 week ago

The issue for discussion shouldn’t be the oldest secondary school. The focus ought to be how far Ghana has come. A greater number of accomplished Ghanaians never attended these old schools which were mostly established alon ...

• Rt. Rev. Albert Ofoe Wright 1 week ago

O'Reilly Senior High School in Accra was established 1925 by The Reverend Ezekiel Festus O'Reilly Wright, an Anglican Priest.

• Slimmart 1 week ago

History revisited...!!!

Wesley Girls was originally established as an elementary or primary school and not a high or secondary school. So, in terms of educational institutions, WG is the oldest.
    HOWEVER, Kwabotwe was est ...