EXPLAINER: Why Nigeria won’t inherit DR Congo’s World Cup slot despite petition

Read Comments Comments (32)

• Sam osei 20 hours ago

Ghanaweb you're right, fifa is not a constitutional court. Only sometimes they can produce a fake Nobel peace prize

• Reap what you sow 18 hours ago

Sorry Nigeria.
    Nigeria could not beat Congo to qualify the WC but want a free passage to enter into the competion. Better luck next time. Meanwhile Nigeria can forget about the 2026 WC

• Nana 17 hours ago

Nigerians ahd be ashamed of themselves. Why can't a country of 250 million ppl set up football academies like France or Senegal. The state shd be able to assist clubs to do so if they can't do it.Nigeria is as useless as Ghan ...

• Tharcisse 19 hours ago

You should also report that Iran have already qualified for World Cup 2026 and used dual nationality players to do so, despite the fact that dual citizenship is also forbidden by Iran. Furthermore, dual citizenship is forbidd ...

• UNP 19 hours ago

Case settled. The Nigeria FF is chasing shadows. They should better abandon their appeal and focus on their AFCON

• BenjKif 5 hours ago

Let me make it more clear: The Nigeria FF is chasing THEIR OWN shadows

• Ade 17 hours ago

If FIFA rules in favour of Nigeria, go and overturn it.

• Ghanaman 17 hours ago

Your arguments are always based on emotions, no substance. Aren't you ashamed of what your country is trying to do, get to the world cup through the backdoor? Anyway, you guys do worse things than this, shame is a foreign fee ...

• Giant of Africa 51 minutes ago

Your country is not an exception to worst scenarios in Africa. Pls don't exonerate your fucking Nigerian neighbourhood called a country Ghana. You need engagement but should you allow emotion to becloud your sense of reasonin ...

• W 17 hours ago

FIFA will not rule in favour of Nigeria.

• OSCAR 17 hours ago

Sorry. Focus on the AFCON.

• George 8 hours ago

How can fifa rule in favour of Niger?Master go and sleep.You lost your cake and you are now crying.Who should give you his own.

• Mike 17 hours ago

Prepare for 2030 world cup not 2026

• Joe Dude 12 hours ago

Exactly Mike! That is what I think too: Today no good, 4 years will be better

• Ethics Dilemma 17 hours ago

Sometimes it’s so shameful to be a Nija-rian - apuuu

• Ketteku 17 hours ago

The Nigerians are seeking favors from football govern institutions to be at the world cup. First CAF favored them with player ineligibility against the South Africa and also changed the rules in mid of the qualifies to elimin ...

• JULIUS 15 hours ago

NAIJA WANT TO BE AT THE 2026 WORLDCUP BY FORCE, OR HOOK OR CROOK.419 IN DISGUISE!!

• Kojo Antaku.... 15 hours ago

So desperate bunch of 419 people. FIFA that will be a bad precedent. FIFA has already pampered them too much. Congo should be heavily fined, the player suspended. FIFA should also through liase with the national team bodi ...

• Giant of Africa 49 minutes ago

Your country lead in crime, we follow. Stop the rant

• Diallo 15 hours ago

to fulfill all righteousness let's have all parties in this matter have their say, the Republic of Congo's own law its been used against them, cause if daul nationality was still not allowed before the match, then those se ...

• Ghanaman 14 hours ago

Who determines who is a Congolese, Nigeria or Congo?

• BenjKif 5 hours ago

Nigeria thinks they have the right to decide who is Congolese and who is not.
    It's shameful.
    I think the Congolese voodoo that the Nigeria coach complained about has finally gotten into NFF

• Mawrehene 11 hours ago

So, what if the Congolese authorities come out with an 'evidence' (if even fake), that the law prohibiting dual citizenship was abolished before the game?
    Would FIFA go ahead to determine if they are lying or not?

• Mawrehene 11 hours ago

It is their law, and it is only they who decide how it should be applied. They can choose to make exceptions.

• Kwame Amaniaping 10 hours ago

Exactly my thoughts. Do you know countries can make exceptions and give nationality and passports to a foreign ambassador who was so helpful to the country when the ambassodor is been recalled?

• Kay 14 hours ago

Even if they qualify by let my people go process, aren't they going to wobble and fumble at the tournament because they don't understand it that their primary aim is to win the cup and not to just participate.

• Kwasi Tawiah 13 hours ago

Nigeria found a place to sleep

• Ty 7 hours ago

That is the opinion of the writer not FIFA. Wait for the FIFA decision on the matter

• Harrison 7 hours ago

Nigeria wants to found every ways and means to qualify
    .No way!!! better lock in four years time. Concentrate on the Africa cup of nations.

• Sly Bone 5 hours ago

Was the complaint logged within 24hrs ?
    No - Case Closed (likely)
    Yes - investigate
    Do all players have DRC passports ?
    Yes - Case Closed (likely)
    No - investigate
    Will DRC roll over and die , as Nigeria wishes ?
    No - ...

• Niles 3 hours ago

Nigeria complained to FIFA about South Africa and they had 3 points deducted. Still Nigeria did not qualify. Now they want to complain about DRC and enter World Cup. How pathetic

• Kofi 1 hour ago

419 Nigeria will do anything to be at the World Cup, even be ball boys. They are not good enough. Just focus on AFCON.